DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement (PTO-1449) filed 12/20/2024. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites the term “anatomosed” in line 6 and should be changed to “anastomosed”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: imaging unit and lighting unit in claims 1-2 and 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function of a “imaging unit” and “lighting unit”. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that archives the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim limitations “imaging unit” and “lighting unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The “imaging unit” and “lighting unit” are not defined in the specification. For examination purposes the “imaging unit” is interpreted as a camera and the “lighting unit” is interpreted as a light guide fiber. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura et al. (US 6398721 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura discloses in at least figures 13-14, a surgical microscope system (surgical microscope apparatus 1 fig. 13) comprising:
a surgical microscope main body (microscope body 4 fig. 14) having an (the microscope body 4 has two observing optical passages 125a and 125b for permitting stereo microscopical observation are formed col. 20 lines 33-35) observation optical system (two observing optical passages 125a and 125b for permitting stereo microscopical observation are formed col. 20 lines 33-35) including at least (the two observing optical passages 125a and 125b for permitting stereo microscopical observation are formed include objective lens 120 col. 20 lines 33-35) an objective lens (objective lens 120 fig. 14); and
an auxiliary imaging device (endoscope 106 fig. 13) including at least an imaging unit (TV camera head 107 fig. 13, is attached to endoscope 106 for observing a blind spot in the observation field of view for the microscope body 4 to show image on monitor 109 col. 19 line 58 – col. 20 line 4, interpreted under 112(f) as a camera) and a lighting unit (light guide cable 106d fig. 13, light made incident on the light guide fiber 106e is introduced into the endoscope 106 so as to be applied to the portion, to be operated, through the distal end of the insertion portion 106a col. 20 lines 5-11, interpreted under 112(f) as a light guide fiber),
wherein the auxiliary imaging device (endoscope 106 fig. 13) images a surgical field (an endoscope 106 for observing a blind spot in the observation field of view for the microscope body 4 col. 19 lines 58-59) in the state of being connected to (the handy portion 106d is connected to endoscope 106 fig. 13) a surgical instrument held by a surgeon or a surgical assistant (handy portion 106b is part of endoscope 106 fig. 13 and endoscope can naturally be held col. 11 line 54) and with an angle different from (the endoscope axis is at an angle to the microscope axis as shown below in fig. 13) that of the surgical microscope main body (microscope body 4 fig. 13).
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura discloses in at least figures 13-14, an auxiliary imaging device (endoscope 106 fig. 13) included in (the endoscope 13 is included in the surgical microscope apparatus 1 fig. 13) a surgical microscope system (surgical microscope apparatus 1 fig. 13) including (surgical microscope apparatus 1 includes microscope body 4 fig. 13) a surgical microscope main body (microscope body 4 fig. 14) having an (microscope body 4 has a two observing optical passages 125a and 125b for permitting stereo microscopical observation are formed col. 20 lines 33-35) observation optical system (two observing optical passages 125a and 125b for permitting stereo microscopical observation are formed col. 20 lines 33-35) including at least (the two observing optical passages 125a and 125b for permitting stereo microscopical observation are formed include objective lens 120 col. 20 lines 33-35) an objective lens (objective lens 120 fig. 14), the auxiliary imaging device (endoscope 106 fig. 13) comprising:
at least an imaging unit (TV camera head 107 fig. 13, is attached to endoscope 106 for observing a blind spot in the observation field of view for the microscope body 4 to show image on monitor 109 col. 19 line 58 – col. 20 line 4, interpreted under 112(f) as a camera) and a lighting unit (light guide cable 106d fig. 13, light made incident on the light guide fiber 106e is introduced into the endoscope 106 so as to be applied to the portion, to be operated, through the distal end of the insertion portion 106a col. 20 lines 5-11, interpreted under 112(f) as a light guide fiber);
wherein a surgical field is imaged (an endoscope 106 for observing a blind spot in the observation field of view for the microscope body 4 col. 19 lines 58-59) in the state of being connected to (the endoscope 106 includes the handy portion 106B fig. 13), a surgical instrument held by a surgeon or a surgical assistant (handy portion 106b is part of endoscope 106 fig. 13 and endoscope can naturally be held col. 11 line 54) and with an angle different from that (the endoscope axis is at an angle to the microscope axis as shown below in fig. 13) of the surgical microscope main body (microscope body 4 fig. 13).
Regarding claim 6, Nakamura discloses in at least figures 13-14, a surgical field imaging method (the microscope body 4 enlarges the image of a portion to be operated so that observation of the portion is permitted col. 19 lines 45-47 and an endoscope 106 for observing a blind spot in the observation field of view for the microscope body 4 col. 19 lines 58-59) comprising:
a first imaging step of imaging a surgical field (the microscope body 4 enlarges the image of a portion to be operated so that observation of the portion is permitted col. 19 lines 45-47) by using a surgical microscope main body (microscope body 4 fig. 13) having an (microscope body 4 has a two observing optical passages 125a and 125b for permitting stereo microscopical observation are formed col. 20 lines 33-35) observation optical system (two observing optical passages 125a and 125b for permitting stereo microscopical observation are formed col. 20 lines 33-35) including at least (the two observing optical passages 125a and 125b for permitting stereo microscopical observation are formed include objective lens 120 col. 20 lines 33-35) an objective lens (objective lens 120 fig. 14); and
a second imaging step of imaging-the surgical field (an endoscope 106 for observing a blind spot in the observation field of view for the microscope body 4 col. 19 lines 58-59) with an angle different from (the endoscope axis is at an angle to the microscope axis as shown below in fig. 13 ) that of the surgical microscope main body (microscope body 4 fig. 13) by using an auxiliary imaging device (endoscope 106 fig. 13) having at least an imaging unit (ocular portion 106C fig. 13) and a lighting unit (light guide cable 106d fig. 13),
wherein the auxiliary imaging device (endoscope 106 fig. 13) images the surgical field in the state of being connected to (the endoscope 106 includes the handy portion 106B fig. 13), a surgical instrument held by a surgeon or a surgical assistant (handy portion 106b is part of endoscope 106 fig. 13 and endoscope can naturally be held col. 11 line 54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 6398721 B1) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Ammirati (US 20120296217 A1) and Blatter (US 20030014064 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Nakamura does not disclose, wherein forceps are included in the surgical instrument,
the surgical microscope system includes a connecting member connecting the forceps and the auxiliary imaging device to each other, and
the imaging unit of the auxiliary imaging device images a surgical field from which an intima of the inside of a blood vessel to be an anatomosed in microsurgery can be checked.
However Ammirati discloses in at least figure 1, wherein forceps are included in (surgical instrument 300 can include forceps paragraph [0087]) the surgical instrument (surgical instrument 300 fig. 1) the surgical microscope system (an endoscope/operating microscope assembly system 1000 fig. 1) includes a connecting member connecting (coupling mechanism 500 fig. 1) the forceps (surgical instrument 300 can include forceps paragraph [0087]) and the auxiliary imaging device (endoscope assembly 200 fig. 1) to each other (the endoscope assembly 200 may be mounted to a surgical instrument 300 with one or more coupling mechanisms 500 paragraph [0065])
the imaging unit (the endoscopic lens 210 of the endoscope 200 is configured to capture images of a surgical site 400 along the third plane 212 paragraph [0071], interpreted under 112(f) as a camera) of the auxiliary imaging device (endoscope assembly 200 fig. 1) images a surgical field (a surgical site 400 along the third plane 212 paragraph [0071]).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use forceps connected to an imaging device as taught by Ammirati in the surgical microscope apparatus of Nakamura. In embodiments where the endoscope 200 is securely mounted to a surgical instrument 300, the endoscope 200 may provide the user with a third enhanced view of the surgical site from the location and perspective of the surgical instrument 300 being used (paragraph [0071]).
Additionally Blatter discloses in at least figure 1, from which an intima of the inside of a blood vessel to be an anatomosed in microsurgery (destined to be in direct contact with the blood vessel's intima at the anastomosis site when the anvil abuts the receiving blood vessel wall paragraph [0156]) can be checked (minimally invasive anastomosis is performed with an extravascular endoscopic or peripheral device that is typically introduced percutaneously, and this is done in cooperation with an endovascular catheter paragraph [0081]).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to an imaging device to view the anastomosis site as taught by Blatter in the surgical microscope apparatus of Nakamura. It is understood that any of the embodiments of the anastomosis device that are disclosed in the discussion of exemplary embodiments of this invention can further include additional probes extending along the same lumen that is used for delivering the radiation or along another lumen in a suitable probe (paragraph [0248]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Nakamura, Ammirati and Blatter discloses all the limitations of claim 2 and Nakamura further discloses, wherein the auxiliary imaging device (endoscope 106 fig. 13) has a housing unit (handy portion 106b) housing (the handy portion 106b incorporates an ocular portion 106c and a light guide cable 106d col. 19 lines 63-64) the imaging unit (ocular portion 106C fig. 13) and a lighting unit (light guide cable 106d fig. 13).
Nakamura does not disclose, the connecting member includes a tip end side member disposed on a tip end side of the forceps and a base side member disposed on a base side of the forceps relative to the tip end side member
the tip end side member includes a housing unit side connecting unit connected to the housing unit and a surgical instrument side connecting unit connected to the forceps, and
the base side member includes a housing unit side connecting unit connected to the housing unit and a surgical instrument side connecting unit connected to the forceps.
However Ammirati further discloses, the connecting member (coupling mechanism 500 fig. 1) includes a tip end side member (coupling mechanism 500A as shown below in fig. 1) disposed on (coupling mechanism 500A is disposed on the tip side as shown below in fig. 1) a tip end side (tip side as shown below in fig. 1) of the forceps (surgical instrument 300 can include forceps paragraph [0087]) and a base side member (coupling mechanism 500B is disposed on the tip side as shown below in fig. 1) disposed on (coupling mechanism 500B is disposed on the base side as shown below in fig. 1 a base side (base side as shown below in fig. 1) of the forceps (surgical instrument 300 can include forceps paragraph [0087]) relative to (the coupling mechanism 500B is on the base side of coupling mechanism 500A as shown below in fig. 1) the tip end side member (coupling mechanism 500A as shown below in fig. 1)
the tip end side member (coupling mechanism 500A as shown below in fig. 1) includes a housing unit side connecting unit (tip end housing unit side connecting unit as shown below in fig. 1) connected to (the tip end housing unit side connecting unit is connected to the endoscope 200 as shown below in fig. 1) the housing unit (endoscope 200 fig. 1) and a surgical instrument side connecting unit (tip end surgical side connecting unit as shown below in fig. 1) connected to (the tip end surgical side connecting unit is connected to the surgical instrument 300 as shown below in fig. 1) the forceps (surgical instrument 300 can include forceps paragraph [0087]), and
the base side member (coupling mechanism 500B as shown below in fig. 1) includes a housing unit side connecting unit (base end housing unit side connecting unit as shown below in fig. 1) connected to (the base end housing unit side connecting unit is connected to the endoscope 200 as shown below in fig. 1) the housing unit (endoscope 200 fig. 1) and a surgical instrument side connecting unit (base end surgical side connecting unit as shown below in fig. 1) connected to (the base end surgical side connecting unit is connected to the surgical instrument 300 as shown below in fig. 1) the forceps (surgical instrument 300 can include forceps paragraph [0087]).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use forceps connected to an imaging device as taught by Ammirati in the surgical microscope apparatus of Nakamura. In embodiments where the endoscope 200 is securely mounted to a surgical instrument 300, the endoscope 200 may provide the user with a third enhanced view of the surgical site from the location and perspective of the surgical instrument 300 being used (paragraph [0071]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 6398721 B1) in view of Ammirati (US 20120296217 A1) and Blatter (US 20030014064 A1) as applied to claim 3 above and in further view of Luo (CN 220275680 U).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Nakamura, Blatter and Ammirati discloses all the limitations of claim 3.
Nakamura does not disclose, wherein the forceps include a first part brought into contact with a thumb of a surgeon and a second part brought into contact with an index finger of the surgeon, and
wherein the surgical instrument side connecting unit of die tip end side member and the surgical instrument side connecting unit of the base side member are connected to the first part.
However Ammirati further discloses, wherein the forceps (surgical instrument 300 can include forceps paragraph [0087] forceps as shown below in fig. 5) include a first part (first part as shown below in fig. 5) brought into contact (the first part is in contact with the thumb as shown below in fig. 5) with a thumb of a surgeon (thumb as shown below in fig. 5) and a second part (second part as shown below in fig. 5) brought into contact with (the second part is in contact with the index finger as shown below in fig. 5) an index finger of the surgeon (index finger as shown below in fig. 5).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use forceps connected to an imaging device as taught by Ammirati in the surgical microscope apparatus of Nakamura. In embodiments where the endoscope 200 is securely mounted to a surgical instrument 300, the endoscope 200 may provide the user with a third enhanced view of the surgical site from the location and perspective of the surgical instrument 300 being used (paragraph [0071]).
Additionally Luo discloses in at least figure 2, wherein the surgical instrument side connecting unit (tip surgical side connecter as shown below in fig. 2) of the tip end side member (tip side member as shown below in fig. 2) and the surgical instrument side connecting unit (base surgical side connecter as shown below in fig. 2) of the base side member (base side member as shown below in fig. 2) are connected to (the tip and base surgical side connecters are connected to the first part as shown below in fig. 2) the first part (thee medical staff inserts their left thumb into the first handle 1 paragraph [n0025] of translation which is in the first part as shown below in fig. 2).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use forceps connected to an imaging device as taught by Luo in the surgical microscope apparatus of Nakamura. The upper part is for medical staff to view, making it easier for them to insert the first handle 1 and the second handle 2 into the appropriate position inside the patient's nasal cavity to remove foreign objects (paragraph [n0025] of translation).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Noyes (US 20220184359 A1) discloses an endoscope balloon dilator system with forceps.
Nakamura (US 20180045936 A1) discloses a surgical microscope system that is rotatable.
Heeren et al. (US 20170049322 A1) discloses a surgical microscope with integrated oct and display with real time data projection.
/ANDREW R WRIGHT/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/PINPING SUN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872