Status of claims
Claims 1-19 and 22 are pending and under examination in this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of the Information Disclosure Statement filed 4/8/25 and 12/20/24. The Examiner has considered the references cited therein to the extent that each is a proper citation. Please see the attached USPTO Form 1449.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
a. Applicants cite EPA 25B compliant chemical The use of the acronym, PRL-3 seems to be conventional in the art. Applicants are requested to select one acronym that represents the term for consistency throughout the application; and
Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Boal (US 2019/0345620)
Boal (US 2019/0345620) teaches with regards to instant claim 1 and 12, an aqueous organic haloamine solution from a precursor (see abstract), wherein the amino acid precursor is taurine, glycine and alanine (see 0006, claims 3, 14 as required by instant claims 2-3, 12-13), and a halide salt (see abstract, as required by instant claim 5, 15) a phosphate salt (see 0031) as required by claims 4, 6-7, 16-18) and the halide is bromine (as required by instant claim 6, see 0003).
Therefore the claims are anticipated by Boal because where the claims merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone”. See In re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478, 481 (CCPA 1951)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 12-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boal (US 2019/0345620) in view of Schneider et al. (US 2009/0197838) and Boal (US 11814739)
Boal (US 2019/0345620) teaches with regards to instant claim 1 and 12, an aqueous organic haloamine solution from a precursor (see abstract), wherein the amino acid precursor is taurine, glycine and alanine (see 0006, claims 3, 14 as required by instant claims 2-3, 12-13), and a halide salt (see abstract, as required by instant claim 5, 15) a phosphate salt (see 0031) as required by claims 4, 6-7, 16-18) and the halide is bromine (as required by instant claim 6, see 0003).
However fails to teach the composition comprises additive (as required by instant claims 8- 9, 19).
Schneider teaches N-halogenated amino acid salt (0036) comprising vegetable oil (see 0036),
Boal’739 teaches aqueous organic haloamine solutions from precursor solutions comprising at least one halide-containing salt, at least one organic amine component, and an acid additive (see abstract).
Douglas teaches a liquid agrochemical composition (see 0001)comprising organic amine (see 0029)pesticides (as required by instant claims 8-9 and 19, plant nutrient (see 0016), castor oil (see 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the composition taught by Boal incorporating the cited reference of Schneider and Boal’739 to result in the formulation of a plant nutrient or antimicrobial precursor solution with a reasonable expectation of success.
The motivation to combine can arise from the expectation that the prior art elements will perform their expected functions to achieve their expected results when combined for their common known purpose. Section MPEP 2144.07.
Claims 10-11 and 22 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/SHIRLEY V GEMBEH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615 8/5/26