Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 13-21, 25, 27, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Waataja et al. (International Publication No.: WO 2020/214982 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Waataja discloses a system for regulating at least two
neuronal targets (e.g. pg. 7, lines 28-34):
a first neuroregulator (e.g. Fig. 1B – electrical lead assembly 106)
that applies a stimulation or a conduction block to a first neuronal target (e.g. pg. 7, lines 28-34 – regulating nerve activity through stimulation);
and a second neuroregulator (e.g. Fig. 1B – electrical lead assembly 106a) that applies a stimulation or a conduction block to a second neuronal target (e.g. pg. 7, line 30) that is different from the first neuronal target (e.g. pg. 9, lines 16-18), wherein the stimulation or conduction block of the first neuronal target works in cooperation with the stimulation or conduction block of the second neuronal target to treat a medical condition (e.g. pg. 7, lines 33-34 – the first electrical signal and the second electrical signal are applied concurrently or simultaneously; pg. 9, lines 19-24).
Regarding claim 2, Waataja discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed
above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the first neuronal target and the second neuronal target each comprise one or more sympathetic nerves (e.g. pg. 9, lines 12-15 – sympathetic nerves).
Regarding claim 3, Waataja discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed
above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the first neuronal target and the second neuronal target each comprise one or more parasympathetic nerves (e.g. pg. 9, lines 12-15 – vagus nerves are parasympathetic nerves).
Regarding claim 4, Waataja discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed
above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the first neuronal target comprises one or more sympathetic nerves and wherein the second neuronal target comprises one or more parasympathetic nerves (e.g. pg. 9, lines 12-18).
Regarding claim 5, Waataja discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed
above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the stimulation or conduction block applied to the first neuronal target is of a different duration than that stimulation or conduction block applied to the second neuronal target (e.g. pg. 8, lines 24-26; pg. 107, lines 14-15).
Regarding claim 6, Waataja discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed
above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the first neuroregulator applies the stimulation to the first neuronal target and the second neuroregulator applies the stimulation to the second neuronal target (e.g. pg. 11, lines 1-4; pg. 38, lines 13-22).
Regarding claim 7, Waataja discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed
above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the first neuroregulator applies the conduction block to the first neuronal target and wherein the second neuroregulator applies the conduction block to the second neuronal target (e.g. pg. 11, lines 1-4; pg. 38, lines 13-22).
Regarding claim 8, Waataja discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed
above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the first neuroregulator applies the conduction block to the first neuronal target and wherein the second neuroregulator applies the stimulator to the second neuronal target (e.g. pg. 11, lines 1-4; pg. 38, lines 13-22).
Regarding claim 9, Waataja discloses the system of claim 8 as discussed
above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the first neuronal target comprises a hepatic nerve and the second neuronal target comprises the celiac branch of the posterior vagus nerve (e.g. pg. 9, lines 12-15 and lines 25-34).
Regarding claim 10, Waataja discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed
above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the first neuroregulator is an electrical neuroregulator (e.g. pg. 2, lines 6-8; pg. 7, lines 28-34; pg. 10, lines 8-16).
Regarding claim 11, Waataja discloses the system of claim 10 as discussed
above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the second neuroregulator is an electrical neuroregulator (e.g. pg. 2, lines 6-8; pg. 7, lines 28-34; pg. 10, lines 8-16).
Regarding claim 13, Waataja discloses a method for treating a medical condition (e.g. abstract; pg. 2, lines 26-28 – treating conditions associated with disorder of blood glucose; pg. 9, lines 19-24), comprising:
neuromodulating, with a stimulation or a conduction block, (e.g. pg. 7, lines 28-34 – regulating nerve activity through stimulation)
a first neuronal target (e.g. pg. 7, lines 29-30 – first nerve branch/fiber);
and neuromodulating, with a stimulation or a conduction block, (e.g. pg. 7, lines 28-34 – regulating nerve activity through stimulation)
a second neuronal target (e.g. pg. 7, line 30 – second nerve branch/fiber), wherein the second neuronal target is different from the first neuronal target (e.g. pg. 9, lines 16-18),
and wherein the neuromodulation of the first neuronal target works in cooperation with the neuromodulation of the second neuronal target to treat a medical condition (e.g. pg. 7, lines 33-34 – the first electrical signal and the second electrical signal are applied concurrently or simultaneously; pg. 9, lines 19-24).
Regarding claim 14, Waataja discloses the method of claim 13 as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the first neuronal target and the second neuronal target each comprise one or more sympathetic nerves (e.g. pg. 9, lines 12-15 – sympathetic nerves).
Regarding claim 15, Waataja discloses the method of claim 13 as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the first neuronal target and the second neuronal target each comprise one or more parasympathetic nerves (e.g. pg. 9, lines 12-15 – vagus nerves are parasympathetic nerves).
Regarding claim 16, Waataja discloses the method of claim 13 as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the first neuronal target comprises one or more sympathetic nerves and wherein the second neuronal target comprises one or more parasympathetic nerves (e.g. pg. 9, lines 12-18).
Regarding claim 17, Waataja discloses the method of claim 13 as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein neuromodulating the first neuronal target comprises neuromodulating with the stimulation and wherein neuromodulating the second neuronal target comprises neuromodulating with the stimulation (e.g. pg. 11, lines 1-4; pg. 38, lines 13-22).
Regarding claim 18, Waataja discloses the method of claim 13 as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein neuromodulating the first neuronal target comprises neuromodulating with the stimulation and wherein neuromodulating the second neuronal target comprises neuromodulating with the conduction block (e.g. pg. 11, lines 1-4; pg. 38, lines 13-22).
Regarding claim 19, Waataja discloses the method of claim 13 as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein neuromodulating the first neuronal target comprises neuromodulating with the conduction block and wherein neuromodulating the second neuronal target comprises neuromodulating with the conduction block (e.g. pg. 11, lines 1-4; pg. 38, lines 13-22).
Regarding claim 20, Waataja discloses a system for regulating at least two neuronal targets (e.g. pg. 7, lines 28-34):
a first implantable electrical neuroregulator (e.g. Fig. 1B – electrical lead assembly 106) that applies a stimulation or a conduction block to a first neuronal target (e.g. pg. 7, lines 28-34 – regulating nerve activity through stimulation);
and a second implantable electrical neuroregulator (e.g. Fig. 1B – electrical lead assembly 106a) that applies a stimulation or a conduction block to a second neuronal target (e.g. pg. 7, line 30) that is different from the first neuronal target (e.g. pg. 9, lines 16-18),
wherein the stimulation or conduction block of the first neuronal target works in cooperation with the stimulation or conduction block of the second neuronal target to treat a medical condition (e.g. pg. 7, lines 33-34 – the first electrical signal and the second electrical signal are applied concurrently or simultaneously; pg. 9, lines 19-24).
Regarding claim 21, Waataja discloses a method of sensing biological activity to trigger neuromodulation (e.g. pg. 41, lines 8-13) the method comprising the steps of:
obtaining a change in biological activity from a sensor (e.g. pg. 41, lines 8-13 and 19-24);
initiating the neuromodulator to initiate at least one signal to a target nerve, organ or tissue (e.g. pg. 41, lines 8-13 and 19-24), thereby altering the biological activity to a predetermined level, where the signal is stopped (e.g. pg. 41, lines 8-13, 19-34; pg. 42, lines 8-11).
Regarding claim 25, Waataja discloses the method of claim 21 as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the signal is from at least two electrodes (e.g. pg. 41, lines 29-34; pg. 42, lines 1-7) and wherein the at least two electrodes are initiated at the same time (e.g. pg. 7, lines 33-34; pg. 41, lines 29-34; pg. 42, lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 27, Waataja discloses the method of claim 21 as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the at least two electrodes are initiated in a signally protocol (e.g. pg. 74, lines 27-34) selected from a group consisting of; wherein one electrical signal initiates a block and the other electrical signal initiates a stimulation, one electrical signal initiates a block and the other electrical signal initiates a block and one electrical signal initiates a stimulation and the other electrical signal initiates a stimulation (e.g. pg. 38, lines 13-22; pg. 74, lines 27-34).
Regarding claim 30, Waataja discloses the method of claim 21 as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the sensor detects a change in biological activity selected from a group comprising blood glucose, heart rate, blood pressure, respiration, motion, CNS neuronal electrical signals, peripheral nerve signals and combinations thereof (e.g. pg. 41, lines 19-20; pg. 42, lines 8-11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Waataja and further in view of Bright et al. (US Pub.: 2019/0038646 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Waataja discloses the system of claim 10 as discussed
above. However, Waataja does not explicitly teach wherein the second neuroregulator is a non-electrical neuroregulator.
Bright, in a same field of endeavor of neuromodulation systems, discloses wherein the second neuroregulator is a non-electrical neuroregulator (e.g. paragraphs 0005, 0018, 0132 – chemical neuromodulation (i.e. chemical neuroregulator)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Waataja to incorporate wherein the second neuroregulator is a non-electrical neuroregulator, as taught and suggested by Bright, in order to reduce collateral damage to surrounding tissue during therapy, reduce the cost of treatment, as well as to be able to treat additional conditions such as hemorrhagic stroke, arrhythmias, and myocardial infarctions (Bright, paragraphs 0004-0005 and 0132).
Conclusion
/D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/LYNSEY C Eiseman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796