DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 5707043 (JP’043) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2012/0216915 to Takata et al. (Takata). JP’043 was cited on an IDS and a copy filed with the application. Therefore, as copy has not been included with this office action.
Regarding claim 1, JP’043 discloses a hydrogen station comprising a liquid hydrogen supply pipe (liquefied hydrogen lead-out passage 3) for supplying liquid hydrogen from a liquid hydrogen storage tank (liquefied hydrogen storage tank 1) to a liquid hydrogen pump (liquefied hydrogen pressure pump 2), wherein the hydrogen station is configured to cool the liquid hydrogen supply pipe (see paragraph [0013]). JP’043 does not disclose a refrigerator configured to use cooling energy generated by the refrigerator to cool the liquid hydrogen supply pipe. Takata teaches a hydrogen station comprising a refrigerator (refrigerator 18), and cold energy generated by the refrigerator is used to cool (see [0053]-[]0055]) a hydrogen supply pipe (hydrogen supply pipe 22) to prevent losses due to vaporization. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a refrigerator generating cooling energy to cool the liquid hydrogen supply pipe as taught by Takata in the system of JP’043 to prevent vaporization of the hydrogen.
Regarding claim 10, Takata further teaches the refrigerator includes a pre-cooling line (23) provided along a section of at least a part of the liquid hydrogen supply pipe (Fig. 3), and is configured to cool the liquid hydrogen supply pipe by flowing a refrigerant through the pre-cooling line (refrigerant flows through pipe 23 to cool hydrogen supply pipe 22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system of JP’043 to include a pre-cooling line along at least part of the liquid hydrogen supply pipe as taught by Takata, which further helps to prevent vaporization of the hydrogen.
Regarding claim 11, JP’043 as modified by Takata further teaches wherein in a case where a length of the liquid hydrogen supply pipe from the liquid hydrogen storage tank to the liquid hydrogen pump is denoted by L1 (inherent the pipe has a first length), and a length of the section of the liquid hydrogen supply pipe provided with the pre-cooling line is denoted by L3 (inherent the section with the pre-cooling line has a second length), but does not explicitly disclose L3/L1 > 0.5. However, Applicant has placed no criticality on the ratio being at least .5 (see [0046] which discloses a number of different ratios which can be used). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured L1 and L3 such that the ration of L3/L1 is at least .5 as such a change requires only a change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A). A ration of at least .5 helps to ensure that the liquid hydrogen pipe is sufficiently cooled to maintain the hydrogen as a liquid.
The hydrogen station according to claim 10, JP’043 further discloses a hydrogen gas supply pipe (8) that connects an evaporator (5) for evaporating the liquid hydrogen discharged from the liquid hydrogen pump and a dispenser (the dispenser connecting supply pipe 8 to container 7) for supplying the hydrogen gas generated by evaporating the liquid hydrogen in the evaporator to a hydrogen receiving container (7) but does not disclose a heat exchange unit configured to cool the hydrogen gas flowing through the hydrogen gas supply pipe by using the refrigerant after passing through the pre-cooling line. Takata further teaches a heat exchange unit (12) configured to cool the hydrogen gas flowing through the hydrogen gas supply pipe by using the refrigerant after passing through the pre-cooling line ([0051]-[0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further included a heat exchanger to cool the hydrogen gas using the refrigerant as taught by Takata in the system of JP’043 for further maintaining the hydrogen at the desired temperature.
Claim 13 is allowed.
Claims 2-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the cited documents do not disclose “a first heat exchange unit configured to cool hydrogen gas by exchanging heat with a refrigerant of the refrigerator; a cooling hydrogen gas supply pipe configured to supply the hydrogen gas cooled by the first heat exchange unit to the liquid hydrogen supply pipe; and a cooling hydrogen gas recovery pipe configured to recover the hydrogen gas passing through the liquid hydrogen supply pipe and return the hydrogen gas to the first heat exchange unit.” The examiner finds no evidence that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the cited documents to include this configuration, absent the teachings of Applicant’s disclosure. Therefore, the cited documents do not disclose or render obvious the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For example, US Patent 12,209,710 and US Patent 7,131,278 disclose dispensing stations for cryogenic liquids.
/NICOLAS A ARNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753 June 27, 2026