Response to Amendment
2. This action is responsive to the amendments filed 6/22/2026. Claims 1, 13, and 21 have been amended. No claims were newly added. No claims have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections have been considered but they are not persuasive. In substance, applicant argues A) Waataja does not teach or suggest the newly added limitation of stimulating or blocking a nerve or organ in the subdiaphragmatic region as recited in claim 1 and B) Waataja does not teach or suggest a closed loop system as recited in amended claims 1, 13, and 21.
4. In response to A), the examiner respectfully disagrees.Waataja does teach this limitation. Waataja teaches stimulation as well as blocking of the vagal nerve at a subdiaphragmatic location (see pg. 24, lines 34 and pg. 25, lines 1-9). Thus, Waataja still teaches the scope of the limitation as currently claimed. It should be noted that this limitation was not incorporated into any other independent claim and thus cannot be used as a basis for applicant’s arguments with respect to those claims.
5. In response to B), applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Examiner directs applicant’s attention to the citations of Irazoqui in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Waataja et al. (International Publication No.: WO 2020/214982 A1, – Previously Cited).
Regarding claim 20, Waataja discloses a system for regulating at least two neuronal targets (e.g. pg. 7, lines 28-34):
a first implantable electrical neuroregulator (e.g. Fig. 1B – electrical lead assembly 106) that applies a stimulation or a conduction block to a first neuronal target (e.g. pg. 7, lines 28-34 – regulating nerve activity through stimulation);
and a second implantable electrical neuroregulator (e.g. Fig. 1B – electrical lead assembly 106a) that applies a stimulation or a conduction block to a second neuronal target (e.g. pg. 7, line 30) that is different from the first neuronal target (e.g. pg. 9, lines 16-18),
wherein the stimulation or conduction block of the first neuronal target works in cooperation with the stimulation or conduction block of the second neuronal target to treat a medical condition (e.g. pg. 7, lines 33-34 – the first electrical signal and the second electrical signal are applied concurrently or simultaneously; pg. 9, lines 19-24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13-19, 21, 25, 27, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Waataja and further in view of Irazoqui et al. (US Pub.: 2019/0247664 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Waataja teaches a system for regulating at least two
neuronal targets (e.g. pg. 7, lines 28-34):
a first neuroregulator (e.g. Fig. 1B – electrical lead assembly 106)
that applies a stimulation or a conduction block to a first neuronal target (e.g. pg. 7, lines 28-34 – regulating nerve activity through stimulation);
and a second neuroregulator (e.g. Fig. 1B – electrical lead assembly 106a) that applies a stimulation or a conduction block to a second neuronal target (e.g. pg. 7, line 30) that is different from the first neuronal target (e.g. pg. 9, lines 16-18), wherein the stimulation or conduction block of the first neuronal target works in cooperation with the stimulation or conduction block of the second neuronal target to treat a medical condition (e.g. pg. 7, lines 33-34 – the first electrical signal and the second electrical signal are applied concurrently or simultaneously; pg. 9, lines 19-24), wherein the first neuroregulator applies a stimulation or block on a nerve or organ located in the subdiaphragmatic region (pg. 24, line 34; pg. 25, lines 1-9).
However, Waataja does not explicitly teach and wherein the system is a closed
loop system.
Irazoqui, in a same field of endeavor of neuronal stimulation systems, discloses wherein the system is a closed loop system (e.g. paragraphs 0321, 0348).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Waataja to incorporate a closed loop system, as taught and suggested by Irazoqui, in order to improve and provide more consistent patient therapy (Irazoqui, paragraph 0321).
Regarding claim 2, Waataja in view of Irazoqui teaches the system of claim 1
as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the first neuronal target and the second neuronal target each comprise one or more sympathetic nerves (e.g. pg. 9, lines 12-15 – sympathetic nerves).
Regarding claim 3, Waataja in view of Irazoqui teaches the system of claim 1
as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the first neuronal target and the second neuronal target each comprise one or more parasympathetic nerves (e.g. pg. 9, lines 12-15 – vagus nerves are parasympathetic nerves).
Regarding claim 4, Waataja in view of Irazoqui teaches the system of claim 1
as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the first neuronal target comprises one or more sympathetic nerves and wherein the second neuronal target comprises one or more parasympathetic nerves (e.g. pg. 9, lines 12-18).
Regarding claim 5, Waataja in view of Irazoqui teaches the system of claim 1
as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the stimulation or conduction block applied to the first neuronal target is of a different duration than that stimulation or conduction block applied to the second neuronal target (e.g. pg. 8, lines 24-26; pg. 107, lines 14-15).
Regarding claim 6, Waataja in view of Irazoqui teaches the system of claim 1
as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the first neuroregulator applies the stimulation to the first neuronal target and the second neuroregulator applies the stimulation to the second neuronal target (e.g. pg. 11, lines 1-4; pg. 38, lines 13-22).
Regarding claim 7, Waataja in view of Irazoqui teaches the system of claim 1
as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the first neuroregulator applies the conduction block to the first neuronal target and wherein the second neuroregulator applies the conduction block to the second neuronal target (e.g. pg. 11, lines 1-4; pg. 38, lines 13-22).
Regarding claim 8, Waataja in view of Irazoqui teaches the system of claim 1
as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the first neuroregulator applies the conduction block to the first neuronal target and wherein the second neuroregulator applies the stimulator to the second neuronal target (e.g. pg. 11, lines 1-4; pg. 38, lines 13-22).
Regarding claim 9, Waataja in view of Irazoqui teaches the system of claim 8
as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the first neuronal target comprises a hepatic nerve and the second neuronal target comprises the celiac branch of the posterior vagus nerve (e.g. pg. 9, lines 12-15 and lines 25-34).
Regarding claim 10, Waataja in view of Irazoqui teaches the system of claim 1
as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the first neuroregulator is an electrical neuroregulator (e.g. pg. 2, lines 6-8; pg. 7, lines 28-34; pg. 10, lines 8-16).
Regarding claim 11, Waataja in view of Irazoqui teaches the system of claim
10 as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the second neuroregulator is an electrical neuroregulator (e.g. pg. 2, lines 6-8; pg. 7, lines 28-34; pg. 10, lines 8-16).
Regarding claim 13, Waataja teaches a method for treating a medical condition (e.g. abstract; pg. 2, lines 26-28 – treating conditions associated with disorder of blood glucose; pg. 9, lines 19-24), comprising:
neuromodulating, with a stimulation or a conduction block, (e.g. pg. 7, lines 28-34 – regulating nerve activity through stimulation)
a first neuronal target (e.g. pg. 7, lines 29-30 – first nerve branch/fiber);
and neuromodulating, with a stimulation or a conduction block, (e.g. pg. 7, lines 28-34 – regulating nerve activity through stimulation)
a second neuronal target (e.g. pg. 7, line 30 – second nerve branch/fiber), wherein the second neuronal target is different from the first neuronal target (e.g. pg. 9, lines 16-18),
and wherein the neuromodulation of the first neuronal target works in cooperation with the neuromodulation of the second neuronal target to treat a medical condition (e.g. pg. 7, lines 33-34 – the first electrical signal and the second electrical signal are applied concurrently or simultaneously; pg. 9, lines 19-24).
However, Waataja does not explicitly teach and wherein the neuromodulation is a closed loop system.
Irazoqui, in a same field of endeavor of neuronal stimulation methods, discloses wherein the neuromodulation is a closed loop system (e.g. paragraphs 0321, 0348).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Waataja to incorporate wherein the neuromodulation is a closed loop system, as taught and suggested by Irazoqui, in order to improve and provide more consistent patient therapy (Irazoqui, paragraph 0321).
Regarding claim 14, Waataja in view of Irazoqui teaches the method of claim 13 as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the first neuronal target and the second neuronal target each comprise one or more sympathetic nerves (e.g. pg. 9, lines 12-15 – sympathetic nerves).
Regarding claim 15, Waataja in view of Irazoqui teaches the method of claim 13 as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the first neuronal target and the second neuronal target each comprise one or more parasympathetic nerves (e.g. pg. 9, lines 12-15 – vagus nerves are parasympathetic nerves).
Regarding claim 16, Waataja in view of Irazoqui teaches the method of claim 13 as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the first neuronal target comprises one or more sympathetic nerves and wherein the second neuronal target comprises one or more parasympathetic nerves (e.g. pg. 9, lines 12-18).
Regarding claim 17, Waataja in view of Irazoqui teaches the method of claim 13 as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein neuromodulating the first neuronal target comprises neuromodulating with the stimulation and wherein neuromodulating the second neuronal target comprises neuromodulating with the stimulation (e.g. pg. 11, lines 1-4; pg. 38, lines 13-22).
Regarding claim 18, Waataja in view of Irazoqui teaches the method of claim 13 as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein neuromodulating the first neuronal target comprises neuromodulating with the stimulation and wherein neuromodulating the second neuronal target comprises neuromodulating with the conduction block (e.g. pg. 11, lines 1-4; pg. 38, lines 13-22).
Regarding claim 19, Waataja in view of Irazoqui teaches the method of claim 13 as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein neuromodulating the first neuronal target comprises neuromodulating with the conduction block and wherein neuromodulating the second neuronal target comprises neuromodulating with the conduction block (e.g. pg. 11, lines 1-4; pg. 38, lines 13-22).
Regarding claim 21, Waataja teaches a method of sensing biological activity to trigger neuromodulation (e.g. pg. 41, lines 8-13) the method comprising the steps of:
obtaining a change in biological activity from a sensor (e.g. pg. 41, lines 8-13 and 19-24);
initiating the neuromodulator to initiate at least one signal to a target nerve, organ or tissue (e.g. pg. 41, lines 8-13 and 19-24), thereby altering the biological activity to a predetermined level, where the signal is stopped (e.g. pg. 41, lines 8-13, 19-34; pg. 42, lines 8-11).
However, Waataja does not explicitly teach and wherein the signal is in a closed loop system.
Irazoqui, in a same field of endeavor of neuronal stimulation systems, discloses wherein the signal is in a closed loop system (e.g. paragraphs 0321, 0348).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Waataja to incorporate wherein the signal is in a closed loop system, as taught and suggested by Irazoqui, in order to improve and provide more consistent patient therapy (Irazoqui, paragraph 0321).
Regarding claim 25, Waataja in view of Irazoqui teaches the method of claim 21 as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the signal is from at least two electrodes (e.g. pg. 41, lines 29-34; pg. 42, lines 1-7) and wherein the at least two electrodes are initiated at the same time (e.g. pg. 7, lines 33-34; pg. 41, lines 29-34; pg. 42, lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 27, Waataja in view of Irazoqui teaches the method of claim 21 as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the at least two electrodes are initiated in a signally protocol (e.g. pg. 74, lines 27-34) selected from a group consisting of; wherein one electrical signal initiates a block and the other electrical signal initiates a stimulation, one electrical signal initiates a block and the other electrical signal initiates a block and one electrical signal initiates a stimulation and the other electrical signal initiates a stimulation (e.g. pg. 38, lines 13-22; pg. 74, lines 27-34).
Regarding claim 30, Waataja in view of Irazoqui teaches the method of claim 21 as discussed above, and Waataja further teaches wherein the sensor detects a change in biological activity selected from a group comprising blood glucose, heart rate, blood pressure, respiration, motion, CNS neuronal electrical signals, peripheral nerve signals and combinations thereof (e.g. pg. 41, lines 19-20; pg. 42, lines 8-11).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Waataja and further in view of Irazoqui and further in view of Bright et al. (US Pub.: 2019/0038646 A1, – Previously Cited).
Regarding claim 12, Waataja in view of Irazoqui teaches the system of claim
10 as discussed above. However, Waataja in view of Irazoqui does not explicitly teach wherein the second neuroregulator is a non-electrical neuroregulator.
Bright, in a same field of endeavor of neuromodulation systems, discloses wherein the second neuroregulator is a non-electrical neuroregulator (e.g. paragraphs 0005, 0018, 0132 – chemical neuromodulation (i.e. chemical neuroregulator)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Waataja and Irazoqui to incorporate wherein the second neuroregulator is a non-electrical neuroregulator, as taught and suggested by Bright, in order to reduce collateral damage to surrounding tissue during therapy, reduce the cost of treatment, as well as to be able to treat additional conditions such as hemorrhagic stroke, arrhythmias, and myocardial infarctions (Bright, paragraphs 0004-0005 and 0132).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/MICHAEL W KAHELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792