DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 13 and 14 are objected to because they contain extraneous language. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a device for distributing and/or converting energy” in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites a “device for distributing and/or converting energy”. This language is indefinite because the use of the language “and/or” implies that both functions can occur simultaneously. In as much as claim 9 is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, the written description states that this “conversion” is via an electrical generator, and the “distributing” is direct, i.e., into a pool, a greenhouse, rec-center, etc. These functions could not occur at the same time; thus the claim is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-10 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by International Publication Number WO 2020/197511 A1 (Longauer et al.).
As concerns claim 1, Longauer et al. discloses a drilling layout provided in a subsoil for a geothermal installation comprising a heat exchange unit comprising: [[-]] a central well 4 extending from [[the]] a surface of the subsoil; [[-]] a flank well 2 extending from the surface of the subsoil and comprising an inclined lateral portion; and [[-]] at least two separate drains 3 connecting said central well and said inclined lateral portion of said flank well, wherein said central well, said flank well and each of said drains are set out in [[the]] one same vertical plane (figure 1), a central intersection 6 between said drains and said central well and a lateral intersection 5 between said drains 3 and said inclined lateral portion 2 being separated from one another and [[the]] said drains opening inclined by an angle less than 45° with respect to [[the]] said inclined lateral portion (see the Abstract, discussing a gradient angle of 1 to 20 degrees, also see the illustration of figure 1).
As concerns claim 2, Longauer et al. discloses the drilling layout according to claim 1, wherein said central well 4 is vertical (figure 1).
As concerns claim 3, Longauer et al. discloses the drilling layout according to claim 1, wherein said central well comprises an upper vertical portion located above said drains, said upper vertical portion having a diameter greater than a diameter of each of said drains (this is not explicit in the disclosure, but appears to have this configuration, as the upper portion of the central well 4 appears to be cased, so the borehole would have a different diameter, see figure 1).
As concerns claim 4, Longauer et al. discloses the drilling layout according to claim 1, wherein said drains are drilled in a plutonic rock, or in a metamorphic rock (the claimed rock types are encompassed in the term “hot dry rocks”, see the Abstract).
As concerns claim 9, Longauer et al. discloses a geothermal installation comprising: a drilling layout according to claim 1; a system for pumping heat-transfer fluid to be heated into either the central well of said drilling layout or the flank well of said drilling layout (exchanging and pumping station 1, see 20:24); a system for recovering heat-transfer fluid heated from the other of the central well and the flank well; and a device for distributing and/or converting energy from the heated transfer fluid (Id.).
As concerns claim 10, Longauer et al. discloses a method for manufacturing a drilling layout in a subsoil comprising: drilling a flank well 2 comprising an inclined lateral portion from a surface of the subsoil; drilling a central well 4 from the subsoil surface; drilling at least two separate drains 3 connecting the central well and the inclined lateral portion of the flank well, wherein the central well, the flank well and each drain are drilled in one same vertical plane (figure 1), a central intersection 6 between the drains 3 and the central well 4 and a lateral intersection 5 between the drains 3 and the inclined lateral portion 2 are separated from one another and the drains opening inclined by an angle less than 450 with respect to the inclined lateral portion (as illustrated, see figure 1).
As concerns claim 13, Longauer et al. discloses the drilling layout according to claim 1, wherein said drains are drilled in granite (this is encompassed by the terminology “hot dry rock”, see at least the Abstract).
As concerns claim 14, Longauer et al. discloses the drilling layout according to claim 1, wherein said drains are drilled in gneiss (Id.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Longauer et al., alone.
As concerns claims 6-8 and 15, Longauer et al. discloses the claimed configurations (see figure 1) but lacks to expressly disclose the claimed ranges for the angles and the distances, nevertheless it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the claimed distances and angles, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Further, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Refer to MPEP § 2144.05.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 11-12 are objected to as depending from a rejected base claim, but may be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, as the claimed steps are not disclosed, taught or suggested by the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2016/0245550 A1 (Sonju et al.) is drawn to a geothermal power plant for exploiting geothermal energy by circulating water or another fluid through a non-porous geological formation at a substantial depth below the earth surface, comprising multiple heat absorbing/production holes penetrating the said formation, with a total length of several kilometers and spaced more than 50 m apart. The production holes are connected to the surface by one single combined supply and return hole in which upward and downward flow is separated by a pipe comprising an insulating material and a seal. At the given positions of the common supply and return hole manifold zone designs connect the hole to the multiple production holes.
JAMES G. SAYRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3672
/JAMES G SAYRE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672