DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1 and 3-11, in the reply filed on 06/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/05/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “actuation finger 17” mentioned in para. [0039] of the application publication. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains a typo in line 8, which should read “The side faces alternate…”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the outside" in part ii of part b. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the at least one inner cavity half” in part c. The claim introduced that the center part has at least one pair of opposite side faces (i.e., at least two side faces), each comprising at least one inner cavity half, in part b. As such, the limitation is unclear as to whether it refers to the at least one inner cavity half/halves of all of the side faces or a subset of the side faces.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the displaceable cavity section" in part d. Claim 1 introduced that the center part has at least one pair of opposite side faces (i.e., at least two side faces), each comprising at least one inner cavity half, in part b, and “the at least one inner cavity half” comprises at least one displaceable cavity section. As such, the device includes multiple displaceable cavity sections, and the limitation is unclear as to whether it refers to all or a subset of the at least one displaceable cavity sections.
Claim 3 is presented as a dependent claim but does not depend from any numbered claim and is therefore indefinite. For further examination, claim 3 is interpreted to depend from claim 1.
Claim 4 is presented as a dependent claim but does not depend from an actual numbered claim and is therefore indefinite. For further examination, claim 4 is interpreted to depend from claim 3.
Claim 7 is presented as a dependent claim but does not depend from an actual numbered claim and is therefore indefinite. For further examination, claim 7 is interpreted to depend from claim 3.
Claim 7 recites “the rotation axis” in the last line. The claims have introduced two rotation axes that could be different axes (in claim 1, part b, and claim 3), such that the limitation is unclear as to which element is being referenced.
The indicated dependent claims are rejected for the reasons provided above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reinhardt, WO 2014075883 A1 (provided in Applicant’s IDS, Espacenet translation provided 04/10/2026 referenced below), in view of Iatan et al., US 20160151985 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Reinhardt discloses an injection molding device for making of multi-component plastic products by injection molding of several components of plastic material (injection molding machine 10, Fig. 1, making multi-component parts from plastic, [0020]), the injection molding device comprising:
A first mold half (first tool mounting plate 2, Fig. 1, [0032]) and a second mold half (second tool mounting plate 3, Fig. 1, [0032]) displaceable with respect to each other in a first direction between an open position and a closed position ([0032], 3 can be moved toward 2 along columns 14 to close, Fig. 1);
A center part (reversing/turning module 1, Fig. 1, [0033]) comprising an around a rotation axis rotatable center block (changing device 4 rotatable about first axis of rotation z, Fig. 1, [0033]) with at least one pair of opposite side faces (surface facing 2 and surface facing 3, arranged on opposite sides of the module 1, Fig. 1, [0033]) each comprising at least one inner cavity half (each having mold tool halves, [0033]) in the open position being arranged rotatable in steps of 90° around the rotation axis between the first mold half and the second mold half (rotatable by 90°, [0036], about rotation axis z between mold halves 2 and 3, Fig. 1, [0034]-[0036]) alternating between
An aligned position, forming in the closed position cavities with corresponding outer cavity halves arranged at the first mold half and the second mold half (position in which opposite surfaces of module 1 are assigned to respective plates 2, 3, each having mold tool halves, and closed to form cavities, [0033]), and
A lateral position accessible from the outside when in the closed position (position at which opposite surfaces of module 1 are rotated 90° and not assigned to mold halves 2, 3, such that their surfaces can be removed, [0036], i.e., are accessible);
The at least one inner cavity half comprising at least one in at least one direction displaceable cavity section (the inner cavity halves being displaceable with the changing device 4 at least during rotation and during closing, [0033]-[0036]; mold tool halves 11 arranged on the opposite surfaces of module 1 being additionally rotatable about orthogonal rotation axis, see “y” in Figs. 5 and 7, to change assignment, [0037]-[0038]);
Wherein the at least one displaceable cavity section is arranged rotatable with respect to the side face of the center block in which it is arranged (rotation with respect to corresponding side face shown in Figs. 5 and 7).
Reinhardt depicts the rotation of the displaceable cavity sections (see arrows indicating rotation of mold tool halves in Fig. 5) and discloses the displaceable cavity sections being arranged to be moved from a first position to a second position (changing a position of the mold halves by rotation around the second axis of rotation, [0019]) but is silent as to a drive unit performing the moving.
In the analogous art, Iatan discloses an injection molding device (Abstract) including displaceable mold cavity sections (inserts 250, Fig. 13) mounted on a rotating platen (carrier platen 260, Fig. 13) movable via a drive unit (actuator 262 and corresponding gear 264 mating with toothed outer periphery of rotatable platen 260, Fig. 13, [0105]) configured to interact with the displaceable cavity section to move the displaceable cavity section from a first position to a second position (configured to rotate the carrier platen 260 in which the mold inserts 250 are arranged to reposition the inserts, [0105], Figs. 13-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adopt the drive configuration of Iatan in the injection molding device of Reinhardt such that the device included a drive unit configured to interact with the displaceable cavity section arranged in the lateral position to move the displaceable cavity section from a first position to a second position in order to provide a known means for reliably achieving the rotation of the rotary devices mentioned by Reinhardt to controllably change a position of the corresponding mold halves as taught by Iatan.
Regarding claim 3, modified Reinhardt discloses the device of [claim 1], and Reinhardt discloses the displaceable cavity section is arranged on a turntable (rotary device 9 arranged on each face of module 1 to change assignment of mold tool halves arranged on these surfaces, [0037]-[0038]; rotation depicted in Fig. 5) rotatable about a rotation axis extending perpendicular to the respective side face of the center block (Fig. 5, see orthogonal rotation axis y).
Regarding claim 6, modified Reinhardt discloses the device of claim 3, wherein the turntable comprises a first gear (Iatan: toothed outer periphery of rotatable carrier platen 260, Fig. 13) to interconnect to a second gear of the drive unit (Iatan: driving gear 264, Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 11, modified Reinhardt discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the drive unit is arranged in a fixed manner with respect to the first mold half or the second mold half (Reinhardt: the center part can be held fixed with respect to the first or second mold half, e.g., when it is not rotating or closing; thus, the drive unit of the combination can be held fixed).
Claim(s) 4-5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reinhardt, WO 2014075883 A1, in view of Iatan et al., US 20160151985 A1, as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Zhao et al., CN 110271134 A (Espacenet machine translation attached and referenced below).
Regarding claim 4, modified Reinhardt discloses the device of [claim 3]. Reinhardt discloses the mold halves can be disposed in a variety of arrangements (e.g., [0038]) and Iatan discloses the mold halves are “inserts,” implying that they would be removable. The combination does not explicitly describe the displaceable cavity section as being arranged displaceable with respect to the turntable.
In the analogous art, Zhao discloses an injection molding apparatus including a turntable 111 supporting a plurality of mold halves 12 (Figs. 1-2, [0039]), each of which is detachably held on the table via pressure blocks 15 so that the mold halves are replaceable (Fig. 2, [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the displaceable cavity section of Reinhardt was arranged displaceable with respect to the turntable to facilitate replacement or interchanging of the cavity sections as taught by Zhao.
Regarding claim 5, modified Reinhardt discloses the device of claim 4, wherein the displaceable cavity section is actuated by at least one actuation finger arranged at the center block (Zhao: pressure blocks 15, Fig. 2, [0052]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Reinhardt discloses the device of claim 1. Reinhardt does not explicitly disclose the displaceable cavity section is arranged displaceable perpendicular to the respective side face of the center block.
In the analogous art, Zhao discloses an injection molding apparatus including a turntable 111 supporting a plurality of mold halves 12 (Figs. 1-2, [0039]), each of which is detachably held on the table via pressure blocks 15, such that the cavity sections are displaceable perpendicular to the underlying supporting face of the turntable, so that the mold halves are replaceable (Fig. 2, [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the displaceable cavity section of Reinhardt was arranged displaceable perpendicular to the respective side face of the center block to facilitate replacement or interchanging of the cavity sections as taught by Zhao.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reinhardt, WO 2014075883 A1, in view of Iatan et al., US 20160151985 A1, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Arend, US 6613262 B1.
Regarding claim 7, modified Reinhardt discloses the device of [claim 3]. Reinhardt is silent as to the turntable being with respect to the center block arranged linearly displaceable in the direction of the [either] rotation axis.
In the analogous art, Arend discloses movable mold modules for injection molding complex parts (Abstract). Arend discloses a configuration including a pivotable carriage 934 on which a mold part/half 923 arranged on a movable platform 922 is mounted, wherein a structure supporting the mold part 923 with respect to the carriage block (plate structure between mold part 923 and platform 922) is arranged linearly displaceable in a direction orthogonal to the face of the carriage block adjacent the corresponding mold part (Figs. 33-35). Arend teaches that the displaceability of the mold part 923 via the platform 922 and corresponding tie rod assembly improves access to the mold parts between molding processes and can be used to account for mold height or depth variation between various mold parts (col. 23, lines 4-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the center part of the combination such that the turntable supporting the cavity sections was with respect to the center block arranged linearly displaceable in the direction of the rotation axis so as to provide enhanced movement capability and position control of the mold cavity sections for improved access to the mold parts between molding processes and/or to account for height/depth variations between mold parts as taught by Arend.
Regarding claim 8, modified Reinhardt discloses the device of claim 7, wherein the turntable is arranged on a platform (Arend: movable platform 922, Figs. 33-35), said platform being arranged linearly displaceable in the direction of the [either] rotation axis (Arend: linearly displaceable along a direction orthogonal to the face of the platform, seen between Figs. 34-35; in the combination, the direction would correspond to the direction of the rotation axis of the turntable of Reinhardt).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reinhardt, WO 2014075883 A1, in view of Iatan et al., US 20160151985 A1, as applied to claim 3 above, alone or further in view of Yang, US 20040195722 A1.
Regarding claim 9, modified Reinhardt discloses the device of claim 3. Reinhardt is silent as to two turntables being arranged in a side face adjacent to each other. However, Reinhardt discloses one turntable arranged in a side face (e.g., Fig. 5), and the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). In this case, a duplication of a turntable, such that there were two turntables in a side face instead of one, would have the predictable result of two different rotating support surfaces capable of positioning the corresponding cavity sections with the foreseeable advantage of different combinations for arrangements of the forming tools. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device to have two turntables arranged in a side face adjacent to each other in order to provide the capability of forming different molding cavities for molding additional parts or for forming additional features on the molded parts.
Alternatively, in the analogous art, Yang discloses a rotatable molding board for injection molding ([0006]), wherein the molding board 1 is provided with two turntables 10, 20, each comprising a plurality of cavity sections 11, 12, and 21, 22, respectively, arranged in a side face adjacent to each other (Fig. 1, [0012]). Yang teaches the configuration allows for the injection of multiple colors of plastic materials, saves working and installation space, and can reduce costs and increase output ([0046]-[0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the center block of Reinhardt to include two turntables arranged in a side face adjacent to each other in order to increase the number and possible combinations of mold cavities for producing multicolored objects, saving working and installation space, and increasing throughput as taught by Yang.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20090243148 A1, Gruber discloses injection molding devices including a rotatable center block (Fig. 1) and a movable platen with a turntable (Figs. 3-4).
WO 2012157827 A1, Park discloses an injection mold including a turntable with multiple cavity sections mounted on a platform arranged on a fixing plate (Fig. 6).
/J.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754