DETAILED ACTION
Claims 16-32 are presented for examination.
Priority
The Applicant’s claim for priority based upon European Patent Application EP22182066.5 filed on June 29, 2022 is duly noted by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 12, 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The most similar art of record, Cortona et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0276272], discloses a mobile control device establishing wireless communication with a control panel of an elevator where the panel is on the outside (figure 1, items3, 4, and 12 as well as paragraph 0037) and determining the mobile phone is authorized to communicate with the control panel (figure 2, items 4, 15, 17, and 18 as well as paragraphs 0041, 0042, and 0043). The second most similar art of record, Wu [U.S. Patent Publication 2008/0297311], discloses an optical link established between a terminal device and an optical ID tag to enable communications via the used of pulsed light signals (paragraph 0050). However, no art of record discloses the elevator system ascertains a position of the mobile terminal through communication with the mobile terminal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, 17, 19, 24, 25, 26, 29, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cortona et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0276272] in view of Wu [U.S. Patent Publication 2008/0297311]
With regard to claim 16, Cortona et al. meets the limitations of:
a method for communicating with an elevator system using a mobile terminal, the method comprising steps of sending a communication request from the mobile terminal to the elevator system [a mobile control device establishing wireless communication with a control panel of an elevator (figure 1, items3, 4, and 12 as well as paragraph 0037)]
a control panel that is arranged outside an elevator shaft of the elevator system in response to the request [a mobile control device establishing wireless communication with a control panel of an elevator where the panel is on the outside (figure 1, items3, 4, and 12 as well as paragraph 0037)]
sending a confirmation from the mobile terminal to the elevator system that the coded signal has been detected [a connection being established between a control panel and a mobile device when it has been determined the mobile phone is authorized to communicate with the control panel (figure 2, items 4, 15, 17, and 18 as well as paragraphs 0041, 0042, and 0043)]
authorizing the mobile terminal, by the elevator system, to communicate with the elevator system [a connection being established between a control panel and a mobile device when it has been determined the mobile phone is authorized to communicate with the control panel (figure 2, items 4, 15, 17, and 18 as well as paragraphs 0041, 0042, and 0043)]
However, Cortona et al. fails to disclose of generating a coded light signal from a control panel and detecting the coded light signal by the mobile terminal. In the field of communications systems, Wu teaches:
generating a coded light signal from a control panel and detecting the coded light signal by the mobile terminal [an optical link established between a terminal device and an optical ID tag to enable communications via the used of pulsed light signals (paragraph 0050)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Cortona et al. and Wu to create an optical communication system for an elevator panel wherein the panel communicates with a mobile device using modulated pulsed light signals in order to allow a user to control the elevator using the mobile device wherein the motivation to combine is create a control system for an elevator system (Cortona et al., paragraph 0001).
With regard to claim 17, Cortona et al. fails to disclose of transmitting the detected coded light signal or a data of the detected coded light signal to the elevator system as the confirmation that the coded light signal has been detected. In the field of communications systems, Wu teaches:
transmitting the detected coded light signal or a data of the detected coded light signal to the elevator system as the confirmation that the coded light signal has been detected [an optical link established between a terminal device and an optical ID tag to enable communications via the used of pulsed light signals (paragraph 0050) where communications is established when an interrogation beam is transmitted to enable said communications (paragraphs 0052 and 0053)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Cortona et al. and Wu to create an optical communication system for an elevator panel wherein the panel communicates with a mobile device using modulated pulsed light signals in order to allow a user to control the elevator using the mobile device wherein the motivation to combine is create a control system for an elevator system (Cortona et al., paragraph 0001).
With regard to claim 19, Cortona et al. fails to disclose of generating the coded light signal as a predetermined temporal sequence of light signals. In the field of communications, Wu teaches:
generating the coded light signal as a predetermined temporal sequence of light signals [an optical link established between a terminal device and an optical ID tag to enable communications via the used of pulsed light signals (paragraph 0050) where communications is established when an interrogation beam is transmitted to enable said communications (paragraphs 0052 and 0053)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Cortona et al. and Wu to create an optical communication system for an elevator panel wherein the panel communicates with a mobile device using modulated pulsed light signals in order to allow a user to control the elevator using the mobile device wherein the motivation to combine is create a control system for an elevator system (Cortona et al., paragraph 0001).
With regard to claim 24, Cortona et al. meets the limitations of:
a mobile terminal for communicating with an elevator system, the mobile terminal comprising the mobile terminal adapted to send a request to communicate to the elevator system [a mobile control device establishing wireless communication with a control panel of an elevator (figure 1, items3, 4, and 12 as well as paragraph 0037)]
a control panel that is arranged outside an elevator shaft of the elevator system [a mobile control device establishing wireless communication with a control panel of an elevator where the panel is on the outside (figure 1, items3, 4, and 12 as well as paragraph 0037)]
the mobile terminal adapted to confirm to the elevator system that the coded light signal has been detected [a connection being established between a control panel and a mobile device when it has been determined the mobile phone is authorized to communicate with the control panel (figure 2, items 4, 15, 17, and 18 as well as paragraphs 0041, 0042, and 0043)]
the mobile terminal adapted to communicate with the elevator system upon being authorized by the elevator system in response to the confirming by the mobile device [a connection being established between a control panel and a mobile device when it has been determined the mobile phone is authorized to communicate with the control panel (figure 2, items 4, 15, 17, and 18 as well as paragraphs 0041, 0042, and 0043)]
However, Cortona et al. fails to disclose of the mobile terminal adapted to detect a coded light signal generated in response to the request by a control panel and a coded light signal. In the field of communications systems, Wu teaches:
the mobile terminal adapted to detect a coded light signal generated in response to the request by a control panel and a coded light signal [an optical link established between a terminal device and an optical ID tag to enable communications via the used of pulsed light signals (paragraph 0050)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Cortona et al. and Wu to create an optical communication system for an elevator panel wherein the panel communicates with a mobile device using modulated pulsed light signals in order to allow a user to control the elevator using the mobile device wherein the motivation to combine is create a control system for an elevator system (Cortona et al., paragraph 0001).
With regard to claim 25, Cortona et al. fails to disclose of the mobile terminal is adapted to transmit the detected coded light signal or a data of the detected coded light signal to the elevator system as the confirmation that the coded light signal has been detected. In the field of communications systems, Wu teaches:
the mobile terminal is adapted to transmit the detected coded light signal or a data of the detected coded light signal to the elevator system as the confirmation that the coded light signal has been detected [an optical link established between a terminal device and an optical ID tag to enable communications via the used of pulsed light signals (paragraph 0050) where communications is established when an interrogation beam is transmitted to enable said communications (paragraphs 0052 and 0053)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Cortona et al. and Wu to create an optical communication system for an elevator panel wherein the panel communicates with a mobile device using modulated pulsed light signals in order to allow a user to control the elevator using the mobile device wherein the motivation to combine is create a control system for an elevator system (Cortona et al., paragraph 0001).
With regard to claim 26, Cortona et al. meets the limitation of:
an elevator system [a mobile control device establishing wireless communication with a control panel of an elevator where the panel is on the outside (figure 1, items3, 4, and 12 as well as paragraph 0037)]
However, Cortona et al. fails to disclose of the mobile terminal is adapted to pre-check the detection of the coded light signal by detecting a coded test light signal, the coded test light signal being generated temporally prior to the coded light signal by the control panel in response to the request, and the mobile terminal transmits the detected coded test light signal or a data of the detected coded test light signal. In the field of communications, Wu teaches:
the mobile terminal is adapted to pre-check the detection of the coded light signal by detecting a coded test light signal, the coded test light signal being generated temporally prior to the coded light signal by the control panel in response to the request, and the mobile terminal transmits the detected coded test light signal or a data of the detected coded test light signal [an optical link established between a terminal device and an optical ID tag to enable communications via the used of pulsed light signals (paragraph 0050)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Cortona et al., Wu, and Aoyama et al. to create an optical communication system for an elevator panel wherein the panel communicates with a mobile device using modulated pulsed light signals after a check sum has been performed to ensure proper communications in order to allow a user to control the elevator using the mobile device wherein the motivation to combine is create a control system for an elevator system (Cortona et al., paragraph 0001).
With regard to claim 29, Cortona et al. meets the limitations of:
an elevator system including a control panel outside an elevator shaft of the elevator system, the elevator system being configured to communicate with a mobile terminal [a mobile control device establishing wireless communication with a control panel of an elevator where the panel is on the outside (figure 1, items 3, 4, and 12 as well as paragraph 0037)]
the elevator system comprising the elevator system adapted to receive a request to communicate from the mobile terminal and the elevator system adapted to respond to the request [a mobile control device establishing wireless communication with a control panel of an elevator (figure 1, items3, 4, and 12 as well as paragraph 0037)]
the elevator system adapted to receive from the mobile terminal a confirmation that the coded light signal has been detected by the mobile terminal [a connection being established between a control panel and a mobile device when it has been determined the mobile phone is authorized to communicate with the control panel (figure 2, items 4, 15, 17, and 18 as well as paragraphs 0041, 0042, and 0043)]
the elevator system adapted to authorize the mobile terminal to communicate with the elevator system in response to the confirmation [a connection being established between a control panel and a mobile device when it has been determined the mobile phone is authorized to communicate with the control panel (figure 2, items 4, 15, 17, and 18 as well as paragraphs 0041, 0042, and 0043)]
However, Cortona et al. fails to disclose of generating a coded light where the coded light signal is detectable by the mobile terminal. In the field of communications systems, Wu teaches:
generating a coded light where the coded light signal is detectable by the mobile terminal [an optical link established between a terminal device and an optical ID tag to enable communications via the used of pulsed light signals (paragraph 0050)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Cortona et al. and Wu to create an optical communication system for an elevator panel wherein the panel communicates with a mobile device using modulated pulsed light signals in order to allow a user to control the elevator using the mobile device wherein the motivation to combine is create a control system for an elevator system (Cortona et al., paragraph 0001).
With regard to claim 30, Cortona et al. fails to disclose of the confirmation includes the detected coded light signal or a data of the detected coded light signal. In the field of communications systems, Wu teaches:
the confirmation includes the detected coded light signal or a data of the detected coded light signal [an optical link established between a terminal device and an optical ID tag to enable communications via the used of pulsed light signals (paragraph 0050) where communications is established when an interrogation beam is transmitted to enable said communications (paragraphs 0052 and 0053)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Cortona et al. and Wu to create an optical communication system for an elevator panel wherein the panel communicates with a mobile device using modulated pulsed light signals in order to allow a user to control the elevator using the mobile device wherein the motivation to combine is create a control system for an elevator system (Cortona et al., paragraph 0001).
Claim(s) 18, 20, 21, 22, 27, 31, and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cortona et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0276272] in view of Wu [U.S. Patent Publication 2008/0297311], and in further view of Aoyama et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0264364]
With regard to claim 18, the combination of Cortona et al. and Wu fails to disclose of transmitting the detected coded light signal with an added check value. In the field of communications, Aoyama et al. teaches:
transmitting the detected coded light signal with an added check value [a check value procedure being executed using optical communications as a medium for said check value procedure (paragraph 1173)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Cortona et al., Wu, and Aoyama et al. to create an optical communication system for an elevator panel wherein the panel communicates with a mobile device using modulated pulsed light signals after a check sum has been performed to ensure proper communications in order to allow a user to control the elevator using the mobile device wherein the motivation to combine is create a control system for an elevator system (Cortona et al., paragraph 0001).
With regard to claim 20, Cortona et al. meets the limitation of:
a control panel and elevator system [a mobile control device establishing wireless communication with a control panel of an elevator where the panel is on the outside (figure 1, items3, 4, and 12 as well as paragraph 0037)]
However, Cortona et al. fails to disclose of pre-checking the detection of the coded light signal by prior to generating the coded light signal, generating a coded test light signal, detecting the coded test light signal by the mobile terminal, and transmitting the detected coded test light signal or a data of the detected coded test light signal. In the field of communications systems, Wu teaches:
generating a coded light signal from a control panel and detecting the coded light signal by the mobile terminal [an optical link established between a terminal device and an optical ID tag to enable communications via the used of pulsed light signals (paragraph 0050)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Cortona et al. and Wu to create an optical communication system for an elevator panel wherein the panel communicates with a mobile device using modulated pulsed light signals in order to allow a user to control the elevator using the mobile device. However, the combination of Cortona et al. and Wu fails to disclose of generating a coded test light signal and transmitting the detected coded test light signal or a data of the detected coded test light signal. In the field of communications, Aoyama et al. teaches:
generating a coded test light signal and transmitting the detected coded test light signal or a data of the detected coded test light signal [a check value procedure being executed using optical communications as a medium for said check value procedure (paragraph 1173)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Cortona et al., Wu, and Aoyama et al. to create an optical communication system for an elevator panel wherein the panel communicates with a mobile device using modulated pulsed light signals after a check sum has been performed to ensure proper communications in order to allow a user to control the elevator using the mobile device wherein the motivation to combine is create a control system for an elevator system (Cortona et al., paragraph 0001).
With regard to claim 21, the combination of Cortona et al. and Wu fails to disclose of fails to disclose of transmitting the detected coded test light signal and/or the detected coded light signal with an added check value. In the field of communications, Aoyama et al. teaches:
transmitting the detected coded test light signal and/or the detected coded light signal with an added check value [a check value procedure being executed using optical communications as a medium for said check value procedure (paragraph 1173)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Cortona et al., Wu, and Aoyama et al. to create an optical communication system for an elevator panel wherein the panel communicates with a mobile device using modulated pulsed light signals after a check sum has been performed to ensure proper communications in order to allow a user to control the elevator using the mobile device wherein the motivation to combine is create a control system for an elevator system (Cortona et al., paragraph 0001).
With regard to claim 22, Cortona et al. fails to disclose of generating the coded light signal and/or the coded test light signal as a predetermined temporal sequence of light signals. In the field of communications, Wu teaches:
generating the coded light signal and/or the coded test light signal as a predetermined temporal sequence of light signals [an optical link established between a terminal device and an optical ID tag to enable communications via the used of pulsed light signals (paragraph 0050)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Cortona et al., Wu, and Aoyama et al. to create an optical communication system for an elevator panel wherein the panel communicates with a mobile device using modulated pulsed light signals after a check sum has been performed to ensure proper communications in order to allow a user to control the elevator using the mobile device wherein the motivation to combine is create a control system for an elevator system (Cortona et al., paragraph 0001).
With regard to claim 27, the combination of Cortona et al. and Wu fails to disclose of the mobile terminal is adapted to add a check value to the detected coded test light signal or the data thereof and/or to the detected coded light signal or the data thereof before the transmission. In the field of communications, Aoyama et al. teaches:
the mobile terminal is adapted to add a check value to the detected coded test light signal or the data thereof and/or to the detected coded light signal or the data thereof before the transmission [a check value procedure being executed using optical communications as a medium for said check value procedure (paragraph 1173)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Cortona et al., Wu, and Aoyama et al. to create an optical communication system for an elevator panel wherein the panel communicates with a mobile device using modulated pulsed light signals after a check sum has been performed to ensure proper communications in order to allow a user to control the elevator using the mobile device wherein the motivation to combine is create a control system for an elevator system (Cortona et al., paragraph 0001).
With regard to claim 31, Cortona et al. meets the limitation of:
a control panel and elevator system [a mobile control device establishing wireless communication with a control panel of an elevator where the panel is on the outside (figure 1, items3, 4, and 12 as well as paragraph 0037)]
However, Cortona et al. fails to disclose of pre-checking the detection of the coded light signal by prior to generating the coded light signal, generating a coded test light signal, detecting the coded test light signal by the mobile terminal, and transmitting the detected coded test light signal or a data of the detected coded test light signal. In the field of communications systems, Wu teaches:
generating a coded light signal from a control panel and detecting the coded light signal by the mobile terminal [an optical link established between a terminal device and an optical ID tag to enable communications via the used of pulsed light signals (paragraph 0050)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Cortona et al. and Wu to create an optical communication system for an elevator panel wherein the panel communicates with a mobile device using modulated pulsed light signals in order to allow a user to control the elevator using the mobile device. However, the combination of Cortona et al. and Wu fails to disclose of generating a coded test light signal and transmitting the detected coded test light signal or a data of the detected coded test light signal. In the field of communications, Aoyama et al. teaches:
generating a coded test light signal and transmitting the detected coded test light signal or a data of the detected coded test light signal [a check value procedure being executed using optical communications as a medium for said check value procedure (paragraph 1173)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Cortona et al., Wu, and Aoyama et al. to create an optical communication system for an elevator panel wherein the panel communicates with a mobile device using modulated pulsed light signals after a check sum has been performed to ensure proper communications in order to allow a user to control the elevator using the mobile device wherein the motivation to combine is create a control system for an elevator system (Cortona et al., paragraph 0001).
With regard to claim 32, the combination of Cortona et al. and Wu fails to disclose of transmitting the detected coded light signal with an added check value. In the field of communications, Aoyama et al. teaches:
transmitting the detected coded light signal with an added check value [a check value procedure being executed using optical communications as a medium for said check value procedure (paragraph 1173)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Cortona et al., Wu, and Aoyama et al. to create an optical communication system for an elevator panel wherein the panel communicates with a mobile device using modulated pulsed light signals after a check sum has been performed to ensure proper communications in order to allow a user to control the elevator using the mobile device wherein the motivation to combine is create a control system for an elevator system (Cortona et al., paragraph 0001).
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cortona et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0276272] in view of Wu [U.S. Patent Publication 2008/0297311], and in further view of Nanjappan [U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0225458]
With regard to claim 28, the combination of Cortona et al. and Wu fails to disclose of the mobile terminal is adapted to control and/or start servicing or inspection work for the elevator system. In the field of elevator control systems, Nanjappan teaches:
the mobile terminal is adapted to control and/or start servicing or inspection work for the elevator system [a service tool in wireless communication where the tool has the ability to place the elevator in a servicing mode (paragraphs 0028 and 0036)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Cortona et al., Wu, and Nanjappan to create an optical communication system for an elevator panel wherein the panel communicates with a mobile device where the mobile device is able to place the elevator in a servicing mode to allow a person to perform maintenance procedures wherein the motivation to combine is create a control system for an elevator system (Cortona et al., paragraph 0001).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0211066 to Ahokas et al. discloses the accessing of a passenger transportation device controller.
U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0327219 to Sudi et al. discloses automatic elevator inspection systems and methods.
U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0239258 to Ginsberg et al. discloses service tool wireless access management.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PAMESHANAND MAHASE whose telephone number is (571) 270-7223. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday- Friday 8:00AM - 5:00PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Davetta Goins can be reached on 571-272-2957. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PAMESHANAND MAHASE/Examiner, Art Unit 2689
/DAVETTA W GOINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2689