DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing filed on December 20, 2024 Claims 1-9, and 11-21 have been examined in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 12/20/2024, has been acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-14, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao (US 2022/0164101 A1) in view of Vulkk. ‘Mass Effect Andromeda Beginners Guide’. March 2022. Vulkk [online]. Vulkk [retrieved on 2026-07-09]. Retrieved from Vulkk <URL: https://web.archive.org/web/20220504123958/https:/vulkk.com/2017/03/22/mass-effect-andromeda-beginners-tips-easy-start/>, in view of Noel, Daniel. ‘Getting Started in Call of Duty: Black Ops Cold War: Controls and Settings (Xbox)’. November 12, 2020. Call of Duty [online]. Call of Duty [retrieved on 2026-07-09]. Retrieved from Call of Duty <URL: https://www.callofduty.com/blog/2020/11/Black-Ops-Cold-War-Controls-and-Settings-Xbox>.
Regarding Claim 1, Bao discloses game interaction method, the method comprises: in response to a first touch operation for a first virtual joystick, controlling a virtual character to move in a virtual scene, wherein a graphic user interface of a terminal device displays at least one of the virtual scene and the first virtual joystick, and the virtual scene comprises the virtual character ([0078] respectively displaying a first virtual joystick and a second virtual joystick in a left side subregion… the first virtual joystick being configured for moving a virtual operation object in the target game application , the second virtual joystick being configured for moving a crosshair of a virtual attack prop used by the virtual operation object);
in response to determining that a position relationship between the virtual character, displaying a crouch control in the graphical user interface ([0066] five virtual buttons are further displayed on a right side of the interaction interface, and the player may perform operations such as crawling, aiming, squatting (analogous to a crouch), bullet loading, and jumping by using the five virtual buttons); and
in response to a second touch operation for the crouch control, and displaying a second virtual joystick in the graphical user interface ([0066] five virtual buttons (touch operated) are further displayed on a right side of the interaction interface, and the player may perform operations such as crawling, aiming, squatting (analogous to a crouch), bullet loading, and jumping by using the five virtual buttons, [0078] respectively displaying a first virtual joystick and a second virtual joystick in a left side subregion and a right side subregion of the front display region or respectively displaying the first virtual joystick and the second virtual joystick in the right side subregion and the left side subregion of the front display region when the front display region is displayed in the landscape mode).
However, Bao is not relied upon disclosing a virtual bunker; the virtual bunker meets a preset condition; controlling the virtual character to enter virtual bunker and crouch within the bunker; and in response to a third touch operation for the second virtual joystick, controlling the virtual character to move in a crouching state.
Vulkk teaches a virtual bunker; the virtual bunker meets a preset condition; and controlling the virtual character to enter virtual bunker and crouch within the bunker (Pg. 6 Lines 1-4 The game (virtual) recognizes objects that can serve as cover (analogous to a bunker) automatically and as soon as you approach them (controlling a virtual character) with your weapon out (not holstered!) (preset condition is approaching objects that can serve as cover with your weapon out), Ryder will automatically go into cover and even crouch (analogous to entering a bunker and crouching within it), if the cover is low and closer to the ground).
However, Vulkk is not relied upon teaching in response to a third touch operation for the second virtual joystick, controlling the virtual character to move in a crouching state.
Noel teaches in response to a third touch operation for the second virtual joystick, controlling the virtual character to move in a crouching state (Pg. 3 Lines 4-5 Left Stick – Move: Push this stick (joystick) in any direction to have your character move around, Para. 10 B – Crouch/Prone/Slide: When moving under normal circumstances, you tap this button to crouch, and hold it to go prone, or tap it again to stand).
Examiner’s Note: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the functionality of the joystick taught by Noel into the virtual joystick disclosed by Bao..
Bao and Vulkk are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of games or game systems for first person shooters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying a game interaction method, as disclosed by Bao, further including controlling the virtual character to move in the crouching state within a specified range of the virtual bunker, as taught by Vulkk for the purpose of allowing players to protect themselves from enemy fire while hiding in or behind various objects.
Bao and Noel are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of games or game systems for first person shooters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying a game interaction method, as disclosed by Bao, further including in response to a fourth touch operation for the first virtual joystick, controlling the virtual character to switch from the crouching state to a standing state; and controlling the virtual character to move in the standing state, as taught by Noel for the purpose of allowing players to choose/have the option to keep the options they want for gameplay and make it more comfortable for them to play the game (Noel, Paras. 3 and 22).
Regarding Claim 2, Bao is not relied upon disclosing wherein the controlling the virtual character to move in the crouching state comprises: controlling the virtual character to move in the crouching state within a specified range of the virtual bunker.
Vulkk teaches controlling the virtual character to move in the crouching state within a specified range of the virtual bunker (Pg. 6 Lines 1-4 The game recognizes objects that can serve as cover (a bunker is a type of cover) automatically and as soon as you approach them (within a specified range) with your weapon out (not holstered!), Ryder will automatically go into cover and even crouch, if the cover is low and closer to the ground).
Regarding Claim 3, Bao is not relied upon disclosing in response to a fourth touch operation for the first virtual joystick, controlling the virtual character to switch from the crouching state to a standing state; and controlling the virtual character to move in the standing state.
Noel teaches in response to a fourth touch operation for the first virtual joystick, controlling the virtual character to switch from the crouching state to a standing state (Pg. 3 Lines 21-25 B – Crouch/Prone/Slide: When moving under normal circumstances, you tap this button to crouch, and hold it to go prone, or tap it again to stand); and
controlling the virtual character to move in the standing state (Para. 5 Left Stick – Move: Push this stick in any direction to have your character move around (characters move in a standing state in this game – Call of Duty)).
Regarding Claim 8, Bao discloses wherein the first virtual joystick and the second virtual joystick are displayed on a same side of the graphical user interface (Figs. 8 and 9 – virtual joysticks are both on the bottom side of the graphical user interface).
Regarding Claim 9, Bao discloses controlling the virtual character to move in the virtual scene comprises: controlling the virtual character to move in the virtual scene in a standing state (Fig. 8 Shooter is in a standing state, [0045] in a shooting game, the player usually needs to simultaneously control the movement (in a standing state) of a game character and aiming of a shooting target, [0129] the first virtual joystick being configured for moving a virtual operation object (virtual character) in the target game application).
Regarding Claim 11, Bao discloses a system ([0050] FIG. 5. The display system of an interaction interface may include, but is not limited to: a terminal device 102, a network 110, and a server 112. A game client is run in the terminal device 102, and is configured to control a target 2 virtual operation object to complete a game task in the game scene), comprising:
one or more memories collectively containing one or more programs, and one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured to, individually or collectively, perform an operation comprising ([0152] The memory 1202 stores a computer program, and the processor 1204 is configured to perform operations in any one of the above method embodiments by using the computer program):
in response to a first touch operation for a first virtual joystick, controlling a virtual character to move in a virtual scene, wherein a graphic user interface of a terminal device displays at least one of the virtual scene and the first virtual joystick, and the virtual scene comprises the virtual character ([0078] respectively displaying a first virtual joystick and a second virtual joystick in a left side subregion… the first virtual joystick being configured for moving a virtual operation object (virtual character) in the target game application, the second virtual joystick being configured for moving a crosshair of a virtual attack prop used by the virtual operation object);
displaying a crouch control in the graphical user interface ([0066] five virtual buttons are further displayed on a right side of the interaction interface, and the player may perform operations such as crawling, aiming, squatting (analogous to a crouch), bullet loading, and jumping by using the five virtual buttons); and
in response to a second touch operation for the crouch control, and displaying a second virtual joystick in the graphical user interface ([0066] five virtual buttons (touch operated) are further displayed on a right side of the interaction interface, and the player may perform operations such as crawling, aiming, squatting (analogous to a crouch), bullet loading, and jumping by using the five virtual buttons, [0078] respectively displaying a first virtual joystick and a second virtual joystick in a left side subregion and a right side subregion of the front display region or respectively displaying the first virtual joystick and the second virtual joystick in the right side subregion and the left side subregion of the front display region when the front display region is displayed in the landscape mode).
However, Bao is not relied upon disclosing a virtual bunker; the virtual bunker meets a preset condition; controlling the virtual character to enter virtual bunker and crouch within the bunker; and in response to a third touch operation for the second virtual joystick, controlling the virtual character to move in a crouching state.
Vulkk teaches a virtual bunker; the virtual bunker meets a preset condition; and controlling the virtual character to enter virtual bunker and crouch within the bunker (The game (virtual) recognizes objects that can serve as cover (analogous to a bunker) automatically and as soon as you approach them (controlling a virtual character) with your weapon out (not holstered!), Ryder will automatically go into cover and even crouch (analogous to entering a bunker and crouching within it), if the cover is low and closer to the ground).
However, Vulkk is not relied upon teaching in response to a third touch operation for the second virtual joystick, controlling the virtual character to move in a crouching state.
Noel teaches in response to a third touch operation for the second virtual joystick, controlling the virtual character to move in a crouching state (Pg. 3 Lines 4-5 Left Stick – Move: Push this stick (joystick) in any direction to have your character move around, Para. 10 B – Crouch/Prone/Slide: When moving under normal circumstances, you tap this button to crouch, and hold it to go prone, or tap it again to stand).
Regarding Claim 12, Bao discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media containing, in any combination, computer program code that, when executable by a computer system, perform an operation comprising ([0014] The embodiments of the present disclosure provide a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, the computer program being executable by at least one processor to perform the method for displaying an interaction interface according to embodiments of the present disclosure):
in response to a first touch operation for a first virtual joystick, controlling a virtual character to move in a virtual scene, wherein a graphic user interface of a terminal device displays at least one of the virtual scene and the first virtual joystick, and the virtual scene comprises the virtual character ([0078] respectively displaying a first virtual joystick and a second virtual joystick in a left side subregion… the first virtual joystick being configured for moving a virtual operation object (virtual character) in the target game application, the second virtual joystick being configured for moving a crosshair of a virtual attack prop used by the virtual operation object);
displaying a crouch control in the graphical user interface ([0066] five virtual buttons are further displayed on a right side of the interaction interface, and the player may perform operations such as crawling, aiming, squatting (analogous to a crouch), bullet loading, and jumping by using the five virtual buttons);
in response to a second touch operation for the crouch control, displaying a second virtual joystick in the graphical user interface ([0066] five virtual buttons are further displayed on a right side of the interaction interface, and the player may perform operations such as crawling, aiming, squatting (analogous to a crouch), bullet loading, and jumping by using the five virtual buttons, [0078] respectively displaying a first virtual joystick and a second virtual joystick in a left side subregion and a right side subregion of the front display region or respectively displaying the first virtual joystick and the second virtual joystick in the right side subregion and the left side subregion of the front display region when the front display region is displayed in the landscape mode).
However, Bao is not relied upon disclosing a virtual bunker; the virtual bunker meets a preset condition; controlling the virtual character to enter virtual bunker and crouch within the bunker; and in response to a third touch operation for the second virtual joystick, controlling the virtual character to move in a crouching state.
Vulkk teaches a virtual bunker; the virtual bunker meets a preset condition; and controlling the virtual character to enter virtual bunker and crouch within the bunker (Pg. 6 Lines 1-4 The game (virtual) recognizes objects that can serve as cover (analogous to a bunker) automatically and as soon as you approach them (controlling a virtual character) with your weapon out (not holstered!), Ryder will automatically go into cover and even crouch (analogous to entering a bunker and crouching within it), if the cover is low and closer to the ground).
However, Vulkk is not relied upon teaching in response to a third touch operation for the second virtual joystick, controlling the virtual character to move in a crouching state.
Noel teaches in response to a third touch operation for the second virtual joystick, controlling the virtual character to move in a crouching state (Pg. 3 Lines 4-5 Left Stick – Move: Push this stick (joystick) in any direction to have your character move around, Para. 10 B – Crouch/Prone/Slide: When moving under normal circumstances, you tap this button to crouch, and hold it to go prone, or tap it again to stand).
Regarding Claim 13, Bao is not relied upon disclosing wherein controlling the virtual character to move in the crouching state comprises: controlling the virtual character to move in the crouching state within a specified range of the virtual bunker.
Vulkk teaches controlling the virtual character to move in the crouching state within a specified range of the virtual bunker (Pg. 6 Lines 1-4 The game recognizes objects that can serve as cover (a bunker is a type of cover) automatically and as soon as you approach them (within a specified range) with your weapon out (not holstered!), Ryder will automatically go into cover and even crouch, if the cover is low and closer to the ground).
Regarding Claim 14, Bao is not relied upon disclosing wherein the operation further comprises: in response to a fourth touch operation for the first virtual joystick, controlling the virtual character to switch from the crouching state to a standing state; and controlling the virtual character to move in the standing state.
Noel teaches in response to a fourth touch operation for the first virtual joystick, controlling the virtual character to switch from the crouching state to a standing state (Pg. 3 Lines 21-25 B – Crouch/Prone/Slide: When moving under normal circumstances, you tap this button to crouch, and hold it to go prone, or tap it again to stand); and
controlling the virtual character to move in the standing state (Para. 5 Left Stick – Move: Push this stick in any direction to have your character move around).
Regarding Claim 19, Bao discloses wherein the first virtual joystick and the second virtual joystick are displayed on a same side of the graphical user interface (Figs. 8 and 9 – virtual joysticks are both on the bottom side of the graphical user interface).
Regarding Claim 20, Bao discloses wherein in response to the first touch operation for the first virtual joystick, controlling the virtual character to move in the virtual scene comprises: controlling the virtual character to move in the virtual scene in a standing state (Fig. 8 Shooter is in a standing state, [0045] in a shooting game, the player usually needs to simultaneously control the movement (in a standing state) of a game character and aiming of a shooting target, [0129] the first virtual joystick being configured for moving a virtual operation object (virtual character) in the target game application).
Regarding Claim 21, Bao discloses wherein the first virtual joystick and the second virtual joystick are displayed on different sides of the graphical user interface (Figs. 8 and 9 – virtual joysticks are on different sides of the graphical user interface (left and right sides)).
11. Claims 4-7 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao (US 2022/0164101 A1) in view of Vulkk. ‘Mass Effect Andromeda Beginners Guide’. March 2022. Vulkk [online]. Vulkk [retrieved on 2026-07-09]. Retrieved from Vulkk <URL: https://web.archive.org/web/20220504123958/https:/vulkk.com/2017/03/22/mass-effect-andromeda-beginners-tips-easy-start/>, in view of Noel, Daniel. ‘Getting Started in Call of Duty: Black Ops Cold War: Controls and Settings (Xbox)’. November 12, 2020. Call of Duty [online]. Call of Duty [retrieved on 2026-07-09]. Retrieved from Call of Duty <URL: https://www.callofduty.com/blog/2020/11/Black-Ops-Cold-War-Controls-and-Settings-Xbox>, and in further view of Tom. “Taking Cover”. November 11, 2018. RDR2.org. Read Dead Redemption 2 [online]. RDR2.org [retrieved on 2026-07-09]. Retrieved from RDR2 – Username: Truth <URL: https://www.rdr2.org/forums/topic/1778-taking-cover/>, hence forth referred to as Truth.
Regarding Claim 4, Bao is not relied upon disclosing further comprising: in response to the virtual character switching from the crouching state to the standing state, hiding the second virtual joystick.
Truth teaches in response to the virtual character switching from the crouching state to the standing state, hiding the second virtual joystick (Post 8 Crouching is with the left thumbstick, cover is RB (R1 on PS4). You also have to be near something (crouch control is hidden/disabled until a certain scenario occurs) that you can hide behind for cover (rock, wall, crates, etc)).
Bao and Truth are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of games or game systems that have first person shooters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying a game interaction method, as disclosed by Bao, further including in response to the virtual character switching from the crouching state to the standing state, hiding the second virtual joystick, as taught by Truth for the purpose of allowing players to only crouch when they’re near something they can hide behind for cover or protection (Truth, Post 8).
Regarding Claim 5, Bao is not relied upon disclosing further comprising: in response to determining the fact that the position relationship between the virtual character and the virtual bunker does not meet the preset condition, hiding the crouch control.
Truth teaches (Post 8 Crouching is with the left thumbstick, cover is RB (R1 on PS4). You also have to be near something (crouch control is hidden/disabled until a certain scenario occurs) that you can hide behind for cover (rock, wall, crates, etc)).
Regarding Claim 6, Bao is not relied upon disclosing wherein the in response to the second touch operation for the crouch control, displaying the second virtual joystick in the graphical user interface comprises: in response to the second touch operation for the crouch control, switching the crouch control to the second virtual joystick.
Truth teaches wherein the in response to the second touch operation for the crouch control, displaying the second virtual joystick in the graphical user interface comprises: in response to the second touch operation for the crouch control, switching the crouch control to the second virtual joystick (Crouching is with the left thumbstick (joystick), cover is RB (R1 on PS4). You also have to be near something that you can hide behind for cover (rock, wall, crates, etc)).
Regarding Claim 7, Bao discloses wherein the second virtual joystick comprises a joystick base and a control rod (Fig. 4 left joystick has a base and a control rod).
However, Bao is not relied upon disclosing the crouch control serves as the control rod.
Truth teaches the crouch control serves as the control rod (Post 8 Crouching is with the left thumbstick (the thumbstick or control rod is used to crouch), cover is RB (R1 on PS4). You also have to be near something (crouch control is hidden/disabled until a certain scenario occurs) that you can hide behind for cover (rock, wall, crates, etc)).
Regarding Claim 15, Bao is not relied upon disclosing wherein the operation further comprises: in response to the virtual character switching from the crouching state to the standing state, hiding the second virtual joystick.
Truth teaches in response to the virtual character switching from the crouching state to the standing state, hiding the second virtual joystick (Post 8 Crouching is with the left thumbstick, cover is RB (R1 on PS4). You also have to be near something (crouch control is hidden/disabled until a certain scenario occurs) that you can hide behind for cover (rock, wall, crates, etc)).
Regarding Claim 16, Bao is not relied upon disclosing wherein the operation further comprises: in response to determining that the position relationship between the virtual character and the virtual bunker does not meet the preset condition, hiding the crouch control.
Truth teaches in response to determining the fact that the position relationship between the virtual character and the virtual bunker does not meet the preset condition, hiding the crouch control (Post 8 Crouching is with the left thumbstick, cover is RB (R1 on PS4). You also have to be near something (crouch control is hidden/disabled until a certain scenario occurs) that you can hide behind for cover (rock, wall, crates, etc)).
Regarding Claim 17, Bao is not relied upon disclosing wherein in response to the second touch operation for the crouch control, displaying the second virtual joystick in the graphical user interface comprises: in response to the second touch operation for the crouch control, switching the crouch control to the second virtual joystick.
Truth teaches wherein in response to the second touch operation for the crouch control, displaying the second virtual joystick in the graphical user interface comprises: in response to the second touch operation for the crouch control, switching the crouch control to the second virtual joystick (Post 8 Crouching is with the left thumbstick (joystick), cover is RB (R1 on PS4). You also have to be near something that you can hide behind for cover (rock, wall, crates, etc)).
Regarding Claim 18, Bao discloses wherein the second virtual joystick comprises a joystick base and a control rod, and the crouch control serves as the control rod (Fig. 4 left joystick has a base and a control rod).
However, Bao is not relied upon disclosing the crouch control serves as the control rod.
Truth teaches the crouch control serves as the control rod (Post 8 Crouching is with the left thumbstick (the thumbstick or control rod is used to crouch), cover is RB (R1 on PS4). You also have to be near something (crouch control is hidden/disabled until a certain scenario occurs) that you can hide behind for cover (rock, wall, crates, etc)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Howard et al. (US 2011/0285636 A1) is in the field of touch screens with virtual joysticks and their methods for use on a touch screen of an electronic device (Abstract).
/HAMID TARIQ HAFIZ/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/ROBERT J UTAMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715