DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Benefit of an Earlier Filing
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Foreign Application No. (EP) 22181941.0 filed on 29th June, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/06/2025, 04/08/2025, 12/23/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification (more than 20 pages) has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
In Claim(s) 17, limitation identifiers are improperly labelled using “D”, “E”, and “F” instead of “A”, “B”, and “C”. Therefore, the limitation identifiers are improperly labelled using “D”, “E”, and “F” have been renumbered as “A”, “B”, and “C” respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102“(a)(1)” or “(a)(2)” or both as being anticipated by JORGENSEN; NPL (Tensor Velocity Imaging With Motion Correction", IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON ULTRASONICS, FERROELECTRICS, AND FREQUENCY CONTROL, IEEE, USA, vol. 68, no. 5, 21 December 2020 (2020-12-21), pages 1676-1686, XP011852301, ISSN: 0885-3010, DOI: 10.1109/TUFFC.2020.3046101).
Referring to Claim 1, JORGENSEN teaches an ultrasound imaging apparatus (section “I. Introduction”, lines 1-7) for providing a volumetric ultrasound image of an image volume (page 1677, left-hand column, lines 11-14), wherein the ultrasound imaging apparatus comprises:
a) a row-column addressed transducer array (Fig. 5) configured to convert excitation electrical pulses into an ultrasound pressure field and to convert received ultrasound echo pressure fields into echo signals, wherein the row-column addressed transducer array comprises a first set of transducer elements and a second set of transducer elements, the first set of transducer elements defining a first transducer array arranged along a first axis, the second set of transducer elements defining a second transducer array arranged along a second axis (page 1677, left-hand column, lines 6-33);
b) a beamformer module configured to beamform the echo signals using dynamic receive focusing (page 1677, left-hand column, lines 36-38) to produce respective image values at a first set of image points within the image volume (page 1677, left-hand column, lines 33-38);
c) a reconstruction module (the methods disclosed in JORGENSEN are carried out by a computer, that anticipates the claimed module) configured to:
- determine a set of trajectories, each trajectory intersecting an image point of the first set of image points, wherein each of the determined trajectories is defined in dependence of a virtual emitter location (page 1677, left-hand column, lines 30-33; as set out under point 3.1.1, the trajectory determination amounts to selecting image points),
- map a second set of image points of the image volume onto the first set of image points (page 1678, left-hand column, lines 1-16; Fig. 1; see objection under point 3.1.2), and to
-compute respective image values at the mapped image points of the second set of image points from the image values of the image points of the first set of image points (section “II. Row-Column Imaging”: page 1677, right-hand column to page 1678, left-hand column; see in particular page 1678, left-hand column, lines 1-16);
wherein the ultrasound imaging apparatus is configured to control the row-column addressed transducer array to make a plurality of ultrasonic emissions corresponding to ultrasound emitted from respective virtual emitter locations (page 1677, left-hand column, lines 15-56; see also Fig. 1; section “VI. Emission Sequence”);
wherein the beamformer module and the reconstruction module are configured to compute a plurality of low-resolution volumetric images, each low-resolution volumetric image corresponding to a respective virtual emitter location, and wherein the image apparatus further comprises an image combiner module configured to combine the plurality of low-resolution volumetric images corresponding to different virtual emitter locations into a combined high-resolution volumetric image having a spatial resolution higher that the low-resolution volumetric images (page 1677, left-hand column, lines 15-56; see also Fig. 1; section “VI. Emission Sequence”).
Referring to Claim 2, JORGENSEN teaches the ultrasound imaging apparatus according to claim 1, comprising a probe and a console, operatively coupled to the probe, wherein the probe comprises the row-column addressed transducer array (page 1677-1678, section “II. Row-Column Imaging”).
Referring to Claim 3, JORGENSEN teaches the ultrasound imaging apparatus according to claim 1, comprising a transmit circuit configured to generate the excitation electrical pulses so as to cause the row-column addressed transducer array to emit an emission sequence of ultrasound pressure fields corresponding to respective virtual emitter locations (page 1677-1678, section “II. Row-Column Imaging”).
Referring to Claim 4, JORGENSEN teaches the ultrasound imaging apparatus according to claim 1, configured to transmit ultrasound waves by the first transducer array, and to receive backscattered ultrasound waves by the first or second transducer array (page 1677-1678, section “II. Row-Column Imaging”).
Referring to Claim 5, JORGENSEN teaches the ultrasound imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein each of the determined trajectories is defined as a set of positions within the image volume where a time-of-flight from the virtual emitter location and to a closest position on an aperture of a receiving one of the first and second transducer arrays is constant along said trajectory (page 1677-1678, section “II. Row-Column Imaging”).
Referring to Claim 6, JORGENSEN teaches the ultrasound imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the reconstruction module is configured to map each image coordinate of the image volume onto an image point of the first set, and to store a representation of the mapped image coordinates, and wherein the reconstruction module is configured to compute a plurality of volumetric images using the stored representation of the mapped image coordinates (abstract, lines 1-7; page 1677, left-hand column, lines 15-40).
Referring to Claim 7, JORGENSEN teaches the ultrasound imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the beamformer module is configured to perform delay-and-sum beamforming (page 1677, right-hand column, lines 1-9).
Referring to Claim 8, JORGENSEN teaches the ultrasound imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein beamforming the echo signals using dynamic receive focusing comprises, for each image point of the first set of image points, computing a time-of-flight along a shortest path from a virtual emitter location to the image point and further from the image point to a receiving transducer element of the row-column addressed transducer array (section “II. Row-Column Imaging”; see in particular equation (5)).
Referring to Claim 9, JORGENSEN teaches the ultrasound imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first set of image points define an image plane of a two-dimensional image within the image volume, wherein the image plane is a plane extending out of, in particular orthogonal to, a plane defined by the row-column addressed transducer array (section “II. Row-Column Imaging”; see also Fig. 1).
Referring to Claim 10, (Canceled).
Referring to Claim 11, JORGENSEN teaches the ultrasound imaging apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the image plane is a plane orthogonal to a longitudinal direction of a receiving transducer element of the row-column addressed transducer array (section “II. Row-Column Imaging”; see also Fig. 1).
Referring to Claim 12, JORGENSEN teaches the ultrasound imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the beamformer module is configured to beamform echo signals received from the row-column addressed transducer array responsive to the emissions to produce a corresponding plurality of two-dimensional images, each two-dimensional image corresponding to one of the virtual emitter locations (page 1677-1678, section “II. Row-Column Imaging”; see also Fig. 1, equation 5); and wherein the reconstruction module is configured to compute at least a first low-resolution volumetric image of the plurality of low-resolution volumetric images (1677-1678, section “II. Row-Column Imaging”; see also Fig. 1), the first low-resolution image corresponding to a first virtual emitter location by at least:
- determining a first set of trajectories to the first virtual emitter location (page 1678, III. Motion Effects; and equation 7),
- map image coordinates of the image volume onto image positions of the first two- dimensional image using the first set of trajectories (page 1678, left-hand column, lines 1-16; Fig. 1; see objection under point 3.1.2), and to
-interpolate the image values at the mapped image coordinates from the image values of the first two-dimensional image plane, the interpolated image values at the mapped image coordinates representing the first low-resolution volumetric image (page 1677-1678, section “II. Row-Column Imaging”; see also Fig. 1, equation 5).
Referring to Claim 13, JORGENSEN teaches the ultrasound imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the reconstruction module is configured to determine each trajectory of the set of trajectories as a set of positions within the image volume where a time-of-flight from a virtual emitter location, via any one of the set of positions along said trajectory, to a closest position on an aperture of a receiving one of the first and second transducer arrays is constant along said trajectory (page 1677-1678, section “II. Row-Column Imaging”; see also Fig. 1, equation 1-4; and III. Motion Effects; and equation 7).
Claim 14 is essentially the same as Claim 1 and refers to a computer-implemented method for the ultrasound imaging apparatus according to claim 1. Therefore Claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as applied to Claim 1 above.
Claim 15 is essentially the same as Claim 1 and refers to a computer program comprising instructions that, when executed by a data processing system, cause the data processing system to perform the steps of the computer-implemented method according to claim 14 for the ultrasound imaging apparatus according to claim 1. Therefore Claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as applied to Claim 1 above.
Claim 16 is essentially the same as Claim 1 and refers to a data processing system configured to perform the steps of the computer-implemented method according to claim 14 for the ultrasound imaging apparatus according to claim 1. Therefore Claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as applied to Claim 1 above.
Claim 17 is essentially the same as Claim 1 and refers to an ultrasound imaging apparatus for providing a volumetric ultrasound image of an image volume according to claim 1. Therefore Claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons as applied to Claim 1 above.
Claim 18 is essentially the same as Claim 2, and is rejected for the same reasons as applied to Claim 2 above.
Referring to Claim 19, JORGENSEN teaches the ultrasound imaging apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the row-column addressed transducer array comprises a first set of transducer elements and a second set of transducer elements, the first set of transducer elements defining a first transducer array arranged along a first axis, the second set of transducer elements defining a second transducer array arranged along a second axis (page 1677, left-hand column, lines 6-33).
Claim 20 is essentially the same as Claim 4, and is rejected for the same reasons as applied to Claim 4 above.
Claim 21 is essentially the same as Claim 5, and is rejected for the same reasons as applied to Claim 5 above.
Referring to Claim(s) 22-30 (Canceled).
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. However, any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Isam Alsomiri can be reached on 571-272-6970. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/AMIE M NDURE/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ABDALLAH ABULABAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645