DETAILED ACTION
________________________________________
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed December 21, 2024 has been considered.
________________________________________
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the external computing device for remote condition monitoring recited in claims 6, 13, and 23 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Suggested Correction: Add a schematic representation of the external computing device and its communication with the onboard and trackside controllers, consistent with the remote condition monitoring described on page 16 of the specification. No new matter should be added.
________________________________________
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) because "the onboard controller," "the first trackside controller," and "the one or more trackside charging contacts" are inconsistent with the terms "an onboard charging controller," "a first trackside charging controller," and "corresponding trackside charging contacts" introduced earlier in the claim. In context, the inconsistent terms identify the same respective controllers and charging contacts, so the informality does not prevent a reasonable understanding of the claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Appropriate correction is required.
Suggested Correction: In claim 1, replace "the onboard controller" with "the onboard charging controller"; replace "the first trackside controller" with "the first trackside charging controller"; and replace "the one or more trackside charging contacts" with "the corresponding trackside charging contacts".
Claim 8 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) because "the trackside charging controller," "the electrical power source," "the first trackside contact," and "the first onboard controller" are inconsistent with the terms "a trackside controller," "an electrical power supply," "a first trackside charging contact," and "a first onboard charging controller" introduced earlier in the claim. In context, the inconsistent terms identify the same respective controller, power supply, charging contact, and onboard controller, so the informality does not prevent a reasonable understanding of the claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Appropriate correction is required.
Suggested Correction: In claim 8, replace "the trackside charging controller" with "the trackside controller"; replace "the electrical power source" with "the electrical power supply"; replace "the first trackside contact" with "the first trackside charging contact"; and replace "the first onboard controller" with "the first onboard charging controller".
Claim 10 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) because "the controller" and "the first charging contact" are inconsistent with the terms "a trackside controller" and "a first trackside charging contact" introduced in claim 8. In context, the inconsistent terms identify the same controller and charging contact, so the informality does not prevent a reasonable understanding of the claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Appropriate correction is required.
Suggested Correction: In claim 10, replace "the controller" with "the trackside controller" and replace each occurrence of "the first charging contact" with "the first trackside charging contact".
Claim 11 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) because "the first charging contact" and "the electrical power source" are inconsistent with the terms "a first trackside charging contact" and "an electrical power supply" introduced in claim 8. The final occurrence of "first charging contact" also omits the article "the." In context, the inconsistent terms identify the same charging contact and power supply, so the informality does not prevent a reasonable understanding of the claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Appropriate correction is required.
Suggested Correction: In claim 11, replace each occurrence of "the first charging contact" with "the first trackside charging contact"; replace "disconnect first charging contact" with "disconnect the first trackside charging contact"; and replace each occurrence of "the electrical power source" with "the electrical power supply".
Claim 12 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) because "the first current" lacks an express introductory article in claim 8. In context, it identifies the current supplied through the charging contact, so the informality does not prevent a reasonable understanding of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Suggested Correction: In claim 12, replace "while the first current is being provided" with "while a first current is being provided".
Claim 14 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot refer cumulatively to both claims 1 and 8. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim has not been further treated on the merits. Claim 14 refers cumulatively to the onboard system of claim 1 and the trackside system of claim 8.
Suggested Correction: Rewrite claim 14 in independent form expressly reciting the onboard system limitations of claim 1 and the trackside system limitations of claim 8. This preserves the claimed combination without cumulative claim references. Merely replacing "and" with "or" would change that combination.
Claim 19 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) because "the earthing connection" is not expressly introduced in claim 15. The disclosed chassis earthing connection gives the term an understandable technical meaning, but the introductory wording should be corrected.
Suggested Correction: In claim 19, replace "the earthing connection" with "an earthing connection connected to a rail vehicle chassis", consistent with page 7 of the specification.
Claim 20 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) because punctuation is missing between the receiving and selecting steps and after the actor in the selecting step. Appropriate correction is required.
Suggested Correction: Insert a semicolon after "a unique identifier from the onboard controller" and a comma after "selecting, by the first trackside controller".
________________________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 101
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed computer-readable medium encompasses transitory propagated signals and therefore is not limited to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
At Step 1, "A computer-readable medium comprising instructions" includes a signal carrying executable instructions. Pages 8 and 28 of the specification give a non-transitory computer-readable medium only as an example, rather than defining every computer-readable medium to exclude transitory signals. Requiring the instructions to perform the charging method does not change the medium itself into one of the statutory categories. Because the full scope fails Step 1, analysis of a judicial exception under Steps 2A and 2B does not remedy this statutory-category defect.
Suggested Correction: In claim 24, replace "A computer-readable medium" with "A non-transitory computer-readable medium", as expressly supported on pages 8 and 28 of the specification.
________________________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 112
Claims 15-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites "transmitting, by the first trackside charging controller to the onboard controller via the secure wireless communication session, an instruction" and then recites "in response to the receiving the instruction at the first trackside controller". The instruction is first sent from the trackside controller to the onboard controller, but the subsequent power-connection step is triggered by receipt of that instruction at the trackside controller. It is unclear whether the claim requires a reverse-direction instruction or an additional return transmission that is not recited. The specification on pages 6 and 24 instead describes the onboard controller sending the charging instruction to the trackside controller. Claims 16-23 depend from claim 15, and claim 24 incorporates the method of claim 15, so each retains the same uncertainty.
Suggested Correction: In claim 15, replace "transmitting, by the first trackside charging controller to the onboard controller via the secure wireless communication session, an instruction" with "transmitting, by the onboard controller to the first trackside charging controller via the secure wireless communication session, an instruction". Also replace "in response to the receiving the instruction" with "in response to receiving the instruction".
________________________________________
References Used
Reference 1 (Primary) - CN 112744097 A.
Reference 2 - US 2020/0282859 A1.
Reference 3 - US 2016/0121734 A1.
Reference 4 - US 2018/0141452 A1.
Reference 5 - WO 2020/187814 A1.
Reference 6 - US 2020/0070665 A1.
________________________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) A trackside charging system configured for charging a battery electric vehicle, the trackside charging system comprising: (L2) a first trackside charging contact electrically connectable to an electrical power supply; and (L3) a trackside controller having, or being communicatively coupled to, a wireless communications interface, wherein the trackside charging controller is configured to: (L4) establish a secure wireless communication session with a first onboard charging controller; (L5) receive, via the wireless communication session, an instruction; (L6) responsive to receiving the instruction, connect the first trackside charging contact to the electrical power source, (L7) wherein the trackside charging system comprises a plurality of trackside charging contacts electrically connectable to the electrical power supply; (L8) the trackside controller being configured to select the first trackside contact for connection to the electrical power supply based on a unique identifier received from the first onboard controller via the secure wireless communication session.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 teaches a stationary charging subsystem 200 for charging the power battery of rail vehicle 300 (Figs. 1-2; paragraphs [0016]-[0022]). (L2) Each charger 220 supplies power through a conductive charging bow to the vehicle charging contact point; the bow is the stationary charging contact, and both the bow and its output power connection are unnumbered (paragraphs [0022], [0028], and [0060]). (L3) Monitoring host 210 and its connected charger 220 form cooperating trackside control circuitry that receives commands from onboard controller 310 and controls the charging connection (paragraphs [0018]-[0024]). Reference 1 does not expressly disclose a wireless interface carrying a secure charging session. Reference 2 supplies communication unit 213 of supply equipment communication controller (SECC) 210, communicating with electric vehicle communication controller (EVCC) 110 using IEEE 802.11 (Fig. 11; paragraphs [0094] and [0135]-[0141]). (L4) Reference 2 establishes a transport layer security (TLS) session between EVCC 110 and SECC 210, including verification of the charging equipment's server certificate (Figs. 2A-2B; paragraphs [0094]-[0096]). The combined system uses that secure wireless link between onboard controller 310 and monitoring host 210 of Reference 1. (L5) Reference 1 receives the first charging-start instruction from onboard controller 310 at monitoring host 210; the combined system carries that instruction through the secure wireless session supplied by Reference 2 (paragraphs [0022]-[0024] and [0057]-[0058] of Reference 1). (L6) Monitoring host 210 commands the selected charger 220 to lower the selected charging bow and begin supplying power after normal conductive contact is confirmed (paragraphs [0022], [0028], and [0060]). (L7) Reference 1 provides multiple chargers 220 and multiple selectively operated charging bows at a charging position (paragraphs [0025]-[0028] and [0043]). (L8) The onboard instruction includes the unique vehicle group number, charging-position identifier, vehicle type, and entry direction; monitoring host 210 uses this information to select the physical chargers and their bows. In the express example, vehicle number 201 is received in the first instruction, chargers 01 and 02 are selected, and bows 01 and 03 are lowered and energized (Tables 1-4; paragraphs [0056]-[0060]). Thus, contact selection is based on the received unique vehicle identifier together with the remaining configuration information. Reference 1 does not expressly transmit that identifier through a secure wireless session; Reference 2 supplies that session for the same instruction payload.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the onboard-to-trackside command connection of Reference 1 with the IEEE 802.11 interface and TLS session of Reference 2, because Reference 1 automatically selects and energizes different physical charging contacts in response to an identified vehicle's commands, and Reference 2 authenticates the charging endpoint and protects the communication used to control power delivery. Both references coordinate an onboard charging controller with stationary charging equipment. Applying the secure communication layer to the existing identifier and charging-start messages preserves Reference 1's contact-selection logic and predictably provides authenticated wireless charging control without changing its conductive power path.
________________________________________
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The trackside charging system of claim 8, (L2) wherein the trackside controller is configured to disconnect the first trackside charging contact from the electrical power supply responsive to the secure wireless communication session being lost.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 8 analysis is incorporated. (L2) References 1 and 2 do not expressly disclose disconnecting the selected contact upon loss of the secure wireless session. Reference 3 teaches control unit 17 with receiver 17a and evaluation unit 17b monitoring wireless link 18, and terminating charging by disconnecting energy storage system 7 from external power supply 11 when the control signal is no longer received (Fig. 2; Fig. 3, steps 23-25; paragraphs [0070]-[0077]; claim 18). Applying that fail-safe rule to the secure session of the combined system causes the selected charger 220 to open its power connection when valid charging-control communication is lost. Treating loss of the TLS session as loss of qualified control communication is the proposed modification; Reference 3 does not itself require TLS.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the selected charger of References 1 and 2 to disconnect its power contact when the secure session is lost, using the communication-loss interlock of Reference 3, because the station can no longer receive the vehicle's valid charging-control information through that session. Reference 3 addresses continuing high-power charging without a functioning control link. Opening the charging circuit upon loss of that link predictably prevents continued uncontrolled current delivery, whether the loss results from radio interruption or loss of the authenticated session.
________________________________________
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 4.
Claim Text
(L1) The trackside charging system of claim 8 (L2) further comprising an earthing line connected to electrical ground, (L3) wherein the controller is configured to: responsive to receiving the instruction and prior to connecting the first charging contact to the electrical power supply, disconnect the first charging contact from the earthing line.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 8 analysis is incorporated. (L2) References 1 and 2 do not expressly disclose a switchable earth connection for the selected charging contact. Reference 4 connects power supply contact 21 through secondary contactor 37 to reference cable 16 at the grounded reference potential (Figs. 1-2; paragraphs [0055]-[0060]). (L3) Control module 35 places contact 21 either at the supply potential through main contactor 34 or at the reference potential through secondary contactor 37; the power-supply state requires contactor 37 open and contactor 34 closed (paragraphs [0058]-[0060]). Reference 4 describes simultaneous commands to open contactor 37 and close contactor 34 in paragraph [0102], rather than expressly specifying the claimed prior disconnection. The proposed combination sequences the physical switching so that the earth path opens before the power path closes, after receipt of Reference 1's charging-start instruction. That break-before-make implementation of the two mutually exclusive circuit states is an obviousness inference, not an express timing quotation from Reference 4.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the selected charging contact of References 1 and 2 with the grounded idle state and switched supply state of Reference 4, and execute the earth-opening operation before the supply-closing operation in response to the start instruction, because leaving both paths conductive would connect the live supply to the grounded reference cable through the same contact. Sequencing the two switches avoids that circuit condition while preserving Reference 4's specified mutually exclusive states. The predictable result is a grounded idle contact that is isolated from earth before it is energized for charging.
________________________________________
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 4.
Claim Text
(L1) The trackside charging system of claim 8 (L2) further comprising a proximity sensor configured to detect the presence of a rail vehicle at a position corresponding to the first charging contact, (L3) wherein the trackside controller is configured to: connect the first charging contact to the electrical power source responsive to receiving the instruction and receiving a signal from the proximity sensor indicative of a rail vehicle being present at a position corresponding to the first charging contact; (L4) and disconnect first charging contact from the electrical power source responsive to no longer receiving the signal from the proximity sensor.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 8 analysis is incorporated. (L2) References 1 and 2 do not expressly disclose the claimed proximity-signal interlock. Reference 4 provides ground transceiver module 36 and ground antenna 38 or 39 to detect a second signal indicating that the rail vehicle's contact shoe 41 or 42 is in the immediate vicinity of the corresponding power supply contact 21 or 22 (Figs. 1-4; paragraphs [0064]-[0065] and [0099]-[0101]). This short-range radio detection supplies a proximity sensor; the claim does not require a particular sensing technology. (L3) Control module 35 closes main contactor 34 after receipt of the second signal and maintains the powered state while the signal is received (paragraphs [0065] and [0101]-[0102]). The combined system retains Reference 1's start instruction and additionally requires this local presence indication before energizing the selected bow contact. (L4) When module 36 ceases to receive the second signal, module 35 opens power contactor 34, disconnecting contact 21 from the supply (paragraph [0108]).
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the local rail-vehicle presence interlock of Reference 4 to the instruction-controlled charging connection of References 1 and 2, because receipt of a valid vehicle command alone does not ensure that the vehicle remains aligned with the selected physical contact. Conditioning power on both the command and the short-range presence signal, and disconnecting upon loss of that signal, predictably prevents energization after the vehicle or its collector moves away. The radio sensor is positioned to cover the selected charging-bow/contact location of Reference 1, retaining its conductive charging arrangement.
________________________________________
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 5.
Claim Text
(L1) The trackside charging system of claim 8, (L2) wherein the trackside controller is further configured to: monitor a first voltage at the first trackside contact while the first current is being provided; (L3) communicate the monitored first voltage to the onboard controller via the secure wireless communication session.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 8 analysis is incorporated. (L2) References 1 and 2 do not expressly disclose monitoring and reporting the voltage at the selected contact while the charging current is supplied. Reference 5 measures the output voltage EVSEPresentVoltage of charging terminal 21 and uses the measured values during the current-limited precharge phase, before closing relays 25 to battery 26 (Figs. 1-3; description page 2, lines 17-25; page 7, lines 12-27; page 8, lines 11-35). The charging output is connected to vehicle 20 through cable 27. Applying this output-voltage measurement to the selected charging bow of Reference 1 monitors the voltage at the power-delivery contact while the first charging or precharge current is provided. (L3) Terminal 21 sends the measured voltage to vehicle 20 in PreChargeRes message 24 over communication channel 22 (Reference 5, Fig. 2; description page 7, lines 12-27). Reference 5 uses wired communication; Reference 2 supplies the secure wireless session between the station and onboard charging controllers and includes DC PreCharge request/response messages (paragraphs [0094]-[0096] and [0120]-[0123]). The proposed combination carries the measured output-voltage value over that session.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to measure the selected charging-contact voltage of References 1 and 2 and report it to the onboard controller using the voltage-feedback procedure of Reference 5, because the onboard controller must coordinate its battery connection with the actual voltage supplied by the station. Reference 5 uses that measured station voltage to determine whether the electrical conditions permit relay closure. Sending the same measurement through Reference 2's existing secure wireless charging-control session predictably gives the onboard controller the needed voltage information without an additional wired communication connection.
________________________________________
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 6.
Claim Text
(L1) The trackside charging system of claim 8, (L2) wherein the trackside controller is configured to collect data including a level of charge of the power supply, (L3) and transmit the data to an external computing device for remote condition monitoring.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 8 analysis is incorporated. (L2) References 1 and 2 do not expressly disclose collecting the charge level of a station power-supply battery. Reference 6 provides rechargeable reservoir batteries 112 and 114 at charging station 100, controlled by controller 130; its charging-rate computation uses the available reservoir charge supply (paragraphs [0028]-[0029]). Thus, the proposed system uses the reservoir as the station supply and determines its available charge level. These reservoir and controller numerals are identified in the description; the mapping does not depend on their depiction in a figure. (L3) Reference 6 provides remote operation of controller 130 and wireless data communication with users and other devices, but does not expressly identify the reservoir charge level as a transmitted message field (paragraphs [0028]-[0029]). Reference 1 already sends charger-condition information from monitoring host 210 to the remote automatic train monitoring system 120 and its application server for fault handling (paragraphs [0038]-[0040] and [0072]). Including the available reservoir charge level in that remote condition report is the proposed modification, rather than an express disclosure of that particular payload in either reference.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to power the charging subsystem of References 1 and 2 with the rechargeable reservoir supply of Reference 6 and include its available charge level in the station's remote condition data, because Reference 6 uses the reservoir to meet changing charging demand and already uses the available charge to determine suitable charging rates. The remote system of Reference 1 monitors station conditions to coordinate operation and respond to faults. Reporting the already-determined reservoir charge through that monitoring connection predictably enables assessment of depleted supply capacity and scheduling of reservoir replenishment before a train's charging demand exceeds the station's available energy.
________________________________________
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 are allowed.
Claims 15-23 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 1 requires two onboard signal receivers to receive signals from the same trackside transmitter in a specified order, thereby determine the rail vehicle orientation, and select one of multiple trackside controllers before establishing the secure wireless session. Claim 15 likewise requires the two-receiver order to select the trackside controller before the secure session, although it does not separately recite an orientation determination. CN 112744097 A selects a charging host from position information and then selects chargers and bows using vehicle identity, type, and direction, but does not obtain that selection from the claimed two onboard receivers. US 2016/0347187 A1 instead uses vehicle transmitters and a wayside receiver for inductive-energy control Combining generic direction detection with the charging references does not provide a technical reason for this particular arrangement of receivers, decision location, and sequence. Claims 2-7 and 16-23 retain the respective missing combinations.
Claim 24 would be allowable over the cited prior art if limited to a non-transitory computer-readable medium and if the incorporated method of claim 15 is corrected as set forth above. Its instructions retain the same pre-session two-receiver selection requirement. Both the 35 U.S.C. 101 and 112(b) rejections must be overcome, and the outstanding formal requirements must be addressed.
________________________________________
Conclusion
Claims 1-24 are pending. Claims 25-29 are canceled. Claims 1-7 are allowed. Claims 8-13 and 15-24 are rejected for the reasons stated above. Claims 1, 8, 10-12, 14, 19, and 20 are objected to as stated above. Claim 14 has not been treated on the merits. Claims 15-23 contain allowable subject matter subject to overcoming the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection. The drawings and specification require correction.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
________________________________________
Art Considered but Not Applied
US 2022/0355683 A1 provides a charging contact grid and identification of a mobile energy accumulator. It does not provide a stronger whole-claim disclosure of identifier-based rail charging-contact selection than the expressly selected chargers and bows of Reference 1, and does not disclose the two onboard receiver sequence of claims 1 and 15.
US 2016/0347187 A1 provides orientation-related communication between a vehicle and wayside inductive-power equipment. Its vehicle transmitters and wayside receiver do not provide two onboard receivers that receive a common wayside transmitter in sequence to select a charging controller before establishing the secure session of claims 1 and 15.
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615