DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged that application claims priority to foreign application with application number CN202211129263.3 dated 09/16/2022. Copies of certified papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 have been received. Priority is acknowledged under 35 USC 119(e) and 37 CFR 1.78.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS dated 03/24/2025 has been considered and placed in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8, 10-11, 18-19, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Japanese Patent Publication JP 2021064399 A, (SAWAKI KAZUAKI) (hereinafter “Kazuaki”).
Regarding claim 1, Kazuaki teaches an image display method, comprising: (Kazuaki “[0006] …a program executed by a computer equipped with a processor is provided. The program configures the processor with a step of defining a virtual space that includes a first avatar associated with the first user and a second avatar associated with the second user, and a first user associated with the first head mount device…A step of arranging one object in the first field of view, a step of displaying the first information in the first object, and a step of displaying a first field of view image corresponding to the first field of view on the first head mount device…”)
determining a first orientation of a mirror camera; (Kazuaki “[0062] As shown in FIG. 7, the field of view region 15 in the XZ cross section includes the region 19. The region 19 is defined by the position of the virtual camera 14, the reference line of sight 16, and the XZ cross section of the virtual space 11. The processor 210 defines a range including the azimuth angle β centered on the reference line of sight 16 in the virtual space 11 as a region 19. The polar angles α and β are determined according to the position of the virtual camera 14 and the inclination (orientation) of the virtual camera 14.”; “[0094] …The control module 510 controls the position of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 and the inclination (orientation) of the virtual camera 14…”; “[0131] The virtual camera control module 1422 controls the behavior of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11. The virtual camera control module 1422 controls, for example, the arrangement position of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 and the orientation (tilt) of the virtual camera 14.”)
determining a first position of the mirror camera based on a position of a first-person perspective camera, a preset distance, and the first orientation; and (Kazuaki “[0094] …the control module 510 controls the image display on the monitor 130 of the HMD 120. For example, the control module 510 arranges the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11. The control module 510 controls the position of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 and the inclination (orientation) of the virtual camera 14. The control module 510 defines the field of view 15 according to the inclination of the head of the user 5 wearing the HMD 120 and the position of the virtual camera 14. The rendering module 520 generates a field of view image 17 to be displayed on the monitor 130 based on the determined field of view area 15. The field of view image 17 generated by the rendering module 520 is output to the HMD 120 by the communication control module 540.”; “[0041] …The HMD sensor 410 further detects the position and inclination (orientation) of the HMD 120 in the real space according to the movement of the user 5 wearing the HMD 120 based on the value of each point (each coordinate value in the real coordinate system)…”; “[0054] The line of sight of the user 5 detected by the gaze sensor 140 is a direction in the viewpoint coordinate system when the user 5 visually recognizes an object. The uvw field-of-view coordinate system of the HMD 120 is equal to the viewpoint coordinate system when the user 5 visually recognizes the monitor 130. The uvw field-of-view coordinate system of the virtual camera 14 is linked to the uvw field-of-view coordinate system of the HMD 120…”; “[0048] …the HMD sensor 410 determines the HMD 120 based on the infrared light intensity acquired based on the output from the infrared sensor and the relative positional relationship between the points (eg, the distance between the points)…”)
obtaining a first image based on the first position and the first orientation, and displaying the first image on a virtual mirror (Kazuaki “[0119] 12 (B) is a diagram showing the field of view image 17A of the user 5A in FIG. 12 (A). The field of view image 17A is an image displayed on the monitor 130A of the HMD 120A. The field of view image 17A is an image generated by the virtual camera 14A. The avatar object 6B of the user 5B is displayed in the field of view image 17A…”)
Claim 18 is directed to an electronic device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a computer program stored on the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, implement an image display method, comprising: (Kazuaki “[0006] …a program executed by a computer equipped with a processor is provided. The program configures the processor with a step of defining a virtual space that includes a first avatar associated with the first user and a second avatar associated with the second user, and a first user associated with the first head mount device…A step of arranging one object in the first field of view, a step of displaying the first information in the first object, and a step of displaying a first field of view image corresponding to the first field of view on the first head mount device…”; “[0037] …the processor 210 accesses the storage 230, loads one or more programs stored in the storage 230 into the memory 220, and executes a series of instructions contained in the program. The one or more programs may include an operating system of a computer 200, an application program for providing a virtual space, game software that can be executed in the virtual space, and the like. The processor 210 sends a signal to the HMD 120 to provide virtual space via the input / output interface 240…”) and its scope and functions are substantially similar to the steps performed by the method claim 1 and therefore claim 18 is also rejected with the same rationale as specified in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, Kazuaki teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising: a computer program stored on the computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, causes the image display method according to claim 1 to be implemented (Kazuaki “[0006] …a program executed by a computer equipped with a processor is provided. The program configures the processor with a step of defining a virtual space that includes a first avatar associated with the first user and a second avatar associated with the second user, and a first user associated with the first head mount device…A step of arranging one object in the first field of view, a step of displaying the first information in the first object, and a step of displaying a first field of view image corresponding to the first field of view on the first head mount device…”; “[0037] …the processor 210 accesses the storage 230, loads one or more programs stored in the storage 230 into the memory 220, and executes a series of instructions contained in the program. The one or more programs may include an operating system of a computer 200, an application program for providing a virtual space, game software that can be executed in the virtual space, and the like. The processor 210 sends a signal to the HMD 120 to provide virtual space via the input / output interface 240…”)
Regarding claim 22, Kazuaki teaches an electronic device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a computer program stored on the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the mirror image display method in the extended reality space according to claim 10 to be implemented (Kazuaki “[0006] …a program executed by a computer equipped with a processor is provided. The program configures the processor with a step of defining a virtual space that includes a first avatar associated with the first user and a second avatar associated with the second user, and a first user associated with the first head mount device…A step of arranging one object in the first field of view, a step of displaying the first information in the first object, and a step of displaying a first field of view image corresponding to the first field of view on the first head mount device…”; “[0037] …the processor 210 accesses the storage 230, loads one or more programs stored in the storage 230 into the memory 220, and executes a series of instructions contained in the program. The one or more programs may include an operating system of a computer 200, an application program for providing a virtual space, game software that can be executed in the virtual space, and the like. The processor 210 sends a signal to the HMD 120 to provide virtual space via the input / output interface 240…”)
Regarding claim 23, Kazuaki teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising: a computer program stored on the computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, causes the mirror image display method in the extended reality space according to claim 10 to be implemented (Kazuaki “[0006] …a program executed by a computer equipped with a processor is provided. The program configures the processor with a step of defining a virtual space that includes a first avatar associated with the first user and a second avatar associated with the second user, and a first user associated with the first head mount device…A step of arranging one object in the first field of view, a step of displaying the first information in the first object, and a step of displaying a first field of view image corresponding to the first field of view on the first head mount device…”; “[0037] …the processor 210 accesses the storage 230, loads one or more programs stored in the storage 230 into the memory 220, and executes a series of instructions contained in the program. The one or more programs may include an operating system of a computer 200, an application program for providing a virtual space, game software that can be executed in the virtual space, and the like. The processor 210 sends a signal to the HMD 120 to provide virtual space via the input / output interface 240…”)
Regarding claim 2, Kazuaki teaches wherein the method further comprises:
determining a second orientation of the mirror camera in response to an adjustment instruction for the mirror camera; (Kazuaki “[0175] …the processor 210B generates a virtual camera 2442 (virtual viewpoint) as a virtual object generation module 1421, and arranges the virtual camera 2442 in association with the mirror object 2441…In FIG. 24A, the virtual camera 2442 is arranged on the mirror object 2441 with the shooting direction of the virtual camera 2442 facing the avatar object 6B. The virtual camera 2442 may be arranged at a different position from the mirror object 2441 in a state associated with the mirror object 2441”; “[0094] …The control module 510 controls the position of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 and the inclination (orientation) of the virtual camera 14…”; “[0131] The virtual camera control module 1422 controls the behavior of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11. The virtual camera control module 1422 controls, for example, the arrangement position of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 and the orientation (tilt) of the virtual camera 14.”). The Examiner would like to note that the control module 510 (Kazuaki) is able to control a multitude of positions and orientations of the virtual camera 14.
determining a second position of the mirror camera based on the position of the first-person perspective camera, the preset distance, and the second orientation; (Kazuaki “[0175] …the processor 210B generates a virtual camera 2442 (virtual viewpoint) as a virtual object generation module 1421, and arranges the virtual camera 2442 in association with the mirror object 2441…In FIG. 24A, the virtual camera 2442 is arranged on the mirror object 2441 with the shooting direction of the virtual camera 2442 facing the avatar object 6B. The virtual camera 2442 may be arranged at a different position from the mirror object 2441 in a state associated with the mirror object 2441”; “[0094] …the control module 510 controls the image display on the monitor 130 of the HMD 120. For example, the control module 510 arranges the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11. The control module 510 controls the position of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 and the inclination (orientation) of the virtual camera 14. The control module 510 defines the field of view 15 according to the inclination of the head of the user 5 wearing the HMD 120 and the position of the virtual camera 14. The rendering module 520 generates a field of view image 17 to be displayed on the monitor 130 based on the determined field of view area 15. The field of view image 17 generated by the rendering module 520 is output to the HMD 120 by the communication control module 540.”; “[0041] …The HMD sensor 410 further detects the position and inclination (orientation) of the HMD 120 in the real space according to the movement of the user 5 wearing the HMD 120 based on the value of each point (each coordinate value in the real coordinate system)…”; “[0054] The line of sight of the user 5 detected by the gaze sensor 140 is a direction in the viewpoint coordinate system when the user 5 visually recognizes an object. The uvw field-of-view coordinate system of the HMD 120 is equal to the viewpoint coordinate system when the user 5 visually recognizes the monitor 130. The uvw field-of-view coordinate system of the virtual camera 14 is linked to the uvw field-of-view coordinate system of the HMD 120…”; “[0048] …the HMD sensor 410 determines the HMD 120 based on the infrared light intensity acquired based on the output from the infrared sensor and the relative positional relationship between the points (eg, the distance between the points)…”; “[0131] The virtual camera control module 1422 controls the behavior of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11. The virtual camera control module 1422 controls, for example, the arrangement position of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 and the orientation (tilt) of the virtual camera 14.”)
obtaining a second image based on the second orientation and the second position; and (Kazuaki “[0177] …The avatar image 2444 is a field of view image (second field of view image) corresponding to the field of view area 2443 from the virtual camera 2442. In the virtual space 2411B, the virtual camera 14B is arranged in the field of view area 2443 of the virtual camera 2442…”)
updating, and displaying the second image on the virtual mirror (Kazuaki “[0119] 12 (B) is a diagram showing the field of view image 17A of the user 5A in FIG. 12 (A). The field of view image 17A is an image displayed on the monitor 130A of the HMD 120A. The field of view image 17A is an image generated by the virtual camera 14A. The avatar object 6B of the user 5B is displayed in the field of view image 17A…”; “[0177] …The avatar image 2444 is a field of view image (second field of view image) corresponding to the field of view area 2443 from the virtual camera 2442. In the virtual space 2411B, the virtual camera 14B is arranged in the field of view area 2443 of the virtual camera 2442…”; “[0063] …As a result, the field-of-view image 17 displayed on the monitor 130 is updated to an image of the panoramic image 13 superimposed on the field-of-view area 15 in the direction in which the user 5 faces in the virtual space 11…”)
Regarding claim 8, Kazuaki teaches wherein the method is applied to a VR head-mounted display device (Kazuaki “[0006] …a program executed by a computer equipped with a processor is provided. The program configures the processor with a step of defining a virtual space that includes a first avatar associated with the first user and a second avatar associated with the second user, and a first user associated with the first head mount device…A step of arranging one object in the first field of view, a step of displaying the first information in the first object, and a step of displaying a first field of view image corresponding to the first field of view on the first head mount device…”)
Regarding claim 10, Kazuaki teaches a mirror image display method in an extended reality space, comprising: (Kazuaki “[0006] …a program executed by a computer equipped with a processor is provided. The program configures the processor with a step of defining a virtual space that includes a first avatar associated with the first user and a second avatar associated with the second user, and a first user associated with the first head mount device…A step of arranging one object in the first field of view, a step of displaying the first information in the first object, and a step of displaying a first field of view image corresponding to the first field of view on the first head mount device…”)
receiving a mirror image display adjustment instruction triggered by a user for a target object, wherein the mirror image display adjustment instruction is configured to instruct to adjust a display proportion of the target object in a virtual display; (Kazuaki “[0014] The monitor 130 is realized as, for example, a non-transparent display device. In one aspect, the monitor 130 is arranged in the body of the HMD 120 so as to be located in front of both eyes of the user 5. Therefore, the user 5 can immerse himself in the virtual space when he / she visually recognizes the three-dimensional image displayed on the monitor 130. In one aspect, the virtual space includes, for example, a background, an object that the user 5 can manipulate, and an image of a menu that the user 5 can select…”; “[0063] …The field-of-view image 17 is an image corresponding to a portion of the panoramic image 13 corresponding to the field-of-view area 15. When the user 5 moves the HMD 120 attached to the head, the virtual camera 14 also moves in conjunction with the movement. As a result, the position of the visual field region 15 in the virtual space 11 changes. As a result, the field-of-view image 17 displayed on the monitor 130 is updated to an image of the panoramic image 13 superimposed on the field-of-view area 15 in the direction in which the user 5 faces in the virtual space 11…”; “[0064] …Therefore, by changing the position or tilt of the virtual camera 14, the image displayed on the monitor 130 is updated and the field of view of the user 5 is moved.”; “[0066] …In this case, the processor 210 identifies an image region (field of view region 15) projected onto the monitor 130 of the HMD 120 based on the position and tilt of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11.”)
adjusting parameter information of a virtual camera based on the mirror image display adjustment instruction; and (Kazuaki “[0052] …the virtual camera 14 is defined with an uvw field-of-view coordinate system. The uvw field-of-view coordinate system of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 is defined to be linked to the uvw field-of-view coordinate system of the HMD 120 in the real space (real coordinate system). Therefore, when the inclination of the HMD 120 changes, the inclination of the virtual camera 14 also changes accordingly. The virtual camera 14 can also move in the virtual space 11 in conjunction with the movement of the user 5 wearing the HMD 120 in the real space.”; “[0175] …the processor 210B generates a virtual camera 2442 (virtual viewpoint) as a virtual object generation module 1421, and arranges the virtual camera 2442 in association with the mirror object 2441…In FIG. 24A, the virtual camera 2442 is arranged on the mirror object 2441 with the shooting direction of the virtual camera 2442 facing the avatar object 6B. The virtual camera 2442 may be arranged at a different position from the mirror object 2441 in a state associated with the mirror object 2441”; “[0094] …The control module 510 controls the position of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 and the inclination (orientation) of the virtual camera 14…”; “[0131] The virtual camera control module 1422 controls the behavior of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11. The virtual camera control module 1422 controls, for example, the arrangement position of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 and the orientation (tilt) of the virtual camera 14.”; “[0014] The monitor 130 is realized as, for example, a non-transparent display device. In one aspect, the monitor 130 is arranged in the body of the HMD 120 so as to be located in front of both eyes of the user 5. Therefore, the user 5 can immerse himself in the virtual space when he / she visually recognizes the three-dimensional image displayed on the monitor 130. In one aspect, the virtual space includes, for example, a background, an object that the user 5 can manipulate, and an image of a menu that the user 5 can select…”; “[0063] …The field-of-view image 17 is an image corresponding to a portion of the panoramic image 13 corresponding to the field-of-view area 15. When the user 5 moves the HMD 120 attached to the head, the virtual camera 14 also moves in conjunction with the movement. As a result, the position of the visual field region 15 in the virtual space 11 changes. As a result, the field-of-view image 17 displayed on the monitor 130 is updated to an image of the panoramic image 13 superimposed on the field-of-view area 15 in the direction in which the user 5 faces in the virtual space 11…”; “[0064] …Therefore, by changing the position or tilt of the virtual camera 14, the image displayed on the monitor 130 is updated and the field of view of the user 5 is moved.”; “[0066] …In this case, the processor 210 identifies an image region (field of view region 15) projected onto the monitor 130 of the HMD 120 based on the position and tilt of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11.”). The Examiner would like to note that the control module 510 (Kazuaki) is able to control a multitude of positions and orientations of the virtual cameras.
displaying the target object in the virtual display based on a display image obtained by the virtual camera after the parameter information is adjusted (Kazuaki “[0119] 12 (B) is a diagram showing the field of view image 17A of the user 5A in FIG. 12 (A). The field of view image 17A is an image displayed on the monitor 130A of the HMD 120A. The field of view image 17A is an image generated by the virtual camera 14A. The avatar object 6B of the user 5B is displayed in the field of view image 17A…”)
Regarding claim 11, Kazuaki teaches wherein the parameter information comprises a field of view; and (Kazuaki “[0052] …the virtual camera 14 is defined with an uvw field-of-view coordinate system. The uvw field-of-view coordinate system of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 is defined to be linked to the uvw field-of-view coordinate system of the HMD 120 in the real space (real coordinate system). Therefore, when the inclination of the HMD 120 changes, the inclination of the virtual camera 14 also changes accordingly. The virtual camera 14 can also move in the virtual space 11 in conjunction with the movement of the user 5 wearing the HMD 120 in the real space.”)
the adjusting parameter information of the virtual camera based on the mirror image display adjustment instruction comprises: (Kazuaki “[0052] …the virtual camera 14 is defined with an uvw field-of-view coordinate system. The uvw field-of-view coordinate system of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 is defined to be linked to the uvw field-of-view coordinate system of the HMD 120 in the real space (real coordinate system). Therefore, when the inclination of the HMD 120 changes, the inclination of the virtual camera 14 also changes accordingly. The virtual camera 14 can also move in the virtual space 11 in conjunction with the movement of the user 5 wearing the HMD 120 in the real space.”; “[0175] …the processor 210B generates a virtual camera 2442 (virtual viewpoint) as a virtual object generation module 1421, and arranges the virtual camera 2442 in association with the mirror object 2441…In FIG. 24A, the virtual camera 2442 is arranged on the mirror object 2441 with the shooting direction of the virtual camera 2442 facing the avatar object 6B. The virtual camera 2442 may be arranged at a different position from the mirror object 2441 in a state associated with the mirror object 2441”; “[0094] …The control module 510 controls the position of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 and the inclination (orientation) of the virtual camera 14…”; “[0131] The virtual camera control module 1422 controls the behavior of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11. The virtual camera control module 1422 controls, for example, the arrangement position of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 and the orientation (tilt) of the virtual camera 14.”; “[0014] The monitor 130 is realized as, for example, a non-transparent display device. In one aspect, the monitor 130 is arranged in the body of the HMD 120 so as to be located in front of both eyes of the user 5. Therefore, the user 5 can immerse himself in the virtual space when he / she visually recognizes the three-dimensional image displayed on the monitor 130. In one aspect, the virtual space includes, for example, a background, an object that the user 5 can manipulate, and an image of a menu that the user 5 can select…”; “[0063] …The field-of-view image 17 is an image corresponding to a portion of the panoramic image 13 corresponding to the field-of-view area 15. When the user 5 moves the HMD 120 attached to the head, the virtual camera 14 also moves in conjunction with the movement. As a result, the position of the visual field region 15 in the virtual space 11 changes. As a result, the field-of-view image 17 displayed on the monitor 130 is updated to an image of the panoramic image 13 superimposed on the field-of-view area 15 in the direction in which the user 5 faces in the virtual space 11…”; “[0064] …Therefore, by changing the position or tilt of the virtual camera 14, the image displayed on the monitor 130 is updated and the field of view of the user 5 is moved.”; “[0066] …In this case, the processor 210 identifies an image region (field of view region 15) projected onto the monitor 130 of the HMD 120 based on the position and tilt of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11.”). The Examiner would like to note that the control module 510 (Kazuaki) is able to control a multitude of positions and orientations of the virtual cameras.
reducing the field of view of the virtual camera based on the mirror image display adjustment instruction; or increasing the field of view of the virtual camera based on the mirror image display adjustment instruction (Kazuaki “[0060-0066] The field of view 15 will be described with reference to FIGS. 6 and 7. FIG. 6 is a diagram showing a YZ cross section of the field of view region 15 viewed from the X direction in the virtual space 11. FIG. 7 is a diagram showing an XZ cross section of the field of view region 15 viewed from the Y direction in the virtual space 11…in FIG. 6, the field of view region 15 in the YZ cross section includes the region 18. The region 18 is defined by the position of the virtual camera 14, the reference line of sight 16, and the YZ cross section of the virtual space 11…in FIG. 7, the field of view region 15 in the XZ cross section includes the region 19. The region 19 is defined by the position of the virtual camera 14, the reference line of sight 16, and the XZ cross section of the virtual space 11…When the user 5 moves the HMD 120 attached to the head, the virtual camera 14 also moves in conjunction with the movement. As a result, the position of the visual field region 15 in the virtual space 11 changes…the inclination of the virtual camera 14 corresponds to the line of sight (reference line of sight 16) of the user 5 in the virtual space 11, and the position where the virtual camera 14 is arranged corresponds to the viewpoint of the user 5 in the virtual space 11. Therefore, by changing the position or tilt of the virtual camera 14, the image displayed on the monitor 130 is updated and the field of view of the user 5 is moved…”). The Examiner would like to note that in Fig. 6 (Kazuaki) shows a “narrow” or reduced field of view whereas in Fig. 7 (Kazuaki) shows a “wide” or increased field of view.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable and obvious over Kazuaki as applied to claims 1-2, 8, 10-11, 18-19, and 22-23 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication US 20170365092 A1, (Wang).
Regarding claim 3, Kazuaki is silent about determined based on a perpendicular direction from an initial position of the first-person perspective camera to a mirror surface of the virtual mirror.
Wang teaches determined based on a perpendicular direction from an initial position of the first-person perspective camera to a mirror surface of the virtual mirror (Wang “[0040] FIG . 5…the object 510 is captured directly by front - facing camera 110 , and in a reflection of a mirror 505 by back - facing camera 120.”). The Examiner would like to note that “perpendicular direction” has been interpreted accordingly with the Applicant’s specification. The Applicant mentions, “[page 9] …To simulate that the user looks into a mirror in a real scene, the virtual mirror is displayed right in front of the avatar, that is, the virtual mirror is displayed right in front of the first-person perspective camera. Therefore, a direction of a perpendicular from an initial position of the first-person perspective camera to a mirror surface of the virtual mirror may be determined, and the first orientation of the mirror camera is opposite to the direction of the perpendicular from the initial position of the first-person perspective camera to the mirror surface of the virtual mirror…”. Thus, Fig. 5 (Wang) teaches “perpendicular direction” because the mirror 505 is shown in front of camera 120.
Kazuaki and Wang are analogous art as both of them are related to obtaining or using images.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kazuaki by determining based on a perpendicular direction from an initial position of the first-person perspective camera to a mirror surface of the virtual mirror as taught by Wang and use that within Kazuaki’s virtual reality system.
The motivation for the above is for improved viewing of objects in a virtual reality experience.
Regarding claim 4, Kazuaki is silent about a length of a projection, on the ground, of a connection line between the first-person perspective camera and the mirror camera.
Wang teaches a length of a projection, on the ground, of a connection line between the first-person perspective camera and the mirror camera (Wang “[0032] The flow chart continue at 320 and a virtual base line distance is determined between the first and second camera. That is, the effective distance between the camera directly capturing an image of the object and the “ virtual ” camera capturing an image of the object within the mirror…”; “[0004] …The method may include obtaining a first image of an object captured by a first camera facing a first direction , obtaining a second image of the object captured by a second camera facing a second direction , wherein the second camera captures the second image of the object as a reflection in a mirror , determining a virtual baseline distance between the first camera and the second camera based on a location of the first camera , a known spatial relationship between the first camera and at least a portion of the device , and a mirrored position of the second camera , and generating at least a partial 3D model of the first object using the first image , the second image , and the virtual baseline distance.”)
Kazuaki and Wang are analogous art as both of them are related to obtaining or using images.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kazuaki by a length of a projection, on the ground, of a connection line between the first-person perspective camera and the mirror camera as taught by Wang and use that within Kazuaki’s virtual reality system.
The motivation for the above is for improved viewing of objects in a virtual reality experience.
Regarding claim 5, Kazuaki is silent about a height of the first-person perspective camera, and the position of the mirror camera comprises a height of the mirror camera; and the height of the mirror camera is determined based on the height of the first-person perspective camera and/or a height of the virtual mirror.
Wang teaches a height of the first-person perspective camera, and the position of the mirror camera comprises a height of the mirror camera; and the height of the mirror camera is determined based on the height of the first-person perspective camera and/or a height of the virtual mirror (Wang “[0040] FIG. 5…the electronic device 100 includes a multicamera system, with a front-facing camera 110 and a back-facing camera 120. The object to be modeled for purposes of this example is the head 510 of a user holding the electronic device. However, as described above, the object could be any object or scene captured by the multi-camera system…”; “[0041] …Using a known spatial relationship between the front facing camera 110 and the electronic device 100, and the virtual distance between the virtual camera 515 and the electronic device 100, the virtual baseline 530 may be established…”)
Wang does not explicitly disclose a height of the first-person perspective camera, and the position of the mirror camera comprises a height of the mirror camera; and the height of the mirror camera is determined based on the height of the first-person perspective camera and/or a height of the virtual mirror.
However, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kazuaki modified by Wang by a height of the first-person perspective camera, and the position of the mirror camera comprises a height of the mirror camera; and the height of the mirror camera is determined based on the height of the first-person perspective camera and/or a height of the virtual mirror, because the height of a camera can be determined based on the user who is using the device, this involves only routine skill in the art and does not alter the underlying invention in a manner that would render it useless.
The motivation for the above is for improved viewing of objects in a virtual reality experience.
Regarding claim 6, Kazuaki teaches …based on the preset distance…and a field of view of the mirror camera (Kazuaki “[0094] …the control module 510 controls the image display on the monitor 130 of the HMD 120. For example, the control module 510 arranges the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11. The control module 510 controls the position of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 and the inclination (orientation) of the virtual camera 14. The control module 510 defines the field of view 15 according to the inclination of the head of the user 5 wearing the HMD 120 and the position of the virtual camera 14. The rendering module 520 generates a field of view image 17 to be displayed on the monitor 130 based on the determined field of view area 15. The field of view image 17 generated by the rendering module 520 is output to the HMD 120 by the communication control module 540.”; “[0041] …The HMD sensor 410 further detects the position and inclination (orientation) of the HMD 120 in the real space according to the movement of the user 5 wearing the HMD 120 based on the value of each point (each coordinate value in the real coordinate system)…”; “[0054] The line of sight of the user 5 detected by the gaze sensor 140 is a direction in the viewpoint coordinate system when the user 5 visually recognizes an object. The uvw field-of-view coordinate system of the HMD 120 is equal to the viewpoint coordinate system when the user 5 visually recognizes the monitor 130. The uvw field-of-view coordinate system of the virtual camera 14 is linked to the uvw field-of-view coordinate system of the HMD 120…”; “[0048] …the HMD sensor 410 determines the HMD 120 based on the infrared light intensity acquired based on the output from the infrared sensor and the relative positional relationship between the points (eg, the distance between the points)…”)
However, Kazuaki is silent about wherein a manner of determining the height of the mirror camera comprises: determining a reference offset height of the mirror camera in a height direction…the height of the virtual mirror…determining an offset ratio, wherein the offset ratio is a ratio of an offset height to a mirror half-height of the virtual mirror, and the offset height is a height of the first-person perspective camera relative to a mirror midpoint of the virtual mirror; determining a mirror camera offset height based on the reference offset height and the offset ratio; and determining the height of the mirror camera based on the mirror camera offset height and the height of the mirror midpoint.
Wang teaches wherein a manner of determining the height of the mirror camera comprises: determining a reference offset height of the mirror camera in a height direction…the height of the virtual mirror…determining an offset ratio, wherein the offset ratio is a ratio of an offset height to a mirror half-height of the virtual mirror, and the offset height is a height of the first-person perspective camera relative to a mirror midpoint of the virtual mirror; determining a mirror camera offset height based on the reference offset height and the offset ratio; and determining the height of the mirror camera based on the mirror camera offset height and the height of the mirror midpoint (Wang “[0040] FIG. 5…the electronic device 100 includes a multicamera system, with a front-facing camera 110 and a back-facing camera 120. The object to be modeled for purposes of this example is the head 510 of a user holding the electronic device. However, as described above, the object could be any object or scene captured by the multi-camera system…”; “[0041] …the virtual baseline 530 may be determined between the front-facing camera 110 and the virtual back-facing camera 515. In one or more embodiments, the back-facing camera may capture a portion of the electronic device 100 as a reflection in the mirror 505…Using a known spatial relationship between the front facing camera 110 and the electronic device 100, and the virtual distance between the virtual camera 515 and the electronic device 100, the virtual baseline 530 may be established…”)
Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein a manner of determining the height of the mirror camera comprises: determining a reference offset height of the mirror camera in a height direction…the height of the virtual mirror…determining an offset ratio, wherein the offset ratio is a ratio of an offset height to a mirror half-height of the virtual mirror, and the offset height is a height of the first-person perspective camera relative to a mirror midpoint of the virtual mirror; determining a mirror camera offset height based on the reference offset height and the offset ratio; and determining the height of the mirror camera based on the mirror camera offset height and the height of the mirror midpoint.
However, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kazuaki modified by Wang by wherein a manner of determining the height of the mirror camera comprises: determining a reference offset height of the mirror camera in a height direction…the height of the virtual mirror…determining an offset ratio, wherein the offset ratio is a ratio of an offset height to a mirror half-height of the virtual mirror, and the offset height is a height of the first-person perspective camera relative to a mirror midpoint of the virtual mirror; determining a mirror camera offset height based on the reference offset height and the offset ratio; and determining the height of the mirror camera based on the mirror camera offset height and the height of the mirror midpoint, because determining the heights of cameras from a reference point such as the virtual mirror involves only routine skill in the art and does not alter the underlying invention in a manner that would render it useless.
The motivation for the above is for improved viewing of objects in a virtual reality experience.
Regarding claim 7, Kazuaki teaches wherein the first-person perspective camera, the virtual mirror, and the mirror camera are in a same virtual space (Kazuaki “[0051] At the time of starting the HMD 120, that is, in the initial state of the HMD 120, the virtual camera 14 is arranged at the center 12 of the virtual space 11. In one aspect, the processor 210 displays an image captured by the virtual camera 14 on the monitor 130 of the HMD 120. The virtual camera 14 moves in the virtual space 11 in the same manner in conjunction with the movement of the HMD 120 in the real space. As a result, changes in the position and inclination of the HMD 120 in the real space can be similarly reproduced in the virtual space 11.”)
However, Kazuaki is silent about the virtual mirror is arranged perpendicular to the ground.
Wang teaches and the virtual mirror is arranged perpendicular to the ground (Wang “[0040] FIG . 5…the object 510 is captured directly by front - facing camera 110 , and in a reflection of a mirror 505 by back - facing camera 120.”). The Examiner would like to note that although Wang does not explicitly mention “perpendicular to the ground”, the figure 5 shows the mirror 505 being positioned in a perpendicular manner. Additionally, positioning an object in a perpendicular manner is commonly known in the art.
Kazuaki and Wang are analogous art as both of them are related to obtaining or using images.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kazuaki by the virtual mirror is arranged perpendicular to the ground as taught by Wang and use that within Kazuaki’s virtual reality system.
The motivation for the above is for improved viewing of objects in a virtual reality experience.
Regarding claim 15, Kazuaki teaches wherein the parameter information…the adjusting parameter information of the virtual camera based on the mirror image display adjustment instruction comprises: (Kazuaki “[0052] …the virtual camera 14 is defined with an uvw field-of-view coordinate system. The uvw field-of-view coordinate system of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 is defined to be linked to the uvw field-of-view coordinate system of the HMD 120 in the real space (real coordinate system). Therefore, when the inclination of the HMD 120 changes, the inclination of the virtual camera 14 also changes accordingly. The virtual camera 14 can also move in the virtual space 11 in conjunction with the movement of the user 5 wearing the HMD 120 in the real space.”; “[0175] …the processor 210B generates a virtual camera 2442 (virtual viewpoint) as a virtual object generation module 1421, and arranges the virtual camera 2442 in association with the mirror object 2441…In FIG. 24A, the virtual camera 2442 is arranged on the mirror object 2441 with the shooting direction of the virtual camera 2442 facing the avatar object 6B. The virtual camera 2442 may be arranged at a different position from the mirror object 2441 in a state associated with the mirror object 2441”; “[0094] …The control module 510 controls the position of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 and the inclination (orientation) of the virtual camera 14…”; “[0131] The virtual camera control module 1422 controls the behavior of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11. The virtual camera control module 1422 controls, for example, the arrangement position of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 and the orientation (tilt) of the virtual camera 14.”; “[0014] The monitor 130 is realized as, for example, a non-transparent display device. In one aspect, the monitor 130 is arranged in the body of the HMD 120 so as to be located in front of both eyes of the user 5. Therefore, the user 5 can immerse himself in the virtual space when he / she visually recognizes the three-dimensional image displayed on the monitor 130. In one aspect, the virtual space includes, for example, a background, an object that the user 5 can manipulate, and an image of a menu that the user 5 can select…”; “[0063] …The field-of-view image 17 is an image corresponding to a portion of the panoramic image 13 corresponding to the field-of-view area 15. When the user 5 moves the HMD 120 attached to the head, the virtual camera 14 also moves in conjunction with the movement. As a result, the position of the visual field region 15 in the virtual space 11 changes. As a result, the field-of-view image 17 displayed on the monitor 130 is updated to an image of the panoramic image 13 superimposed on the field-of-view area 15 in the direction in which the user 5 faces in the virtual space 11…”; “[0064] …Therefore, by changing the position or tilt of the virtual camera 14, the image displayed on the monitor 130 is updated and the field of view of the user 5 is moved.”; “[0066] …In this case, the processor 210 identifies an image region (field of view region 15) projected onto the monitor 130 of the HMD 120 based on the position and tilt of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11.”). The Examiner would like to note that the control module 510 (Kazuaki) is able to control a multitude of positions and orientations of the virtual cameras.
However, Kazuaki is silent about comprises a distance between the virtual camera and the target object; and adjusting the distance between the virtual camera and the target object to be closer based on the mirror image display adjustment instruction; or adjusting the distance between the virtual camera and the target object to be farther based on the mirror image display adjustment instruction.
Wang teaches …comprises a distance between the virtual camera and the target object; and…adjusting the distance between the virtual camera and the target object to be closer based on the mirror image display adjustment instruction; or adjusting the distance between the virtual camera and the target object to be farther based on the mirror image display adjustment instruction (Wang “[0032] The flow chart continue at 320 and a virtual base line distance is determined between the first and second camera . That is, the effective distance between the camera directly capturing an image of the object and the “ virtual ” camera capturing an image of the object within the mirror . In one or more embodiments, a spatial relationship between the first camera and camera at least a portion of the device that includes the second camera may be known. As an example, the first and second camera may be part of a same electronic device, as in FIG . 1 . Thus, the virtual baseline may be determined based on the known spatial relationship between the first camera and a portion of the electronic device captured in the second image , and the determined effective distance of the virtual camera to the electronic device . The spatial relationship between the first camera and the virtual camera may be described in a number of ways. For example, the spatial relationship between the first camera and the second camera may be described using a six degrees of freedom pose , including 3 degrees of freedom translations , and 3 degrees of freedom rotations . The spatial relationship between the first camera and the virtual camera may also be described as a distance between the virtual camera center and a point coordinate system of a visual marker on the electronic device.”)
Kazuaki and Wang are analogous art as both of them are related to obtaining or using images.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kazuaki by a distance between the virtual camera and the target object; and adjusting the distance between the virtual camera and the target object to be closer based on the mirror image display adjustment instruction; or adjusting the distance between the virtual camera and the target object to be farther based on the mirror image display adjustment instruction as taught by Wang and use that within Kazuaki’s virtual reality system.
The motivation for the above is for improved viewing of objects in a virtual reality experience.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable and obvious over Kazuaki as applied to claims 1-2, 8, 10-11, 18-19, and 22-23 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication US 20080129759 A1, (Jeon et al.) (hereinafter “Jeon”).
Regarding claim 12, Kazuaki teaches wherein the parameter information comprises a field of view; (Kazuaki “[0052] …the virtual camera 14 is defined with an uvw field-of-view coordinate system. The uvw field-of-view coordinate system of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 is defined to be linked to the uvw field-of-view coordinate system of the HMD 120 in the real space (real coordinate system). Therefore, when the inclination of the HMD 120 changes, the inclination of the virtual camera 14 also changes accordingly. The virtual camera 14 can also move in the virtual space 11 in conjunction with the movement of the user 5 wearing the HMD 120 in the real space.”)
the mirror image display adjustment instruction is specifically configured to instruct to adjust… (Kazuaki “[0014] The monitor 130 is realized as, for example, a non-transparent display device. In one aspect, the monitor 130 is arranged in the body of the HMD 120 so as to be located in front of both eyes of the user 5. Therefore, the user 5 can immerse himself in the virtual space when he / she visually recognizes the three-dimensional image displayed on the monitor 130. In one aspect, the virtual space includes, for example, a background, an object that the user 5 can manipulate, and an image of a menu that the user 5 can select…”; “[0063] …The field-of-view image 17 is an image corresponding to a portion of the panoramic image 13 corresponding to the field-of-view area 15. When the user 5 moves the HMD 120 attached to the head, the virtual camera 14 also moves in conjunction with the movement. As a result, the position of the visual field region 15 in the virtual space 11 changes. As a result, the field-of-view image 17 displayed on the monitor 130 is updated to an image of the panoramic image 13 superimposed on the field-of-view area 15 in the direction in which the user 5 faces in the virtual space 11…”; “[0064] …Therefore, by changing the position or tilt of the virtual camera 14, the image displayed on the monitor 130 is updated and the field of view of the user 5 is moved.”; “[0066] …In this case, the processor 210 identifies an image region (field of view region 15) projected onto the monitor 130 of the HMD 120 based on the position and tilt of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11.”)
the adjusting parameter information of the virtual camera based on the mirror image display adjustment instruction comprises…adjusting the virtual camera… (Kazuaki “[0052] …the virtual camera 14 is defined with an uvw field-of-view coordinate system. The uvw field-of-view coordinate system of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 is defined to be linked to the uvw field-of-view coordinate system of the HMD 120 in the real space (real coordinate system). Therefore, when the inclination of the HMD 120 changes, the inclination of the virtual camera 14 also changes accordingly. The virtual camera 14 can also move in the virtual space 11 in conjunction with the movement of the user 5 wearing the HMD 120 in the real space.”; “[0175] …the processor 210B generates a virtual camera 2442 (virtual viewpoint) as a virtual object generation module 1421, and arranges the virtual camera 2442 in association with the mirror object 2441…In FIG. 24A, the virtual camera 2442 is arranged on the mirror object 2441 with the shooting direction of the virtual camera 2442 facing the avatar object 6B. The virtual camera 2442 may be arranged at a different position from the mirror object 2441 in a state associated with the mirror object 2441”; “[0094] …The control module 510 controls the position of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 and the inclination (orientation) of the virtual camera 14…”; “[0131] The virtual camera control module 1422 controls the behavior of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11. The virtual camera control module 1422 controls, for example, the arrangement position of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 and the orientation (tilt) of the virtual camera 14.”; “[0014] The monitor 130 is realized as, for example, a non-transparent display device. In one aspect, the monitor 130 is arranged in the body of the HMD 120 so as to be located in front of both eyes of the user 5. Therefore, the user 5 can immerse himself in the virtual space when he / she visually recognizes the three-dimensional image displayed on the monitor 130. In one aspect, the virtual space includes, for example, a background, an object that the user 5 can manipulate, and an image of a menu that the user 5 can select…”; “[0063] …The field-of-view image 17 is an image corresponding to a portion of the panoramic image 13 corresponding to the field-of-view area 15. When the user 5 moves the HMD 120 attached to the head, the virtual camera 14 also moves in conjunction with the movement. As a result, the position of the visual field region 15 in the virtual space 11 changes. As a result, the field-of-view image 17 displayed on the monitor 130 is updated to an image of the panoramic image 13 superimposed on the field-of-view area 15 in the direction in which the user 5 faces in the virtual space 11…”; “[0064] …Therefore, by changing the position or tilt of the virtual camera 14, the image displayed on the monitor 130 is updated and the field of view of the user 5 is moved.”; “[0066] …In this case, the processor 210 identifies an image region (field of view region 15) projected onto the monitor 130 of the HMD 120 based on the position and tilt of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11.”). The Examiner would like to note that the control module 510 (Kazuaki) is able to control a multitude of positions and orientations of the virtual cameras.
However, Kazuaki is silent about the display proportion of the target object in the virtual display to a target proportion; and obtaining a target adjustment parameter based on the target proportion, wherein the target adjustment parameter comprises a target field of view; and…based on the target adjustment parameter.
Jeon teaches …the display proportion of the target object in the virtual display to a target proportion; and (Jeon “[0057] FIG. 6 shows examples of display screens illustrating a zooming process in the method for processing an image of FIG. 4, using a pointer 21. Examples of the pointer 21 operated by an optical sensor are shown.”). The Examiner would like to note that a user uses the pointer 21 (Jeon) to adjust the target object to the desired or target proportion.
obtaining a target adjustment parameter based on the target proportion, wherein the target adjustment parameter comprises a target field of view; and… based on the target adjustment parameter (Jeon “[0057] FIG. 6 shows examples of display screens illustrating a zooming process in the method for processing an image of FIG. 4, using a pointer 21. Examples of the pointer 21 operated by an optical sensor are shown.”). The Examiner would like to note that a user uses the pointer 21 (Jeon) to adjust the target object to the desired or target proportion.
Kazuaki and Jeon are analogous art as both of them are related to obtaining or adjusting images.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kazuaki by the display proportion of the target object in the virtual display to a target proportion; and obtaining a target adjustment parameter based on the target proportion, wherein the target adjustment parameter comprises a target field of view; and…based on the target adjustment parameter as taught by Jeon and use that within Kazuaki’s virtual reality system.
The motivation for the above is for improved viewing of objects in a virtual reality experience.
Regarding claim 13, Kazuaki teaches obtaining the target field of view of the virtual camera based on an initial field of view of the virtual camera and the target proportion (Kazuaki “[0052] …the virtual camera 14 is defined with an uvw field-of-view coordinate system. The uvw field-of-view coordinate system of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 is defined to be linked to the uvw field-of-view coordinate system of the HMD 120 in the real space (real coordinate system). Therefore, when the inclination of the HMD 120 changes, the inclination of the virtual camera 14 also changes accordingly. The virtual camera 14 can also move in the virtual space 11 in conjunction with the movement of the user 5 wearing the HMD 120 in the real space.”; “[0175] …the processor 210B generates a virtual camera 2442 (virtual viewpoint) as a virtual object generation module 1421, and arranges the virtual camera 2442 in association with the mirror object 2441…In FIG. 24A, the virtual camera 2442 is arranged on the mirror object 2441 with the shooting direction of the virtual camera 2442 facing the avatar object 6B. The virtual camera 2442 may be arranged at a different position from the mirror object 2441 in a state associated with the mirror object 2441”; “[0094] …The control module 510 controls the position of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 and the inclination (orientation) of the virtual camera 14…”; “[0131] The virtual camera control module 1422 controls the behavior of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11. The virtual camera control module 1422 controls, for example, the arrangement position of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 and the orientation (tilt) of the virtual camera 14.”; “[0014] The monitor 130 is realized as, for example, a non-transparent display device. In one aspect, the monitor 130 is arranged in the body of the HMD 120 so as to be located in front of both eyes of the user 5. Therefore, the user 5 can immerse himself in the virtual space when he / she visually recognizes the three-dimensional image displayed on the monitor 130. In one aspect, the virtual space includes, for example, a background, an object that the user 5 can manipulate, and an image of a menu that the user 5 can select…”; “[0063] …The field-of-view image 17 is an image corresponding to a portion of the panoramic image 13 corresponding to the field-of-view area 15. When the user 5 moves the HMD 120 attached to the head, the virtual camera 14 also moves in conjunction with the movement. As a result, the position of the visual field region 15 in the virtual space 11 changes. As a result, the field-of-view image 17 displayed on the monitor 130 is updated to an image of the panoramic image 13 superimposed on the field-of-view area 15 in the direction in which the user 5 faces in the virtual space 11…”; “[0064] …Therefore, by changing the position or tilt of the virtual camera 14, the image displayed on the monitor 130 is updated and the field of view of the user 5 is moved.”; “[0066] …In this case, the processor 210 identifies an image region (field of view region 15) projected onto the monitor 130 of the HMD 120 based on the position and tilt of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11.”). The Examiner would like to note that the control module 510 (Kazuaki) is able to control a multitude of field of views of the virtual cameras. Therefore, setting a target field of view and initial field of view.
However, Kazuaki is silent about wherein the obtaining the target adjustment parameter based on the target proportion comprises.
Jeon teaches wherein the obtaining the target adjustment parameter based on the target proportion comprises: (Jeon “[0057] FIG. 6 shows examples of display screens illustrating a zooming process in the method for processing an image of FIG. 4, using a pointer 21. Examples of the pointer 21 operated by an optical sensor are shown.”). The Examiner would like to note that a user uses the pointer 21 (Jeon) to adjust the target object to the desired or target proportion.
Kazuaki and Jeon are analogous art as both of them are related to obtaining or adjusting images.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kazuaki by wherein the obtaining the target adjustment parameter based on the target proportion comprises as taught by Jeon and use that within Kazuaki’s virtual reality system.
The motivation for the above is for improved viewing of objects in a virtual reality experience.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable and obvious over Kazuaki and Wang as applied to claims 3-7 and 15 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication US 20080129759 A1, (Jeon et al.) (hereinafter “Jeon”).
Regarding claim 14, Kazuaki teaches wherein the target field of view is not within a preset field of view range; and the adjusting the virtual camera…based on the initial field of view of the virtual camera, a preset field of view…adjusting the field of view of the virtual camera to the preset field of view, and adjusting the virtual camera to a position that is away from the target object by the target distance (Kazuaki “[0052] …the virtual camera 14 is defined with an uvw field-of-view coordinate system. The uvw field-of-view coordinate system of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 is defined to be linked to the uvw field-of-view coordinate system of the HMD 120 in the real space (real coordinate system). Therefore, when the inclination of the HMD 120 changes, the inclination of the virtual camera 14 also changes accordingly. The virtual camera 14 can also move in the virtual space 11 in conjunction with the movement of the user 5 wearing the HMD 120 in the real space.”; “[0175] …the processor 210B generates a virtual camera 2442 (virtual viewpoint) as a virtual object generation module 1421, and arranges the virtual camera 2442 in association with the mirror object 2441…In FIG. 24A, the virtual camera 2442 is arranged on the mirror object 2441 with the shooting direction of the virtual camera 2442 facing the avatar object 6B. The virtual camera 2442 may be arranged at a different position from the mirror object 2441 in a state associated with the mirror object 2441”; “[0094] …The control module 510 controls the position of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 and the inclination (orientation) of the virtual camera 14…”; “[0131] The virtual camera control module 1422 controls the behavior of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11. The virtual camera control module 1422 controls, for example, the arrangement position of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11 and the orientation (tilt) of the virtual camera 14.”; “[0014] The monitor 130 is realized as, for example, a non-transparent display device. In one aspect, the monitor 130 is arranged in the body of the HMD 120 so as to be located in front of both eyes of the user 5. Therefore, the user 5 can immerse himself in the virtual space when he / she visually recognizes the three-dimensional image displayed on the monitor 130. In one aspect, the virtual space includes, for example, a background, an object that the user 5 can manipulate, and an image of a menu that the user 5 can select…”; “[0063] …The field-of-view image 17 is an image corresponding to a portion of the panoramic image 13 corresponding to the field-of-view area 15. When the user 5 moves the HMD 120 attached to the head, the virtual camera 14 also moves in conjunction with the movement. As a result, the position of the visual field region 15 in the virtual space 11 changes. As a result, the field-of-view image 17 displayed on the monitor 130 is updated to an image of the panoramic image 13 superimposed on the field-of-view area 15 in the direction in which the user 5 faces in the virtual space 11…”; “[0064] …Therefore, by changing the position or tilt of the virtual camera 14, the image displayed on the monitor 130 is updated and the field of view of the user 5 is moved.”; “[0066] …In this case, the processor 210 identifies an image region (field of view region 15) projected onto the monitor 130 of the HMD 120 based on the position and tilt of the virtual camera 14 in the virtual space 11.”). The Examiner would like to note that the control module 510 (Kazuaki) is able to control a multitude of field of views of the virtual cameras.
However, Kazuaki is silent about obtaining a target distance between the virtual camera and the target object…an initial distance between the virtual camera and the target object.
Wang teaches obtaining a target distance between the virtual camera and the target object…an initial distance between the virtual camera and the target object, (Wang “[0032] The flow chart continue at 320 and a virtual base line distance is determined between the first and second camera . That is , the effective distance between the camera directly capturing an image of the object and the “ virtual ” camera capturing an image of the object within the mirror . In one or more embodiments , a spatial relationship between the first camera and camera at least a portion of the device that includes the second camera may be known . As an example , the first and second camera may be part of a same electronic device , as in FIG . 1 . Thus , the virtual baseline may be determined based on the known spatial relationship between the first camera and a portion of the electronic device captured in the second image , and the determined effective distance of the virtual camera to the electronic device . The spatial relationship between the first camera and the virtual camera may be described in a number of ways. For example, the spatial relationship between the first camera and the second camera may be described using a six degrees of freedom pose , including 3 degrees of freedom translations , and 3 degrees of freedom rotations . The spatial relationship between the first camera and the virtual camera may also be described as a distance between the virtual camera center and a point coordinate system of a visual marker on the electronic device.”)
However, Kazuaki and Wang are silent about based on the target adjustment parameter comprises…and the target proportion.
Jeon teaches …based on the target adjustment parameter comprises…and the target proportion; and (Jeon “[0057] FIG. 6 shows examples of display screens illustrating a zooming process in the method for processing an image of FIG. 4, using a pointer 21. Examples of the pointer 21 operated by an optical sensor are shown.”). The Examiner would like to note that a user uses the pointer 21 (Jeon) to adjust the target object to the desired or target proportion.
Kazuaki, Wang, and Jeon are analogous art as all of them are related to obtaining or adjusting images.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kazuaki by obtaining a target distance between the virtual camera and the target object…an initial distance between the virtual camera and the target object as taught by Wang and by the target adjustment parameter and the target proportion as taught by Jeon and use that within Kazuaki’s virtual reality system.
The motivation for the above is for improved viewing of objects in a virtual reality experience.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable and obvious over Kazuaki as applied to claims 1-2, 8, 10-11, 18-19, and 22-23 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication US 2010/0265248 A1, (McCrae et al.) (hereinafter “McCrae”).
Regarding claim 16, Kazuaki is silent about further comprising: determining a distance between a near clipping plane of the virtual camera and the target object as a preset distance; or determining a distance between a near clipping plane of the virtual camera and the target object as a distance between the target object and the virtual display.
McCrae teaches further comprising: determining a distance between a near clipping plane of the virtual camera and the target object as a preset distance; or determining a distance between a near clipping plane of the virtual camera and the target object as a distance between the target object and the virtual display (McCrae “[0058] FIG. 5C illustrates the camera 510, a shortened dynamic viewing frustum 528, and threshold parameters, according to one embodiment of the invention. A minimum distance 526 is the non-normalized minimum distance value (cubeMinDist) of the distance values that are stored in the depth cubemap for the scene. The minimum distance 526 corresponds to a geometric object 524 that lies outside of the frustum threshold 500. The dynamic viewing frustum 528 is shortened compared with the dynamic viewing frustum 508 shown in FIGS.5A and 5B.”; “[0059] …near clipping plane distance 521 and far clipping plane distance 527 are also shifted closer to the camera 510…Shifting the far clipping plane 525 closer to the camera allows for more accurate distance values since the distance values represented by the limited number of bits lie within a Smaller range compared with only shifting the near clipping plane 523 closer to the camera 510…”)
Kazuaki and McCrae are analogous art as both of them are related to obtaining or using images.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kazuaki by determining a distance between a near clipping plane of the virtual camera and the target object as a preset distance; or determining a distance between a near clipping plane of the virtual camera and the target object as a distance between the target object and the virtual display as taught by McCrae and use that within Kazuaki’s virtual reality system.
The motivation for the above is for improved viewing of objects in a virtual reality experience.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Application Publication US 20200027201 A1, (Chen) discloses an augmented reality system having a preset object position of a virtual object with a field of view of the display.
Conclusion
/A.V.V/Examiner, Art Unit 2612
/Said Broome/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2612
Date: 06/18/2026