DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 are pending and examined on the merits.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in India on September 10, 2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the IN 202241051771 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 is objected to because of the recitation “of viable microbial organism” in line 2. The word “a” should be inserted before the recitation “viable.”
Claim 1 is objected to because of the recitation “specimenderived” in line 2. This recitation should be substituted with “specimen derived.”
Claim 1 is objected to because of the recitation “through plurality of growth assessments” in line 9. The word “a” should be inserted before the recitation “plurality.”
Claim 1 is objected to because of the recitation “through nomogram” in line 11. The word “a” should be inserted before the recitation “nomogram.”
Claim 1 is objected to because “subjecting said microbes broth for sub-culturing” in line 12 is grammatically incorrect. The recitation “for” should be substituted with “to.”
Claim 1 is objected to because “a live media” in lines 12-13 is grammatically incorrect. Since “media” is a plural term, then the article “a” should be deleted.
Also, claim 1 is objected to because the first letter of the recitation “In” in line 15 should not be capitalized.
The recitation “a rapid standard quantitative methods” in lines 15-16 of claim 1 is not grammatically correct. For proper grammar, it should recite “rapid standard quantitative methods” or “a rapid standard quantitative method.”
Also, claim 1 is objected to because of the recitation “matching with library” in line 16. The word “a” should be inserted before the recitation “library.”
Claim 1 is objected to because the recitation “species sub species etc” in line 17 is missing punctuation. A comma is missing between “species” and “sub,” and between “species” and “etc.” Also, a period is missing after the recitation “etc” (“etc.”). Furthermore, a hyphen is missing between “sub” and “species” (i.e., it should recite “sub-species”).
Also, the recitation “(PCR )” in line 19 of claim 1 includes an extra space. It should recite “(PCR)”.
Also, claim 1 is objected to because the word “a” should be inserted before the recitation “conventional automated culture technique” in lines 23-24.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the recitation “MIC concentrations” in line 24. MIC is the abbreviation for “minimum inhibitory concentration,” so “MIC concentrations” is “minimum inhibitory concentration concentrations.” This objection can be overcome by substituting the recitation “MIC concentrations” with “MICs.”
Claim 1 is objected to because of the recitation “AI/ ML” in line 25. The space before the recitation “ML” should be deleted.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the recitation “(Artificial Intelligence / Machine learning)” in line 25. The spaces before and after the forward slash should be deleted.
The recitation “after administrating said determined antibiotic in the Source/ person” in line 26 of claim 1 is grammatically incorrected. The recitation “in” should be substituted with “to.”
Claim 1 is objected to because of the recitation “Source/ person” in line 26. The first letter of the recitation “Source” should not be capitalized, and the space after the forward slash should be deleted.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the recitation “samples/ specimens” in line 27. The space after the forward slash should be deleted.
Claim 1 is objected to because the recitation “he” in line 29 is a misspelling of the word “the.”
Claim 1 is objected to because of the recitation “AI/ ML (Artificial Intelligence / Machine learning)” in lines 29-30. The space before the recitation “ML” should be deleted, and the spaces before and after the second forward slash should be deleted.
Also, claim 1 is objected to because “susequent” in line 31 is a misspelling of the term “subsequent.”
Claim 1 is objected to because “a live media” in line 31 is grammatically incorrect. Since “media” is a plural term, then the article “a” should be deleted.
Since claim 1 is objected to, then its dependent claims, claims 2-9, are objected to.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the recitations “assessemtnon” and “plaate” in line 2, which are misspellings of the words “assessment” and “plate,” respectively.
Claim 3 is objected to because the recitation “gram positive, gram negative” should be substituted with “gram positive and gram negative.”
Also, claim 3 is objected to because of the recitation “said live media includes.” Since ‘live media’ is a plural term, then the recitation “includes” should be substituted with “include.”
Claim 4 is objected because the recitation “preformed” should be substituted with “performed.”
Also, claim 4 is objected to because the recitation “eleminate" is a misspelling of the term “eliminate.”
Claim 5 is objected to because of the recitation “wherein utilising said response assessment score for determining dose, frequency and nature of said antibiotics that are appropriate to achieve control of microbial infection.” The phrase is grammatically incorrect. It appears that the claim should recite “wherein said response assessment score is utilized for determining dose, frequency and nature of said antibiotics that are appropriate to achieve control of microbial infection.”
Claim 6 is objected to because the word “the” should be inserted before the recitation “primary specimen.”
Claim 7 is objected to because of the recitation “PCRmethod.” The recitation should be substituted with “PCR method.”
Claim 8 is objected to because of the recitation “concentrationsvalues.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because, though it recites in the preamble of the claim that the method is for identification, quantification, and in-vivo response assessment of a viable microbial organism from a biological specimen derived from a living organism, the first step of collecting a primary specimen does not make clear that the primary specimen is derived from a living organism. Clarification should be set forth at least in the first step of the claim.
Claim 1 is rendered indefinite by the recitation “natural growth” in line 4. The definition of “natural growth” of microbes is unclear.
Claim 1 is rendered indefinite by the recitation “recoding time of collection” in line 5. It is unclear what is meant by “recoding” time, and it is unclear how it is a result of collecting a primary specimen to obtain a microbes broth.
Claim 1 is rendered indefinite by the recitation “assessment/analysis” in line 6. It is unclear whether the forward slash is referring to “and,” “and/or,” or “or.” For the purpose of prior art, the forward slash is being interpreted as “and/or.” That is, “assessment/analysis” is being interpreted as “assessment and/or analysis.”
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the secondary culture" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no prior recitation of a secondary culture. Because there is no prior recitation of a secondary culture, then it is confusing that a secondary culture is being allowed. Also, it is confusing what is meant by “allowing” a secondary culture.
Claim 1 is rendered indefinite by the recitation of determining minimum inhibitory concentration (MIC) of the subculture specimen in lines 13-14. The term “minimum inhibitory concentration” is used in the art for referring to the lowest concentration of a chemical that inhibits the growth of a microbial organism. However, there is no prior recitation in the claim that the microbes are exposed to a chemical for which a minimum inhibitory concentration is determined. Therefore, it is confusing how MIC can be determined.
Claim 1 is rendered indefinite by the recitation “In parallel” in line 15, because it is unclear what is “in parallel” to the limitation in lines 15-19 of subjecting the subculture specimen through rapid standard quantitative methods.
The term “rapid” in lines 15 and 18 of claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “rapid” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what is considered “rapid standard quantitative methods” and a “rapid report.”
Also, claim 1 is rendered indefinite by the recitation “matching library” in line 16 because it is unclear what is being matched with a library. It is unclear whether the subculture specimen or the amplified specimen is matched with a library. For the purpose of applying prior art, the recitation is interpretated as matching the subculture specimen with a library.
Claim 1 is rendering indefinite by the recitation “to obtain the classification of the microbe” in lines 16-17. It is unclear that only one microbe is present in the microbes broth or the subculture specimen. Since there is no recitation of a single microbe, then it is confusing which single microbe of a plurality of microbes is “the microbe.” For the purpose of applying prior art, the recitation is being interpreted as “to obtain the classification of a microbe.”
Claim 1 is rendered indefinite by the recitation “(like gram positive/negative, species sub species etc)” in line 17. First, it is unclear how the recitation set forth in parentheses modifies the preceding recitation of “to obtain the classification of the microbe.” Also, the phrase "like" in line 17 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Furthermore, it is unclear whether the forward slash in the recitation “gram positive/negative” is referring to “and,” “and/or,” or “or.” Additionally, it is unclear what is encompassed by the term “etc” in the recitation.
Also, claim 1 is rendered indefinite by the recitation “a rapid report within time much earlier than the conventional culture” in line 18. The metes and bounds of “time much earlier than the conventional culture” cannot be ascertained because it is unclear what is a “conventional culture.” Since it is unclear what is a “conventional culture,” then the length of time of a conventional culture is unclear. Therefore, it is unclear what time is considered “much earlier” than the length of time of a conventional culture.
Claim 1 is rendered indefinite by the recitation “said standard quantitative method” in lines 18-19, because claim 1 recites “a rapid standard quantitative methods” in lines 15-16. Since lines 15-16 recite multiple rapid standard quantitative methods, then it is unclear which one of them is “said standard quantitative method” of lines 18-19. It is unclear whether only one, some, or all of the “rapid standard quantitative methods” is similar to polymerase chain reaction (PCR) method.
Additionally, the term “similar” in line 19 of claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “similar” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear the extent of shared characteristics with a PCR method that is required for a standard quantitative method to be considered “similar” to PCR method. For the purpose of applying prior art, the “rapid standard quantitative methods” and “standard quantitative method” of lines 15 and 18-19 are being interpreted as a standard polymerase chain reaction (PCR) method.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the potential resistant genes" in line 20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. To overcome this ground of rejection, it is suggested deleting the recitation “the” prior to the recitation “potential resistant genes.”
Also, claim 1 is rendered indefinite by the recitation “potential resistant genes” in line 20 because it is confusing how “potential” modifies the term “resistant genes.”
Claim 1 is rendered indefinite by the recitation “appropriate antibiotic” in line 21. It is unclear what the antibiotic is “appropriate” for.
Also, the recitation “suggesting for the use in the person for the control of the microbial growth” in lines 21-22 of claim 1 is confusing. It is unclear what is being suggested for use. Moreover, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the person” in the claim. There is no prior recitation of a person.
Claim 1 is rendered indefinite by the recitation “determining the MIC concentrations” in line 24. A minimum inhibitory concentration (MIC) is known in the art as the lowest concentration of a chemical which inhibits the growth of a microbial organism. However, there is no prior recitation of exposing the microbial organism to multiple chemicals, so it is unclear how multiple MICs can be determined. Instead, there is only prior recitation of determining an appropriate antibiotic.
Claim 1 is rendered indefinite by the recitation “the said data” in line 24 because it is unclear what data is being recited. It is unclear whether “the said data” is referring to the MIC concentrations.
Also, claim 1 is rendered indefinite by the recitation “comparing and sending the said data for the supervised learning models of AI/ ML (Artificial Intelligence / Machine learning)” in lines 24-25. First, it is unclear what the MIC concentrations are compared to. Second, it is unclear where the said data is sent to. The use of word “for” in the recitation does not signify that the data is sent to the supervised learning models of AI/ML.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the supervised learning models of AI/ ML (Artificial Intelligence / Machine learning)" in line 25. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no prior recitation of supervised learning models of AI/ML. This ground of rejection can be overcome by deleting the recitation “the” before “supervised.”
Claim 1 is rendered indefinite by the recitation “AI/ ML (Artificial Intelligence / Machine learning)” in lines 25 and 29-30. It is unclear whether the forward slash is referring to “and,” “and/or,” or “or.” For the purpose of prior art, the forward slash is being interpreted as “and.” That is, “AI/ ML (Artificial Intelligence / Machine learning)” is being interpreted as “AI and ML (Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning).”
Claim 1 is indefinite because the following recitation in lines 26-30 is confusing: “after administrating said determined antibiotic in the Source/ person (from where the specimen is obtained), to verify the clinical response and get serial samples/ specimens to monitor the microbial growth as well as response assessment via quantitative assessment and sending he data back for the supervised learning models of AI/ ML (Artificial Intelligence / Machine learning) to assist the score.” First, “after administrating said determined antibiotic in the Source/ person (from where the specimen is obtained)” is confusing because there is no prior recitation that the determined antibiotic is administrated to a source/person, nor is there prior recitation that the primary specimen, the subculture specimen, or the amplified specimen was obtained from a “Source/ person.” Second, it is unclear whether the forward slash in the recitation “Source/ person” is referring to “and,” “and/or,” or “or.” Third, the recitation is confusing because of the grammar. In using the word “to” after a comma and before the recitation “verify the clinical response” in line 27, it is confusing whether the recitation in lines 27-30 after “to” is performed or obtained as a result of previous step(s). Fourth, the recitation “verify the clinical response” is confusing because it is unclear to what the clinical response is – it is unclear whether the clinical response is to the determined antibiotic. Fifth, it is unclear whether the forward slash in the recitation “serial samples/ specimens” is referring to “and,” “and/or”, or “or.” Sixth, it is unclear from where the serial samples/specimens are obtained – it is unclear whether they are obtained from the source/person. Seventh, it is unclear whether getting serial samples/specimens is for getting “response assessment via quantitative assessment” and for getting the data sent back - this is unclear because of the use of the phrase “as well as” before the recitation “response assessment.” Eighth, the recitation “sending he data back for the supervised learning models of AI/ ML (Artificial Intelligence / Machine learning)” is confusing because it is unclear to where the data is sent back. The use of “for” in the recitation does not set forth that the data is sent back to the supervised learning models. Ninth, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the score” in line 30 of the claim. There is no prior recitation of a score, so it is unclear what is meant by “the score.” Ninth, it is unclear what is meant by “assist the score.”
Claim 1 recites the limitation "said susequent specimen" in line 31. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no prior recitation of a subsequent specimen.
Since claim 1 is indefinite, then its dependent claims, claims 2-9, are rendered indefinite. Therefore, claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim 3 is rendered indefinite by the recitation “natural growth.” The definition of “natural growth” of bacteria is unclear.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the gram positive, gram negative bacteria" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Parent claim 1 does not set forth that the primary specimen, or any other specimen, comprises gram positive and gram negative bacteria. This rejection can be overcome by substituting the recitation “the gram positive, gram negative bacteria” with “gram positive and gram negative bacteria” (includes deletion of the word “the”).
Claim 5 recites the limitations “said response assessment score” and "said antibiotics" in lines 1 and 2, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Parent claim 1 does not recite a “response assessment score,” and instead recites “response assessment” in line 28. Also, parent claim 1 does not recite antibiotics, and instead recites a single antibiotic (e.g., the determined antibiotic in line 26).
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Also, claim 6 is rendered indefinite by the recitation “either blood or solid tissue or any biological sample.” The term “either” is used for a choice between two. Therefore, it is confusing that three samples (blood, solid tissue, any biological sample) are recited after the recitation “either.”
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the PCRmethod". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Parent claim 1 does not recite that a PCR method is used. Instead, parent claim 1 recites in lines 18-19 a standard quantitative method that is similar to PCR method.
Also, claim 8 is rendered indefinite by the recitation “their response.” It is unclear what is corresponding to “their” – therefore, it is unclear whether “their response” is the response of various microbial organisms. Moreover, it is unclear to what is the response. For example, it is unclear whether “their response” is a response to an antibiotic, concentration of an antibiotic, or other factor.
Additionally, claim 8 is rendered indefinite by the recitation “MIC concentrationsvalues,” i.e., MIC concentrations values. MIC is the abbreviation for “minimum inhibitory concentration,” so ‘MIC concentrations values’ is “minimum inhibitory concentration concentrations values.” It is confusing that there are minimum inhibitory concentration concentrations, and it is unclear how “values” modifies the preceding term ‘minimum inhibitory concentration concentrations’ since a concentration is itself a value.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the nomograms" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Parent claim 1 does not recite nomograms, and instead recites a single nomogram (“nomogram” in line 11).
Claim 9 is rendered indefinite by the recitation “map time.” The definition of “map time” is unclear because it is not a term used in the art regarding bacteria, culture, and nomograms.
Claim Interpretation
Given the numerous issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) detailed above, claim 1 is being interpreted as follows:
1. A multi-parametric method for identification, quantification and in vivo response assessment of a viable microbial organism from a biological specimen derived from a living organism, comprising:
obtaining a primary specimen from a living organism;
collecting the primary specimen in a broth culture for growth of microbes to obtain a microbes broth;
eliminating the supernatant to avoid assessment and/or analysis of the dead microbes and to allow a secondary culture only for further characterization of only live microbes for subsequent analysis;
subjecting said microbes broth through a plurality of growth assessments to determine a first microbial burden in said microbes broth;
determining biological doubling time of a microbe through a nomogram;
subjecting said microbes broth to sub-culturing by placing said microbes broth in live media to obtain a subculture specimen;
subjecting said subculture specimen through a standard polymerase chain reaction (PCR) method to obtain an amplified specimen and matching the subculture specimen with a library to obtain the classification of a microbe to give a report;
analyzing said amplified specimen for resistant genes, thereby determining an antibiotic appropriate for use in control of microbial growth in the living organism from where the specimen is obtained;
further augmenting said amplified specimen with a conventional automated culture technique for determining the minimum inhibitory concentration (MIC) of the determined antibiotic, and sending the MIC to supervised learning models of AI/ML (Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning);
administrating said determined antibiotic to the living organism from where the specimen is obtained;
verifying the clinical response to the determined antibiotic, getting serial samples or specimens from the living organism to monitor the microbial growth, performing a response assessment via quantitative assessment from the serial samples or specimens, and sending the data back to the supervised learning models of AI/ML (Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning) to determine a score;
placing a specimen in live media for determining a subsequent microbial burden after a defined time;
calculating difference between said first microbial burden and said subsequent microbial burden to obtain the growth and type of the microbes; and
calculating a response assessment score based on said growth of microbes through an artificial intelligence module,
whereby said method detects the presence of viable microbial organisms through the identification of multiple parameters of a viable microbial organism from the biological specimen.
Notice Re: Prior Art Available Under Both Pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarvius (US 2017/0121759) in view of Kawabe (US 2021/0317503) and Sei (WO 2020/142274).
Jarvius discloses a method for detecting and characterizing a microorganism in a clinical sample (abstract, paragraph [0015]). The method comprises step (a) of introducing a clinical sample to a first culture vessel containing culture medium, and step b(i) of preculturing the clinical sample in said first culture vessel (paragraphs [0016]-[0017]). The clinical sample may be any clinical sample that may be obtained from a test subject, such as a human patient (paragraph [0081]). Also, the culture medium may be any suitable medium, examples of which include broths such as tryptic soy broth (paragraph [0086]). Therefore, Jarvius discloses a method for identification and characterization of a viable microbial organism from a biological specimen derived from a living organism, comprising obtaining a primary specimen from a living organism, and collecting the primary specimen in a broth culture for growth of microbes to obtain a microbes broth, meeting limitations of instant claim 1.
Then, after preculturing, Jarvius discloses a step b(ii) of removing a portion of the clinical sample culture from the first culture vessel, introducing said portion to a second culture vessel containing culture medium, and preculturing said portion in the second culture vessel (paragraph [0018]). It is obvious that the removal of a portion of the clinical sample culture leaves behind a supernatant, and the portion of the clinical sample culture that is removed comprises only live microbes. Therefore, Jarvius meets the limitation of instant claim 1 of eliminating the supernatant (which necessarily avoids assessment and/or analysis of the dead microbes) to allow a secondary culture only for further characterization of only live microbes for subsequent analysis.
In step (c) of Jarvius, a test aliquot is removed from the first and/or second culture vessel, and then culturing or continuation of culture is performed of the clinical sample and/or portion the first and/or second culture vessel (paragraph [0019]). The second culture can be cultured in a dedicated culture system for the molecular and rapid antimicrobial susceptibility tests (AST) of their invention (paragraph [0028]). In an antimicrobial susceptibility test, microbial growth is monitored by assessing growth or markers for growth (paragraph [0025]). Therefore, Jarvius meets the limitation of instant claim 1 of subjecting the microbes broth through a plurality of growth assessments to determine a first microbial burden in the microbes broth. When discussing the second culture, Jarvius refers to it as a sub-culture (paragraph [0028]). Therefore, Jarvius also meets the limitation of instant claim 1 of subjecting the microbes broth to sub-culturing by placing the microbes broth in live media (the culture medium of Jarvius is directed to it) to obtain a subculture specimen.
Additionally, Jarvius discloses step (d) of separating DNA from the test aliquot, and step e) of performing nucleic acid tests on the DNA to identify the microorganism and to detect the presence or absence of one or more genetic antimicrobial resistance markers in the microorganism (paragraphs [0020]-[0021]). The nucleic acid tests using one or more nucleic acid probes and/or primers for microbial identification and for antimicrobial resistance marker detection, wherein said probe or primer are capable of hybridizing or selectively amplifying a nucleotide sequence which is identificatory of a given microorganism or represents a genetic antimicrobial resistance marker (paragraphs [0022]-[0023]). Additionally, one or more primers may be used and a primer-based method may be used to detect and identify the microorganism (paragraph [0112]). The primer-based method typically will be an amplification method, most commonly PCR (paragraph [0112]). Therefore, Jarvius meets the limitation of instant claim 1 of subjecting the subculture specimen through a standard quantitative PCR method to obtain an amplified specimen. For the microbial identification, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan that this involves matching the nucleotide sequence to a library. Therefore, Jarvius renders obvious the limitation of instant claim 1 of matching the subculture specimen with a library to obtain the classification of a microbe to give a report.
Additionally, Jarvius discloses that their methods allow the microorganism to be characterized in terms of determining whether or not it is susceptible to given antimicrobial agents, and this may be done by testing for the presence of molecular resistance markers, namely genetic variants or particular genetic sequences which are associated with, or indicative of resistance to one or more antimicrobials, or classes of antimicrobial agent (paragraph [0079]). Also, Jarvius teaches that that antimicrobial agents are selected based on the identity of the microorganism, and on the nature of any genetic antimicrobial resistance markers identified within the microorganism (paragraph [0143]). The antimicrobials of the Jarvius invention may include antibiotics (paragraph [0148]). Therefore, Jarvius meets the limitation of instant claim 1 of analyzing the amplified specimen for resistant genes, thereby determining an antibiotic appropriate for use in control of microbial growth in the living organism from where the specimen is obtained.
If a microorganism is identified in step (e), then Jarvius teaches performing step (f) of performing an antimicrobial susceptibility test on the cultured clinical sample and/or a portion from step (c), wherein microbial growth in the antimicrobial susceptibility test is monitored by assessing growth or markers for growth (paragraph [0025]). Jarvius teaches that further ID testing may be performed, which include disc-diffusion tests to determine MICs (paragraph [0140]). Jarvius also teaches use of an automated microbial testing/detection system for the antimicrobial susceptibility testing (paragraph [0140]). Therefore, Jarvius teaches the limitation of instant claim 1 of using a conventional automated culture technique for determining the MIC of the determined antibiotic; in performing this step that provides additional data, then the amplified specimen is further augmented.
Jarvius differs from the claimed invention in that Jarvius does not expressly disclose determining biological doubling time of a microbe through a nomogram, sending the MIC to supervised learning models of AI/ML, administrating the determined antibiotic to the living organism from where the specimen is obtained, verifying the clinical response to the determined antibiotic, getting serial samples or specimens from the living organism to monitor the microbial growth, performing a response assessment via quantitative assessment from the serial samples or specimens, and sending the data based to the supervised learning models of AI/ML to determine a score, placing a specimen in live media for determining a subsequent microbial burden after a defined time, calculating difference between the first microbial burden and the subsequent microbial burden to obtain the growth and type of the microbes, and calculating a response assessment score based on the growth of microbes through an artificial intelligence module.
Kawabe discloses a bacterium number measuring system comprising a database storing known bacterial growth patterns in advance and an analyzing part (abstract). The analyzing part compares the bacterium number measurement result with the growth curves stores in the database and thereby determines a timing to perform MIC measurement which measures the number of bacteria in second cultures to determine a minimum inhibitory concentration of the measurement target bacterium (abstract). In one embodiment, the characteristics of a bacterial species are estimated by machine learning, comparing “the number of bacteria inoculated” and “the time it takes to double” with the logarithmic growth phase database (paragraph [0141]).
Sei discloses an optimized testing method that is used to determine minimum inhibitory concentration (MIC) of a particular antimicrobic (abstract). The method comprises incubating a first plurality of test mixtures in a plurality of test wells wherein each test mixture is inoculated with a first biological sample, and each test mixture has a different concentration of a first antimicrobial agent (claim 1 of Sei). A plurality of images are taken over time (claim 1 of Seit). The images are processed to determine various characteristic values that are provided as input to a machine learning model (abstract). Measurements, along with the identity and concentration of the antimicrobial in the test well, could be provided as inputs to the neural network’s input nodes (paragraph [00081]). As an example, the network could be trained to provide a likelihood that a first concentration is the MIC on a first output node, a likelihood that a second concentration is the MIC on a second output node, and a likelihood that a third concentration is the MIC on a third output node, and the concentration corresponding to the output node with the highest value could be treated as the MIC (paragraph [00081]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Kawabe and Sei into the method of Jarvius. In particular, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to determine doubling time of the microbes in order to monitor microbial growth of the Jarvius method, and sending the doubling time to a model of machine learning for comparison with a logarithmic growth phase database according to Kawabe. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this in order to estimate characteristics of a bacterial species. Additionally, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to send data regarding MICs to a machine learning model, based on Sei, because it would aid in determining the MIC of the antimicrobial (in particular, an antibiotic as disclosed in Jarvius) when performing the method of Jarvius. In incorporating the teachings of Kawabe and Sei into the method of Jarvius, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to repeat the testing and inputting into a model of machine learning (which is a subset of artificial intelligence) on multiple samples, including samples after administering the antibiotic to the subject from which the clinical sample was obtained, in order to track microbial growth, ascertain the success in determining an antibiotic suitable for treating an infection of the microorganism in the subject, and also to determine the appropriate treatment regimen with the antibiotic (dose, frequency). Therefore, Jarvius in view of Kawabe and Sei render obvious instant claims 1, 4-6, 7 (obvious to include a corrector factor in any experimental method, including a PCR method), 8, and 9.
Regarding instant claim 2, Jarvius discloses that methods for monitoring microbial growth include turbimetric measurement, colorimetric determination, pH measurement, amongst others (paragraph [0150]). Also, Jarvius discloses that the sample/microorganisms may be cultured on a plate containing the antimicrobial agent and microbial growth may be determined by visualizing the microorganisms (i.e. imaging the plate, etc.) (paragraph [0145]). Therefore, the culture is visualized or imaged directly as a means of monitoring a assessing growth (paragraph [0145]). These various methods for monitoring microbial growth meet the limitations of instant claim 2. Thus, instant claim 2 is rendered obvious.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarvius, Kawabe, and Sei as applied to claims 1, 2, and 4-9 above, and further in view of Leece (US 2006/0074029).
As discussed above, Jarvius in view of Kawabe and Sei renders obvious claims 1, 2, and 4-9. The references differ from claim 2 in that they do not expressly disclose that the culture medium (directed to live media) includes soybean casein agar that allows natural growth (interpreted by the Examiner as ‘growth’) on gram positive and gram negative bacteria.
Jarvius discloses that the culture medium may be any suitable medium, examples of which include complex growth media comprising tryptic soy broth, and the culture media may be in solid form (paragraph [0086]).
Leece discloses evaluating antimicrobial efficacy, comprising propagating bacteria on soybean-casein digest agar (i.e., TSA = tryptic soy agar) plates (paragraph [0031]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the culture medium of solid form with soybean-casein digest agar when practicing the method rendered obvious by Jarvius in view of Kawabe and Sei. It would have been an obvious matter of simple substitution of one solid culture medium for another for the predictable result of growing bacteria (which includes gram positive and gram negative bacteria). Therefore, instant claim 3 is rendered obvious.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Sef
/SUSAN E. FERNANDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1651