DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-16 and 18 in the reply filed on 08/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/10/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bothor et al. (US 2020/0223199 A1; hereinafter Bothor).
Regarding claims 1, 10-11, and 18, Bothor discloses a sheetlike composite, especially for production of dimensionally stable food or drink product containers, comprising a cellulosic board substrate (105; see Par. 0191) having a first side and a second side; an outermost heat seal layer (113; see Par. 0332 and 0364) on the first side of the cellulosic board substrate; an oxygen barrier resin layer (see Par. 0163) between the first side of the cellulosic board substrate and the outermost heat seal layer; and a metal oxide coated polymer barrier (108; see Par. 0167) film between the first side of the cellulosic board substrate and the outermost heat seal layer. Examiner notes that Bothor discloses using the composite for food containers that include lids, sidewalls, and connected bases.
Regarding claim 2, Bothor discloses a composite wherein the cellulosic board substrate has a maximum transmittance (%T) in a range of 300-700 nm of 4.0 % or less (see Par. 0023-0024).
Regarding claim 3, Bothor discloses a composite wherein the cellulosic
board substrate has a basis weight in a range of 180 to 300 pounds per 3000 ft² (see Par. 0031).
Regarding claim 4, Bothor discloses a composite wherein the oxygen barrier resin layer comprises polyvinyl alcohol (see Par. 0040).
Regarding claim 5, Bothor discloses a composite wherein the oxygen barrier resin layer comprises ethylene vinyl alcohol (see Par. 0164).
Regarding claim 7, Bothor discloses a composite wherein the metal oxide coated polymer barrier film comprises at least one of aluminum oxide and silicon oxide (see Par. 0053).
Regarding claim 8, Bothor discloses a composite wherein the metal oxide coated polymer barrier film comprises at least one of polyester or polyolefin (see Par. 0168).
Regarding claims 6 and 9, Bothor discloses a composite wherein the outermost heat seal layer comprises at least one of low density polyethylene and ethylene methyl acrylate (see Par. 0181).
Regarding claim 12, Bothor discloses a composite wherein the cellulosic structure has at least 80%, by weight, cellulosic content (see Par. 0191-0192 and 0315-0316).
Regarding claims 13-16, Bothor discloses a composite wherein the cellulosic structure has an oxygen transmission rate of less than 1 cc/m2/day at 1 atm after folding to 90 degrees (see Par. 0174).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734