This is the First Office Action on the merits of Application No. 18/878373, filed on 12/23/2024. Claims 1-20 are still pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 8,365,869 to Stannah et al (henceforth referred to as Stannah).
Regarding claims 15-18, Stannah discloses a method for controlling a stairlift device for collision detection and for collision prevention (i.e. Column 5, lines 40-46: “sensors… are preferably connected into the main electronic control unit ECU… when the sensors senses the presence of an obstruction, … the ECU… command generated to decelerate the carriage… to a holt before the carriage comes into contact with the obstruction”), at least comprising the following steps:
acquiring and providing sensor data to a control unit (i.e. Column 5, lines 40-46: “sensors… are preferably connected into the main electronic control unit ECU”) by scanning the area surrounding the stairlift device or in travel direction, at least one contactless sensor of a sensor unit (i.e. Fig. 4, ref. 31) for detecting an object (i.e. Fig. 2, ref. 36);
detecting a risk of collision by evaluating the sensor data, by comparing the sensor data with respect to at least one distance threshold (i.e. column 5, line 62-column 6, line 5: “With this data stored in memory… data obtained in real time from the sensors… can be compared with the data in memory… the presence of an obstruction is assumed and an alarm is generated… the speed can be reduced until the carriage is brought to a halt smoothly without contacting the obstruction”);
preventing collision by controlling at least one drive or actuator (i.e. Fig. 4, ref. 24) drive of the stairlift device based on evaluated sensor data, by actuating or stopping or decelerating or swiveling or tilting or activating the at least one drive or actuator of the stairlift device depending on the at least one distance threshold on the direction and/or speed of the travel (i.e. column 5, line 62-column 6, line 5: “With this data stored in memory… data obtained in real time from the sensors… can be compared with the data in memory… the presence of an obstruction is assumed and an alarm is generated… the speed can be reduced until the carriage is brought to a halt smoothly without contacting the obstruction”).
Wherein the method further comprises:
acquiring proximity values or setting of trigger values in conjunction with the step of acquiring and providing sensor data (i.e. column 2, lines 60-62: “preferably data representing safe characteristics, at various positions of said stairlift along said path, are stored in memory…”).
Wherein at least one predefined distance value (i.e. Fig. 2, ref. X) is defined as a trigger value for actuation of the at least one drive or actuator based on proximity values individually acquired along a rail (i.e. Fig. 2, ref. 20) defining a path of motion of the stairlift device.
Wherein before collision is prevented, at least one specific sound or at least one voice spoken message is output by at least one loudspeaker (i.e. column 6, lines 56-60: “This deceleration is preferably accompanied by an audio… alarm signal to indicate an obstruction has been encountered”).
Regarding claims 19-20, Stannah discloses a computer program comprising instructions which, when the program is executed by a computer for collision detection and for collision prevention (i.e. Column 5, lines 40-46: “sensors… are preferably connected into the main electronic control unit ECU… when the sensors senses the presence of an obstruction, … the ECU… command generated to decelerate the carriage… to a halt before the carriage comes into contact with the obstruction”), cause the computer to execute the steps of:
acquiring and providing sensor data to a control unit by scanning the area surrounding the stairlift device or in travel direction (i.e. Column 5, lines 40-46: “sensors… are preferably connected into the main electronic control unit ECU… when the sensors senses the presence of an obstruction, … the ECU… command generated to decelerate the carriage… to a holt before the carriage comes into contact with the obstruction”), by at least one contactless sensor of a sensor unit (i.e. Fig. 4, ref. 31) for detecting an object;
detecting a risk of collision by evaluating the sensor data, by comparing the sensor data with respect to at least one distance threshold (i.e. column 5, line 62-column 6, line 5: “With this data stored in memory… data obtained in real time from the sensors… can be compared with the data in memory… the presence of an obstruction is assumed and an alarm is generated… the speed can be reduced until the carriage is brought to a halt smoothly without contacting the obstruction”);
preventing collision by controlling at least one drive or actuator drive (i.e. Fig. 4, ref. 24) of the stairlift device based on evaluated sensor data, by actuating or stopping or decelerating or swiveling or tilting or actuating the at least one drive or actuator of the stairlift device depending on the at least one distance threshold, on the direction and/or speed of travel (i.e. Column 5, lines 32—33: “the carriage 11 is decelerating and stopping due to the presence of the obstruction 36”).
Further comprising:
at least one running drive (i.e. Fig. 4, ref. 24) configured for locomotion or orientation of the stairlift device,
wherein the use of the at least one drive or actuator of the stairlift device for controlling the stairlift device with collision detection and for collision prevention, and with use of the at least one running drive wherein sensor data of at least one sensor is acquired by scanning the area surrounding the stairlift device or in the travel direction, wherein the sensor data is evaluated by comparison with at least one distance threshold, wherein the at least one drive or actuator is controlled based on said evaluated sensor data for preventing a collision, by actuating or stopping or decelerating or swiveling or tilting or activating the at least one drive or actuator depending on the direction and/or speed of travel (i.e. column 5, line 62-column 6, line 5: “With this data stored in memory… data obtained in real time from the sensors… can be compared with the data in memory… the presence of an obstruction is assumed and an alarm is generated… the speed can be reduced until the carriage is brought to a halt smoothly without contacting the obstruction”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 8,365,869 to Stannah et al.
Regarding claims 1-2, 5, 7-14, Stannah teaches a stairlift device (Fig. 3) configured for collision detection comprising:
at least one sensor unit (i.e. Fig. 3, ref. 31) integrated in the stairlift device, wherein the at least one sensor unit is configured and arranged for scanning an area (i.e. column 5, lines 24-25: “sensors are preferably selected… to define an operating zone around the carriage”) surrounding the stairlift device or in a travel direction and for detecting an object (i.e. Fig. 2, ref. 36), wherein the stairlift device is configured for collision prevention based on sensor date of the at least one sensor of the at least one sensor unit, wherein the stairlift device includes a control unit (i.e. Fig. 3, ref. 25) coupled with the at least one sensor and with at least one drive or actuator (i.e. Fig. 4, ref. 24) of the stairlift device, wherein the stairlift device is configured for stopping or at least decelerating the at least one drive or actuator based on senor data, depending on at least one distance threshold (i.e. Column 5, lines 32—33: “the carriage 11 is decelerating and stopping due to the presence of the obstruction 36”), depending on the direction and/or speed of travel, wherein the sensor unit exhibits at least one scanning sensor having a field of view (i.e. Fig. 2, ref. 37), wherein the stairlift device is configured for locating the detected object within at least one angular segment of the field of view of the scanning sensor (i.e. column 5, line 26: “triangular zone 37”).
Wherein the stairlift device is configured for ensuring a minimum distance (i.e. Fig. 2, ref. X) between the stairlift device, a drive unit (i.e. Fig. 3, ref. 24) of the stairlift, and the object detected (i.e. Fig. 2, ref. 36) within the area surrounding the stairlift device or in travel direction, by timely stopping or at least decelerating the at least one drive or actuator based on sensor data (i.e. Column 5, lines 32—33: “the carriage 11 is decelerating and stopping due to the presence of the obstruction 36”), depending on at least one predefined distance threshold stored in a data storage unit of the control unit or accessible by the control unit, especially depending on the direction and/or speed of travel (i.e. column 5, line 62-column 6, line 5: “With this data stored in memory… data obtained in real time from the sensors… can be compared with the data in memory… the presence of an obstruction is assumed and an alarm is generated… the speed can be reduced until the carriage is brought to a halt smoothly without contacting the obstruction”).
Wherein the stairlift device is configured for locating the detected object within at least one distance segment (i.e. Fig. 2, ref. X) such as within a distance segment corresponding to the depth of steps which are to be surmounted by the stairlift device.
Wherein the at least one sensor of the sensor unit is integrated in at least one outer housing part of the at least one drive;
or wherein the at least one sensor unit exhibits a field of view at least cannoning an area below the outer housing parts, and below the at least one drive (i.e. Fig. 4, ref. 31 shown outside ref. 11 and under ref. 24).
Wherein the stairlift device includes a plurality of sensors (i.e. Fig. 4, ref. 31 left and right), the plurality of sensors being contactless sensors configured as, distance measuring sensors, wherein the plurality of sensors are integrated in at least one outer housing part of the at least one drive, wherein the plurality of sensors are configured to measure a distance in different directions and to provide respective directional distance values (i.e. Fig. 2, ref. X) to the control unit, wherein the sensors have individual fields of view.
Wherein the stairlift device is configured for increasing a relative distance between the stairlift device and the detected object, by activating or stopping or at least decelerating at least one further drive or actuator based on sensor data, depending on the at least one distance threshold, and depending on the direction and/or speed travel (i.e. column 5, line 62-column 6, line 5: “With this data stored in memory… data obtained in real time from the sensors… can be compared with the data in memory… the presence of an obstruction is assumed and an alarm is generated… the speed can be reduced until the carriage is brought to a halt smoothly without contacting the obstruction”).
Further comprising: at least one loudspeaker (i.e. column 3, lines 31-33: “operable to cause an alarm to be generated in the event an obstruction on said path is sensed”);
wherein the stairlift device is configured to output at least one specific sound or at least one voice spoken massage by the at least one loudspeaker before or during stopping or decelerating the at least one drive or actuator or activating, stopping or decelerating the at least one further drive or actuator based on sensor data (i.e. column 6, lines 56-60: “ a command is generated by the ECU to decelerate the carriage. This deceleration is preferably accompanied by an audio… alarm signal to indicate an obstruction has been encountered”).
Wherein the control unit is coupled with the at least one loudspeaker (i.e. column 6, lines 56-60: “ a command is generated by the ECU to decelerate the carriage. This deceleration is preferably accompanied by an audio… alarm signal to indicate an obstruction has been encountered”).
Wherein the at least one loudspeaker is configured to output at least one warning regarding the activation, stop of deceleration of the at least one drive or actuator or the at least one further drive or actuator as a specific sound or voice spoken message (i.e. column 6, lines 56-60: “ a command is generated by the ECU to decelerate the carriage. This deceleration is preferably accompanied by an audio… alarm signal to indicate an obstruction has been encountered”).
Configured to output at least one information of a reason for activating, stopping or decelerating the at least one drive or actuator or the at least one further drive or actuator as a voice spoken message (i.e. column 6, lines 56-60: “ a command is generated by the ECU to decelerate the carriage. This deceleration is preferably accompanied by an audio… alarm signal to indicate an obstruction has been encountered”).
Wherein: the stairlift control unit is configured for:
controlling the stairlift device collision detection based on sensor data of the at least one sensor unit (i.e. Column 5, lines 44-46: “when the sensors senses the presence of an obstruction, … the ECU… command generated to decelerate the carriage… to a holt before the carriage comes into contact with the obstruction”).
Stannah does not specifically teach the field of view is at least 45 degrees nor teach detecting an object within one angular segment of 5 to 10 degrees of the field of view. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to detect an object within an angular segment of 10 degrees of at least 45 degrees of a field of view for increased sensitivity of the sensors to obstructions in improve rider safety since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 8,365,869 to Stannah et al in view of US Patent No. 9,751,724 to Ooms (henceforth referred to as Ooms).
Regarding claim 6, Stannah does not specifically teach the sensor unit is a wireless sensor. This limitation is not novel to the invention. For example, Ooms teaches a stairlift with a safety device (i.e. Title) comprising control units (i.e. Fig. 1, ref. 5, 6) and sensors (i.e. column 3, line 54-56: “sensors may be placed near obstacles… sensors are capable of detecting…”) that wirelessly communicate (i.e. Fig. 1, ref. 13) with the stairlift processing unit (i.e. Fig. 1, ref. 14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use wireless communication for sensors as taught in Ooms in the stairlift as taught in Stannah to reduce cumbersome wires and to communicate with multiple user controls and there would have been reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 206244225 to Yu teaches a stairlift device with radar distance sensor;
CN 202440196 to Ji teaches a stairlift device with obstacle avoiding device;
JP 4460561 to Masaru et al teaches a stairlift obstacle detection device;
US Patent No. 7,708,117 to Van der Heiden teaches a stairlift with sensors.
/DIEM M TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3654