Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2,5, and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kursula (2017/0075425) hereinafter, Kursula.
In regards to claim 1, Kursula teaches an electronic device comprising:
A figure gesture sensing device includes a ring-shaped housing, a transmitter, a receiver, and a computer processor. The housing is configured to be worn on a finger of a user. The transmitter is disposed in the housing and configured to emit a first signal into the finger of the user. The receiver is disposed in the housing and configured to detect a second signal. The second signal represents a resonance of the first signal emitted by the transmitter through the finger of the user. The computer processor is operatively coupled to the receiver and is configured to detect a motion gesture of the finger wearing the finger ring with respect to another portion of the human body based on the second signal. In some cases, the transmitter is configured to emit an ultrasonic acoustic signal, a low voltage electrical signal, or a radio frequency signal.(abstract)
reflection coefficient measurement circuitry [0011] (fig. 2 (104))
[0011] FIG. 1 is a diagram generally illustrating a finger gesture sensing device 10 for remotely sending inputs to an electronic device 12, in accordance with an embodiment of the present disclosure. The finger gesture sensing device 10 is integrated into a ring-shaped housing, which can be worn on a finger 14 of a human hand 16 (e.g., the index finger). The finger gesture sensing device 10 senses gestures of at least two fingers 14, 18 (e.g., the index finger and the thumb) by transmitting a signal, such as an acoustic ultrasonic signal, into the finger 14, receiving the signal (in a modified form), and measuring changes in the resonance of the signal over a period of time. The resonance is a standing wave type resonance that occurs when the waves travel in the finger tissues and reflect back from the tip of the finger(s), such as shown and described with respect to FIGS. 3 and 4. Changes in the acoustic resonance are induced by gestures of the fingers 14 and 18 touching each other at varying points, such as by touching or rubbing the fingers together, which modifies the harmonics of the fingers 14, 18, and more generally, of the hand 16 overall. Examples of such gestures are also described with respect to FIGS. 3 and Resonance changes measured over a period of time are compared to a pre-defined resonance pattern to determine which gesture is being performed, such as described with respect to FIG. 5. The finger gesture sensing device 10 wirelessly transmits data representing the gesture to the electronic device 12 for further processing. Each gesture can be associated with a particular input to the electronic device 12. The input may, for example, represent a command to perform a certain function, acceptance or rejection of a user prompt, or selection of a parameter. In the illustrated embodiment, the finger gesture sensing device 10 includes, among other things, a processor, a memory, and an operating system. The finger gesture sensing device 10 and the electronic device 12 can each be coupled to a wireless communications network (e.g., via a Bluetooth device) to allow for communications between each other and with other computing devices or resources. Other componentry and functionality not reflected in FIG. 1 will be apparent in light of this disclosure, and it will be appreciated that other embodiments are not limited to any particular hardware configuration.
a signal trace (fig. 2 (102)) configured to be coupled between said reflection coefficient measurement circuitry and a portion of a body, wherein said reflection coefficient measurement circuitry is configured to [0020]:
transmit electromagnetic waves into said portion of the body using said signal trace; and (fig. 3 and fig. 4 (52)(50))(fig. 6 (600))
measure a reflection coefficient over a range of frequencies of said electromagnetic waves [007, 0013,0018-0021; and
a processor (fig. 2 (106)) configured to determine, based on said reflection coefficient [0011-0020], a position of said portion of the body [0020-0025], a motion of said portion of the body (abstract :motion gesture), a touch of an exterior object with the portion of the body [008,011-0012,0021,0033], or (Examiner notes, “or” operator only requires one element to read on the claim language) combinations thereof.
In regards to claim 2, Kursula teaches electronic device of claim 1, wherein said signal trace is configured to carry a transmitted signal from said reflection coefficient measurement circuitry to said portion of the body, and a reflected signal from said portion of the body to the reflection coefficient measurement circuitry (fig. 2 (104 to 102 to 14, 16, 18, to 104)).
In regards to claim 5, Kursula teaches electronic device of claim 1, wherein said position and said motion cause a geometrical change of said portion of the body, and wherein said geometrical change causes an impedance change of said portion of the body. [0011] (fig. 3 to fig. 4))
In regards to claim 8, Kursula teaches electronic device of claim 1, wherein said range of frequencies comprise frequencies between one megahertz (MHz) and one gigahertz (GHz), 50 kilohertz (kHz) and six GHz, or another range of frequencies [0013] (at least another range).
In regards to claim 9, Kursula teaches electronic device of claim 1, wherein said signal trace is embedded in or on a ring, a glove, a wristband, a headband, or a headset (fig. 3 (10) ring)
Claim(s) 11, 14-15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Duffy et al (2022/0156353), hereinafter, Duffy.
In regards to claim 11, Duffy teaches a method for identifying or authenticating a user, said method comprising (abstract):
transmitting, via a signal trace, electromagnetic waves into a portion of a body of said user;(fig. 2a (206))
measuring, using a reflection coefficient measurement circuitry, a reflection coefficient over a range of frequencies of said electromagnetic waves (fig. 2a (206 and 208));
measuring an absorption pattern [005, 0024] of said electromagnetic waves by said body or said portion of the body of said user [0024-0032]; and
identifying or authenticating said user based on a unique or a nearly unique absorption pattern of said electromagnetic waves [0040, 133] (fig. 1 (pattern) (Fig. 8 (radar).
In regards to claim 14, Duffy teaches method of claim 11, wherein said user comprises an authorized user of a plurality of authorized users of a user device, an application, a function, or a peripheral thereof, and wherein said identification or said authentication comprises differentiating or recognizing identities between said plurality of authorized users. [0024,0030-0031, 0039, 0044-0048]
In regards to claim 15, Duffy teaches method of claim 11, wherein: said user utilizes an electronic device with said signal trace and said reflection coefficient measurement circuitry; and said identification or authentication comprises a continuous or time interval identification or authentication of said user [0038-0045].
In regards to claim 17, Duffy teaches the method of claim 11, further comprises measuring an absorption pattern of said electromagnetic waves due to a position of said portion of the body [0040], a motion of said portion of the body [0055, 0068-0071], a touch of an exterior object with said portion of the body, a touch of a passive interface with said portion of the body, or combinations thereof.[0071-0086]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kursula in view of Tan et al (2012/0162057) hereinafter, Tan.
In regards to claim 3, Kursula fails to teach the electronic device of claim 2 further comprising a biasing circuit for biasing said portion of the body.
However, Tan teaches further comprising a biasing circuit for biasing said portion of the body [0062].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Kursula to further include comprising a biasing circuit for biasing said portion of the body as taught by Tan in order to remove noise [0062].
In regards to claim 4, Kursula in view of Tan teaches the electronic device of claim 3, wherein: said biasing circuit comprising a biasing resistor coupled between a biasing trace and ground; and said biasing trace is configured to be coupled to said portion of the body.[0062] Tan.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kursula in view of Xue et al 2022/0109925, hereinafter, Xue.
.
In regards to claim 6, Kursula fails to teach the electronic device of claim 1, wherein said reflection coefficient measurement circuitry comprises a vector network analyzer (VNA) configured to measure at least one scattering parameter (S-parameter).
However, Xue teaches wherein said reflection coefficient measurement circuitry comprises a vector network analyzer (VNA) configured to measure at least one scattering parameter (S-parameter)[0087-0091] Xue.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Kursula to further include wherein said reflection coefficient measurement circuitry comprises a vector network analyzer (VNA) configured to measure at least one scattering parameter (S-parameter) as taught by Xue in order to provide use known components which can help reduce cost.
In regards to claim 7, Kursula in view of Xue teaches the electronic device of claim 6, wherein said at least one S-parameter comprises an S11 parameter, and wherein said signal trace is coupled with said portion of the body at a contact point [0088-0091].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kursula in view of Bud et al (2019/0207932) hereinafter, Bud.
In regards to claim 10, Kursula fails to teach machine learning.
However, Bud teaches machine learning [0045].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Duffy to further include machine learning as taught by Bud in order to improve authentication results.
Therefore, Kursula in view of Bud teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein said processor is further configured to utilize a machine learning model, wherein said machine learning model is configured to identify a gesture of a user, a passive interface input, said exterior object, a user identification or authentication, or combinations thereof. [0045] at least authentication Kursula in view of (abstract. [007-0012] gesture Kursula)
Claim(s) 18 -20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kursula in view of Shai WO2009/024971, hereinafter, Shai.
In regards to claim 18, Kursula teaches an interface system of a user device, the system comprises (abstract)
a processor;(fig. 2 (106))
reflection coefficient measurement circuitry [0011] (fig. 2 (104));
a signal trace, wherein said signal trace is coupled between said reflection coefficient measurement circuitry and a portion of a body of a user (fig. 2 (102 with respect to finger and (104));
Kursula fails to expressly teach one or more electrically passive user interfaces. Examiner notes Kursula does teach wherein the receiver includes conductive electrodes, steel, conductive plastic)[0013]. Examiner notes Applicant’s specification which states [0046] In some embodiments, the user can utilize the electronic device in conjunction with a passive user interface(s). The passive user interface(s) 124 may include one or more electrically passive (e.g., un-powered), but electrically conductive (e.g., metal, copper, aluminum, steel, etc.) or slightly electrically conductive (e.g., material with aqueous content), buttons, one-dimensional (1D) sliders, two-dimensional (2D) trackpads, or other passive user interface(s) having other geometries.
However, Shai teaches one or more electrically passive user interfaces.
FIGS. 35D through 35F show the utilization of a finger- worn device, as in FIGS. 35 A through 35C, to communicate with a detection apparatus 3534 in a system 3530. In FIG. 35D and 35E there is shown a finger in proximity to a touch surface 3532. Alternatively, the finger may be touching the touch surface. Surface 3532 is a touch surface of apparatus 3534 which is an exemplary embodiment of touch and/or proximity and/or position detecting apparatus, as known in the art to utilize electric fields (see e.g. US Patents 5861875, 4071691, 6998856 and 6025726). In apparatus 3534, an electric field 3536 is generated by a transmitter 3538 to a receiver 3540. The field is measured by the receiver, such as by being converted to digital information, and processed at a processing unit 3542. In some embodiments, when a finger approaches surface 3532, as specifically shown in FIG. 35D, the field is disturbed as some of the field lines are shunted to ground and do not reach the receiver. Accordingly, the total capacitance measured at the receiver decreases. By measuring and processing changes in capacitance, touch and/or proximity can be sensed. As specifically shown in FIG. 35E (for system 3530), device 3510a may be worn on the finger approaching surface 3532. The device may be operated to generate an electric field (e.g. field 3520) that is carried by the body, thus reaching the tip of the finger and consequently to the receiver of apparatus 3534. The electric field from device 3510a is generated by transmitter 3512 of the device, while by modulating the field with modulator 3516 information may be transmitted to the receiver of the apparatus, which is already designed to measure electric fields. Processing unit 3542 may be adapted, such as reprogrammed, to register specific measurements of the receiver as input, in addition to registering measurements of touch influence, which has a certain threshold, as known in the art. Note that alternatively to the described for transmitter 3512 generating an electric field, the transmitter may generate transmissions or signals which may be transmitted or "carried" through or on the finger wearing device 3510a. [pg. 64 and pg. 65]
FIG. 35F shows an embodiment of system 3530' in which a device 3510c can be utilized as an input-device. Similarly to the described for system 3530, transmitter 3538 is generating an electric field (shown field 3536 in the figure). In FIG. 35F, device 3510c is shown worn on a finger while the finger exemplarily touches surface 3532 of apparatus 3534. Field 3536 generated by transmitter 3538 reaches antenna 3522, such as by the device specifically being in the "near-field" region of the field, or by the field being "carried" through or on the finger wearing device 3510c. Transponder mechanism 3524 is consequently powered-up for transmitting transmissions 3544 to receiver 3540 of apparatus 3534. Alternatively, transponder mechanism 3524 may modulate disturbances (also "influence") to field 3538, in addition to the disturbance of the finger, thus facilitating communicating information to the apparatus. Transmitting transmissions to receiver 3540 and/or influencing field 3536 by mechanism 3524 may utilize the physiological electric properties of the finger to maximize the effectiveness of such operations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Kursula to have electrically passive user interfaces as taught by Shai in order to have a designated space for user interaction with the finger which is intuitive to the user and other well known systems for inputting information (i.e., defined space for input information).
Therefore, Kursula in view of Shai teaches one or more electrically passive user interfaces(pg. 16 conductive surface and pg. 92 “touchpad” teachings of at least trackpad, see also pg 63-pg65 with respect to fig. 35a-f) Shai, wherein each of the one or more electrically passive user interfaces comprises one or more electrically-conductive materials ([0013] conductive electrodes, steel, conductive plastic): and
a computer-readable storage medium, said computer-readable storage medium having instructions that when executed by said processor(fig. 3 and fig. 4 (52)(50))(fig. 6 (600)) Kursula, cause said processor to: transmit electromagnetic waves [008,011-0012,0021,0033] Kursula, from said reflection coefficient measurement circuitry to a portion of a body of the user via said signal trace(fig. 2 (106)) Kursula; measure a reflection coefficient of said electromagnetic waves using said reflection coefficient measurement circuitry [0011-0022]; Kursula and
identify a user touch of the one or more electrically passive user interfaces based on said reflection coefficient (fig. 3 and 4 52). Kursula in view of (pg. 92 “touchpad” teachings of at least trackpad, see also pg 63-pg65 with respect to fig. 35a-f) Shai
In regards to claim 19, Kursula in view of Shai teaches the system of claim 18, wherein the one or more electrically passive user interfaces further comprise one or more buttons, one or more sliders, one or more trackpads, or combinations thereof. (“In some methods, at a step 4316, a position and/or motion of the finger or hand is detected from the results of the sensing (step 4312). The position may be, for example, the coordinates of touch on a touchpad or touch-screen (pg. 92)” teachings of at least trackpad, see also pg 63-65 with respect to fig. 35a).Shai
In regards to claim 20, Kursula in view of Shai teaches system of claim 18, wherein said identification of said user touch causes an action of a plurality of pre-determined actions supported by said user device, an application, a function, or a peripheral thereof [0012-0015, 025] Kursula.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duffy in view of Bud et al (2019/0207932) hereinafter, Bud.
In regards to claim 12, Duffy fails to teach machine learning.
However, Bud teaches machine learning [0045].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Duffy to further include machine learning as taught by Bud in order to improve authentication results.
Therefore, Duffy in view of Bud teaches wherein said identification of said user comprises identifying said user, using a machine learning model, as an authorized user or as an unauthorized user of a user device, an application, a function, or a peripheral thereof.[0045] Bud in view of [0048-0054] Duffy.
In regards to claim 13, Duffy in view of Bud teaches the method of claim 12, wherein said method further comprising: granting access to said authorized user to utilize said user device, said application, said function, or said peripheral thereof; or denying access to said unauthorized user from utilizing said user device, said application, said function, or said peripheral thereof. .[0045] Bud in view of [0048-0054] Duffy.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duffy in view of Burris et al (2020/0244650) hereinafter, Burris.
In regards to claim 16, Duffy teaches the method of claim 15, wherein: said electronic device comprises a wearable electronic device [0030]; and
Duffy fails to teach said continuous or time interval identification or authentication comprises a first-factor authentication of a plurality-factor authentications.
However, Burris teaches said continuous or time interval identification or authentication comprises a first-factor authentication of a plurality-factor authentications. [0006, 0056-0089].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Duffy to further include said continuous or time interval identification or authentication comprises a first-factor authentication of a plurality-factor authentications as taught by Burris in order to speed the process up.
Conclusion
/GRANT SITTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622