DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This office action is responsive to the Application No.:18/877,962 filed on 12/20/2024.
Claims 1-12, 14, 15 and 17-22 are pending and presented for examination.
This action has been made NON-FINAL.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 (Priority Date: 09/09/2022).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/20/2024 is being considered by the examiner. A signed IDS is hereby attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, 10, 12, 17, 19, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, 12, 17, 19, 20 and 21 recites “determining.” The Applicant has failed to particularly point out and distinctly claim HOW the determination is made and therefore, it is unclear to the examiner HOW the determination is made. Consequently, the limitations are rendered as indefinite.
Claim 10 recites “others”. However, it is unclear to the examiner with exactly “others” comprises. Therefore, the limitations are rendered as indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12, 14, 15 and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Parmar, US 20230136551.
Claim 1:
Parmar discloses an image processing method (See Parmar Abstract; Figure 10C/D; Paragraphs 0039-0042; 0082; 0086) comprising:
obtaining an image (See Parmar Figure 10C/D; Paragraphs 0039-0042; 0082; 0086);
receiving a template triggering operation for the image (See Parmar Figure 10C/D; Paragraphs 0039-0042; 0082; 0086) and displaying at least one template each comprising at least one template element (See Parmar Paragraphs 0039-0042; 0082);
and receiving a template selection operation for the template (See Parmar Figure 10C/D; Paragraphs 0039-0042; 0082; 0086), and displaying a target effect image by applying a selected template to the image (See Parmar Figure 10C/D; Paragraphs 0039-0042; 0082; 0086), wherein a target display mode of at least part of template elements is different from a default display mode of the at least part of the template elements (See Parmar Paragraphs 0039-0042; 0082).
Claim 2:
Parmar discloses wherein displaying the target effect image by applying the selected template to the image (See Parmar Figure 10C/D; Paragraphs 0039-0042; 0082; 0086) comprises: for the selected template (See Parmar Paragraphs 0039-0042; 0082), determining an element of the at least one template element corresponding to the template (See Parmar Figure 10C/D; Paragraphs 0039-0042; 0082; 0086), and adjusting a default display mode of the element (“full view mode” See Parmar Paragraph 0061); and in a case that a display position of the element of the template has been adjusted (See Parmar Figure 10C/D; Paragraphs 0039-0042; 0082; 0086), displaying the target effect image by applying the adjusted template to the image (See Parmar Paragraphs 0039-0042; 0082).
Claim 3:
Parmar discloses wherein adjusting the default display mode of the element (“full view mode” See Parmar Paragraph 0061) comprises: for each element, in a case that the image comprises a target interaction subject corresponding to the element (See Parmar Figure 10C/D; Paragraphs 0039-0042; 0082; 0086), adjusting the default display mode (“full view mode” See Parmar Paragraph 0061) of the element according to a preset interaction mode corresponding to the element to apply the element to the target interaction subject (See Parmar Figure 10C/D; Paragraphs 0039-0042; 0082; 0086).
Claim 4:
Parmar discloses where adjusting the default display mode of the element (“full view mode” See Parmar Paragraph 0061) comprises: for each element, in a case that the element is a title element (See Parmar Figure 10C/D; Paragraphs 0039-0042; 0082; 0086), determining at least one set of candidate display modes corresponding to the element (“full view mode” See Parmar Paragraph 0061); and determining, using a first model and the candidate display modes (See Parmar Figure 10C/D; Paragraphs 0039-0042; 0082; 0086), a target display mode of the element, and adjusting the element based on the target display mode and the default display mode of the element (“full view mode” See Parmar Paragraph 0061).
Claim 5:
Parmar discloses wherein adjusting the default display mode of the element (“full view mode” See Parmar Paragraph 0061) comprises: for each element, determining an associated display object of the element (See Parmar Figure 10C/D; Paragraphs 0039-0042; 0082; 0086); and determining overlapping information between the element and the associated display object (See Parmar Figure 10C/D; Paragraphs 0039-0042; 0082; 0086), and adjusting, based on the overlapping information, the default display mode of the element (“full view mode” See Parmar Paragraph 0061).
Claim 6:
Parmar discloses wherein determining the overlapping information between the element and the associated display object (“overlay” See Parmar Paragraphs 0054; 0079) comprises: obtaining contour information (“video effects” See Parmar Paragraph 0068) or a mask image of the element, and determining, based on the contour information (“video effects” See Parmar Paragraph 0068) or the mask image, whether there is an overlapping area between the element and the associated display object (“overlay” See Parmar Paragraph 0054; 0079).
Claim 7:
Parmar discloses wherein adjusting, based on the overlapping information, the default display mode (“full view mode” See Parmar Paragraph 0061) of the element comprises: in a case that there is the overlapping area (“overlay” See Parmar Paragraph 0054; 0079) between the element and the associated display object, adjusting the default display mode (“full view mode” See Parmar Paragraph 0061) of the element to cause the overlapping area (“overlay” See Parmar Paragraph 0054; 0079) between the element and the associated display object disappear (“video effects” See Parmar Paragraph 0068).
Claim 8:
Parmar discloses wherein adjusting the default display mode (“full view mode” See Parmar Paragraph 0061) of the element to cause the overlapping area between the element and the associated display object disappear (“video effects” See Parmar Paragraph 0068) comprises: determining, based on display positions of the element and the associated display object, a first direction vector, and adjusting, based on the first direction vector, the default display mode of the element (“full view mode” See Parmar Paragraph 0061) to cause the overlapping area between the element and the associated display object disappear (“video effects” See Parmar Paragraph 0068).
Claim 9:
Parmar discloses wherein adjusting the default display mode of the element (See Parmar Paragraph 0061) comprises: adjusting, based on an element category corresponding to each element in the template (See Parmar Paragraphs 0039-0042; 0082) and an adjustment priority corresponding to the element category, the default display mode of the element (“full view mode” See Parmar Paragraph 0061).
Claim 10:
Parmar discloses wherein element categories comprise an interaction element, a title element or others, and wherein adjustment priorities corresponding to the element categories (See Parmar Paragraph 0055), from high to low, are as follows: the interactive element, the title element, and others (“priority” See Parmar Paragraph 0077).
Claim 11:
Parmar discloses wherein displaying the target effect image by applying the selected template to the image (See Parmar Paragraphs 0039-0042; 0082) comprises: determining a target display area in the image, determining, based on the target display area, a target image, and displaying the target effect image by applying the selected template to the target image (See Parmar Paragraphs 0039-0042; 0082).
Claim 12:
Parmar discloses wherein determining the target display area in the image comprises at least one of the following: determining salient information in the image, and using an image area corresponding to the salient information as the target display area; or determining an environmental target subject in the image, and using an image area corresponding to the environmental target subject as the target display area (“Halloween” See Parmar Paragraph 0055).
Claim 14:
Claim 14 is rejected on the same basis as claim 1.
Claim 15:
Claim 15 is rejected on the same basis as claim 1.
Claims 17-22:
Claims 17-22 are rejected on the same basis as claims 2-7.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent No.: 10048829 discloses a method for displaying icons and an electronic apparatus are provided. The method includes: determining N icons which have a one-to-one correspondence with N applications of an electronic apparatus, where N≥1, each of the N icons has a first display parameter; acquiring a sensing parameter by a sensor of the electronic apparatus; determining whether the sensing parameter matches with a preset operation; and adjusting the first display parameter of at least one of the N icons if the sensing parameter matches with the preset operation.
Contact Information
/SHEREE N BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612 July 3, 2026