DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the communication filed on June 22, 2026. Claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-19, and 21 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/11/26 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on June 22, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant in Pages 9-10 of the Remarks argues that amended independent claims 1, 14, and 15 are not directed to a mental process because the claimed processes cannot be practically performed in the human ming, and are not mere observations, evaluations, or judgements a person could carry out with pen and paper.
Applicant in Pages 10-11 of the Remarks argues that even assuming, arguendo, that the claims recite a mental process, the claims recite significantly more and integrates the alleged judicial exception into a practical application, and the claims as a whole are directed to a technical solution improving search systems, not an abstract idea.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
It is important to note that the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements (MPEP 2106.05(a)).
If the specification sets forth an improvement in technology, the claim must be evaluated to ensure that the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement (MPEP 2106.04(d)(1)).
Independent claim 1 and similarly independent claims 14 and 15 covers several steps, such as the determining a working state, generating a search result, and determining a display page of the search result steps, that recite an abstract idea within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper perform the limitations recited in said steps, which is discussed in detail in the current 101 rejection below.
The remaining steps in the claims that are identified as reciting additional elements, such as the receiving and displaying steps, are only adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, are recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions, and are applying the exception using generic computer components, which is not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception and are not directed to any specific improvement in computer technology.
Additionally, dependent claims 2-4, 7, 8, and 16-18 cover additional steps that also recite an abstract idea within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas, as discussed in detail in the 101 rejection below.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Applicant in Pages 11-14 of the Remarks argues that the cited prior art Bronicki, Soubbotin, Liao, Fukuya, and Zeng do not teach or even suggest the amended features “...determining a working state of a generative model when generating a search result, wherein the working state is an offline state or an online state”, “generating a search result corresponding to the search term based on the generative model in the working state”, “determining a display page of the search result as a search prompt page of the search term or a search result page of the search term according to at least one attribute characteristic of the search result, wherein the at least one attribute characteristic comprises at least one of a number of the search result, a number of the search result that is required to be able to answer the search term, a number of lines of information included in the search result”, and “displaying the search result in the display page”, as recited in amended independent claims 1, 14, and 15.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The cited prior art alone and/or in combination discloses the argued features.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Bronicki in [0021] and [0454] discloses receiving an input from a user indicative of a selection of a portion of a synthetic visual representation, in response to receiving the input presenting on a display an actual image corresponding to the selection.
Bronicki in [0248] and [0260] discloses receiving shopping list entered by a customer user identifying at least one target product for selection from a store, customer user inputting their shopping list.
Bronicki in [0304] discloses updated virtual shipping list provided to a user via a web site where the user initially entered their shopping list.
Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, prompting the user to enter a number, a graphical user interface including buttons, radio buttons, or a text field, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display.
Bronicki in [0475] and ]0476] discloses training a machine learning model, such as a generative model, using training examples to generate availability data of products from images and/or videos and to generate synthetic visual representations of the products from product availability data.
Therefore, Bronicki discloses determining a generative model when generating a search result.
Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display.
Bronicki in [0475] and ]0476] discloses training a machine learning model, such as a generative model, using training examples to generate availability data of products from images and/or videos and to generate synthetic visual representations of the products from product availability data.
Therefore, Bronicki discloses generating a search result corresponding to the search term based on the generative model.
Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display.
Bronicki in [0475] and ]0476] discloses training a machine learning model, such as a generative model, using training examples to generate availability data of products from images and/or videos and to generate synthetic visual representations of the products from product availability data.
Therefore, Bronicki discloses determining a display page of the search result as a search prompt page of the search term or a search result page of the search term according to at least one attribute characteristic of the search result, wherein the at least one attribute characteristic comprises at least one of a number of the search result, a number of the search result that is required to be able to answer the search term, a number of lines of information included in the search result.
Bronicki in [0021] and [0454] discloses receiving an input from a user indicative of a selection of a portion of a synthetic visual representation, in response to receiving the input presenting on a display an actual image corresponding to the selection.
Bronicki in [0248] and [0260] discloses receiving shopping list entered by a customer user identifying at least one target product for selection from a store, customer user inputting their shopping list.
Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display.
Therefore, Bronicki discloses displaying the search result in the display page.
Bronicki discloses generating search results corresponding to a search term based on a generative model, acquiring search result corresponding to the search term, and a display page of the search result from images and/or videos, however, Bronicki does not explicitly disclose:
determining a working state of the…model when generating the search result, wherein the working state is an offline state or an online state; and
generating the search result corresponding to the search term based on the… model in the working state.
Liao in [0031] and [0041]-[0043] discloses user provides a search query and receives query results by a presentation style module based on detected query intent, offline query intent collecting unit getting hold of information of query terms and user intent detected for the query by utilizing intent mining models, online query intent collecting unit collecting query intent information based on the search query using intent mining models, time-sensitive intents are online collected in a continuous and real-time manner, offline collection is batched and might be delayed but provides a broader coverage than online collection due to less strict latency requirement for offline intent detection, fetching the most relevant intent based on received search query, if more than one intent is determined for a particular query the offline and online query intent collecting units rank the intents, fetching and providing results for the most relevant intent on top of the ranking for presentation.
Therefore, Liao discloses determining a working state of a model when generating a search result, wherein the working state is an offline state or an online state, and generating the search result corresponding to the search term based on the model in the working state.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Bronicki and Liao, to have combined Bronicki and Liao. The motivation to combine Bronicki and Liao would be to determine different presentation styles for presenting query results based on time-sensitivity of a query intent.
For the above reasons, Examiner states that rejection of the current Office action is proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
At step 1:
Independent claims 1, 14, and 15 respectively recite a searching method, an
electronic device, and a computer-readable storage medium, which are directed to a
statutory category such as a process, machine, or an article of manufacture.
At step 2A, prong one:
Independent claim 1 and similarly independent claims 14 and 15 recite the limitations:
“determining a working state of a generative model when generating a search result, wherein the working state is an offline state or an online state”;
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine a working state of a generative model being in either an offline state or an online state when generating a search result.
“generating a search result corresponding to the search term based on the generative model in the working state”;
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper generate a search result corresponding to a search term based on a generative model in a working state.
“determining a display page of the search result as a search prompt page of the search term or a search result page of the search term according to at least one attribute characteristic of the search result, wherein the at least one attribute characteristic comprises at least one of a number of the search result, a number of the search result that is required to be able to answer the search term, a number of lines of information included in the search result”;
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine a display page of a search result as a search prompt page of the search term or a search result page of the search term according to at least one attribute characteristic of the search result, wherein the at least one attribute characteristic comprises at least one of a number of the search result, a number of the search result that is required to be able to answer the search term, a number of lines of information included in the search result.
The limitations, as recited above, are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover steps that can be performed in the human mind or by a human using a pen and paper, but for recitation of generic computer components.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
At step 2A, prong two:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Independent claim 1 and similarly independent claims 14 and 15 recite the limitations:
“receiving an input search term”, which is a step of receiving data. The step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“displaying the search result in the display page”, which is a step of displaying or outputting data. The step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data outputting, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The additional elements “a generative model” and “based on the generative model” in the steps in claim 1 are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
The additional elements “an electronic device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores machine-readable instructions executable by the processor, and the processor is configured to execute the machine-readable instructions stored in the memory, and when the machine-readable instructions are executed by the processor, the processor performs steps of a searching method, comprising:”, “a generative model”, and “based on the generative model” in the steps in claim 14 are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
The additional elements “a computer-readable storage medium having a computer program stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, realizes steps of a searching method, comprising:”, “a generative model”, and “based on the generative model” in the steps in claim 15 are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not
integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole,
because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
At step 2B:
Independent claims 1, 14, and 15 recites the same additional elements as
identified in step 2A prong two above. These additional elements are not sufficient to
amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Independent claim 1 and similarly independent claims 14 and 15 recite the limitations:
“receiving an input search term”, which is a step of receiving data, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
“displaying the search result in the display page”, which is a step of displaying or outputting data, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of presenting offers and gathering statistics (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
Accordingly, the additional limitations are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea and are not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 2 and similarly dependent claim 16 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein the attribute characteristic further comprises at least one of: a size of a display area as required, and a type of multimedia content contained in the multimedia information”.
These limitations are directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claims 1 and 14, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine a display page of a search result according to an attribute characteristic corresponding to the search result, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 3 and similarly dependent claim 17 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein determining the display page of the search result as a search prompt page of the search term or a search result page of the search term according to at least one attribute characteristic of the search result comprises:
determining the display page of the search result as the search prompt page of the search term in response to a first condition being satisfied, wherein the search prompt page represents a page containing a prompt box of a search box;
wherein the first condition comprises: the size of the display area as required by the search result does not exceed a preset size or a display proportion of the size of the display area as required does not exceed a preset proportion, and the number of the search results is one, wherein one search result is able to answer the search term, and the one search result comprises information which does not exceed a preset number of lines”.
These limitations are directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claims 1 and 14, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine a display page of a search result according to an attribute characteristic corresponding to the search result by mentally or using a pen and paper determining the display page of the search result as a search prompt page of a search term, wherein the search prompt page represents a page containing a prompt box of a search box, in response to mentally or using a pen and paper determining if one of a plurality of first conditions have been satisfied, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 4 and similarly dependent claim 18 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein determining the display page of the search result as a search prompt page of the search term or a search result page of the search term according to at least one attribute characteristic of the search result comprises:
determining the display page of the search result as the search result page of the search term in response to a second condition being satisfied;
wherein the second condition comprises at least one of: the size of the display area as required by the search result exceeds a preset size or a display proportion of the size of the display area as required exceeds a preset proportion, and the number of the search result is greater than one, wherein at least two search results are required to be able to answer the search term, or the search result that corresponds to the search term and is able to answer the search term comprises information exceeding a preset number of lines”.
These limitations are directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claims 1 and 14, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine a display page of a search result according to an attribute characteristic corresponding to the search result by mentally or using a pen and paper determining the display page of the search result as a search result page of a search term in response to mentally or using a pen and paper determining if one of a plurality of second conditions have been satisfied, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 5 and similarly dependent claim 19 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein displaying the search result in the display page comprises: displaying the search result in a line-by-line display mode in a form of a display card in the search result page of the search term, wherein a time interval for displaying each line in the line-by-line display mode is related to a time for generating each line of information of the search result by the generative model”, which is a step of displaying or outputting data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data outputting, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of presenting offers and gathering statistics (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 7 and similarly dependent claim 21 recites additional limitations, such as:
wherein generating the search result corresponding to the search term based on the generative model in the working state comprises:
“acquiring a preset number of top-ranked initial search results which are matching the search term and sorted according to relevant degree, in response to the working state being the online state”, which is a step of acquiring or retrieving data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
“performing semantic analysis on the preset number of top-ranked initial search results based on the generative model by using the preset number of top-ranked initial search results as input parameters”,
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claims 1 and 14, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper generating a search result corresponding to a search term based on a generative model in a working state by mentally or using a pen and paper performing semantic analysis on a preset number of top-ranked initial search results based on the generative model by using the preset number of top-ranked initial search results as input parameters, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
“to acquire the search result corresponding to the search term”, which is a step of acquiring or retrieving data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 8 recites additional limitations, such as:
“displaying a recommended search term card in a search interstitial page or a search result page of the search term”, which is a step of displaying or outputting data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data outputting, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of presenting offers and gathering statistics (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
“wherein a recommended search term in the recommended search term card is generated based on the generative model according to a preset determinant factor, and the preset determinant factor comprises at least one of: a historical search behavior, a historical browsing behavior, a quality evaluation degree of the search result corresponding to the recommended search term, and feedback information of an object”.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper generating a recommended search term in a recommended search term card based on a generative model according to one of a plurality of preset determinant factors, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 9 recites additional limitations, such as:
“receiving a drop-down operation for the search interstitial page…”, which is a step of receiving data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
“…and displaying a jumping access for the generative model”, which is a step of displaying or outputting data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data outputting, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of presenting offers and gathering statistics (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 10 recites additional limitations, such as:
“displaying a source of the search result as the generative model; and/or
displaying a preset identifier representing the generative model”, which are steps of displaying or outputting data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data outputting, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of presenting offers and gathering statistics (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 11 recites additional limitations, such as:
“displaying a preset floating button, wherein the preset floating button represents a jumping access for the generative model”, which is a step of displaying or outputting data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data outputting, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of presenting offers and gathering statistics (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 12 recites additional limitations, such as:
“displaying a jumping access for the generative model and receiving a click-on operation for the jumping access”, which is a step of displaying or outputting data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data outputting, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of presenting offers and gathering statistics (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
“or, receiving a click-on operation for the search result or a click-on operation for a recommended search term”, which is a step of receiving data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
“jumping to display a chat page associated with the generative model”, which is a step of displaying or outputting data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data outputting, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of presenting offers and gathering statistics (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
“receiving a chat content input in the chat page”, which is a step of receiving data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
“returning reply information for the chat content, wherein the reply information is generated by the generative model”, which is a step of returning or transmitting data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, dependent claims 2-5, 7-12, 16-19, and 21 are also directed to abstract idea without significantly more and are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 9, 11, 12, and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bronicki (US Pub 2022/0374970) in view of Liao (US Pub 2013/0325838).
With respect to claim 1, Bronicki discloses a searching method, comprising:
receiving an input search term (Bronicki in [0021] and [0454] discloses receiving an input from a user indicative of a selection of a portion of a synthetic visual representation, in response to receiving the input presenting on a display an actual image corresponding to the selection; Bronicki in [0248] and [0260] discloses receiving shopping list entered by a customer user identifying at least one target product for selection from a store, customer user inputting their shopping list; Bronicki in [0304] discloses updated virtual shipping list provided to a user via a web site where the user initially entered their shopping list; Bronicki in [0362] discloses a query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, prompting the customer to confirm selection of a choice, prompting the user to enter a number, a graphical user interface including buttons, radio buttons, or a text field);
determining…a generative model when generating a search result… (Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display; Bronicki in [0475] and ]0476] discloses training a machine learning model, such as a generative model, using training examples to generate availability data of products from images and/or videos and to generate synthetic visual representations of the products from product availability data; here Bronicki does not explicitly disclose determining a working state of a model, wherein the working state is an offline state or an online state, but the Liao reference disclose the features, as discussed below); and
generating a search result corresponding to the search term based on the generative model… (Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display; Bronicki in [0475] and ]0476] discloses training a machine learning model, such as a generative model, using training examples to generate availability data of products from images and/or videos and to generate synthetic visual representations of the products from product availability data);
determining a display page of the search result as a search prompt page of the search term or a search result page of the search term according to at least one attribute characteristic of the search result, wherein the at least one attribute characteristic comprises at least one of a number of the search result, a number of the search result that is required to be able to answer the search term, a number of lines of information included in the search result (Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display; Bronicki in [0475] and ]0476] discloses training a machine learning model, such as a generative model, using training examples to generate availability data of products from images and/or videos and to generate synthetic visual representations of the products from product availability data); and
displaying the search result in the display page (Bronicki in [0021] and [0454] discloses receiving an input from a user indicative of a selection of a portion of a synthetic visual representation, in response to receiving the input presenting on a display an actual image corresponding to the selection; Bronicki in [0248] and [0260] discloses receiving shopping list entered by a customer user identifying at least one target product for selection from a store, customer user inputting their shopping list; Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display).
Bronicki discloses generating search results corresponding to a search term based on a generative model, acquiring search result corresponding to the search term, and a display page of the search result from images and/or videos, however, Bronicki does not explicitly disclose:
determining a working state of the…model when generating the search result, wherein the working state is an offline state or an online state; and
generating the search result corresponding to the search term based on the… model in the working state.
The Liao reference discloses determining a working state of a model when generating a search result, wherein the working state is an offline state or an online state, and generating the search result corresponding to the search term based on the model in the working state (Liao in [0031] and [0041]-[0043] discloses user provides a search query and receives query results by a presentation style module based on detected query intent, offline query intent collecting unit getting hold of information of query terms and user intent detected for the query by utilizing intent mining models, online query intent collecting unit collecting query intent information based on the search query using intent mining models, time-sensitive intents are online collected in a continuous and real-time manner, offline collection is batched and might be delayed but provides a broader coverage than online collection due to less strict latency requirement for offline intent detection, fetching the most relevant intent based on received search query, if more than one intent is determined for a particular query the offline and online query intent collecting units rank the intents, fetching and providing results for the most relevant intent on top of the ranking for presentation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Bronicki and Liao, to have combined Bronicki and Liao. The motivation to combine Bronicki and Liao would be to determine different presentation styles for presenting query results based on time-sensitivity of a query intent (Liao: [0008] and [0042]).
With respect to claim 2, Bronicki in view of Liao discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the attribute characteristic further comprises at least one of: a size of a display area as required, and a type of multimedia content contained in the multimedia information (Bronicki in [0021] and [0454] discloses receiving an input from a user indicative of a selection of a portion of a synthetic visual representation, in response to receiving the input presenting on a display an actual image corresponding to the selection; Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display).
With respect to claim 3, Bronicki in view of Liao discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein determining the display page of the search result as a search prompt page of the search term or a search result page of the search term according to at least one attribute characteristic of the search result comprises:
determining the display page of the search result as the search prompt page of the search term in response to a first condition being satisfied, wherein the search prompt page represents a page containing a prompt box of a search box (Bronicki in [0021] and [0454] discloses receiving an input from a user indicative of a selection of a portion of a synthetic visual representation, in response to receiving the input presenting on a display an actual image corresponding to the selection; Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display);
wherein the first condition comprises: the size of the display area as required by the search result does not exceed a preset size or a display proportion of the size of the display area as required does not exceed a preset proportion, and the number of the search results is one, wherein one search result is able to answer the search term, and the one search result comprises information which does not exceed a preset number of lines (Bronicki in [0021] and [0454] discloses receiving an input from a user indicative of a selection of a portion of a synthetic visual representation, in response to receiving the input presenting on a display an actual image corresponding to the selection; Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display).
With respect to claim 4, Bronicki in view of Liao discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein determining the display page of the search result as a search prompt page of the search term or a search result page of the search term according to at least one attribute characteristic of the search result comprises:
determining the display page of the search result as the search result page of the search term in response to a second condition being satisfied (Bronicki in [0021] and [0454] discloses receiving an input from a user indicative of a selection of a portion of a synthetic visual representation, in response to receiving the input presenting on a display an actual image corresponding to the selection; Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display);
wherein the second condition comprises at least one of: the size of the display area as required by the search result exceeds a preset size or a display proportion of the size of the display area as required exceeds a preset proportion, and the number of the search result is greater than one, wherein at least two search results are required to be able to answer the search term, or the search result that corresponds to the search term and is able to answer the search term comprises information exceeding a preset number of lines (Bronicki in [0021] and [0454] discloses receiving an input from a user indicative of a selection of a portion of a synthetic visual representation, in response to receiving the input presenting on a display an actual image corresponding to the selection; Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display).
With respect to claim 8, Bronicki in view of Liao discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
displaying a recommended search term card in a search interstitial page or a search result page of the search term (Bronicki in [0290] and [0327] discloses providing recommendations for where and when to purchase products on a shopping list, notifications provided to a user includes a recommendation to purchase a particular product at a retain store; Bronicki in [0456] and in Figure 27A discloses synthetic visual representation including a card, such as a region of associated graphical and textual elements used to represent a product);
wherein a recommended search term in the recommended search term card is generated based on the generative model according to a preset determinant factor, and the preset determinant factor comprises at least one of: a historical search behavior, a historical browsing behavior, a quality evaluation degree of the search result corresponding to the recommended search term, and feedback information of an object (Bronicki in [0021] and [0454] discloses receiving an input from a user indicative of a selection of a portion of a synthetic visual representation, in response to receiving the input presenting on a display an actual image corresponding to the selection; Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display).
With respect to claim 9, Bronicki in view of Liao discloses the method according to claim 8, further comprising:
receiving a drop-down operation for the search interstitial page and displaying a jumping access for the generative model (Bronicki in [0225], [0362], and [0456] and in Figure 27A discloses display area including one or more GUI features, such as tabs, by selecting each of the features a customer may virtually jump to different locations, display area including navigational features, such as arrows, to virtually move within different areas, hybrid visualization interface includes one or more navigation elements, such as scrollbar element allowing user to navigate through multiple synthetic visual representations within the interface, synthetic virtual representation includes an icon, a card, such as a region of associated graphical elements, a pane, a button, or various elements used to represent a product, graphical user interface elements include buttons, radio buttons, or a text field).
With respect to claim 11, Bronicki in view of Liao discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
displaying a preset floating button, wherein the preset floating button represents a jumping access for the generative model (Bronicki in [0225], [0362], and [0456] and in Figure 27A discloses display area including one or more GUI features, such as tabs, by selecting each of the features a customer may virtually jump to different locations, display area including navigational features, such as arrows, to virtually move within different areas, hybrid visualization interface includes one or more navigation elements, such as scrollbar element allowing user to navigate through multiple synthetic visual representations within the interface, synthetic virtual representation includes an icon, a card, such as a region of associated graphical elements, a pane, a button, or various elements used to represent a product, graphical user interface elements include buttons, radio buttons, or a text field).
With respect to claim 12, Bronicki in view of Liao discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
displaying a jumping access for the generative model and receiving a click-on operation for the jumping access (Bronicki in [0225], [0362], and [0456] and in Figure 27A discloses display area including one or more GUI features, such as tabs, by selecting each of the features a customer may virtually jump to different locations, display area including navigational features, such as arrows, to virtually move within different areas, hybrid visualization interface includes one or more navigation elements, such as scrollbar element allowing user to navigate through multiple synthetic visual representations within the interface, synthetic virtual representation includes an icon, a card, such as a region of associated graphical elements, a pane, a button, or various elements used to represent a product, graphical user interface elements include buttons, radio buttons, or a text field); or,
receiving a click-on operation for the search result or a click-on operation for a recommended search term (Bronicki in [0225], [0362], and [0456] and in Figure 27A discloses display area including one or more GUI features, such as tabs, by selecting each of the features a customer may virtually jump to different locations, display area including navigational features, such as arrows, to virtually move within different areas, hybrid visualization interface includes one or more navigation elements, such as scrollbar element allowing user to navigate through multiple synthetic visual representations within the interface, synthetic virtual representation includes an icon, a card, such as a region of associated graphical elements, a pane, a button, or various elements used to represent a product, graphical user interface elements include buttons, radio buttons, or a text field);
jumping to display a chat page associated with the generative model (Bronicki in [0225], [0362], and [0456] and in Figure 27A discloses display area including one or more GUI features, such as tabs, by selecting each of the features a customer may virtually jump to different locations, display area including navigational features, such as arrows, to virtually move within different areas, hybrid visualization interface includes one or more navigation elements, such as scrollbar element allowing user to navigate through multiple synthetic visual representations within the interface, synthetic virtual representation includes an icon, a card, such as a region of associated graphical elements, a pane, a button, or various elements used to represent a product, graphical user interface elements include buttons, radio buttons, or a text field);
receiving a chat content input in the chat page (Bronicki in [0225], [0362], and [0456] and in Figure 27A discloses display area including one or more GUI features, such as tabs, by selecting each of the features a customer may virtually jump to different locations, display area including navigational features, such as arrows, to virtually move within different areas, hybrid visualization interface includes one or more navigation elements, such as scrollbar element allowing user to navigate through multiple synthetic visual representations within the interface, synthetic virtual representation includes an icon, a card, such as a region of associated graphical elements, a pane, a button, or various elements used to represent a product, graphical user interface elements include buttons, radio buttons, or a text field); and
returning reply information for the chat content, wherein the reply information is generated by the generative model (Bronicki in [0225], [0362], and [0456] and in Figure 27A discloses display area including one or more GUI features, such as tabs, by selecting each of the features a customer may virtually jump to different locations, display area including navigational features, such as arrows, to virtually move within different areas, hybrid visualization interface includes one or more navigation elements, such as scrollbar element allowing user to navigate through multiple synthetic visual representations within the interface, synthetic virtual representation includes an icon, a card, such as a region of associated graphical elements, a pane, a button, or various elements used to represent a product, graphical user interface elements include buttons, radio buttons, or a text field).
With respect to claim 14, Bronicki discloses an electronic device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores machine-readable instructions executable by the processor, and the processor is configured to execute the machine-readable instructions stored in the memory, and when the machine-readable instructions are executed by the processor, the processor performs steps of a searching method, comprising:
receiving an input search term (Bronicki in [0021] and [0454] discloses receiving an input from a user indicative of a selection of a portion of a synthetic visual representation, in response to receiving the input presenting on a display an actual image corresponding to the selection; Bronicki in [0248] and [0260] discloses receiving shopping list entered by a customer user identifying at least one target product for selection from a store, customer user inputting their shopping list; Bronicki in [0304] discloses updated virtual shipping list provided to a user via a web site where the user initially entered their shopping list; Bronicki in [0362] discloses a query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, prompting the customer to confirm selection of a choice, prompting the user to enter a number, a graphical user interface including buttons, radio buttons, or a text field);
determining…a generative model when generating a search result… (Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display; Bronicki in [0475] and ]0476] discloses training a machine learning model, such as a generative model, using training examples to generate availability data of products from images and/or videos and to generate synthetic visual representations of the products from product availability data; here Bronicki does not explicitly disclose determining a working state of a model, wherein the working state is an offline state or an online state, but the Liao reference disclose the features, as discussed below); and
generating a search result corresponding to the search term based on the generative model… (Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display; Bronicki in [0475] and ]0476] discloses training a machine learning model, such as a generative model, using training examples to generate availability data of products from images and/or videos and to generate synthetic visual representations of the products from product availability data);
determining a display page of the search result as a search prompt page of the search term or a search result page of the search term according to at least one attribute characteristic of the search result, wherein the at least one attribute characteristic comprises at least one of a number of the search result, a number of the search result that is required to be able to answer the search term, a number of lines of information included in the search result (Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display; Bronicki in [0475] and ]0476] discloses training a machine learning model, such as a generative model, using training examples to generate availability data of products from images and/or videos and to generate synthetic visual representations of the products from product availability data); and
displaying the search result in the display page (Bronicki in [0021] and [0454] discloses receiving an input from a user indicative of a selection of a portion of a synthetic visual representation, in response to receiving the input presenting on a display an actual image corresponding to the selection; Bronicki in [0248] and [0260] discloses receiving shopping list entered by a customer user identifying at least one target product for selection from a store, customer user inputting their shopping list; Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display).
Bronicki discloses generating search results corresponding to a search term based on a generative model, acquiring search result corresponding to the search term, and a display page of the search result from images and/or videos, however, Bronicki does not explicitly disclose:
determining a working state of the…model when generating the search result, wherein the working state is an offline state or an online state; and
generating the search result corresponding to the search term based on the… model in the working state.
The Liao reference discloses determining a working state of a model when generating a search result, wherein the working state is an offline state or an online state, and generating the search result corresponding to the search term based on the model in the working state (Liao in [0031] and [0041]-[0043] discloses user provides a search query and receives query results by a presentation style module based on detected query intent, offline query intent collecting unit getting hold of information of query terms and user intent detected for the query by utilizing intent mining models, online query intent collecting unit collecting query intent information based on the search query using intent mining models, time-sensitive intents are online collected in a continuous and real-time manner, offline collection is batched and might be delayed but provides a broader coverage than online collection due to less strict latency requirement for offline intent detection, fetching the most relevant intent based on received search query, if more than one intent is determined for a particular query the offline and online query intent collecting units rank the intents, fetching and providing results for the most relevant intent on top of the ranking for presentation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Bronicki and Liao, to have combined Bronicki and Liao. The motivation to combine Bronicki and Liao would be to determine different presentation styles for presenting query results based on time-sensitivity of a query intent (Liao: [0008] and [0042]).
With respect to claim 15, Bronicki discloses a computer-readable storage medium having a computer program stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, realizes steps of a searching method, comprising:
receiving an input search term (Bronicki in [0021] and [0454] discloses receiving an input from a user indicative of a selection of a portion of a synthetic visual representation, in response to receiving the input presenting on a display an actual image corresponding to the selection; Bronicki in [0248] and [0260] discloses receiving shopping list entered by a customer user identifying at least one target product for selection from a store, customer user inputting their shopping list; Bronicki in [0304] discloses updated virtual shipping list provided to a user via a web site where the user initially entered their shopping list; Bronicki in [0362] discloses a query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, prompting the customer to confirm selection of a choice, prompting the user to enter a number, a graphical user interface including buttons, radio buttons, or a text field);
determining…a generative model when generating a search result… (Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display; Bronicki in [0475] and ]0476] discloses training a machine learning model, such as a generative model, using training examples to generate availability data of products from images and/or videos and to generate synthetic visual representations of the products from product availability data; here Bronicki does not explicitly disclose determining a working state of a model, wherein the working state is an offline state or an online state, but the Liao reference disclose the features, as discussed below); and
generating a search result corresponding to the search term based on the generative model… (Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display; Bronicki in [0475] and ]0476] discloses training a machine learning model, such as a generative model, using training examples to generate availability data of products from images and/or videos and to generate synthetic visual representations of the products from product availability data);
determining a display page of the search result as a search prompt page of the search term or a search result page of the search term according to at least one attribute characteristic of the search result, wherein the at least one attribute characteristic comprises at least one of a number of the search result, a number of the search result that is required to be able to answer the search term, a number of lines of information included in the search result (Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display; Bronicki in [0475] and ]0476] discloses training a machine learning model, such as a generative model, using training examples to generate availability data of products from images and/or videos and to generate synthetic visual representations of the products from product availability data); and
displaying the search result in the display page (Bronicki in [0021] and [0454] discloses receiving an input from a user indicative of a selection of a portion of a synthetic visual representation, in response to receiving the input presenting on a display an actual image corresponding to the selection; Bronicki in [0248] and [0260] discloses receiving shopping list entered by a customer user identifying at least one target product for selection from a store, customer user inputting their shopping list; Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display).
Bronicki discloses generating search results corresponding to a search term based on a generative model, acquiring search result corresponding to the search term, and a display page of the search result from images and/or videos, however, Bronicki does not explicitly disclose:
determining a working state of the…model when generating the search result, wherein the working state is an offline state or an online state; and
generating the search result corresponding to the search term based on the… model in the working state.
The Liao reference discloses determining a working state of a model when generating a search result, wherein the working state is an offline state or an online state, and generating the search result corresponding to the search term based on the model in the working state (Liao in [0031] and [0041]-[0043] discloses user provides a search query and receives query results by a presentation style module based on detected query intent, offline query intent collecting unit getting hold of information of query terms and user intent detected for the query by utilizing intent mining models, online query intent collecting unit collecting query intent information based on the search query using intent mining models, time-sensitive intents are online collected in a continuous and real-time manner, offline collection is batched and might be delayed but provides a broader coverage than online collection due to less strict latency requirement for offline intent detection, fetching the most relevant intent based on received search query, if more than one intent is determined for a particular query the offline and online query intent collecting units rank the intents, fetching and providing results for the most relevant intent on top of the ranking for presentation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Bronicki and Liao, to have combined Bronicki and Liao. The motivation to combine Bronicki and Liao would be to determine different presentation styles for presenting query results based on time-sensitivity of a query intent (Liao: [0008] and [0042]).
With respect to claim 16, Bronicki in view of Liao discloses the electronic device according to claim 14, wherein the attribute characteristic further comprises at least one of: a size of a display area as required, and a type of multimedia content contained in the multimedia information (Bronicki in [0021] and [0454] discloses receiving an input from a user indicative of a selection of a portion of a synthetic visual representation, in response to receiving the input presenting on a display an actual image corresponding to the selection; Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display).
With respect to claim 17, Bronicki in view of Liao discloses the electronic device according to claim 16, wherein in the searing method, determining the display page of the search result as a search prompt page of the search term or a search result page of the search term according to at least one attribute characteristic of the search result comprises:
determining the display page of the search result as the search prompt page of the search term in response to a first condition being satisfied, wherein the search prompt page represents a page containing a prompt box of a search box (Bronicki in [0021] and [0454] discloses receiving an input from a user indicative of a selection of a portion of a synthetic visual representation, in response to receiving the input presenting on a display an actual image corresponding to the selection; Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display);
wherein the first condition comprises: the size of the display area as required by the search result does not exceed a preset size or a display proportion of the size of the display area as required does not exceed a preset proportion, and the number of the search results is one, wherein one search result is able to answer the search term, and the one search result comprises information which does not exceed a preset number of lines (Bronicki in [0021] and [0454] discloses receiving an input from a user indicative of a selection of a portion of a synthetic visual representation, in response to receiving the input presenting on a display an actual image corresponding to the selection; Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display).
With respect to claim 18, Bronicki in view of Liao discloses the electronic device according to claim 16, wherein in the searing method, determining the display page of the search result as a search prompt page of the search term or a search result page of the search term according to at least one attribute characteristic of the search result comprises:
determining the display page of the search result as the search result page of the search term in response to a second condition being satisfied (Bronicki in [0021] and [0454] discloses receiving an input from a user indicative of a selection of a portion of a synthetic visual representation, in response to receiving the input presenting on a display an actual image corresponding to the selection; Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display);
wherein the second condition comprises at least one of: the size of the display area as required by the search result exceeds a preset size or a display proportion of the size of the display area as required exceeds a preset proportion, and the number of the search result is greater than one, wherein at least two search results are required to be able to answer the search term, or the search result that corresponds to the search term and is able to answer the search term comprises information exceeding a preset number of lines (Bronicki in [0021] and [0454] discloses receiving an input from a user indicative of a selection of a portion of a synthetic visual representation, in response to receiving the input presenting on a display an actual image corresponding to the selection; Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display).
Claim(s) 5 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bronicki (US Pub 2022/0374970) in view of Liao (US Pub 2013/0325838) and in further view of Fukuya (US Pub 2010/0166390).
With respect to claim 5, Bronicki in view of Liao discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein displaying the search result in the display page comprises:
displaying the search result in a…display mode in a form of a display card in the search result page of the search term (Bronicki in [0021] and [0454] discloses receiving an input from a user indicative of a selection of a portion of a synthetic visual representation, in response to receiving the input presenting on a display an actual image corresponding to the selection; Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display),
wherein…displaying…in the…display mode is related to…generating each… information of the search result by the generative model (Bronicki in [0021] and [0454] discloses receiving an input from a user indicative of a selection of a portion of a synthetic visual representation, in response to receiving the input presenting on a display an actual image corresponding to the selection; Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display).
Bronicki and Liao discloses displaying search results in a display mode, however, Bronicki and Liao do not explicitly disclose:
displaying…in a line-by-line display mode…;
wherein a time interval for displaying each line in the line-by-line display mode is related to a time for generating each line of information….
The Fukuya reference discloses displaying in a line-by-line display mode, wherein a time interval for displaying each line in the line-by-line display mode is related to a time for generating each line of information (Fukuya in [0014] and [0112] discloses obtaining a content, obtain data associated with a character string corresponding to the obtained content, segment the character string into a line in accordance with a criterion determined in advance, setting a display duration time of the character string on a line-by-line basis, sequentially display the segmented line of the character string in accordance with the corresponding set display duration time, subsequent to completion of displaying the lines of the content performing obtaining and displaying lines of a different content).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Bronicki, Liao, and Fukuya, to have combined Bronicki, Liao, and Fukuya. The motivation to combine Bronicki, Liao, and Fukuya would be to allow users to watch contents easily and comfortably with a display duration time suitable for each of the contents by enabling realization of slideshow displaying of contents (Fukuya: [0002]).
With respect to claim 19, Bronicki in view of Liao discloses the electronic device according to claim 18, wherein in the searing method, displaying the search result in the display page comprises:
displaying the search result in a…display mode in a form of a display card in the search result page of the search term (Bronicki in [0021] and [0454] discloses receiving an input from a user indicative of a selection of a portion of a synthetic visual representation, in response to receiving the input presenting on a display an actual image corresponding to the selection; Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display),
wherein…displaying…in the…display mode is related to…generating each… information of the search result by the generative model (Bronicki in [0021] and [0454] discloses receiving an input from a user indicative of a selection of a portion of a synthetic visual representation, in response to receiving the input presenting on a display an actual image corresponding to the selection; Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display).
Bronicki and Liao discloses displaying search results in a display mode, however, Bronicki and Liao do not explicitly disclose:
displaying…in a line-by-line display mode…;
wherein a time interval for displaying each line in the line-by-line display mode is related to a time for generating each line of information….
The Fukuya reference discloses displaying in a line-by-line display mode, wherein a time interval for displaying each line in the line-by-line display mode is related to a time for generating each line of information (Fukuya in [0014] and [0112] discloses obtaining a content, obtain data associated with a character string corresponding to the obtained content, segment the character string into a line in accordance with a criterion determined in advance, setting a display duration time of the character string on a line-by-line basis, sequentially display the segmented line of the character string in accordance with the corresponding set display duration time, subsequent to completion of displaying the lines of the content performing obtaining and displaying lines of a different content).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Bronicki, Liao, and Fukuya, to have combined Bronicki, Liao, and Fukuya. The motivation to combine Bronicki, Liao, and Fukuya would be to allow users to watch contents easily and comfortably with a display duration time suitable for each of the contents by enabling realization of slideshow displaying of contents (Fukuya: [0002]).
Claim(s) 7 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bronicki (US Pub 2022/0374970) in view of Liao (US Pub 2013/0325838) and in further view of Soubbotin (US Pat 12,038,958).
With respect to claim 7, Bronicki in view of Liao discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein generating the search result corresponding to the search term based on the generative model in the working state comprises:
acquiring a preset number of top-ranked initial search results which are matching the search term and sorted according to relevant degree, in response to the working state being the online state (Bronicki in [0475] and ]0476] discloses training a machine learning model, such as a generative model, using training examples to generate availability data of products from images and/or videos and to generate synthetic visual representations of the products from product availability data; Liao in [0042] and [0043] discloses online query intent collecting unit collecting query intent information based on the search query using intent mining models, time-sensitive intents are online collected in a continuous and real-time manner, fetching the most relevant intent based on received search query, if more than one intent is determined for a particular query the offline and online query intent collecting units rank the intents, fetching and providing results for the most relevant intent on top of the ranking for presentation); and
performing…analysis on the preset number of top-ranked initial search results based on the generative model by using the preset number of top-ranked initial search results as input parameters, to acquire the search result corresponding to the search term (Bronicki in [0475] and ]0476] discloses training a machine learning model, such as a generative model, using training examples to generate availability data of products from images and/or videos and to generate synthetic visual representations of the products from product availability data; Liao in [0042] and [0043] discloses online query intent collecting unit collecting query intent information based on the search query using intent mining models, time-sensitive intents are online collected in a continuous and real-time manner, fetching the most relevant intent based on received search query, if more than one intent is determined for a particular query the offline and online query intent collecting units rank the intents, fetching and providing results for the most relevant intent on top of the ranking for presentation).
Bronicki discloses search results based on a generative model and Liao discloses ranking and fetching top ranked results, however, Bronicki and Liao do not explicitly disclose:
performing semantic analysis…;
The Soubbotin reference discloses performing semantic analysis (Soubbotin in Column 19 lines 1-56 and Column 46 lines 27-64 discloses performing semantic analysis and ranking documents; Soubbotin in Column 36 lines 12-47 discloses user inputting a search query and metadata as part of a search, searching one or more databases according to the search query and/or metadata, creating search results, creating a summary of one or more search results, summaries sent for display to the user, summary including multimedia elements along with text, summarization based on an AI language model, compiling coherent answer to user’s request).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Bronicki, Liao, and Soubbotin, to have combined Bronicki, Liao, and Soubbotin. The motivation to combine Bronicki, Liao, and Soubbotin would be to retrieve more accurate results from a single search query by creating search query summaries (Soubbotin: Column 1 line 46 – Column 2 line 23).
With respect to claim 21, Bronicki in view of Liao discloses the electronic device according to claim 14, wherein in the searing method, generating the search result corresponding to the search term based on the generative model in the working state comprises:
acquiring a preset number of top-ranked initial search results which are matching the search term and sorted according to relevant degree, in response to the working state being the online state (Bronicki in [0475] and ]0476] discloses training a machine learning model, such as a generative model, using training examples to generate availability data of products from images and/or videos and to generate synthetic visual representations of the products from product availability data; Liao in [0042] and [0043] discloses online query intent collecting unit collecting query intent information based on the search query using intent mining models, time-sensitive intents are online collected in a continuous and real-time manner, fetching the most relevant intent based on received search query, if more than one intent is determined for a particular query the offline and online query intent collecting units rank the intents, fetching and providing results for the most relevant intent on top of the ranking for presentation); and
performing…analysis on the preset number of top-ranked initial search results based on the generative model by using the preset number of top-ranked initial search results as input parameters, to acquire the search result corresponding to the search term (Bronicki in [0475] and ]0476] discloses training a machine learning model, such as a generative model, using training examples to generate availability data of products from images and/or videos and to generate synthetic visual representations of the products from product availability data; Liao in [0042] and [0043] discloses online query intent collecting unit collecting query intent information based on the search query using intent mining models, time-sensitive intents are online collected in a continuous and real-time manner, fetching the most relevant intent based on received search query, if more than one intent is determined for a particular query the offline and online query intent collecting units rank the intents, fetching and providing results for the most relevant intent on top of the ranking for presentation).
Bronicki discloses search results based on a generative model and Liao discloses ranking and fetching top ranked results, however, Bronicki and Liao do not explicitly disclose:
performing semantic analysis…;
The Soubbotin reference discloses performing semantic analysis (Soubbotin in Column 19 lines 1-56 and Column 46 lines 27-64 discloses performing semantic analysis and ranking documents; Soubbotin in Column 36 lines 12-47 discloses user inputting a search query and metadata as part of a search, searching one or more databases according to the search query and/or metadata, creating search results, creating a summary of one or more search results, summaries sent for display to the user, summary including multimedia elements along with text, summarization based on an AI language model, compiling coherent answer to user’s request).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Bronicki, Liao, and Soubbotin, to have combined Bronicki, Liao, and Soubbotin. The motivation to combine Bronicki, Liao, and Soubbotin would be to retrieve more accurate results from a single search query by creating search query summaries (Soubbotin: Column 1 line 46 – Column 2 line 23).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bronicki (US Pub 2022/0374970) in view of Liao (US Pub 2013/0325838) and in further view of Zeng (US Pub 2024/0184416).
With respect to claim 10, Bronicki in view of Liao discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
displaying…the search result… (Bronicki in [0021] and [0454] discloses receiving an input from a user indicative of a selection of a portion of a synthetic visual representation, in response to receiving the input presenting on a display an actual image corresponding to the selection; Bronicki in [0362] and [0386] discloses query presented as a multiple-choice question to enable easy customer response, query prompts the customer to confirm a choice, number of choices limited based on screen size of the device where the query is displayed, answer choices presented to customer as possible responses to query, number of presented answer choices vary according to the size of the display);
Bronicki and Liao discloses generating search results using a generative model, however, Bronicki and Liao do not explicitly disclose:
displaying a source…as the…model; and/or
displaying a preset identifier representing the…model;
The Zeng reference discloses displaying a source as a model and a preset identifier representing the model (Zeng in [0068] and [0070] discloses results generated from data using machine learning model are displayed on a user interface through a dashboard, a data lineage is presented identifying data sources and machine learning models used to generate results, such as a set of data output by a machine learning model).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Bronicki, Liao, and Zeng, to have combined Bronicki, Liao, and Zeng. The motivation to combine Bronicki, Liao, and Zeng would be to present a data discovery component to present results from identified sample features of the data using a machine learning model (Zeng: [0003]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Remarks
The relevant prior art of record that are not used in claim rejections but are pertinent to the claims or disclosure are:
Jain (US Pub 2024/0256582), which discloses summary of search results generated using one or more generative AI models and prompting the one or more generative AI models.
Rofouei (US Pub 2024/0289407), which discloses search results generated based on using a generative model.
Contact Information
/R.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2159 /ANN J LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2159