DETAILED ACTION
This is on the merits of Application No. 18/878400, filed on 12/23/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the PCT international search report is not considered to be an information disclosure statement (IDS) complying with 37 CFR 1.98. 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2) requires a legible copy of: (1) each foreign patent; (2) each publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; (3) for each cited pending U.S. application, the application specification including claims, and any drawing of the application, or that portion of the application which caused it to be listed including any claims directed to that portion, unless the cited pending U.S. application is stored in the Image File Wrapper (IFW) system; and (4) all other information, or that portion which caused it to be listed. In addition, each IDS must include a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office (see 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1) and (b)), and MPEP § 609.04(a), subsection I. states, “the list ... must be submitted on a separate paper.” Therefore, the references cited in the international search report have not been considered. Applicant is advised that the date of submission of any item of information in the international search report will be the date of submission of the IDS for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements for the IDS with 37 CFR 1.97, including all timing statement requirements of 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claims 2-14 and 17-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2-14 state “An in-wheel electric motor” and should state --The in-wheel electric motor--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 17-20 state “An in-wheel electric motor according to claim 15” and should state --The vehicle according to claim 15--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 states “wherein the means for maintaining”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The “means for maintaining” are established in claim 7, but claim 8 does not depend on claim 7.
Claim 10 states “the first bearing and the second bearing”. These lack antecedent basis in the claim. The “first bearing” and “second bearing” are established in claim 9, but claim 10 does not depend on claim 9.
Claim 11 states “the second bearing”. This lacks antecedent basis in the claim. The “second bearing” is established in claim 9, but claim 11 does not depend on claim 9, nor claim 10.
Claim limitation “coupling means” and “means for maintaining” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The “coupling means” according to page 6 lines 30-34 gives examples “a face dog, a radial dog, a clutch, a cone clutch, synchronizers” but also states “any form of engagement means”. The “means for maintaining” according to page 6 line 16-29 gives an example of “an activation circuit” but states “However, the mechanism for maintaining the rotor 102 stationary may be performed by any means, mechanical or electrical”. It is unclear what applicant defines as “any form of engagement means” and what defines “any form of engagement means”. Therefore, claims 1-20 are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-9, 12-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2020128134 to Yada.
Yada discloses:
(Claim 1) An in-wheel electric motor (Fig. 1) for a vehicle comprising; a stator (19), a first rotor (15) arranged to be housed within a wheel of the vehicle, and coupling means (4) for selectively coupling the first rotor to the wheel of the vehicle and decoupling the first rotor to the wheel, such that when the first rotor is coupled to the wheel, the first rotor is arranged to rotate with the wheel (element 4 engaged), and when the first rotor is decoupled from the wheel, the first rotor is arranged to be stationary with respect to the stator when the wheel rotates relative to the stator (rotor 15 will eventually be stationary when element 4 is disengaged).
(Claim 2) wherein the coupling means is arranged to selectively couple the first rotor to the wheel of the vehicle and decouple the first rotor to the wheel in response to an electrical signal (see par. [0047], [0051], electric signal provided by rotation detector 31 is used to control the clutch engagement and disengagement through actuator 24).
(Claim 6) wherein the coupling means includes a clutch (4) for coupling the first rotor to the wheel.
(Claim 7) further comprising means (Fig. 12 element 39, par. [0073]) for maintaining the first rotor stationary with respect to the stator when the first rotor is decoupled from the wheel (electrical current supplied to 19 has the means to maintain the first rotor stationary).
(Claim 8) wherein the means for maintaining includes an activation circuit for applying a current to coil windings mounted on the stator for generating a magnetic field that interacts with the first rotor to inhibit movement of the first rotor relative to the stator (39 allows for regenerative braking that inhibits movement of the first rotor).
(Claim 9) further comprising a first bearing (6) to allow the wheel to rotate relative to the stator and a second bearing (Fig. 3 element 22) to allow the first rotor to rotate relative to the stator.
(Claim 12) wherein the first rotor includes an inner rotor (15 and 18) and an outer rotor (outer rotor case 13, see Figs. 1-3, par. [0035]-[0049]).
(Claim 13) wherein: the outer rotor is arranged to be coupled to the wheels and the coupling means is arranged to selectively couple the inner rotor to the outer rotor and decouple the inner rotor to the outer rotor, such that when the inner rotor is coupled to the outer rotor, the wheel is arranged to rotate with the inner rotor and when the inner rotor is decoupled from the outer rotor, the inner rotor is arranged to be stationary with respect to the stator while the wheel rotates relative to the inner rotor (see Figs. 1-3, par. [0035]-[0049]).
(Claim 14) further comprising a brake disc attached to the outer rotor (see Fig. 1 element 12).
(Claim 15) A vehicle (Fig. 12) comprising: a wheel (10a 10b), and an in-wheel electric motor (Fig. 1), the in-wheel electric motor comprising: a stator (19), a first rotor (15) arranged to be housed within a wheel of the vehicle, and coupling means (4) for selectively coupling the first rotor to the wheel of the vehicle and decoupling the first rotor to the wheel, such that when the first rotor is coupled to the wheel, the first rotor is arranged to rotate with the wheel (element 4 engaged), and when the first rotor is decoupled from the wheel, the first rotor is arranged to be stationary with respect to the stator when the wheel rotates relative to the stator (rotor 15 will eventually be stationary when element 4 is disengaged).
(Claim 16) A method for an in-wheel electric motor for a vehicle, wherein the in-wheel electric motor (Fig. 1) includes a stator (19), a first rotor (15) arranged to be housed within a wheel (10) of the vehicle, and coupling means (4) for selectively coupling the first rotor to the wheel of the vehicle and decoupling the first rotor to the wheel, such that when the first rotor is coupled to the wheel, the wheel is arranged to rotate with the first rotor (4 engaged) and when the first rotor is decoupled from the wheel, the first rotor is arranged to be stationary with respect to the stator while the wheel rotates relative to the first rotor (rotor 15 will eventually be stationary when element 4 is disengaged), the method comprising coupling the first rotor to the wheel and decoupling the first rotor from the wheel in response to the receipt of an actuation signal (par. [0052], Fig. 12 element 40 and 39, signals provide control to engage and disengage clutch).
(Claim 19) wherein the coupling means includes a clutch (4) for coupling the first rotor to the wheel.
(Claim 20) further comprising means (Fig. 12 element 39, par. [0073]) for maintaining the first rotor stationary with respect to the stator when the first rotor is decoupled from the wheel (electrical current supplied to 19 has the means to maintain the first rotor stationary).
Claims 1-2, 6-9, 12-13, 15-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2006137188 to Yoshimori.
Yoshimori discloses:
(Claim 1) An in-wheel electric motor (Fig. 5) for a vehicle comprising; a stator (42), a first rotor (55) arranged to be housed within a wheel of the vehicle, and coupling means (50, 52, 53) for selectively coupling the first rotor to the wheel of the vehicle and decoupling the first rotor to the wheel, such that when the first rotor is coupled to the wheel, the first rotor is arranged to rotate with the wheel (clutch engaged), and when the first rotor is decoupled from the wheel, the first rotor is arranged to be stationary with respect to the stator when the wheel rotates relative to the stator (clutch disengaged).
(Claim 2) wherein the coupling means is arranged to selectively couple the first rotor to the wheel of the vehicle and decouple the first rotor to the wheel in response to an electrical signal (Par. [0204]-[0213], electromagnetic clutch, so selectively coupled in response to electric signal activating the electromagnetic clutch).
(Claim 6) wherein the coupling means includes a clutch (50, 52, 53) for coupling the first rotor to the wheel.
(Claim 7) further comprising means for maintaining the first rotor stationary with respect to the stator when the first rotor is decoupled from the wheel (par. [0017]-[0019], the regenerative braking has the means to slow down and stop the rotor).
(Claim 8) wherein the means for maintaining includes an activation circuit for applying a current to coil windings mounted on the stator for generating a magnetic field that interacts with the first rotor to inhibit movement of the first rotor relative to the stator (par. [0017]-[0019], the regenerative braking has the means to slow down and stop the rotor).
(Claim 9) further comprising a first bearing (37) to allow the wheel to rotate relative to the stator and a second bearing (48) to allow the first rotor to rotate relative to the stator.
(Claim 12) wherein the first rotor includes an inner rotor (55) and an outer rotor (clutch contact plate 53, brake drum combined clutch contact plate 36).
(Claim 13) wherein: the outer rotor is arranged to be coupled to the wheels and the coupling means is arranged to selectively couple the inner rotor to the outer rotor and decouple the inner rotor to the outer rotor, such that when the inner rotor is coupled to the outer rotor, the wheel is arranged to rotate with the inner rotor and when the inner rotor is decoupled from the outer rotor, the inner rotor is arranged to be stationary with respect to the stator while the wheel rotates relative to the inner rotor (see Figs. 5-7).
(Claim 15) A vehicle (see Abstract) comprising: having a wheels (29) and an in-wheel electric motor, the in-wheel electric motor comprising: according to any one of the preceding claims a stator, a first rotor arranged to be housed within a wheel of the vehicle, and coupling means for selectively coupling the first rotor to the wheel of the vehicle and decoupling the first rotor to the wheel, such that when the first rotor is coupled to the wheel, the first rotor is arranged to rotate with the wheel, and when the first rotor is decoupled from the wheel, the first rotor is arranged to be stationary with respect to the stator when the wheel rotates relative to the stator (see claim 1).
(Claim 16) A method for an in-wheel electric motor for a vehicle, wherein the in-wheel electric motor includes a stator (42), a first rotor (54) arranged to be housed within a wheel of the vehicle, and coupling means (50, 52, 53) for selectively coupling the first rotor to the wheel of the vehicle and decoupling the first rotor to the wheel, such that when the first rotor is coupled to the wheel, the wheel is arranged to rotate with the first rotor (clutch engaged) and when the first rotor is decoupled from the wheel, the first rotor is arranged to be stationary with respect to the stator while the wheel rotates relative to the first rotor (clutch disengaged), the method comprising coupling the first rotor to the wheel and decoupling the first rotor from the wheel in response to the receipt of an actuation signal (Par. [0204]-[0213], electromagnetic clutch, so selectively coupled in response to electric signal activating the electromagnetic clutch).
(Claim 19) wherein the coupling means includes a clutch (50, 52, 53) for coupling the first rotor to the wheel.
(Claim 20) further comprising means for maintaining the first rotor stationary with respect to the stator when the first rotor is decoupled from the wheel (par. [0017]-[0019], the regenerative braking has the means to slow down and stop the rotor).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yada in view of JP 2015058872 to Hirawaki et al.
Yada discloses:
The limitations of claims 1 and 15.
Yada does not disclose:
(Claims 3 and 17) wherein the coupling means includes a face dog tooth interface or a radial dog tooth interface for coupling the first rotor to the wheel.
Hirawaki teaches:
(Claims 3 and 17) wherein the coupling means includes a face dog tooth interface or a radial dog tooth interface for coupling the first rotor to the wheel (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, the structure of Yada to have the coupling means include a radial dog tooth interface for coupling the first rotor to the wheel, as taught by Hirawaki, as an obvious design choice to the type of coupling means wanted to connect the rotor and wheel. Different types of coupling means have different costs and benefits that one would consider when choosing a coupling means, such as how secure of a connection is being made and the cost and complexity of different coupling means. Yada already discloses different coupling means to connect the rotor and wheel in the different embodiments. Hirawaki provides another coupling means alternative. One of ordinary skill would be able to swap one known coupling means for another and produce predictable results.
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimori in view of JP 2015058872 to Hirawaki et al.
Yoshimori discloses:
The limitations of claims 1 and 15.
Yoshimori does not disclose:
(Claims 3 and 17) wherein the coupling means includes a face dog tooth interface or a radial dog tooth interface for coupling the first rotor to the wheel.
Hirawaki teaches:
(Claims 3 and 17) wherein the coupling means includes a face dog tooth interface or a radial dog tooth interface for coupling the first rotor to the wheel (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, the structure of Yoshimori to have the coupling means include a radial dog tooth interface for coupling the first rotor to the wheel, as taught by Hirawaki, as an obvious design choice to the type of coupling means wanted to connect the rotor and wheel. Different types of coupling means have different costs and benefits that one would consider when choosing a coupling means, such as how secure of a connection is being made and the cost and complexity of different coupling means. Hirawaki provides another coupling means alternative. One of ordinary skill would be able to swap one known coupling means for another and produce predictable results.
Claims 4-5, 10-11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yada in view of JP 2013124715 to Ikegawa.
Yada discloses:
The limitations of claims 1 and 15.
Yada does not disclose:
(Claims 4 and 18) wherein the coupling means includes a pin for coupling the first rotor to the wheel.
(Claim 5) wherein the pin is arranged to be placed in an aperture on the wheel when the rotor is coupled to the wheel.
(Claim 10) wherein when the first rotor is coupled to the wheel, the movement of the first bearing and the second bearing are synchronised.
(Claim 11) wherein when the first rotor is decoupled from the wheel, the second bearing is stationary when the first bearing is rotating.
Ikegawa teaches:
(Claims 4 and 18) wherein the coupling means (Fig. 2 clutch mechanism C) includes a pin (fitting pin 24) for coupling two rotating bodies (a drive shaft 12 and a fitting disk 27, a clutch case 21, a coil spring 26, and an intermediate support member, see Fig. 1, par. [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, the structure of Yada to have the coupling means include a pin for coupling, as taught by Ikegawa, as an obvious design choice to the type of coupling means wanted to connect the rotor to the wheel. Different types of coupling means have different costs and benefits that one would consider when choosing a coupling means, such as how secure of a connection is being made and the cost and complexity of different coupling means. Ikegawa provides another coupling means alternative. One of ordinary skill would be able to swap one known coupling means for another and produce predictable results.
The combination of Yada and Ikegawa teach:
(Claim 5) wherein the pin is arranged to be placed in an aperture on the wheel when the rotor is coupled to the wheel (the pin would be driven by the rotor of Yada and the aperture the pin connects to would therefore be on output which is connected to the wheel).
(Claim 10) wherein when the first rotor is coupled to the wheel, the movement of the first bearing and the second bearing are synchronized (the absolute value of the rotation speed difference between the inner and outer wheels is the same, thus the movement of the bearings when the rotor is coupled would be synchronized).
(Claim 11) wherein when the first rotor is decoupled from the wheel, the second bearing is stationary when the first bearing is rotating (when decoupled, the second bearing would be stationary while the first bearing would rotate).
Claims 4-5, 10-11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimori in view of JP 2013124715 to Ikegawa.
Yoshimori discloses:
The limitations of claims 1 and 15.
Yoshimori does not disclose:
(Claims 4 and 18) wherein the coupling means includes a pin for coupling the first rotor to the wheel.
(Claim 5) wherein the pin is arranged to be placed in an aperture on the wheel when the rotor is coupled to the wheel.
(Claim 10) wherein when the first rotor is coupled to the wheel, the movement of the first bearing and the second bearing are synchronised.
(Claim 11) wherein when the first rotor is decoupled from the wheel, the second bearing is stationary when the first bearing is rotating.
Ikegawa teaches:
(Claims 4 and 18) wherein the coupling means (Fig. 2 clutch mechanism C) includes a pin (fitting pin 24) for coupling two rotating bodies (a drive shaft 12 and a fitting disk 27, a clutch case 21, a coil spring 26, and an intermediate support member, see Fig. 1, par. [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, the structure of Yoshimori to have the coupling means include a pin for coupling, as taught by Ikegawa, as an obvious design choice to the type of coupling means wanted to connect the rotor to the wheel. Different types of coupling means have different costs and benefits that one would consider when choosing a coupling means, such as how secure of a connection is being made and the cost and complexity of different coupling means. Ikegawa provides another coupling means alternative. One of ordinary skill would be able to swap one known coupling means for another and produce predictable results.
The combination of Yoshimori and Ikegawa teach:
(Claim 5) wherein the pin is arranged to be placed in an aperture on the wheel when the rotor is coupled to the wheel (the pin would be driven by the rotor of Yada and the aperture the pin connects to would therefore be on output which is connected to the wheel).
(Claim 10) wherein when the first rotor is coupled to the wheel, the movement of the first bearing and the second bearing are synchronized (the absolute value of the rotation speed difference between the inner and outer wheels is the same, thus the movement of the bearings when the rotor is coupled would be synchronized).
(Claim 11) wherein when the first rotor is decoupled from the wheel, the second bearing is stationary when the first bearing is rotating (when decoupled, the second bearing would be stationary while the first bearing would rotate).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Payne (US 2022/0185106) discloses a track assembly with electric motor.
Arima et al (US 2017/0253144) discloses a vehicle.
Suzuki et al (US 2008/0283314) discloses a vehicle having in-wheel motors.
/TIMOTHY HANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655