DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the Preliminary Amendment filed on December 23, 2024. Accordingly, claims 1-17 are cancelled, and newly added claims 18-31 are currently pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings were received on December 23, 2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 23, 2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
According to MPEP 2112.02: Process Claims, it is noted that “Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device” (emphasis added). It is also noted in that same MPEP section that “The Federal Circuit upheld the Board’s finding that "Donley inherently performs the function disclosed in the method claims on appeal when that device is used in ‘normal and usual operation’" and found that a prima facie case of anticipation was made out” (emphasis added). Id. at 138, 801 F.2d at 1326. It was up to applicant to prove that Donley's structure would not perform the claimed method when placed in ambient light.).”
With regard to claims 27-29, these claims present an apparatus according to the method of claims 18-26. Therefore, the argument made against claims 18-26 also applies, mutatis mutandis, to claims 27-29. In addition, it is clearly seen that claims 18-26 are process claims which present a process of using the system as claimed in claims 27-29, respectively.
With regard to claim 30, this claim presents an apparatus according to the method of claim 18. Therefore, the argument made against claim 18 also applies, mutatis mutandis, to claim 30. In addition, it is clearly seen that claim 18 are process claims which present a process of using the system as claimed in claim 30, respectively.
With regard to claim 31, these claims present an apparatus according to the method of claim 24. Therefore, the argument made against claim 24 also applies, mutatis mutandis, to claim 31. In addition, it is clearly seen that claim 24 are process claims which present a process of using the system as claimed in claim 31, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18, 19, 24, 27, 30 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujii et al. (US 2015/0204914 A1).
Fujii et al. teaches a current detection device comprising:
With regard to claims 18, 27 and 30, an apparatus (FIG. 1, gas-insulated switchgear) for an electronic mutual inductor (FIG. 1, current detection device), wherein the electronic mutual inductor (FIG. 1, current detection device) is provided with three phases (A-phase, B-phase, and C-phase) each having a Rogowski coil (FIG. 1, A-phase air-cored coil 2a, B-phase air-cored coil 2b or C-phase air-cored coil 2c), and the electronic mutual inductor (FIG. 1, current detection device including output-voltage detection circuits 3a, 3b and 3c for A-phase, B-phase, and C-phase) is configured to convert a current of a primary-side device (FIG. 1, phase currents respectively flow in A-phase conductor 1a, B-phase conductor 1b, and C-phase conductor 1c from a three-phase power source) into a secondary-side voltage (FIG. 1, output voltages of A-phase air-cored coil 2a, B-phase air-cored coil 2b, and C-phase air-cored coil 2c), the apparatus (FIG. 1, gas-insulated switchgear) comprising: a first determining unit (FIG. 1, correction processing circuit 4) for determining coefficients (factors k11, k12, k13, k21, k22, k23, k31, k31 and k33) of mutual induction of each phase (FIG. 1, A-phase, B-phase, or C-phase) of the Rogowski coil (FIG. 1, A-phase air-cored coil 2a, B-phase air-cored coil 2b or C-phase air-cored coil 2c) of the electronic mutual inductor (FIG. 1, current detection device) and for determining a crosstalk induction of each phase (FIG. 1, A-phase, B-phase, or C-phase) to the Rogowski coils (FIG. 1, A-phase air-cored coil 2a, B-phase air-cored coil 2b and C-phase air-cored coil 2c) of the respectively other phases (other phases of A-phase, B-phase, and C-phase); a first acquisition unit (FIG. 1, correction processing circuit 4) configure to, based on a corresponding coefficient (factors k11, k12, k13, k21, k22, k23, k31, k31 and k33) of mutual induction and the crosstalk induction of each phase (FIG. 1, A-phase, B-phase, or C-phase), acquire a compensation coefficient (FIG. 5, voltage correction factor) of the output voltage on the secondary side (FIG. 1, sides of A-phase air-cored coil 2a, B-phase air-cored coil 2b, and C-phase air-cored coil 2c) of that phase, wherein the compensation coefficient (FIG. 5, voltage correction factor) is used to compensate for the real-time output voltage value on the secondary side (FIG. 1, sides of A-phase air-cored coil 2a, B-phase air-cored coil 2b, and C-phase air-cored coil 2c) of the electronic mutual inductor (FIG. 1, current detection device) to acquire a compensation voltage value (output-voltage correction values), the compensation voltage value (output-voltage correction values) corresponding to an actual current value (phase currents Ia, Ib, and Ic) on the primary side (For more details, please read: FIGS. 1, 5 and 6; Abstract; and paragraphs: [0016]-[0047] and [0055]-[0060]).
With regard to claims 24 and 31, a method for electronic mutual inductance comprising: providing an electronic mutual inductor (FIG. 1, current detection device) with three phases (A-phase, B-phase, and C-phase) each having a Rogowski coil (FIG. 1, A-phase air-cored coil 2a, B-phase air-cored coil 2b or C-phase air-cored coil 2c), and using the electronic mutual inductor (FIG. 1, current detection device) to convert a current of a primary-side device (FIG. 1, phase currents respectively flow in A-phase conductor 1a, B-phase conductor 1b, and C-phase conductor 1c from a three-phase power source) into a secondary-side voltage (FIG. 1, output voltages of A-phase air-cored coil 2a, B-phase air-cored coil 2b, and C-phase air-cored coil 2c); based on a real-time current of each phase of the primary-side device (FIG. 1, phase currents respectively flow in A-phase conductor 1a, B-phase conductor 1b, and C-phase conductor 1c from a three-phase power source), generating a real-time output voltage of the corresponding phase (A-phase, B-phase, or C-phase); according to a predetermined compensation coefficient (FIG. 5, voltage correction factor) for each phase (FIG. 1, A-phase, B-phase, or C-phase), compensating for the real-time output voltage on each phase (FIG. 1, A-phase, B-phase, or C-phase) to acquire a corresponding compensation voltage value (output-voltage correction values) of each phase (FIG. 1, A-phase, B-phase, or C-phase), the compensation coefficient (FIG. 5, voltage correction factor) being determined based on the coefficients (factors k11, k12, k13, k21, k22, k23, k31, k31 and k33) of mutual induction of the Rogowski coils (FIG. 1, A-phase air-cored coil 2a, B-phase air-cored coil 2b and C-phase air-cored coil 2c) of each phase (FIG. 1, A-phase, B-phase, or C-phase) and the crosstalk induction of each phase (FIG. 1, A-phase, B-phase, or C-phase) to the Rogowski coils (FIG. 1, A-phase air-cored coil 2a, B-phase air-cored coil 2b and C-phase air-cored coil 2c) of the other phases (other phases of A-phase, B-phase, and C-phase); and sending the compensation voltage value (output-voltage correction values) to a target device (FIG. 1, correction processing circuit 4), the compensation voltage value (output-voltage correction values) corresponding to an actual current value of the primary-side device (FIG. 1, phase currents respectively flow in A-phase conductor 1a, B-phase conductor 1b, and C-phase conductor 1c from a three-phase power source) (For more details, please read: FIGS. 1, 5 and 6; Abstract; and paragraphs: [0016]-[0047] and [0055]-[0060]).
With regard to claim 30, an apparatus (FIG. 1, gas-insulated switchgear) for electronic mutual inductance, wherein an electronic mutual inductor (FIG. 1, current detection device) is provided with three phases (A-phase, B-phase, and C-phase) each having a Rogowski coil (FIG. 1, A-phase air-cored coil 2a, B-phase air-cored coil 2b or C-phase air-cored coil 2c), the electronic mutual inductor (FIG. 1, current detection device) being configured to convert a current of a primary-side device (FIG. 1, phase currents respectively flow in A-phase conductor 1a, B-phase conductor 1b, and C-phase conductor 1c from a three-phase power source) into a secondary-side voltage (FIG. 1, output voltages of A-phase air-cored coil 2a, B-phase air-cored coil 2b, and C-phase air-cored coil 2c), the apparatus (FIG. 1, gas-insulated switchgear) comprising: at least one memory for storing an instruction in non-transitory form; and at least one processor (FIG. 1, correction processing circuit 4) for executing the method for electronic mutual inductance according to claim 18 by executing the instruction stored in the at least one memory. It is noted that a memory for storing an instruction in non-transitory form is a tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium is an inherent feature included in the processor (FIG. 1, correction processing circuit 4), which is well- known to one having ordinary skill in the art for storing computer-readable instructions and data (FIGS, 5 and 6) that, when executed by circuitry, causes the circuitry (correction processing circuit 4) to perform the method of claim 18 (For more details, please read: FIGS. 1, 5 and 6; Abstract; and paragraphs: [0016]-[0047] and [0055]-[0060]).
With regard to claim 31, an electronic mutual inductor (FIG. 1, current detection device), comprising: three phases (A-phase, B-phase, and C-phase) each having a Rogowski coil (FIG. 1, A-phase air-cored coil 2a, B-phase air-cored coil 2b or C-phase air-cored coil 2c), with the electronic mutual inductor (FIG. 1, current detection device) being configured to convert a current of a primary-side device (FIG. 1, phase currents respectively flow in A-phase conductor 1a, B-phase conductor 1b, and C-phase conductor 1c from a three-phase power source) into a secondary-side voltage (FIG. 1, output voltages of A-phase air-cored coil 2a, B-phase air-cored coil 2b, and C-phase air-cored coil 2c); at least one memory for storing an instruction in non-transitory form; and at least one processor (FIG. 1, correction processing circuit 4) for executing the method for an electronic mutual inductor (FIG. 1, current detection device) according to claim 24 by carrying out the instruction stored in the at least one memory. It is noted that a memory for storing an instruction in non-transitory form is a tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium is an inherent feature included in the processor (FIG. 1, correction processing circuit 4), which is well- known to one having ordinary skill in the art for storing computer-readable instructions and data (FIGS, 5 and 6) that, when executed by circuitry, causes the circuitry (correction processing circuit 4) to perform the method of claim 24 (For more details, please read: FIGS. 1, 5 and 6; Abstract; and paragraphs: [0016]-[0047] and [0055]-[0060]).
With regard to claim 19, determining the coefficients (factors k11, k12, k13, k21, k22, k23, k31, k31 and k33) of mutual induction of each phase (FIG. 1, A-phase, B-phase, or C-phase) of the Rogowski coil (FIG. 1, A-phase air-cored coil 2a, B-phase air-cored coil 2b or C-phase air-cored coil 2c) and determining the crosstalk induction of each phase (FIG. 1, A-phase, B-phase, or C-phase) to the Rogowski coils (FIG. 1, A-phase air-cored coil 2a, B-phase air-cored coil 2b and C-phase air-cored coil 2c) of the respectively other phases (other phases of A-phase, B-phase, and C-phase) comprises: when a quantitative current (phase current Ia, Ib, or Ic) is applied, in turn, to the primary side of one phase (FIG. 1, A-phase, B-phase, or C-phase), acquiring a first voltage output (output voltages Va, Vb, and Vc) from the secondary side secondary side (FIG. 1, sides of A-phase air-cored coil 2a, B-phase air-cored coil 2b, and C-phase air-cored coil 2c) of each phase (FIG. 1, A-phase, B-phase, or C-phase) while keeping the primary side of the other two phases currentless; based on each of the first voltages, determining a coefficients (factors k11, k12, k13, k21, k22, k23, k31, k31 and k33) of mutual induction of each phase (FIG. 1, A-phase, B-phase, or C-phase) of the Rogowski coil (FIG. 1, A-phase air-cored coil 2a, B-phase air-cored coil 2b or C-phase air-cored coil 2c), and the crosstalk induction of the Rogowski coil (FIG. 1, A-phase air-cored coil 2a, B-phase air-cored coil 2b or C-phase air-cored coil 2c) of each phase (FIG. 1, A-phase, B-phase, or C-phase) to the other two phases (other phases of A-phase, B-phase, and C-phase) (Paragraphs: [0020]-[0047]) (For more details, please read: FIGS. 1, 5 and 6; Abstract; and paragraphs: [0016]-[0047] and [0055]-[0060]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 21 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii et al.
Fujii et al. teaches all as discussed in the above rejection of claims 18, 19, 24, 27, 30 and 31 including phase currents (Ia, Ib, and Ic) respectively flow in A-phase conductor 1a, B-phase conductor 1b, and C-phase conductor 1c from a three-phase power source) and the first determining unit (FIG. 1, correction processing circuit 4) for determining coefficients (factors k11, k12, k13, k21, k22, k23, k31, k31 and k33) of mutual induction of each phase (FIG. 1, A-phase, B-phase, or C-phase) of the Rogowski coil (FIG. 1, A-phase air-cored coil 2a, B-phase air-cored coil 2b or C-phase air-cored coil 2c) of the electronic mutual inductor (FIG. 1, current detection device) and for determining a crosstalk induction of each phase (FIG. 1, A-phase, B-phase, or C-phase) to the Rogowski coils (FIG. 1, A-phase air-cored coil 2a, B-phase air-cored coil 2b and C-phase air-cored coil 2c) of the respectively other phases (other phases of A-phase, B-phase, and C-phase) (Paragraphs: [0015]-[0047]), but it does not explicitly teach the following feature:
A quantitative current is applied to phase A, and phase B and phase C.
With regard to claims 20 and 28, it is well-known to one having ordinary skill in the art that a quantitative current of a phase typically refers to the measured magnitude and directional angle (the phasor value) of the alternating current flowing through an individual phase winding or load in a polyphase electrical system (three-phase power source). It is also noted that multiplicative constants are obvious through routine experimentation and/or mathematic calculation since they scale values up or down without changing the core relationship or behavior of the equation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the current detection device of Fujii et al. to apply a quantitative current to each phase of a polyphase electrical system since such an arrangement is beneficial for precise tracking of load balancing, exact fault detection, and optimized thermal management in multi-phase electrical systems.
With regard to claim 21, Fujii et al. teaches based on the corresponding coefficient of mutual induction and the crosstalk induction of each phase, acquiring a compensation coefficient for an output voltage of the secondary side of that phase comprises: under the normal operating state of the electronic mutual inductor, measuring a second voltage output on the secondary side of each phase, the second voltage comprising an induced voltage generated by the Rogowski coil induction of the phase and a crosstalk voltage generated by the crosstalk of the other two phases to the phase; and determining the compensation coefficient of the output voltage on the secondary side of each phase based on the second voltage, the coefficient of mutual induction, and the crosstalk induction of each phase (Claim 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22, 23, 25, 26 and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant’s attention is invited to the followings whose inventions disclose similar devices.
Boscolo Berto et al. (US 10,447,187 B2) teaches a control circuit configured to sense a mutual inductance voltage for mutual inductance voltage offset compensation for brushless dc sensorless motors.
Mao et al. (CN 112068061 A) teaches an electronic mutual inductor error measuring device.
CONTACT INFORMATION
HOAI-AN D. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/HOAI-AN D. NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858