Detailed Office Action
The communication dated 6/16/2026 has been entered and fully considered. Claim 2-3, 5-6, 11-20, 26-29, and 39-124 are cancelled. Claims 22 and 35-38 are withdrawn from examination. Claims 1, 4, 7-10, 21-25, and 30-38 remain pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A1 and B1 in the reply filed on 6/16/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 22 and 35-38 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species A2 and B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 9-10, 21, 23-25, and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MUENZ (US-2009/0176903), hereinafter MUENZ. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims.
Regarding claims 1 and 4, MUENZ discloses An expandable adhesive composition {[abstract]} comprising:
(A) at least one liquid epoxy resin {[0073] note epoxy resin could be in the form of liquid};
(B) at least one blowing agent {[0039]};
(C) at least one hardener {[0038] note curing agent is the hardener};
(D) at least one semi-crystalline thermoplastic in particulate form {[0021], [0090]};
(E) at least one thermally-conductive filler (claim 4) {[0087] note aluminum powder, [0032] note metal fiber}.
The Examiner notes that MUENZ, however, is explicitly silent on the thermoplastic powder being semi-crystalline, but discloses that polyester that is also a thermoplastic is semi-crystalline or partially crystalline {[0021]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have chosen the thermoplastic powder of MUENZ to be also semi-crystalline, since MUENZ teaches that another thermoplastic component of the mixture can be semi-crystalline, therefore the presence of a semi-crystalline thermoplastic polymer powder is permissible and conformable to the mixture.
Regarding claims 9-10, modified MUENZ discloses wherein the epoxy resin comprises an epoxy resin selected from those formed by reaction of epichlorohydrin with bisphenols, selected from bisphenol A, bisphenol AP, bisphenol AF, bisphenol BP, bisphenol B, bisphenol C, bisphenol E, bisphenol F, bisphenol G, bisphenol M, bisphenol S, bisphenol P, bisphenol Z (claim 9), wherein the epoxy resin comprises an epoxy resin selected from epoxy resins resulting from reaction of epichlorohydrin with bisphenol A {[0073]}.
Regarding claims 21 and 23-24, modified MUENZ discloses wherein the blowing agent is selected from expandable graphite, and hydrocarbon gases encapsulated in a polymeric shell (claim 21), wherein the blowing agent is a hydrocarbon gas encapsulated in poly(acrylonitriles) and/or acrylate copolymers (claim 23), wherein the blowing agent is selected from a propane, butane or pentane, encapsulated in poly(acrylonitriles) and/or acrylate copolymers (claim 24) {[0081] note that lower alkyl hydrocarbon reads on propane, butane and pentane}.
Regarding claim 25, modified MUENZ discloses wherein the blowing agent is used at 0.25-2.35 wt%, based on the total weight of the adhesive composition {[0039]}.
The Examiner notes that the disclosed range encompasses the claimed range. A prima facie case of obviousness is established when a claimed narrow range is within a broad prior art range or partially overlaps or touches the broad range. Harris, 409 F.3d at 1341; Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1329-30. Also, see MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claims 30-32, modified MUENZ discloses wherein the hardener is a latent hardener capable of being activated on exposure to heat (claim 30), wherein the hardener is selected from dicyandiamide, hydrazides and anhydride hardeners (claim 31), wherein the hardener is dicyandiamide (claim 32) {[0028], [0074], [0078]}.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MUENZ as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of LIN (US-2018/0037708), hereinafter LIN.
Regarding claims 7-8, modified MUENZ discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. MUENZ, however, is silent on the viscosity of the liquid epoxy resin.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to expandable epoxy resin composition, LIN discloses wherein the at least one liquid epoxy resin comprises epoxy resins that are flowable at 250C, having a viscosity at 250C of less than 1,500,000 mPas, when measured according to ASTM D-445 (claim 7), wherein the at least one epoxy resin comprises an epoxy resin having a viscosity at 250C of less than 50,000 mPa.s, when measured according to ASTM D-445 {note that as shown above MUENZ discloses liquid epoxy thus flowable at 25 °C, [0034] note that the whole composition viscosity is disclosed, thus epoxy resin is even lower}.
Alternatively, LIN discloses that at lower viscosity dripping can more easily occur and the shape cannot be maintained and at higher viscosity the workability of the material is greatly reduced {[0034]}. Thus, LIN recognizes the viscosity of the epoxy resin as a result-effective variable.
It is well established that determination of optimum values of result-effective variables (in this case the effect of viscosity on handling of the adhesive) is within the skill of one practicing in the art {see MPEP 2144.05 (ll)(B)}. At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the viscosity which is a result-effective variable through routine experimentation to have determined the optimum viscosity for handling the adhesive that in certain cases will meet the claimed limitations.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MUENZ as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of KATOU (US-2018/0215842), hereinafter KATOU.
Regarding claim 34, modified MUENZ discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. MUENZ, however, is silent on the list of alternative hardeners recited in this claim.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to adhesive composition, KATOU discloses wherein the hardener is selected from phthalic anhydride, tetrahydrophthalic anhydride, hexahydrophthalic anhydride, methyltetrahydrophthalic anhydride, methylhexahydrophthalic anhydride, methyl-5-norbornene-2,3-dicarboxylic anhydride, alkenylsuccinic anhydrides, and trimellitic anhydride {[0140]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the hardener of modified MUENZ with that disclosed by KATOU, since it has been held that simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art {see MPEP 2143 (I)(B)}. Predictable results will be obtained since both hardener are used to cure epoxy resin.
Furthermore, and as disclosed by KATOU, the advantage of this hardener is being liquid and readily mixed with liquid epoxy {[0140]}.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MUENZ as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of LIN.
Regarding claim 34, modified MUENZ discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. MUENZ, however, is silent on the list of alternative hardeners recited in this claim.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to expandable epoxy resin composition, LIN discloses wherein the hardener is selected from adipic dihydrazide, sebacic dihydrazide, dodecanedihydrazide, isophthalic dihydrazide, and salicyclic dihydrazide {[0041]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the hardener of modified MUENZ with that disclosed by LIN, since it has been held that simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art {see MPEP 2143 (I)(B)}. Predictable results will be obtained since both hardener are used to cure epoxy resin.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 7-10, 21, 23-25, and 30-34 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 7-10, 21, 23-25, and 30-34 of copending Application No. 18/877,362 (reference application), hereinafter APPL362. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant independent claims 1 and 4 are claimed by claims 1 and 4 of APPL362 with the exception of the limitation of “semi-crystalline”.
The Examiner submits that there are very limited options for the thermoplastic polymer: (1) amorphous, (2) fully crystalline, and (3) semi-crystalline. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have tried these options and have chosen option (3) {see obvious to try in MPEP 2143 (I)(E)}.
Instant claims 7, 8, 9, 10, 23, 24, 25, 30, 31, 32, 33, and 34 are claimed by claims 7, 8, 9, 10, 23, 24, 25, 30, 31, 32, 33, and 34 of APPL362, respectively.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/S. BEHROOZ GHORISHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748