Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of the Information Disclosure Statement filed 12/23/2024. The Examiner has considered the reference cited therein to the extent that each is a proper citation. Please see the attached USPTO Form 1449.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tosaka et al (US 5,096,621).
Tosaka et al teaches the instantly claimed formula
(see abstract).
Tosaka et al further teach specific compounds/species that fall within the formula.
Regarding claim 8, Tosaka et al teach the in a detergent composition with water (Table 1).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Tosaka et al teach the composition also contains di-octyl-polyoxyethylene (Table 1). The structure is below.
Regarding claim 11, Tosaka teaches the composition contains EDTA, which is a known detergent chelate (col 6, ln 55)
Regarding claim 12, Tosaka et al teach the composition contains a builder (col 2, ln 29).
Regarding claim 13, Tosaka et al teach the composition can be used to wash clothes (col 6, ln 36).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tosaka et al (US 5,096,621).
The teachings of Tosaka et al are discussed above. Tosaka et al teaches the R groups are alkyl chains but does not explicitly teach an instantly claimed shorter chains.
A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. “An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” MPEP 2144.09. Alkyl chains are homologs with structural similarity and expected to have the same properties. Absent of evidence to the contrary, one having ordinary skill in the art would expect lower alkyl chains to have the same property as the prior art.
Regarding claim 4, the patentability of a product does not depend upon the method of production. If the product in a product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, then the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art product was made by a different process" (see, e.g. MPEP 2113).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is allowed. Tosaka et al teach the instantly claimed compounds. However, Tosaka et al does not teach how the compound is made. Therefore, the instantly claimed method of making the compounds is novel and non-obvious in view of the prior art.
Conclusion
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761