DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is the national stage entry under 35 U.S.C. 371 of Application No. PCT/KR2023/008418, filed 19 June 2023 and having claims 1-15, which claims foreign priority to Korea Patent Application No. 10-2022-0077815, filed 24 June 2022. Claims 1-15 have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 20 December 2024 and 17 September 2025 was filed before the mailing date of the first action on the merits. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are: “artificial intelligence (AI) model for encoding” and “artificial intelligence (AI) model for decoding” in claims 1-3 and 10.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0149904 to Timo et al. (hereinafter Timo).
As per claim 1, Timo discloses a method of a user equipment (UE) for reporting a channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system (see paragraphs 38 and 125), the method comprising:
compressing CSI data estimated between a base station (BS) and the UE (see figure 3 and paragraphs 125-129) through an artificial intelligence (AI) model for encoding jointly trained with an AI model for decoding of the BS (see paragraphs 145-146).
transmitting the compressed CSI data to the BS (see paragraph 128);
transmitting, to the BS, the CSI data before compression is performed, based on a preset condition (see paragraph 263; UE configured by the BS to send periodic updates, see paragraph 266); and
receiving information for updating the AI model for encoding when the BS determines to update the AI model for encoding based on the CSI data (see paragraph 263).
As per claim 2, Timo discloses a method of a base station (BS) for reporting a channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system (see paragraphs 38 and 133), the method comprising:
receiving, from a UE, CSI data compressed through an AI model for encoding jointly trained with an AI model for decoding of the BS (see paragraphs 128, 133, 134, and 145-146);
receiving, from the UE, CSI data before compression is performed, based on a preset condition (see paragraph 263; UE configured by the BS to send periodic updates, see paragraph 266);
determining to update the AI model for encoding based on the CSI data (see paragraph 267); and
transmitting information for updating the AI model for encoding (see paragraphs 263-267).
As per claim 3, Timo discloses a user equipment (UE) for reporting a channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system (see paragraphs 38 and 125), the UE comprising:
a transceiver; and a processor (see paragraph 343) connected to the transceiver and configured to
compress CSI data estimated between a base station (BS) and the UE (see figure 3 and paragraphs 125-129) through an artificial intelligence (AI) model for encoding jointly trained with an AI model for decoding of the BS (see paragraphs 145-146),
transmit the compressed CSI data to the BS (see paragraph 128),
transmit, to the BS, the CSI data before compression is performed, based on a preset condition (see paragraph 263; UE configured by the BS to send periodic updates, see paragraph 266), and
receive information for updating the AI model for encoding when the BS determines to update the AI model for encoding based on the CSI data (see paragraph 263).
As per claim 4, Timo further discloses the processor is configured to receive, from the BS, a request for the CSI data when decoding performance of an uplink (UL) signal received by the BS fails to satisfy a preset threshold or a change in channel state is detected based on the UL signal (see paragraphs 265 and 267; decision by BS to update, triggering a request, see paragraphs 196, 219, and 302).
As per claim 5, Timo further discloses the CSI data comprises a matrix representing a state of a channel, wherein the request for the CSI data comprises at least one of a number of matrices requested by the BS for transmission or a partition indicator which specifies at least some of the matrices requested by the BS for transmission (set of matrices as per a codebook index, which necessitates a number of matrices where the set is variable, see paragraph 303).
As per claim 6, Timo further discloses the processor is configured to receive channel estimation configuration information from the BS by higher layer signaling, and transmit the CSI data based on an interval set based on the channel estimation configuration information (see paragraphs 263, 264, and 266).
As per claim 7, Timo further discloses the processor is configured to transmit, to the BS, a request to update the AI model for encoding when decoding performance of a downlink (DL) signal received by the UE fails to satisfy a preset threshold or a change in channel state is detected based on the DL signal, and receive, from the BS, a request for the CSI data based on the request to update the AI model for encoding (see paragraphs 265 and 267; decision by BS to update, triggering a request, see paragraphs 196, 219, 302, and 338).
As per claim 8, Timo further discloses the information for updating the AI model for encoding comprises neural network (NN) configuration information for an AI model for encoding updated in the BS, and wherein the NN configuration information comprises information about at least one of a type of a layer included in the updated AI model for encoding (layers associated with U2 may be reconfigured, see paragraph 300), a number of layers, a number of filter kernels, a size of the filter kernel or a parameter of the filter kernel.
As per claim 9, Timo further discloses when decoding performance of a UL signal received by the BS fails to satisfy a preset threshold, the compressed CSI is identified as having an error, and the information for updating the AI model for encoding comprises an indicator indicating CSI data associated with the error among a plurality of pieces of CSI data transmitted to the BS or an indicator indicating a portion of CSI data associated with the error (if deviation is too great, compression/decompression functions may need updating, see paragraph 196, resulting in an update request, see paragraphs 196, 219, 302, and 338).
As per claim 10, Timo discloses a base station (BS) for reporting a channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system (see paragraphs 38 and 125), the BS comprising:
a transceiver; and a processor connected to the transceiver (see paragraph 343) and configured to
receive, from a user equipment (UE), CSI compressed through an AI model for encoding jointly trained with an AI model for decoding of the BS (see paragraphs 128, 133, 134, and 145-146),
receive, from the UE, CSI data before compression is performed, based on a preset condition, determine to update the AI model for encoding based on the CSI data (see paragraph 263; UE configured by the BS to send periodic updates, see paragraph 266), and
transmit information for updating the AI model for encoding (see paragraphs 263-267).
As per claim 11, Timo further discloses the processor is configured to transmit, to the UE, a request for the CSI data when decoding performance of an uplink (UL) signal received by the BS fails to satisfy a preset threshold or a change in channel state is detected based on the UL signal (see paragraphs 265 and 267; decision by BS to update, triggering a request, see paragraphs 196, 219, and 302).
As per claim 12, Timo further discloses the processor is configured to transmit channel estimation configuration information to the UE by higher layer signaling, and receive the CSI data based on an interval set based on the channel estimation configuration information (see paragraphs 263, 264, and 266).
As per claim 13, Timo further discloses the processor is configured to receive, from the UE, a request to update the AI model for encoding when decoding performance of a downlink (DL) signal received by the UE fails to satisfy a preset threshold or a change in channel state is detected based on the DL signal, and transmit, to the UE, a request for the CSI data based on the request to update the AI model for encoding (see paragraphs 265 and 267; decision by BS to update, triggering a request, see paragraphs 196, 219, 302, and 338).
As per claim 14, Timo further discloses the information for updating the AI model for encoding comprises neural network (NN) configuration information for an AI model for encoding updated in the BS, and wherein the NN configuration information comprises information about at least one of a type of a layer included in the updated AI model for encoding (layers associated with U2 may be reconfigured, see paragraph 300), a number of layers, a number of filter kernels, a size of the filter kernel or a parameter of the filter kernel.
As per claim 15, Timo further discloses the processor is configured to identify that there is an error in the compressed CSI when decoding performance of a UL signal received by the BS fails to satisfy a preset threshold, and wherein the information for updating the AI model for encoding comprises an indicator indicating CSI data associated with the error among a plurality of pieces of CSI data transmitted to the BS or an indicator indicating a portion of CSI data associated with the error (if deviation is too great, compression/decompression functions may need updating, see paragraph 196, resulting in an update request, see paragraphs 196, 219, 302, and 338).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0084164 discloses neural network algorithms for CSI encoding.
/MATTHEW E HENEGHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992