DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 3/30/2026 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 1-6 and 12-16 have been withdrawn, claims 17-18 have been newly added. Currently claims 17-11 and 17-18 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 17, the phrase “wherein the projection lens of the first lamp unit has an optical axis extending in a front-rear direction of the lamp, and the first lamp unit is provided rear of a focal point of the first projection lens.” is unclear because:
Claim 17 depends from claim 1 where it is recited the first lamp unit includes: a projection lens, a light source and a reflector, see lines 4-6. Claim 1 also recites the projection lens has a rear focal point.
Note: it is assumed the “first projection lens” on claim 17, line 3 refers back to the “projection lens” on claim 17, line 1.
Therefore, it is not clear how the first lamp unit, which includes a projection lens, could be positioned on the rear of a focal point of its own projection lens.
For purpose of examination, the phrase above has been interpreted to mean: -- wherein the projection lens of the first lamp unit has an optical axis extending in a front-rear direction of the lamp, and the light source of the first lamp unit is provided rear of a focal point of the projection lens. --
Claim 18 is rejected as it depends from claim 17
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-11 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Colombel et al. (WO 2021105058 A1, hereinafter, “Colombel” previously cited by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 7, Colombel teaches a vehicle lamp (Light module 2, see figures 1-13) comprising:
a first lamp unit (see 1st in annotated figure below) and a second lamp unit (se 2nd in annotated figure 7 below) arranged side by side in a left-right direction (as seen in fig 5), wherein
the first lamp unit (1st) and the second lamp unit (2nd) each include a projection lens (first portion 38 for 2nd, and second portion 40 for 1st, as seen in fig 5), a light source (light sources 76 for 1st and 2nd, better seen in fig 5) disposed on the rear of the lamp (2) with respect to a rear focal point (focal point of optical element 10, which comprises 38 and 40, see ¶ 4-6 of “Description”) of the projection lens (38, 40), and a reflector (see multiple portions of reflector 12 for 1st and 2nd as seen in fig 7) configured to reflect light emitted from the light source (76s) toward the projection lens (38 and 40),
the reflector (potion of 12 in 1st) of the first lamp unit (1st) reflects the light emitted from the light source (76 in 1st) of the first lamp unit (1st) as light converging (as each reflector portion, also labeled cavity 116, is a partially elliptical, harvesting all light from the light source that is emitted upwards-sideways and converging it in one direction, forward into 40, and discussed in see ¶ 4 of “Description”) in the left-right direction (as expected in all vehicles, see fig 7),
the light source (76) of the second lamp unit (2nd) is disposed on the front of the lamp (2) with respect to the light source (76) of the first lamp unit (1st), and
the reflector (portion of 12 in 2nd) of the second lamp unit (2nd) is disposed on the front of the lamp (2) with respect to the reflector (portion of 12) of the first lamp unit (1st) in a positional relation (better seen in fig 7) in which the reflector (portion of 12 in 2nd) of the second lamp unit (2nd) partially overlaps with (better seen in annotated fig 7 below, where second reflector overlaps the front of the first reflector) the reflector (portion of 12 in 1st) of the first lamp unit (1st) in a front view of the lamp (2).
See annotated figures 7 of Colombel below:
Regarding claim 8, Colombel teaches wherein a reflection surface (inner surface of portion of 12 in 2nd) of the reflector (portion of 12 in 2nd) of the second lamp unit (2nd) is smaller (evident from figure 7) than a reflection surface (inner surface of portion of 12 in 1st) of the reflector (portion of 12 in 1st) of the first lamp unit (1st).
Regarding claim 9, Colombel teaches wherein the reflector (portion of 12 in 1st) of the first lamp unit (1st) and the reflector (portion of 12 in 2nd) of the second lamp unit (2nd) are integrally formed (as seen in fig 7).
Regarding claim 10, Colombel teaches wherein the projection lens (38) of the second lamp unit (2nd) extends obliquely (as 38 extends to match the lamp curvature, better seen in fig 4 with respect to the axis B) toward the rear of the lamp (2) from an end portion (portion of 1st closer to axis A, as seen in fig 4) on a first lamp unit (1st) side to an end portion (end towards 6th, as seen in annotated figure above) on an opposite side thereof.
Regarding claim 11, Colombel teaches wherein the projection lens (40) of the first lamp unit (1st) and the projection lens (38) of the second lamp unit (2nd) are integrally formed (evident from figure 4).
Regarding claim 17, Colombel teaches wherein the projection lens (40) of the first lamp unit (1st) has an optical axis (formed by the focal points of the elliptical profile of the reflective surface focal point of the projection lens, see ¶ 3 of description) extending in a front-rear direction of the lamp (2), and the first lamp unit (1st, as the light source is positioned at the first focal point of the elliptical reflector) is provided rear of a focal point (as the focal point of 40 coincides with the second focal point of the elliptical reflector, see ¶ 3 of description) of the first projection lens (40).
Regarding claim 18, Colombel teaches wherein the projection lens (38) of the second lamp unit (2nd) extends in a toroidal lens shape (as 38 is curved along the B axis and curved along the C axis, following, at least externally, a toroidal shape, as seen in fig 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in pages 8-9 that Colombel does not teach “the reflector of the second lamp unit is disposed on the front of the lamp with respect to the reflector of the first lamp unit in a positional relation in which the reflector of the second lamp unit partially overlaps with the reflector of the first lamp unit in a front view of the lamp”, stating that: the alleged 2nd second reflector is directed away from the opening of the alleged 1st reflector. With this configuration there would be no overlapping of the alleged 1st and 2nd reflectors "in a front view of the lamp"
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The claim does not require the reflectors should be directed in any specific way in order to at least partly overlap. Figure 7 has been reproduced below to more clearly show the reflectors overlap following the intended shape of each reflector, although not pointing in the same direction the overlap occurs. That is, from the point of view of an observer in front of the device (see line parallel to the device’s axis A, as annotated in figure 7 below), a left portion of the second reflector overlaps the view of a right portion of the first reflector. And the applicant’s arguments in this regard are not persuasive.
See annotated figures 7 of Colombel below:
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAR ROJAS CADIMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875