DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 03/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11 – 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 4 and 6 – 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eisermann et al. (US Pub. 2005/0043733 A1).
Claim 1, Eisermann discloses a plate for fixating bone [abstract, Figs. 1 – 5, i.e. plate 90], the plate comprising:
a plurality of ribs [defined by mesh portion 92] defining a plurality of openings [defined by openings between wires forming the mesh, i.e. Figs. 1, ¶31 - ¶33], wherein a first portion of the plurality of ribs define a lattice structure [at least a mesh portion 92 where wires are weaved or knitted, defines lattice structure, i.e. ¶31 - ¶33] and a second portion of the plurality of ribs define at least four mounting holes [at least a mesh portion 92 defines holes 94a and 94b].
Eisermann discloses the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further, Eisermann discloses:
Claim 2, wherein the plate is formed of a biocompatible material [¶9, ¶36 and ¶41].
Claim 3, wherein the biocompatible material comprises a Ti-6A1-4V titanium alloy [¶9, ¶36 and ¶41].
Claim 4, wherein the plate is formed of titanium [¶9, ¶36 and ¶41].
Claim 6, wherein the lattice structure comprises at least one of triangles, diamonds, or parallelograms [Fig.4].
Claim7, a membrane configured to encapsulate the plurality of ribs [¶37 - ¶38, coated / anodized].
Claim 8, collagen configured to encapsulate the plurality of ribs [¶37 - ¶38, coated / anodized].
Claim 9, wherein the first portion of the plurality of ribs are inlayed with a radiolucent biocompatible membrane [¶37 - ¶38, coated / anodized].
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lange (US Pub. 2002/0120269 A1).
Claim 1, Lange discloses a plate for fixating bone [abstract, Figs. 1 – 10, i.e. plate 20, 40, 50 or 60], the plate comprising:
a plurality of ribs [defined by mesh portion i.e. 66, 68, 70 and/or 72] defining a plurality of openings [defined by openings between wires forming the mesh, i.e. Figs. 7 - 8], wherein a first portion of the plurality of ribs define a lattice structure [at least a mesh portion 68 where wires are meshed, defines lattice structure, i.e. Figs. 7 - 8] and a second portion of the plurality of ribs define at least four mounting holes [at least a mesh portion 92forming plate 60 defines holes 64].
Lange discloses the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further, Lange discloses:
Claim 5, wherein the plurality of ribs are configured to allow for radiolucency [¶38].
Claim 10, a third portion of the plurality of ribs [at least a portion of 70]; and a fourth portion of the plurality of ribs [at least a portion of 72]; wherein an angle between the third portion of the plurality of ribs and the fourth portion of the plurality of ribs is greater than 0 degrees and less than 180 degrees [combination of angles A1 and A2].
Conclusion
/SAMUEL S HANNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775