DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitkidis (US 2020/0002251) in view of Gleich (US 3921411).
With respect to claims 1-3, Mitkidis a process for oxidative dehydrogenation conversion of ethane to ethylene (see Mitkidis, paragraphs [0033] and [0034]), the process comprising: (a) contacting a feed comprising ethane with a catalyst in the presence of oxygen under conditions to produce a first product stream comprising ethane, ethylene, and one or more gases having lower boiling temperature then ethylene, the conditions comprising a pressure of 0.01 MPa to 3 MPa and temperature in the range of 330°C to 420°C (see Mitkidis, paragraphs [0039] and [0040]); (b) feeding the first product stream to an inlet of a gas separation unit (see Mitkidis, paragraphs [0028] to [0031]); and (c) separating the one or more gases having boiling temperature lower than ethylene to produce a second product stream comprising ethane and ethylene (see Mitkidis, paragraph [0031]).
Mitkidis does not explicitly disclose wherein the separation unit operates at a temperature range of -40°C to -10°C.
However, Mitkidis discloses wherein the separation unit may be a C2 splitter (see Mitkidis, paragraph [0086]). In this regard, it is readily known that operating temperatures of C2 splitter separation units such as referenced in Mitkidis fall within a range of 15°F to 40°F (-9.4°C to 4.4°C) in the bottoms and -30°F to -5°F (-34.4°C to -20.6°C) in the overhead (see Gleich, column 4, lines 14-24). Thus, Examiner finds Applicant’s claims 1-3 unpatentable in view of Mitkidis in view of Gleich.
With respect to claims 4 and 5, Mitkidis discloses wherein ethylene and ethane may be separated into separate streams, and wherein the ethane may be recycled to step (a) (see Mitkidis, paragraphs [0031] and [0032]).
With respect to claims 6 and 13, Mitkidis does not subject the first product stream to compression in steps (a), (b), or (c), and does not add methane to the feed of step (a) (see Mitkidis, entire disclosure).
With respect to claim 7, Mitkidis discloses wherein the first product stream may comprise water and acetic acid and wherein such constituents may be removed (see Mitkidis, paragraphs [0028] and [0058]).
With respect to claims 8 and 9, Mitkidis discloses wherein the gas may comprise carbon monoxide and carbon dioxide and wherein such constituents may be removed (see Mitkidis, paragraphs [0028]-[0030]).
With respect to claims 10, 12, 14, and 15, inasmuch as Mitkidis discloses dehydrogenation conditions within the same range as specified in the claims (see discussion supra at paragraph 6), then it follows that the ethane conversion level, molar vapor fraction, gaseous constituents, and combined gas mole fraction of gases would likewise be expected to be within the same range as specified. “[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom.” In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968).
With respect to claim 11, Gleich discloses wherein feed to a C2 splitter may be in the liquid phase (see Gleich, column 6, lines 28-33).
Conclusion
/Randy Boyer/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771