DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The examiner acknowledges the present application claims priority to China Application CN202211012666.X, with filing date 08/23/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/30/2025 and 4/16/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “for an image sub-template with an assigned number of original images less than the number of images it is able to edit…” Does it mean a template with less than an assigned number of images? Or does it mean a template with a number of images which are less than… something else? If so, what is this less than? It is unclear what this limitation means. The limitation also uses the term “it.” Is the term “it” referring to an “image sub-template” or the “original image” or the “number” or something else? The wording must convey the metes and bounds of the invention. Claims 17 and 21 recite similar limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 14-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takeuchi, Patent Application Publication Number US 20190116273 A1 (hereinafter “Takeuchi”).
Claim 1: Takeuchi teaches “A multimedia processing method, comprising:
in response to receiving a template selection instruction from a user, acquiring a target template corresponding to the template selection instruction (i.e. , in a case where the user operates a predetermined button (template display button) 42 [Takeuchi 0037, Fig. 3]… In step S110, the control unit 11 (TP selection unit 13) selects a plurality of templates [Takeuchi 0038, Fig. 4] note: a plurality of templates is at least one target template), wherein the target template comprises a plurality of image sub-templates (Takeuchi Fig. 4 shows templates that have a plurality of frames, or sub-templates);
receiving at least one original image uploaded by the user for the target template (i.e. one or more images (for example, target images 41a, 41b, 41c, and 41d) are selected in the image selection screen 40, in a case where the user operates a predetermined button (template display button) 42 [Takeuchi 0037, Fig. 3]);
determining original images corresponding to image sub-templates (i.e. in the template, it is assumed that numbers are allocated in advance on the arrangement area within the template. Then, when the plurality of the target images are arranged on a plurality of the arrangement areas in the template, the arrangement unit 14 may arrange the target images by associating, for example, the order of the capture date and time with the order of the arrangement area of numbers 1, 2, 3 [Takeuchi 0050] note: assigns (determines) images in each collage field (image sub-template) in order), and obtaining a plurality of target images based on the image sub-templates and the original images corresponding to the image sub-templates (i.e. target images are arranged on a plurality of the arrangement areas in the template [Takeuchi 0050]… may arrange the target image appropriately by scaling or the like such that the target image is included as much as possible inside the arrangement area [Takeuchi 0049] note: target image is based on the sub template via arranged location on the sub-template collage, and original images correspond to the image sub-templates by being a resized version of the original image); and
displaying preview effects of the plurality of target images corresponding to the target template on an image preview interface while previewing the plurality of target images (i.e. On the edit screen 70, the post-synthesis template of an edit target is enlarged and displayed… The control unit 11 performs editing on the post-synthesis template according to an operation on an arbitrary operation receiving unit 18 by the user on the edit screen 70 (step S140). Here, the editing is, for example, enlargement/reduction, trimming, rotation, and rearrangement [Takeuchi 0057, Fig. 4-5] note: Fig 4-5 as preview screens, previewing the effect of resized images of 0049), wherein the image preview interface comprises image editing controls for adjusting the plurality of target images (i.e. the user can arbitrarily perform fine adjustment in step S140 (edit process) [Takeuchi 0049]… Here, the editing is, for example, enlargement/reduction, trimming, rotation, and rearrangement [Takeuchi 0057, Fig. 4-5]).”
Claim 2: Takeuchi teaches “The method according to claim 1, wherein the determining original images corresponding to image sub-templates comprises:
according to an arrangement order of the image sub-templates in the target template and a number of images that each image sub-template being able to edit, assigning the original images to the image sub-templates in a preset order; and
determining the original images corresponding to the image sub-templates based on an assignment result (i.e. in the template, it is assumed that numbers are allocated in advance on the arrangement area within the template. Then, when the plurality of the target images are arranged on a plurality of the arrangement areas in the template, the arrangement unit 14 may arrange the target images by associating, for example, the order of the capture date and time with the order of the arrangement area of numbers 1, 2, 3 [Takeuchi 0050] note: assigns (determines) images in each collage field (image sub-template) in a preset chronological order).”
Claim 4: Takeuchi teaches “The method according to claim 1, wherein the determining original images corresponding to image sub-templates comprises:
acquiring template information of the image sub-templates and image information of the original images (i.e. in the template, it is assumed that numbers are allocated in advance on the arrangement area within the template. Then, when the plurality of the target images are arranged on a plurality of the arrangement areas in the template, the arrangement unit 14 may arrange the target images by associating, for example, the order of the capture date and time with the order of the arrangement area of numbers 1, 2, 3 [Takeuchi 0050] note: acquiring capture date and time of the image); and
determining the original images corresponding to each image sub-template according to the template information and the image information (i.e. in the template, it is assumed that numbers are allocated in advance on the arrangement area within the template. Then, when the plurality of the target images are arranged on a plurality of the arrangement areas in the template, the arrangement unit 14 may arrange the target images by associating, for example, the order of the capture date and time with the order of the arrangement area of numbers 1, 2, 3 [Takeuchi 0050] note: assign images to each sub-template based on capture date/time (image information) and based on a numbering order of the template (template information)), wherein the original images corresponding to different image sub-templates are the same or different (i.e. may arrange the target image appropriately by scaling or the like such that the target image is included as much as possible inside the arrangement area [Takeuchi 0049] note: scaling the image into the template means the contents of the scaled images are the same as the original image, and also means that the image is a different size than the original image).”
Claim 5: Takeuchi teaches “The method according to claim 4, wherein the template information of the image sub-templates comprises material information of each image sub-template (i.e. arrangement unit 14 may arrange the target image appropriately by scaling or the like such that the target image is included as much as possible inside the arrangement area [Takeuchi 0049] note: from instant specification 0036, “material information” appears to be effect information, which includes scaling dimensions), a number of images that each image sub-template is able to edit (i.e. the plurality of the target images are arranged on a plurality of the arrangement areas in the template, the arrangement unit 14 may arrange the target images by associating, for example, the order of the capture date and time with the order of the arrangement area of numbers 1, 2, 3, . . . [Takeuchi 0050]… FIG. 5 is an edit screen [Takeuchi 0057, Fig. 5] note: 0050 indicates one image for each sub-template. 0050 is both a preview screen and an edit screen), and a total number of the image sub-templates (i.e. the plurality of the target images are arranged on a plurality of the arrangement areas in the template, the arrangement unit 14 may arrange the target images by associating, for example, the order of the capture date and time with the order of the arrangement area of numbers 1, 2, 3, . . . [Takeuchi 0050] note: the arrangement area is numbered 1, 2, 3, … which is the number of image sub-templates), and
the image information of the original images comprises content information of the original images and a total number of the original images (i.e. automatically selects a suitable template from the number of the target image [Takeuchi 0041] note: Takeuchi knows the total number of original images. The images themselves comprise the content of the images).”
Claim 6: Takeuchi teaches “The method according to claim 1, wherein displaying preview effects of the plurality of target images corresponding to the target template on an image preview interface comprises:
displaying the plurality of target images on the image preview interface based on an arrangement order of the plurality of image sub-templates in the target template (i.e. in the template, it is assumed that numbers are allocated in advance on the arrangement area within the template. Then, when the plurality of the target images are arranged on a plurality of the arrangement areas in the template, the arrangement unit 14 may arrange the target images by associating, for example, the order of the capture date and time with the order of the arrangement area of numbers 1, 2, 3 [Takeuchi 0050]… FIG. 5 is an edit screen for… the target images 41a, 41b, 41c, and 41d arranged on the arrangement areas 56a, 56b, 56c, and 56d of the post-synthesis template 57 [Takeuchi 0057, Fig. 5]).”
Claim 14: Takeuchi teaches an electronic device, comprising: a processor; and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor (i.e. the CPU 11a performs an arithmetic process according to a program stored in the ROM 11b [Takeuchi 0029]), cause the processor to perform operations corresponding to the method of claim 1; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 15: Takeuchi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause at least a processor (i.e. the CPU 11a performs an arithmetic process according to a program stored in the ROM 11b [Takeuchi 0029]) to perform operations corresponding to the method of claim 1; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 16: Claim 16 is similar in content and in scope to claim 2, thus it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 18: Takeuchi teaches “The electronic device according to claim 14, wherein determining original images corresponding to image sub-templates by the processor comprises:
acquiring template information of the image sub-templates and image information of the original images (i.e. in the template, it is assumed that numbers are allocated in advance on the arrangement area within the template. Then, when the plurality of the target images are arranged on a plurality of the arrangement areas in the template, the arrangement unit 14 may arrange the target images by associating, for example, the order of the capture date and time with the order of the arrangement area of numbers 1, 2, 3 [Takeuchi 0050] note: acquiring capture date and time of the image); and
determining the original images corresponding to each image sub-template according to the template information and the image information (i.e. in the template, it is assumed that numbers are allocated in advance on the arrangement area within the template. Then, when the plurality of the target images are arranged on a plurality of the arrangement areas in the template, the arrangement unit 14 may arrange the target images by associating, for example, the order of the capture date and time with the order of the arrangement area of numbers 1, 2, 3 [Takeuchi 0050] note: assign images to each sub-template based on capture date/time (image information) and based on a numbering order of the template (template information)), wherein the original images corresponding to different image sub-templates are the same or different (i.e. may arrange the target image appropriately by scaling or the like such that the target image is included as much as possible inside the arrangement area [Takeuchi 0049] note: scaling the image into the template means the contents of the scaled images are the same as the original image, and also means that the image is a different size than the original image),
wherein the template information of the image sub-templates comprises material information of each image sub-template (i.e. arrangement unit 14 may arrange the target image appropriately by scaling or the like such that the target image is included as much as possible inside the arrangement area [Takeuchi 0049] note: from instant specification 0036, “material information” appears to be effect information, which includes scaling dimensions), a number of images that each image sub-template is able to edit (i.e. the plurality of the target images are arranged on a plurality of the arrangement areas in the template, the arrangement unit 14 may arrange the target images by associating, for example, the order of the capture date and time with the order of the arrangement area of numbers 1, 2, 3, . . . [Takeuchi 0050]… FIG. 5 is an edit screen [Takeuchi 0057, Fig. 5] note: 0050 indicates one image for each sub-template. 0050 is both a preview screen and an edit screen), and a total number of the image sub-templates (i.e. the plurality of the target images are arranged on a plurality of the arrangement areas in the template, the arrangement unit 14 may arrange the target images by associating, for example, the order of the capture date and time with the order of the arrangement area of numbers 1, 2, 3, . . . [Takeuchi 0050] note: the arrangement area is numbered 1, 2, 3, … which is the number of image sub-templates), and
the image information of the original images comprises content information of the original images and a total number of the original images (i.e. automatically selects a suitable template from the number of the target image [Takeuchi 0041] note: Takeuchi knows the total number of original images. The images themselves comprise the content of the images).”
Claim 19: Claim 19 is similar in content and in scope to claim 6, thus it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 20: Claim 20 is similar in content and in scope to claim 2, thus it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 17, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi, in view of Border et al., Patent Application Publication number US 20110096075 A1, (hereinafter “Border”), in view of Fagans et al., Patent Number US 8024658 B1 (hereinafter “Fagans”).
Claim 3: Takeuchi teach(es) all the limitations of claim 2, above. Takeuchi teaches “wherein the determining the original images corresponding to the image sub-templates based on an assignment result comprises:
for an image sub-template with an assigned number of original images equal to the number of images it is able to edit (i.e. in a case where four target images 41a, 41b, 41c, and 41d are selected in step S100, the TP selection unit 13 selects the template having the four arrangement areas [Takeuchi 0040]), taking the assigned original images as the original images corresponding to the image sub-template (i.e. in the template, it is assumed that numbers are allocated in advance on the arrangement area within the template. Then, when the plurality of the target images are arranged on a plurality of the arrangement areas in the template, the arrangement unit 14 may arrange the target images by associating, for example, the order of the capture date and time with the order of the arrangement area of numbers 1, 2, 3 [Takeuchi 0050] note: assigns (determines) images in each collage field (image sub-template) in a preset chronological order);”
Takeuchi is/are silent regarding “for an image sub-template with an assigned number of original images less than the number of images it is able to edit, acquiring supplementary images of the image sub-template, and taking the assigned original images and the supplementary images as the original images corresponding to the image sub-template, wherein the supplementary images are obtained by copying one or more of the original images in a predefined manner;”
Border teaches “for an image sub-template with an assigned number of original images less than the number of images it is able to edit, acquiring supplementary images of the image sub-template, and taking the assigned original images and the supplementary images as the original images corresponding to the image sub-template, wherein the supplementary images are obtained by copying one or more of the original images in a predefined manner (i.e. picture2life.com has a fixed number of positions (e.g. 16) for pictures in their country collages. If one has fewer than the number of slots, images will be duplicated [Borders 0010]);…”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Takeuchi to include the feature of having the ability to fill in blanks as disclosed by Border.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to display a full collage, which is more aesthetically pleasing to the user, which increases user satisfaction, which increases user engagement.
Takeuchi and Border is/are silent regarding “for an image sub-template that does not have any assigned original image, determining that the image sub-template does not have a corresponding original image, and discarding the image sub-template.”
Fagans teaches “for an image sub-template that does not have any assigned original image, determining that the image sub-template does not have a corresponding original image, and discarding the image sub-template (i.e. A clean up operation might be required if… space in the photo book… for a picture is empty… process 7100 edits the photo book to remove all such empty spaces. For instance, if a page of the photo book includes three spaces for pictures and only two pictures are inserted in that page, the process 7100 would edit that particular page to provide space for only two pictures [Fagans Col 14 lines 28-37]).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Takeuchi and Border to include the feature of having the ability to remove blank spaces as disclosed by Fagans.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to display a full collage, which is more aesthetically pleasing to the user, which increases user satisfaction, which increases user engagement.
Claim 17: Claim 17 is similar in content and in scope to claim 3, thus it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 21: Claim 21 is similar in content and in scope to claim 3, thus it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 7, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi, in view of Angiulo et al., Patent Application Publication number US 20050210414 A1, (hereinafter “Angiulo”).
Claim 7: Takeuchi teach(es) all the limitations of claim 6, above. Takeuchi teaches “wherein the displaying the plurality of target images on the image preview interface comprises:
displaying each target image of the plurality of target images as a main view image on the image preview interface in turn (Takeuchi Fig. 5 shows the 4 selected images on a preview page. The term “main view” is not defined in spec. The BRI of “main view” can mean simply displayed on the screen. A gallery of all images are all displayed in 1 turn);”
Takeuchi is/are silent regarding “displaying thumbnail images of the plurality of target images on the image preview interface, wherein a size of the thumbnail images is smaller than that of the main view image, and the order in which the target images are displayed as the main view image and the arrangement order of the thumbnail images of the target images are both consistent with the arrangement order of the corresponding image sub-templates in the target template.”
Angiulo teaches “displaying thumbnail images of the plurality of target images on the image preview interface (i.e. FIG. 7 is a browser view of an exemplary Web page that includes a photo gallery of thumbnail images corresponding to a plurality of original images [Angiulo 0023, Fig. 7-8]),
wherein a size of the thumbnail images is smaller than that of the main view image (Angiulo Fig. 7 thumbnail 186a is smaller than the main image 186b), and the order in which the target images are displayed as the main view image and the arrangement order of the thumbnail images of the target images are both consistent with the arrangement order of the corresponding image sub-templates in the target template (Angiulo Fig. 7-8 shows that the order of thumbnails and main view match of Fig. 7, match the order of the collage in Fig. 8).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Takeuchi to include thumbnails as disclosed by Angiulo.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to view all of the images in one place, which provides more information to the user, so the user can be reminded, and so the user can make appropriate choices.
Claim 11: Takeuchi teach(es) all the limitations of claim 1, above. Takeuchi is/are silent regarding “wherein the image editing controls comprise an order adjustment control and/or an image deletion control, and the method further comprises:
in response to the order adjustment control being triggered, adjusting a display order of the plurality of target images based on a trigger operation on the order adjustment control; and
in response to the image deletion control being triggered, deleting a target image corresponding to a trigger operation on the image deletion control.”
Angiulo teaches “wherein the image editing controls comprise an order adjustment control and/or an image deletion control, and the method further comprises:
in response to the order adjustment control being triggered, adjusting a display order of the plurality of target images based on a trigger operation on the order adjustment control (i.e. edit function also enables a user to select an individual thumbnail to edit or delete [Angiulo 0012]… FIG. 7 is a browser view… that includes a photo gallery of thumbnail images… and displayed in a slide show layout [Angiulo 0023, Fig. 7] note: in a slideshow layout, a deleted image would not leave a gap or a hole in the slideshow. The space where the deleted image would be filled in the by next image in the slideshow. Thus, the display order of the images are based on a deletion control, which is also an adjustment control); and
in response to the image deletion control being triggered, deleting a target image corresponding to a trigger operation on the image deletion control (i.e. edit function also enables a user to select an individual thumbnail to edit or delete [Angiulo 0012]).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Takeuchi to include the feature of having the ability to reorder images as disclosed by Angiulo.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit for a user to move images around, which helps the user brainstorm, and to help the user backtrack when the user makes a mistake.
Claims 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi, in view of Ishihara et al., Patent Application Publication number US 20170013150 A1, (hereinafter “Ishihara”).
Claim 8: Takeuchi teach(es) all the limitations of claim 1, above. Takeuchi teaches “wherein the image editing controls comprise an image content editing control, and the method further comprises:
in response to the image content editing control being triggered, switching from the image preview interface to an image editing interface, and displaying an image to be edited among the plurality of target images on the image editing interface (i.e. FIG. 4 illustrates an example of a post-synthesis template selection screen 50… The post-synthesis template 53 is an image obtained as a result of arranging the target images 41a, 41b, 41c, and 41d on a template 52 [Takeuchi 0052, Fig. 4]… the user operates a predetermined button (edit button) 60 provided on the post-synthesis template selection screen 50 [0056, Fig. 5 element 60 “edit button”]… FIG. 5 illustrates an example in which the display control unit 15 causes the edit screen 70 to be displayed [Takeuchi 0057, Fig. 5] note: user see preview interface of Fig. 4, then clicks on “edit” button, then user sees edit interface of Fig. 5),”
Takeuchi is/are silent regarding “wherein the image editing interface comprises a plurality of child controls for editing content of the image to be edited; and in response to a target child control among the plurality of child controls being triggered, editing the image to be edited based on a trigger operation on the target child control.”
Ishihara teaches “wherein the image editing interface comprises a plurality of child controls for editing content of the image to be edited; and
in response to a target child control among the plurality of child controls being triggered, editing the image to be edited based on a trigger operation on the target child control (i.e. FIGS. 7A to 7D illustrate examples of “enlargement/reduction”, “rotation”, and “deletion” as the editing contents. However, when “addition of image”, “addition of text”, “movement of image” or the like is performed, these items are added to an editing menu. The editing menu may be divided into a parent menu and a submenu, and a screen of “addition of image”, “addition of text”, or “movement of image” may be displayed in the submenu [Ishihara 0060, Fig. 7A-7D]).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Takeuchi to include the hierarchal editing interface as disclosed by Ishihara.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to reduce clutter on a GUI, by consolidating controls into a submenu.
Claims 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi, in view of Ishihara, in view of Choi et al., Patent Application Publication number US 20090291707 A1, (hereinafter “Choi”), in view of Angiulo.
Claim 9: Takeuchi and Ishihara teach(es) all the limitations of claim 8, above. Takeuchi 0052, 0057, Fig. 4-5 teach an image editing interface in claim 1, above. Takeuchi and Ishihara is/are silent regarding “wherein the image editing interface further comprises a thumbnail image display control, and wherein the method further comprises: in response to the thumbnail image display control being in a first state, displaying the thumbnail images of the plurality of target images on the image editing interface; and in response to the thumbnail image display control being in a second state, hiding the thumbnail images of the plurality of target images on the image editing interface.”
Choi teaches “wherein the image editing interface further comprises a thumbnail image display control, and wherein the method further comprises: in response to the thumbnail image display control being in a first state, displaying the thumbnail images of the plurality of target images on the image editing interface; and in response to the thumbnail image display control being in a second state, hiding the thumbnail images of the plurality of target images on the image editing interface (i.e. The thumbnail region may be toggled on and off by the user [Choi 0109]).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Takeuchi and Ishihara to include the feature of having the ability to toggle thumbnails as disclosed by Choi.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to reduce clutter on a GUI, by temporarily removing unneeded GUI controls.
Claim 10: Takeuchi and Ishihara and Choi teach(es) all the limitations of claim 9, above. Takeuchi and Ishihara and Choi is/are silent regarding “wherein displaying the thumbnail images of the plurality of target images on the image editing interface comprises:
determining arrangement and display positions of the thumbnail images of the plurality of target images on the image editing interface according to a content editing operation of the user on the image to be edited and
based on the arrangement and display positions, displaying the thumbnail images of the plurality of target images on the image editing interface.”
Angiulo teaches “wherein displaying the thumbnail images of the plurality of target images on the image editing interface comprises:
determining arrangement and display positions of the thumbnail images of the plurality of target images (Angiulo Fig. 7-8 shows that the order of thumbnails and main view match of Fig. 7, match the order of the collage in Fig. 8) on the image editing interface (i.e. the edit function also enables a user to select an individual thumbnail to edit [Angiulo 0012]… a user is enabled to view a preview and edit the Web page [Angiulo 0011] note: the preview page is also the edit page) according to a content editing operation of the user on the image to be edited (i.e. edit function also enables a user to select an individual thumbnail to edit or delete [Angiulo 0012]… FIG. 7 is a browser view… that includes a photo gallery of thumbnail images… and displayed in a slide show layout [Angiulo 0023, Fig. 7] note: in a slideshow layout, a deleted image would not leave a gap or a hole in the slideshow. The space where the deleted image would be filled in the by next image in the slideshow. Thus, the arrangement and display of the thumbnail images are according to a deletion content editing operation) and
based on the arrangement and display positions, displaying the thumbnail images of the plurality of target images on the image editing interface (Angiulo Fig. 7-8 shows that the order of thumbnails and main view match of Fig. 7, match the order of the collage in Fig. 8) (i.e. edit function also enables a user to select an individual thumbnail to edit or delete [Angiulo 0012]… FIG. 7 is a browser view… that includes a photo gallery of thumbnail images… and displayed in a slide show layout [Angiulo 0023, Fig. 7] note: in a slideshow layout, a deleted image would not leave a gap or a hole in the slideshow. The space where the deleted image would be filled in the by next image in the slideshow. Thus, the arrangement and display of the thumbnail images are according to a deletion content editing operation).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Takeuchi and Ishihara and Choi to include the feature of having the ability to reorder thumbnails (by deleting and filling) as disclosed by Angiulo.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to remove unwanted images from the collage.
Claims 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi, in view of O’Neill et al., Patent number US 10219027 B1, (hereinafter “O’Neill”).
Claim 12: Takeuchi teach(es) all the limitations of claim 1, above. Takeuchi is/are silent regarding “wherein the plurality of target images have corresponding multimedia associated resources, and the multimedia associated resources are multimedia resources that are simultaneously played during a carousel presentation of the plurality of target images.”
O’Neill teaches “wherein the plurality of target images have corresponding multimedia associated resources, and the multimedia associated resources are multimedia resources that are simultaneously played during a carousel presentation of the plurality of target images (i.e. a Taylor Swift music video is currently being transmitted over the Hit List channel. Thus, the selected artist in carousel 404 is Taylor Swift… the user can change which picture in the carousel [O’Neill Col 4 para 42-46, Fig. 4-6]).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Takeuchi to include music on a carousel display as disclosed by O’Neill.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit have multimedia experience for the user, which increases user satisfaction, which increases user engagement.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jirman (US 20120257072 A1) listed on 892 is related to an image creation interface, specifically with the feature of thumbnail toggles.
/S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2179
/IRETE F EHICHIOYA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2179