DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 11-12, 16-18, 21-22, and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mozaffari (US 20230299924 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 16, 35, and 36 Mozaffari discloses:
configuring a first control resource set (CORESET) of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for a first type of terminal, (Paragraph [0045], “ In NR, Control Resource Set (CORESET) #0 can be configured only with interleaved Control Channel Element (CCE) to Resource Element Group (REG) mapping (referred to herein as “CCE-REG mapping”). Consequently, CCEs for a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) candidate may map to REGs spread (non-contiguously) over the entire CORESET bandwidth.” And paragraph [0055], “The bandwidth of CORESET #0 depends on the subcarrier spacing indicated in MIB (by parameter subCarrierSpacingCommon)and is configured by the network”)
wherein a frequency domain width of the first CORESET is greater than a receiving bandwidth of a control channel supported by the first type of terminal. (Paragraph [0045], “In this case, although the bandwidth of a PDCCH candidate is less than the CORESET bandwidth, the UE needs to monitor the entire CORESET bandwidth to receive the PDCCH candidate…Configuring the entire CORESET #0 bandwidth… creates a problem for a low-complexity UE that only supports smaller UE bandwidths than the bandwidth required for CORESET #0. ” and paragraph [0055], “Using 17.28 MHz bandwidth, however, may result in CORESET #0 not being useable by low-complexity UEs, e.g., NR-RedCap UEs, that only support smaller UE bandwidths” and paragraph [0061], “An NR-RedCap UE may not support the wide bandwidth used by the existing CORESET #0 interleaved design…”)
Specifically regarding claim 35 Mozaffari discloses:
Network device processor, transceiver, memory (Paragraph [0089], “The network node 1000 may be, for example, the network node 900, a base station 202… memory 1006, and a network interface 1008. The one or more processors 1004 are also referred to herein as processing circuitry. In addition, the network node 1000 may include one or more radio units 1010 that each includes one or more transmitters 1012 and one or more receivers 1014 coupled to one or more antennas 1016.”)
Specifically regarding claim 36 Mozaffari discloses:
Terminal processor, transceiver, memory (Paragraph [0094], “The wireless communication device 1300 may be a UE 212 such as, e.g., a reduced bandwidth wireless communication device or a reduced bandwidth UE… As illustrated, the wireless communication device 1300 includes one or more processors 1302 (e.g., CPUs, ASICs, FPGAs, and/or the like), memory 1304, and one or more transceivers”)
Regarding claim 2 Mozaffari discloses:
in response to the first CORESET configured for the first type of terminal, processing resource mapping for the PDCCH in a first processing mode. (Fig. 6 and its supporting paragraphs such as Paragraph [0062], “the UE can receive PDCCH by configuring a portion of the CORESET bandwidth, as illustrated in FIG. 6. As a representative result, in Table 1, a comparison of the required bandwidth for receiving a PDCCH candidate for interleaved and non-interleaved mappings is provided.” And paragraph [0063], “additional CCEs are transmitted only for reduced bandwidth UEs (e.g., NR-RedCap UEs) within the portion of the CORESET bandwidth that can be configured for the reduced bandwidth UEs.” And paragraph [0064], “the CCEs that are outside the bandwidth of the reduced bandwidth UE can be remapped back to the supported bandwidth of the reduced bandwidth UEs.” Using the CCEs to help map for the PDCCH.)
Regarding claims 3, 17-18 and 21 Mozaffari discloses:
wherein a first resource unit occupied by the PDCCH is acquired by trimming a second resource unit configured for the first CORESET; (Fig. 6 and the table 1 and paragraph [0084], “The reduced bandwidth UE 212 may ignore (or may not even be aware of) the portion of the interleaved portion of the CCE-REG mapping that corresponds to REGs that are outside of its supported bandwidth.”)
and a bandwidth of the first resource unit is not greater than the receiving bandwidth of the control channel supported by the first type of terminal. (Fig. 6 and the table 1 and paragraph [0062], “With such a non-interleaved mapping option, the reduced bandwidth UE (e.g., NR RedCap UE) will not require the full CORESET bandwidth. Instead, the UE can receive PDCCH by configuring a portion of the CORESET bandwidth” and paragraph [0084], “The reduced bandwidth UE 212 may ignore (or may not even be aware of) the portion of the interleaved portion of the CCE-REG mapping that corresponds to REGs that are outside of its supported bandwidth.” Instead of using the entire CORESET it is trimmed down to using a portion which is less than the second unit.)
Regarding claim 4 Mozaffari discloses:
wherein the first resource unit is acquired by the network device trimming the second resource unit according to the receiving bandwidth of the control channel supported by the first type of terminal. (Fig. 6 and the table 1 and paragraph [0084], “The reduced bandwidth UE 212 may ignore (or may not even be aware of) the portion of the interleaved portion of the CCE-REG mapping that corresponds to REGs that are outside of its supported bandwidth.” Instead of using the entire CORESET it is trimmed down to using a portion which is less than the second unit.)
Regarding claim 5 Mozaffari discloses:
according to configuration of the first CORESET, performing the resource mapping for the PDCCH from control channel element (CCE) to resource element group (REG) on the second resource unit; trimming the second resource unit according to the receiving bandwidth of the control channel supported by the first type of terminal to acquire the first resource unit. (Fig. 6 and the table 1 and paragraph [0084], “The reduced bandwidth UE 212 may ignore (or may not even be aware of) the portion of the interleaved portion of the CCE-REG mapping that corresponds to REGs that are outside of its supported bandwidth.” Instead of using the entire CORESET it is trimmed down to using a portion which is less than the second unit.)
Regarding claim 6 Mozaffari discloses:
discarding information corresponding to a trimmed resource unit when the network device sends the PDCCH on the first resource unit.; or trimming the second resource unit comprising trimming the second resource unit according to at least one of following granularities: resource element (RE); REG; REG bundle; N REGs; or CCE. (Paragraph [0063], “additional CCEs are transmitted only for reduced bandwidth UEs (e.g., NR-RedCap UEs) within the portion of the CORESET bandwidth that can be configured for the reduced bandwidth UEs. These additional CCEs are used to create a contiguous set of CCEs for transmitting PDCCH within the portion of the CORESET bandwidth that can be configured for the reduced bandwidth UEs.” and paragraph [0084], “The reduced bandwidth UE 212 may ignore (or may not even be aware of) the portion of the interleaved portion of the CCE-REG mapping that corresponds to REGs that are outside of its supported bandwidth.” Figures 7 and 8.)
Regarding claim 8 Mozaffari discloses:
wherein the trimmed resource unit comprises at least one of: a resource unit indicated by an upper network; a resource unit determined by the network device according to a preset rule; continuous resource units; or dispersed resource units, or wherein the trimmed resource unit remains fixed or varies in time domain. (Paragraph [0063], “additional CCEs are transmitted only for reduced bandwidth UEs (e.g., NR-RedCap UEs) within the portion of the CORESET bandwidth that can be configured for the reduced bandwidth UEs. These additional CCEs are used to create a contiguous set of CCEs for transmitting PDCCH within the portion of the CORESET bandwidth that can be configured for the reduced bandwidth UEs.” And paragraph [0084], “The reduced bandwidth UE 212 may ignore (or may not even be aware of) the portion of the interleaved portion of the CCE-REG mapping that corresponds to REGs that are outside of its supported bandwidth.” Figures 7 and 8 discloses manipulating the interleaved coreset such that it creates continuous CCEs.)
Regarding claim 11 Mozaffari discloses:
wherein the second resource unit occupied by the PDCCH is a resource unit configured for the first CORESET. (Paragraph [0084], “The reduced bandwidth UE 212 may ignore (or may not even be aware of) the portion of the interleaved portion of the CCE-REG mapping that corresponds to REGs that are outside of its supported bandwidth.” Figures 7 and 8. Coreset 0 is the first coreset.)
Regarding claim 12 Mozaffari discloses:
according to configuration of the first CORESET, performing the resource mapping for the PDCCH from CCE to REG on the second resource unit. (Paragraph [0063], “additional CCEs are transmitted only for reduced bandwidth UEs (e.g., NR-RedCap UEs) within the portion of the CORESET bandwidth that can be configured for the reduced bandwidth UEs. These additional CCEs are used to create a contiguous set of CCEs for transmitting PDCCH within the portion of the CORESET bandwidth that can be configured for the reduced bandwidth UEs… An example of adding new CCEs for reduced bandwidth UEs within CORESET #0 is illustrated in FIG. 7” Figures 7 and 8. Coreset 0 is the first coreset.)
Regarding claim 22 Mozafarri discloses:
Further comprising: padding information corresponding to an unreceived resource unit after receiving the PDCCH; or the partial resource unit comprising at least one of: a resource unit determined by the terminal, or a resource unit indicated by the network device. (Paragraph [0063], “additional CCEs are transmitted only for reduced bandwidth UEs (e.g., NR-RedCap UEs) within the portion of the CORESET bandwidth that can be configured for the reduced bandwidth UEs. These additional CCEs are used to create a contiguous set of CCEs for transmitting PDCCH within the portion of the CORESET bandwidth that can be configured for the reduced bandwidth UEs.” Figures 7 and 8.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-20, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mozaffari in view of Wang et al. (US 20230007524 A1).
Regarding claim 19 Mozaffari does not disclose:
padding information corresponding to a trimmed resource unit after receiving the PDCCH.
Wang discloses:
padding information corresponding to a trimmed resource unit after receiving the PDCCH. (Paragraph [0053], “In a particular embodiment, the NR-Light UE treats the (Y-X) RBs that it does not receive as “punctured”. The UE sets the soft values of the corresponding coded bits carried in the punctured RBs to zero. These coded bits are said to be punctured.” And paragraph [0063], “ unused CCE resources may be used for transmitting PDCCH and/or PDCCH repetitions and/or PDCCH repetitions for the previously punctured portion (partly or fully) for NR-Light UEs.” Wang discloses the concept of padding information.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mozaffari’s CORESET enhancements with Wang’s padding information. One would have been motivated to do this to help UE decode PDCCH transmission over a wider resource region.
Regarding claim 20 Mozaffari does not disclose:
wherein padding the information corresponding to the trimmed resource unit after receiving the PDCCH, comprises: after receiving the PDCCH, using a preset bit to pad the information corresponding to the trimmed resource unit.
Wang discloses:
wherein padding the information corresponding to the trimmed resource unit after receiving the PDCCH, comprises: after receiving the PDCCH, using a preset bit to pad the information corresponding to the trimmed resource unit. (Paragraph [0053], “In a particular embodiment, the NR-Light UE treats the (Y-X) RBs that it does not receive as “punctured”. The UE sets the soft values of the corresponding coded bits carried in the punctured RBs to zero. These coded bits are said to be punctured.” And paragraph [0063], “ unused CCE resources may be used for transmitting PDCCH and/or PDCCH repetitions and/or PDCCH repetitions for the previously punctured portion (partly or fully) for NR-Light UEs.” Wang discloses the concept of padding information. 0 is a preset binary bit.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mozaffari’s CORESET enhancements with Wang’s padding information. One would have been motivated to do this to help UE decode PDCCH transmission over a wider resource region.
Regarding claim 23 Mozafarri does not disclose:
wherein padding the information corresponding to the unreceived resource unit after receiving the PDCCH, comprises: after receiving the PDCCH, using a preset bit to pad the information corresponding to the unreceived resource unit.
Wang discloses:
wherein padding the information corresponding to the unreceived resource unit after receiving the PDCCH, comprises: after receiving the PDCCH, using a preset bit to pad the information corresponding to the unreceived resource unit. (Paragraph [0053], “In a particular embodiment, the NR-Light UE treats the (Y-X) RBs that it does not receive as “punctured”. The UE sets the soft values of the corresponding coded bits carried in the punctured RBs to zero. These coded bits are said to be punctured.” And paragraph [0063], “ unused CCE resources may be used for transmitting PDCCH and/or PDCCH repetitions and/or PDCCH repetitions for the previously punctured portion (partly or fully) for NR-Light UEs.” Wang discloses the concept of padding information. 0 is a preset binary bit.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mozaffari’s CORESET enhancements with Wang’s padding information. One would have been motivated to do this to help UE decode PDCCH transmission over a wider resource region.
Regarding claim 25 Mozaffari does not disclose:
wherein the preset bit is 0 or 1; or the method further comprises: performing de-resource mapping for the PDCCH according to information corresponding to the second resource unit.
Wang discloses:
wherein the preset bit is 0 or 1; or the method further comprises: performing de-resource mapping for the PDCCH according to information corresponding to the second resource unit. (Paragraph [0053], “In a particular embodiment, the NR-Light UE treats the (Y-X) RBs that it does not receive as “punctured”. The UE sets the soft values of the corresponding coded bits carried in the punctured RBs to zero. These coded bits are said to be punctured.” And paragraph [0063], “ unused CCE resources may be used for transmitting PDCCH and/or PDCCH repetitions and/or PDCCH repetitions for the previously punctured portion (partly or fully) for NR-Light UEs.” Wang discloses the concept of padding information. 0 is a preset binary bit.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mozaffari’s CORESET enhancements with Wang’s padding information. One would have been motivated to do this to help UE decode PDCCH transmission over a wider resource region.
Conclusion
/NAM P. CAO/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479