DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/23/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-12, 14-15, 22-25, 27, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Thomas et al. (US 2025/0227656 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Thomas discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
engaging in a sidelink positioning session with at least one other UE ( Fig.1, [0050] remote unit 105 being an initiator and transmitting a positioning measurement configuration, and the initiator device sends the measurement configuration, and/or other configurations, and receives the positioning report 127 over a SL connection 115 between the initiator device and the responder device 106.); and
transmitting at least one sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) to the at least one other UE at a transmit power level (Fig.9B, [0099] In particular, FIG. 9B is a conceptual exemplary diagram of enabling one anchor node 902a-c to adapt its SL PRS transmit power with respect to other anchor node's 902a-c participating in the SL positioning session (e.g., performing SL-TDoA) as part of Scenario 1. At step 1 (see messaging 920), in one embodiment, anchor node 1 902a transmits SL RS to anchor node 2 902b at certain fixed SL Tx power. At step 2 (see messaging 922), in one embodiment, anchor node 2 902b reports average SL RS RSRP to anchor node 1 902a), wherein the transmit power level is less than or equal to a maximum permitted transmit power level for transmission of SL-PRS ([[0109] he transmit power for SL PRS may be calculated using the following model:
[00001]PSL-PRS=min{Pcmax,P0,DL+10log10(2μMPSSCH)+αDLPLDL}(1)
[0110] where P.sub.cmax is the UE configured maximum transmit power, P.sub.0,DL is the nominal power provide to the initiator/anchor device, μ refers to the sub-carrier spacing at which the SL PRS is transmitted, M.sub.PSSCH=L.sub.subM.sub.sub refers to the number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) required to transmit the SL PRS as function of the number of sub-channels (L.sub.sub) and number PRBs per sub-channel (M.sub.sub), α.sub.DL is the configured fractional power factor together with the computed DL pathloss (PL.sub.DL).
Regarding claim 3, Thomas discloses wherein the transmit power level is the maximum permitted transmit power level ([0109] ([[0109] he transmit power for SL PRS may be calculated using the following model:
[00001]PSL-PRS=min{Pcmax,P0,DL+10log10(2μMPSSCH)+αDLPLDL}(1)
[0110] where P.sub.cmax is the UE configured maximum transmit power, P.sub.0,DL is the nominal power provide to the initiator/anchor device, μ refers to the sub-carrier spacing at which the SL PRS is transmitted).
Regarding claim 4, Thomas further discloses measuring a downlink pathloss between a base station and the UE, wherein the transmit power level is based on the downlink pathloss ([0109] In one implementation option, the initiator device or anchor device may control the transmission power of the SL PRS using the PSSCH based on only the DL pathloss estimate computed by the initiator device or anchor device. This DL pathloss may already be derived based on previously received RS signals such as SSB, CSI-RS, or the like).
Regarding claim 5, Thomas further discloses measuring a sidelink pathloss between the at least one other UE and the UE wherein the transmit power level is based on the sidelink pathloss (0094] In another implementation option, the responder device 904 may control the transmission power of the (reply) SL PRS using the physical sidelink shared channel (“PSSCH”) based on only the SL pathloss estimate computed by the responder device 904).
Regarding claim 6, Thomas further discloses wherein the transmit power level is based on a preconfigured value ([0109] In the case that DL pathloss is required, the transmit power for SL PRS may be calculated using the following model:
[00001]PSL-PRS=min{Pcmax,P0,DL+10log10(2μMPSSCH)+αDLPLDL}(1)
[0110] where P.sub.cmax is the UE configured maximum transmit power, P.sub.0,DL is the nominal power provide to the initiator/anchor device, μ refers to the sub-carrier spacing at which the SL PRS is transmitted).
Regarding claim 7, Thomas further discloses wherein the transmit power level is set based on at least two of: the maximum permitted transmit power level (0112] where P.sub.cmax is the UE configured maximum transmit power, P.sub.0,SL is the nominal power provide to the initiator/anchor device, μ refers to the sub-carrier spacing at which the SL PRS is transmitted), a downlink pathloss between a base station and the UE (0109] In one implementation option, the initiator device or anchor device may control the transmission power of the SL PRS using the PSSCH based on only the DL pathloss estimate computed by the initiator device or anchor device. This DL pathloss may already be derived based on previously received RS signals such as SSB, CSI-RS, or the like. In an alternative option, the initiator UE/anchor device may be (pre)configured with a DL pathloss reference by the serving gNB.), a sidelink pathloss between the at least one other UE and the UE, an preconfigured value ([0112] where P.sub.cmax is the UE configured maximum transmit power, P.sub.0,SL is the nominal power provide to the initiator/anchor device, μ refers to the sub-carrier spacing at which the SL PRS is transmitted, M.sub.PSSCH=L.sub.subM.sub.sub refers to the number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) required to transmit the SL PRS as function of the number of sub-channels (L.sub.sub) and number PRBs per sub-channel (M.sub.sub), α.sub.SL is the configured fractional power factor together with the computed SL pathloss (PL.sub.SL)).
Regarding 9, Thomas further discloses wherein the transmit power level is configured per component carrier, sidelink bandwidth part, sidelink resource pool ([0103] The muting configuration may allow the SL PRS signal to be transmitted with zero/minimal power such that the SL PRS may not interfere with the SL PRS of nearby anchor nodes. In one embodiment, the anchor node muting configuration for SL PRS resources may be configured on one or more of the following SL PRS resource granularities including SL positioning frequency, SL positioning/data resource pool, resource sets, resources, and/or the like), congestion level, priority associated with transmission of the at least one SL-PRS by the UE, or any combination thereof.
Regarding claim 10, Thomas further discloses the at least one SL-PRS is scheduled to be transmitted to multiple other UEs ([0099] FIG. 9B is a conceptual exemplary diagram of enabling one anchor node 902a-c to adapt its SL PRS transmit power with respect to other anchor node's 902a-c participating in the SL positioning session (e.g., performing SL-TDoA) as part of Scenario 1. At step 1 (see messaging 920), in one embodiment, anchor node 1 902a transmits SL RS to anchor node 2 902b at certain fixed SL Tx power. At step 2 (see messaging 922), in one embodiment, anchor node 2 902b reports average SL RS RSRP to anchor node 1 902a. At step 3 (see messaging 924), in one embodiment, anchor node 1 902a transmits SL RS to anchor node 3 902c at certain fixed SL Tx power. At step 4 (see messaging 926), in one embodiment, anchor node 3 902c reports average SL RS RSRP to anchor node 1 902a. At step 5 (see messaging 928), in one embodiment, anchor node 1 902a computes SL pathloss reference 2 and 3 with respect to anchor nodes 2 902b and 3 902c, respectively, and adapts SL PRS Tx power to the responder device 904).
Regarding claim 11, Thomas further discloses measuring respective sidelink pathlosses between the multiple other UEs and the UE ([0099] The responder device 904 may also feedback the computed SL pathloss to at least one or more anchor nodes 902a-c involved in a many one-to-one SL positioning session (e.g., SL-TDoA).); and identifying a weakest signal path based on the respective sidelink pathlosses, wherein the transmit power level is based on the weakest signal path ([0112] ….. In one embodiment, the initiator/anchor device selects the minimum transmit power value from the argument). Regarding claim 12, Thomas further discloses identifying one of the multiple other UEs (0111] In another implementation option, the initiator device or anchor device may control the transmission power of the SL PRS using the PSSCH based on only the SL pathloss estimate computed by the initiator device or anchor device), and
measuring a sidelink pathloss between the at least one other UE and the UE wherein the transmit power level is based on the sidelink pathloss ([0094] In another implementation option, the responder device 904 may control the transmission power of the (reply) SL PRS using the physical sidelink shared channel ("PSSCH") based on only the SL pathloss estimate computed by the responder device 904).
Regarding claim 14, Thomas further discloses receiving a value via signaling from one of the multiple other UEs, wherein the transmit power level is based on the received value ([0094] In another implementation option, the responder device 904 may control the transmission power of the (reply) SL PRS using the physical sidelink shared channel (“PSSCH”) based on only the SL pathloss estimate computed by the responder device 904. Furthermore, the responder device 904 may rely on the provided SL assistance information comprising at least the SL transmit power provided by the anchor device 904a-c, which may be signaled using sidelink control information (“SCI”), PSSCH, PC5 RRC, SL LTE positioning protocol (“LPP”), SL MAC CE, and/or the like signaling).
Regarding claim 15 Thomas further discloses measuring a sidelink pathloss between the one of the multiple UEs and the UE, wherein the transmit power level is based on the received vaslue and the sidelink pathloss ([0094] In another implementation option, the responder device 904 may control the transmission power of the (reply) SL PRS using the physical sidelink shared channel (“PSSCH”) based on only the SL pathloss estimate computed by the responder device 904. Furthermore, the responder device 904 may rely on the provided SL assistance information comprising at least the SL transmit power provided by the anchor device 904a-c).
Regarding claim 22, Thomas discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory, at least one transceiver, and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor ([0146] the first apparatus includes a processor and a memory coupled to the processor. In one embodiment, the memory includes instructions that are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive a configuration for adapting a transmit power of a SL PRS transmission for a responder device) configured to:
engage in a sidelink positioning session with at least one other UE ( Fig.1, [0050] remote unit 105 being an initiator and transmitting a positioning measurement configuration, and the initiator device sends the measurement configuration, and/or other configurations, and receives the positioning report 127 over a SL connection 115 between the initiator device and the responder device 106.); and
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, at least one sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) to the at least one other UE at a transmit power level (Fig.9B, [0099] In particular, FIG. 9B is a conceptual exemplary diagram of enabling one anchor node 902a-c to adapt its SL PRS transmit power with respect to other anchor node's 902a-c participating in the SL positioning session (e.g., performing SL-TDoA) as part of Scenario 1. At step 1 (see messaging 920), in one embodiment, anchor node 1 902a transmits SL RS to anchor node 2 902b at certain fixed SL Tx power. At step 2 (see messaging 922), in one embodiment, anchor node 2 902b reports average SL RS RSRP to anchor node 1 902a), wherein the transmit power level is less than or equal to a maximum permitted transmit power level for transmission of SL-PRS ([[0109] he transmit power for SL PRS may be calculated using the following model:
[00001]PSL-PRS=min{Pcmax,P0,DL+10log10(2μMPSSCH)+αDLPLDL}(1)
[0110] where P.sub.cmax is the UE configured maximum transmit power, P.sub.0,DL is the nominal power provide to the initiator/anchor device, μ refers to the sub-carrier spacing at which the SL PRS is transmitted, M.sub.PSSCH=L.sub.subM.sub.sub refers to the number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) required to transmit the SL PRS as function of the number of sub-channels (L.sub.sub) and number PRBs per sub-channel (M.sub.sub), α.sub.DL is the configured fractional power factor together with the computed DL pathloss (PL.sub.DL).
Regarding claim 23, Thomas further discloses wherein the transmit power level is the maximum permitted transmit power level ([0109] ([[0109] he transmit power for SL PRS may be calculated using the following model:
[00001]PSL-PRS=min{Pcmax,P0,DL+10log10(2μMPSSCH)+αDLPLDL}(1)
[0110] where P.sub.cmax is the UE configured maximum transmit power, P.sub.0,DL is the nominal power provide to the initiator/anchor device, μ refers to the sub-carrier spacing at which the SL PRS is transmitted).
Regarding claim 24, Thomas further discloses measuring a downlink pathloss between a base station and the UE, wherein the transmit power level is based on the downlink pathloss ([0109] In one implementation option, the initiator device or anchor device may control the transmission power of the SL PRS using the PSSCH based on only the DL pathloss estimate computed by the initiator device or anchor device. This DL pathloss may already be derived based on previously received RS signals such as SSB, CSI-RS, or the like).
Regarding claim 25, Thomas further discloses measuring a sidelink pathloss between the at least one other UE and the UE wherein the transmit power level is based on the sidelink pathloss ([0094] In another implementation option, the responder device 904 may control the transmission power of the (reply) SL PRS using the physical sidelink shared channel (“PSSCH”) based on only the SL pathloss estimate computed by the responder device 904).
Regarding 27, Thomas further discloses wherein the transmit power level is configured per component carrier, sidelink bandwidth part, sidelink resource pool ([0103] The muting configuration may allow the SL PRS signal to be transmitted with zero/minimal power such that the SL PRS may not interfere with the SL PRS of nearby anchor nodes. In one embodiment, the anchor node muting configuration for SL PRS resources may be configured on one or more of the following SL PRS resource granularities including SL positioning frequency, SL positioning/data resource pool, resource sets, resources, and/or the like), congestion level, priority associated with transmission of the at least one SL-PRS by the UE, or any combination thereof.
Regarding claim 29, Thomas discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
means for engaging in a sidelink positioning session with at least one other UE (Fig.1, [0050] remote unit 105 being an initiator and transmitting a positioning measurement configuration, and the initiator device sends the measurement configuration, and/or other configurations, and receives the positioning report 127 over a SL connection 115 between the initiator device and the responder device 106.); and
means for transmitting, at least one sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) to the at least one other UE at a transmit power level (Fig.9B, [0099] In particular, FIG. 9B is a conceptual exemplary diagram of enabling one anchor node 902a-c to adapt its SL PRS transmit power with respect to other anchor node's 902a-c participating in the SL positioning session (e.g., performing SL-TDoA) as part of Scenario 1. At step 1 (see messaging 920), in one embodiment, anchor node 1 902a transmits SL RS to anchor node 2 902b at certain fixed SL Tx power. At step 2 (see messaging 922), in one embodiment, anchor node 2 902b reports average SL RS RSRP to anchor node 1 902a), wherein the transmit power level is less than or equal to a maximum permitted transmit power level for transmission of SL-PRS ([[0109] he transmit power for SL PRS may be calculated using the following model:
[00001]PSL-PRS=min{Pcmax,P0,DL+10log10(2μMPSSCH)+αDLPLDL}(1)
[0110] where P.sub.cmax is the UE configured maximum transmit power, P.sub.0,DL is the nominal power provide to the initiator/anchor device, μ refers to the sub-carrier spacing at which the SL PRS is transmitted, M.sub.PSSCH=L.sub.subM.sub.sub refers to the number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) required to transmit the SL PRS as function of the number of sub-channels (L.sub.sub) and number PRBs per sub-channel (M.sub.sub), α.sub.DL is the configured fractional power factor together with the computed DL pathloss (PL.sub.DL).
Regarding claim 30, Thomas discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executable by a user equipment (UE), cause the UE to: engage in a sidelink positioning session with at least one other UE ( Fig.1, [0050] remote unit 105 being an initiator and transmitting a positioning measurement configuration, and the initiator device sends the measurement configuration, and/or other configurations, and receives the positioning report 127 over a SL connection 115 between the initiator device and the responder device 106.); and
transmit, at least one sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) to the at least one other UE at a transmit power level (Fig.9B, [0099] In particular, FIG. 9B is a conceptual exemplary diagram of enabling one anchor node 902a-c to adapt its SL PRS transmit power with respect to other anchor node's 902a-c participating in the SL positioning session (e.g., performing SL-TDoA) as part of Scenario 1. At step 1 (see messaging 920), in one embodiment, anchor node 1 902a transmits SL RS to anchor node 2 902b at certain fixed SL Tx power. At step 2 (see messaging 922), in one embodiment, anchor node 2 902b reports average SL RS RSRP to anchor node 1 902a), wherein the transmit power level is less than or equal to a maximum permitted transmit power level for transmission of SL-PRS ([[0109] the transmit power for SL PRS may be calculated using the following model:
[00001]PSL-PRS=min{Pcmax,P0,DL+10log10(2μMPSSCH)+αDLPLDL}(1)
[0110] where P.sub.cmax is the UE configured maximum transmit power, P.sub.0,DL is the nominal power provide to the initiator/anchor device, μ refers to the sub-carrier spacing at which the SL PRS is transmitted, M.sub.PSSCH=L.sub.subM.sub.sub refers to the number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) required to transmit the SL PRS as function of the number of sub-channels (L.sub.sub) and number PRBs per sub-channel (M.sub.sub), α.sub.DL is the configured fractional power factor together with the computed DL pathloss (PL.sub.DL).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al. in view of Zhang et al. (WO 20222/03575 A1)
Regarding claim 2, Thomas fails to explicitly disclose that the maximum permitted transmit power level is based on a power class of the UE, a regulatory power level for a frequency range for transmission of the at least SL-PRS, or both
In an analogous field of endeavor, Zhang discloses a method performed by a wireless device for coverage detection as to whether a sidelink operation of the wireless device is considered to be inside or outside coverage of a cell (see abstract).
According to Zhang, In legacy sidelink operation, the power class of the SL UE is the same as that of a cellular UE. For example, both SL and Uu UEs belong to power class 3 when operating on licensed band, such as in band n38 (2570 MHz-2620 MHz). Power class 2 (PC2) SL UE will be introduced in NR licensed band n38 in Rel-17. The network will configure the maximum allowed UE transmit power with the information element (IE) p-max for NR Uu UE (see page 5, lines 3-12) and that the power class of the wireless device is considered in determining the maximum transmit power of the wireless device in determining whether sidelink operation is inside or outside a cell , page 8, lines 10-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Zhang’s teaching of sidelink operation coverage determination with Thomas’s sidelink positioning system in order to ensure appropriate parameters for sidelink operations including required power control as taught by Zhang.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al. in view of Hoang et al. (WO 2024/035708 A1)
Regarding claims 16 and 17 Thomas discloses wherein the SL-PRS is based on a transmit power level of Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) transmitted by the UE, a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) transmitted by the UE or both but fails to explicitly disclose that an Energy per Resource Element (EPRE) of the at least one SL-PRS is based on a transmit power level of Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) transmitted by the UE, a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) transmitted by the UE or both, and wherein the EPRE of the at least one SL-PRS is based on a ratio or a difference between the EPRE and the transmit power level of the PSCCH, the PSSCH, or both.
In an analogous of field of endeavor, Hoang discloses a method for power control for sidelink positioning (see abstract) in which a WTRU may adjust the transmission power of PSCCH/PSSCH based on the transmission power of SL-PRS. Specifically, the WTRU may adjust the transmission power of PSCCH/PSSCH by increasing or decreasing the PSCCH/PSSCH transmission power such that the Energy Per Resource Element (EPRE) gap between two channel is smaller than a threshold. The threshold may be fixed or (pre-)configured, which may be a function of the QoS of the positioning service (see [0109]), and wherein the EPRE of the at least one SL-PRS is based on a ratio or a difference between the EPRE and the transmit power level of the PSCCH, the PSSCH, or both ([0110] As a further example, the WTRU may adjust the transmission power of SL-PRS based on the transmission power of PSCCH/PSSCH. Specifically, the WTRU may adjust the transmission power of SL- PRS by increasing or decreasing the SL-PRS transmission power such that the EPRE gap between two channel is smaller than the threshold.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Hoang’s method for EPRE determination into Thomas’s sidelink power control system for the benefit of ensuring effective interference minimization during sidelink positioning determination as taught by Hoang (see [0005]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 13, 18-21, 26, and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Huang et al. (US 2023/0064680 A1) discloses a method for sidelink transmission in a wireless communication in which maximum sidelink transmit power may be defined by regulatory requirements.
Guo et al. (US 11496246 B2) discloses power control and HARQ operation in a sidelink
Akkarakaran et al. US 11812394 B2) discloses sidelink transmit power control
Xi et al. (WO 2020/069175 A1) discloses a system for vehicle-to-everything (V2X) power control.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641