DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “as a current” seems to be a typo as the word “as” creates an illogical flow to the limitation, the examiner suggests amending the claim language to more definitely recite the intended meets and bounds of the invention as claimed
Claim 1 further recites the limitation “a first control signal and a second control signal obtained by subjecting the PWM control signal to filter processing,” however, paragraph 74 of the PGPub describes only the second control signal as being obtained by subjecting the PWM control signal to filter processing. Moreover, it is unclear whether the amplitude of the output signal corresponds to the first control signal or the second control signal or can be selected from either. The claim language is therefore confusing and unclear since it correlates the filter processing of the PWM control signal to both control signals. The examiner suggests amending the claim language to more particularly point out the meets and bounds of the invention as intended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pan et al. (US 20170339762 A1, hereinafter Pan).
Regarding Claim 1, Pan discloses
A processor (microcontroller 610, FIG. 6) for electronic endoscope (depicted in FIG. 6),
the processor being used in an electronic endoscope including an image sensor that is configured to capture an image of a biological tissue (FIG. 6, par. 49-50 disclose microcontroller capable of carrying out functions of each of the embodiments disclosed, i.e. capable of use with an endoscope),
the processor comprising:
a light source unit (LED driver 117, FIG. 1A) that synthesizes light beams to be emitted from a plurality of light emitting elements to generate illumination light toward the biological tissue (par. 22 discloses LED driver controls diming of plurality of LEDs and coverts voltage to power LEDs); and
a current control unit (interface 100, FIG. 1A) that controls a current to be applied to each of the light-emitting elements in the light source unit (par. 20 discloses interface is LED dimming control unit; par. 22 discloses current signals are modified/ changed/ controlled by interface),
wherein the current control unit includes a current generation unit (DACs 107A/ 107B + buffers 109A/ 109B) that generates as a current to be applied to each of the light emitting elements (depicted in FIG. 1A),
an output current (dimming signal 113, FIG. 1A) which has a duty ratio corresponding to a pulse width modulation control signal (PWM control signal 105, par. 22 discloses PWM signal controls duty cycle of output signal and DAC converts input PWM signal to analog signal and transmits the converted signal to the buffer, i.e. which then produces the output signal) and
has an amplitude corresponding to a lower- voltage control signal selected from a first control signal (amplitude modulation signal 103, FIG. 1A) and a second control signal obtained by subjecting the PWM control signal to filter processing (par. 21 discloses amplitude of output signal determined by input signal, i.e. amplitude modulation signal), and
a feedback circuit unit (dimming interface 115, FIG. 1A) that feeds back a current flowing through each of the light- emitting elements to stabilize the output current generated by the current generation unit (FIG. 1, par. 22 disclose output signal(s) outputted to dimming interface which is connected to LED driver).
Regarding Claim 2, Pan discloses
The processor for electronic endoscope according to claim 1, wherein a signal level of the second control signal is adjusted so that the signal level of the second control signal at a duty ratio of 100% of the PWM control signal is higher than a maximum value of a signal level of the first control signal (depicted in FIG. 2; First control signal selected in claim 1 above, therefore, any specific limitations regarding the second control signal are moot).
Regarding Claim 3, Pan discloses
The processor for electronic endoscope according to claim 2, the processor limiting a use range of a duty ratio of the PWM control signal according to the signal level of the first control signal such that the signal level of the first control signal is lower than the signal level of the second control signal (par. 22 discloses PWM control signal controls duty cycle, par. 4 discloses duty cycle is dependent on desired dimming level, i.e. amplitude signal/ first signal must be considered; First control signal selected in claim 1 above, therefore, any specific limitations regarding the second control signal are moot).
Regarding Claim 4, Pan discloses
The processor for electronic endoscope according to claim 1, wherein the current control unit includes a low-pass filter circuit having a cutoff frequency corresponding to a frequency of the PWM control signal as a circuit that performs the filtering processing (par. 47 discloses signals output through DAC can be processed by a low pass filter which convert the pulse modulation signal to an analog signal and the low pass filter has a bandwidth corresponding to the pulse modulation signal, i.e. frequency of the signal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagashima (US 20180092522 A1) in view of Pan et al. (US 20170339762 A1, hereinafter Pan).
Regarding Claim 5, Nagashima discloses
An electronic endoscope system (depicted in FIG. 1) comprising:
an electronic endoscope (endoscope apparatus 100A, FIG. 1) that is connected to the processor for electronic endoscope and includes an image sensor (image pickup device 14, FIG. 1) configured to acquire a captured image of the biological tissue (par. 34 discloses image pick up device acquires a captured image of a to-be-observed area, i.e. biological tissue).
However, Nagashima does not disclose the processor for electronic endoscope according to claim 1.
Pan teaches an analogous system comprising the processor for electronic endoscope according to claim 1 (see rejection above). processor (system controller 31, FIG. 1) which includes a light source control unit (42, FIG. 1, i.e. light source unit) capable of controlling a plurality of light emitting elements (laser light sources 44, FIG. 1) which perform pulse drive on the basis of pulse modulation signals [0045]. The processor (31) is apart of a larger endoscope system comprising an electronic endoscope (endoscope apparatus 100A, FIG. 1) that is connected to the processor and includes an image sensor (image pickup device 14, FIG. 1) configured to acquire a captured image of a to-be-observed area [FIG. 1, 0034].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the endoscope system of Nagashima with the processor of Pan in order to improve the system of Nagashima which includes a processor (Nagashima - system controller 31, FIG. 1) capable of controlling a plurality of light emitting elements (Nagashima - laser light sources 44, FIG. 1) which perform pulse drive on the basis of pulse modulation signals [Nagashima - 0045], by providing the system with a universal dimming interface capable of controlling dimming and modulation functionality of the light emitting elements, wherein, the interface includes DAC components which filter PWM signals thereby allowing for high-resolution dimming [Pan - 0002-0006].
Regarding Claim 6, Nagashima discloses
An electronic endoscope system (depicted in FIG. 1) comprising:
an electronic endoscope (endoscope apparatus 100A, FIG. 1) that is connected to the processor for electronic endoscope and includes an image sensor (image pickup device 14, FIG. 1) configured to acquire a captured image of the biological tissue (par. 34 discloses image pick up device acquires a captured image of a to-be-observed area, i.e. biological tissue).
However, Nagashima does not disclose the processor for electronic endoscope according to claim 2.
Pan teaches an analogous system comprising the processor for electronic endoscope according to claim 1 (see rejection above). processor (system controller 31, FIG. 1) which includes a light source control unit (42, FIG. 1, i.e. light source unit) capable of controlling a plurality of light emitting elements (laser light sources 44, FIG. 1) which perform pulse drive on the basis of pulse modulation signals [0045]. The processor (31) is apart of a larger endoscope system comprising an electronic endoscope (endoscope apparatus 100A, FIG. 1) that is connected to the processor and includes an image sensor (image pickup device 14, FIG. 1) configured to acquire a captured image of a to-be-observed area [FIG. 1, 0034].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the endoscope system of Nagashima with the processor of Pan in order to improve the system of Nagashima which includes a processor (Nagashima - system controller 31, FIG. 1) capable of controlling a plurality of light emitting elements (Nagashima - laser light sources 44, FIG. 1) which perform pulse drive on the basis of pulse modulation signals [Nagashima - 0045], by providing the system with a universal dimming interface capable of controlling dimming and modulation functionality of the light emitting elements, wherein, the interface includes DAC components which filter PWM signals thereby allowing for high-resolution dimming [Pan - 0002-0006].
Regarding Claim 7, Nagashima discloses
An electronic endoscope system (depicted in FIG. 1) comprising:
an electronic endoscope (endoscope apparatus 100A, FIG. 1) that is connected to the processor for electronic endoscope and includes an image sensor (image pickup device 14, FIG. 1) configured to acquire a captured image of the biological tissue (par. 34 discloses image pick up device acquires a captured image of a to-be-observed area, i.e. biological tissue).
However, Nagashima does not disclose the processor for electronic endoscope according to claim 3.
Pan teaches an analogous system comprising the processor for electronic endoscope according to claim 1 (see rejection above). processor (system controller 31, FIG. 1) which includes a light source control unit (42, FIG. 1, i.e. light source unit) capable of controlling a plurality of light emitting elements (laser light sources 44, FIG. 1) which perform pulse drive on the basis of pulse modulation signals [0045]. The processor (31) is apart of a larger endoscope system comprising an electronic endoscope (endoscope apparatus 100A, FIG. 1) that is connected to the processor and includes an image sensor (image pickup device 14, FIG. 1) configured to acquire a captured image of a to-be-observed area [FIG. 1, 0034].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the endoscope system of Nagashima with the processor of Pan in order to improve the system of Nagashima which includes a processor (Nagashima - system controller 31, FIG. 1) capable of controlling a plurality of light emitting elements (Nagashima - laser light sources 44, FIG. 1) which perform pulse drive on the basis of pulse modulation signals [Nagashima - 0045], by providing the system with a universal dimming interface capable of controlling dimming and modulation functionality of the light emitting elements, wherein, the interface includes DAC components which filter PWM signals thereby allowing for high-resolution dimming [Pan - 0002-0006].
Regarding Claim 8, Nagashima discloses
An electronic endoscope system (depicted in FIG. 1) comprising:
an electronic endoscope (endoscope apparatus 100A, FIG. 1) that is connected to the processor for electronic endoscope and includes an image sensor (image pickup device 14, FIG. 1) configured to acquire a captured image of the biological tissue (par. 34 discloses image pick up device acquires a captured image of a to-be-observed area, i.e. biological tissue).
However, Nagashima does not disclose the processor for electronic endoscope according to claim 4.
Pan teaches an analogous system comprising the processor for electronic endoscope according to claim 1 (see rejection above). processor (system controller 31, FIG. 1) which includes a light source control unit (42, FIG. 1, i.e. light source unit) capable of controlling a plurality of light emitting elements (laser light sources 44, FIG. 1) which perform pulse drive on the basis of pulse modulation signals [0045]. The processor (31) is apart of a larger endoscope system comprising an electronic endoscope (endoscope apparatus 100A, FIG. 1) that is connected to the processor and includes an image sensor (image pickup device 14, FIG. 1) configured to acquire a captured image of a to-be-observed area [FIG. 1, 0034].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the endoscope system of Nagashima with the processor of Pan in order to improve the system of Nagashima which includes a processor (Nagashima - system controller 31, FIG. 1) capable of controlling a plurality of light emitting elements (Nagashima - laser light sources 44, FIG. 1) which perform pulse drive on the basis of pulse modulation signals [Nagashima - 0045], by providing the system with a universal dimming interface capable of controlling dimming and modulation functionality of the light emitting elements, wherein, the interface includes DAC components which filter PWM signals thereby allowing for high-resolution dimming [Pan - 0002-0006].
Conclusion
/ABDUL HADI ABBASI/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795