DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application PCT/KR2022/009024, filed on 06/24/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the PCT/KR2022/009024 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/23/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Preliminary Amendments
Prior to the examining, The applicant has amended the application. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 9, 10, 12, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by ZHANG et al. (Hereinafter “Zhang”, US 20220272399.)
Regard to Claim 1, and 9: Zhang discloses:
A mobile terminal comprising:
a display: (i.e., [0061] The terminal device 100 may include a processor 110, … a display screen 194, a subscriber identification module (subscriber identification module, SIM) card interface 195, and the like. As described in paragraph [0061]).
a near field communication (NFC) circuit configured to transmit an NFC tagging signal to a remote-control device and receive address information and capability information of a display device from the remote-control device in response to the NFC tagging signal; (i.e., [0169] Specifically, when touching the remote control 300 for the first time, the terminal device 100 obtains content of the NFC tag in the remote control 300. The content includes default device identification information of the display device 200, for example, a device name, a device type, MAC address information, an identification code, and manufacturer information.
[0194] As shown in FIG. 9B, when the terminal device 100 has discovered the nearby display device 200 through scan, the terminal device 100 displays a first pop-up box. The first pop-up box includes a list of nearby usable display devices. The device list includes device names and device icons of the nearby devices and capabilities supported by the devices. As described in paragraph [0169] and [0194]).
a Wi-Fi circuit configured to perform a Wi-Fi connection with the display device by using the address information of the display device; (i.e. [0140] In some embodiments, the response message may carry identification information of the display device 200, for example, information such as a manufacturer device, a device name, a device icon, a device ID, and a MAC address.
[0142] The terminal device 100 may display the identification information of the display device 200 in the first screen or the first pop-up box, and receive a user operation on the identification information. The terminal device 100 and the display device 200 perform parameter negotiation or establish a P2P connection.
[0143] Step 406: The terminal device 100 completes the screen projection operation on the display device 200. As described in paragraph [0126] to [0143]).
And a processor configured to display, on the display, a plurality of interworking functions supportable by the display device, based on the capability information. (i.e., [0278] Step 2301: The terminal device 100 touches the NFC tag.
[0279] The NFC tag includes the MAC address of the corresponding display device. The MAC address may be a MAC address of a P2P connection, and may be randomly generated.
[0280] Step 2302: The terminal device 100 obtains tag information.
[0281] Step 2303: The terminal device 100 initiates DLNA capability discovery.
[0282] Specifically, the terminal device 100 determines that the display device 200 is of a supported device type based on the tag information. In addition, the terminal device 100 is currently running a video play application, and the video play application has a DLNA capability. That is, the foreground DLNA application triggers a DLNA procedure.
[0283] Step 2304: The display device 200 sends a DLNA capability response.
[0284] Step 2305: The terminal device 100 determines that the display device 200 is a recorded device and initiates a DLNA procedure.
[0285] The terminal device 100 may determine the display device 200 based on the STA MAC address or the NFC tag. The terminal device 100 sends a source address of video content to the display device 200, and the display device 200 obtains the video content from a network based on the source address to implement screen projection. As described in paragraph [0278] to [0285]).
Regard to Claim 2, and 10: Zhang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, and Zhang further discloses:
A mobile terminal comprising:
wherein the processor is configured to transmit, to the display device, a request for performing a selected interworking function in response to a selection of one of the plurality of interworking functions through the Wi-Fi circuit. (i.e., [0131] In some embodiments, the terminal device 100 sends a scan request to the nearby display device 200 over a specified channel. As described in paragraph [0130] to [0133]).
Regard to Claim 4, and 12: Zhang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, and Zhang further discloses:
wherein the capability information includes the plurality of interworking functions supportable by the display device and a plurality of code numbers respectively corresponding to the plurality of interworking functions. (i.e., [0194] As shown in FIG. 9B, when the terminal device 100 has discovered the nearby display device 200 through scan, the terminal device 100 displays a first pop-up box. The first pop-up box includes a list of nearby usable display devices. The device list includes device names and device icons of the nearby devices and capabilities supported by the devices. For example, an Honor TV supports projection in computer mode and mobile phone mode. For example, a Huawei large screen supports projection of only images, videos, and music. For example, a smart screen supports projection only in mobile phone mode. As described in paragraph [0194]).
Regard to Claim 5, and 13: Zhang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, and Zhang further discloses:
wherein the NFC circuit is configured to receive, from the remote-control device, an NFC data exchange format (NDEF) message including the address information, the capability information, and the application information. (i.e., [0279] The NFC tag includes the MAC address of the corresponding display device. The MAC address may be a MAC address of a P2P connection, and may be randomly generated. [0280] Step 2302: The terminal device 100 obtains tag information. [0281] Step 2303: The terminal device 100 initiates DLNA capability discovery.
[0282] Specifically, the terminal device 100 determines that the display device 200 is of a supported device type based on the tag information. In addition, the terminal device 100 is currently running a video play application, and the video play application has a DLNA capability. That is, the foreground DLNA application triggers a DLNA procedure. As described in paragraph [0279] to [0282]).
Regard to Claim 6, and 14: Zhang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, and Zhang further discloses:
wherein the address information includes one or more of a Bluetooth address, a Wi-Fi address, and a Wi-Fi direct address of the display device, (i.e., [0129] Specifically, the terminal device 100 may perform Wi-Fi full channel (2.4G and 5G channels) scan to discover multiple nearby display devices. In some embodiments, after performing full channel scan, the terminal device 100 may further scan only for a fixed channel, such as a channel 1, a channel 6, or a channel 11. As described in paragraph [0129]).
wherein the capability information includes information about the plurality of interworking functions, (i.e., [0146] In some embodiments, the terminal device 100 may also project a user operation on the display device 200. For example, the terminal device 100 receives a user operation of starting a first application program, and the terminal device starts the first application program in response to the first operation and displays a first screen of the first application program. Similarly, the above steps and the first screen of the first application program may also be displayed on the display device 200. As described in paragraph [0146]).
And wherein the application information includes an application package name that identifies a name of the application. (i.e., [0266] As shown in FIG. 21, an embodiment of this application further provides a terminal device 100, including a screen projection module, a one-touch screen projection management module, an NFC reading module, a screen projection module, and a database. Specific functions are described in the table.
TABLE-US-00003 Module name Description Application Upper layer application, used to support completion of layer module an entire DLNA or Miracast application function One-touch Analyzes NFC tag content screen Updates an NFC tag and a big-screen database projection Triggers (Miracast and DLNA) scenario recognition and management determines whether a scenario is supported NFC reading Reads an NFC tag module Screen Provides Miracast and DLNA screen projection functions projection module Database Saves detailed information (MAC) of a large screen for database non-first-time automatic screen projection, with a unique value of the NFC tag as a key value. As described in paragraph [0266]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious by ZHANG et al. (Hereinafter “Zhang”, US 20220272399), in view of Jeong et al. (Hereinafter “Jeong”, US 20200213557).
Regard to Claim 3, and 11: Zhang discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above. And further discloses:
wherein the NFC circuit is configured to
further receive application information in response to the NFC tagging signal, (i.e., [0176] When the terminal device 100 approaches the remote control 300, the terminal device 100 may obtain the information in the NFC tag, including but not limited to the device name, device type, MAC address information, identification code, manufacturer information, and other information. As described in paragraph [0176]).
Zhang discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above. But it does not expressly disclose the features of these claims:
wherein the processor is configured to execute an application based on the application information and display the plurality of interworking functions included in the capability information on an execution screen of the application.
In similar endeavor, Jeong discloses:
And wherein the processor is configured to execute an application based on the application information and display the plurality of interworking functions included in the capability information on an execution screen of the application. (i.e., [0055] Besides that, the control unit 170 can control overall operations in display device 100. Additionally, the control unit 170 can control the display device 100 by a user command or internal program input through the user interface unit 150 and download a desired application or application list into the display device 100 in access to network. As described in paragraph [0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Jeong into the invention of Zhang in order to provide more flexible and accurate display device interaction though NFC tagging for the users.
Claims 7, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious by ZHANG et al. (Hereinafter “Zhang”, US 20220272399), in view of Kim et al. (Hereinafter “Kim”, US 20130005250:
Regard to Claim 7, and 15: Zhang discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above. Zhang discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above. But it does not expressly disclose features of these claims:
wherein the capability information further includes an operating system version and a model name of the display device.
In similar endeavor, Kim discloses:
wherein the capability information further includes an operating system version and a model name of the display device. (i.e., [0295] The device information here may include information about a product type, product name, manufacturer, or firmware version of the remote controller 200 and/or the image display apparatus 100 that can be controlled remotely with the remote controller 200. As described in paragraph [0298]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Kim into the invention of Zhang in order to provide more flexible and accurate display device interaction though NFC tagging for the users.
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious by ZHANG et al. (Hereinafter “Zhang”, US 20220272399), in view of GLAZER et al. (Hereinafter “Glazer”, US 20150293684).
Regard to Claim 8: Zhang discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above. And further discloses:
wherein the plurality of interworking functions includes a mirroring function, and a content reproduction function. (i.e. [0165] The foregoing screen projection method requires manual setting by the user, and therefore is relatively cumbersome. Screen projection carried out according to standard protocols includes mirror screen projection (Miracast) and application screen projection (DLNA). For users, operation steps are many and time-consuming. As described in paragraph [0165]).
Zhang discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above. But it does not expressly disclose features of these claims:
wherein the plurality of interworking functions includes a reverse mirroring function, an audio reverse mirroring function.
In similar endeavor, Glazer discloses:
wherein the plurality of interworking functions includes a reverse mirroring function, an audio reverse mirroring function. (i.e., [0041] FIG. 3 is a flowchart illustrating mirroring module activities providing full mirroring of the receiver device, according to some embodiments of the invention. The mirroring module functioning as a full interface, implements at least one of the following steps: Receiving indication of activation of nearby receiver module (step 1110), streaming reverse mirroring full interface screen of receiver module to the touch enabled device (step 1120), identifying current status of multimedia activation (e.g. video starts playing) (step 1130), reverse mirroring of activated multimedia applications from the receiver module to a touch enabled device through direct local wireless communication network, concurrently or non-concurrently (step 1140) and/or displaying full interface screen of the receiver module and multimedia application (step 1150) including full movie video stream or gaming video. The reverse mirroring may be implemented by WIFI direct protocols or optionally using global communication network such as TCP/IP. As described in paragraph [0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Glazer into the invention of Zhang in order to provide more flexible and accurate display device interaction though NFC tagging for the users.
Conclusion
/Eric M. Vo/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644