DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment and remarks, filed 05/11/2026, are noted with appreciation.
Claim(s) Status
Claims 1-15 remain pending, as amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/20/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final Office action on 02/11/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 (timing statement). Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Primary Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in traverse of the non-final Office action mailed 02/11/2026 (“non-final action”), set forth in the remarks, have been fully considered.
Claim Objections
The objections to claims 1, 10, and 13 in the non-final action are withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claims 7-8 as indefinite under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) in the non-final action is withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claim Rejection – 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claims 1-5 and 11-15 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as obvious over Suarez-Rivera et al. in view of JP 353 is withdrawn in view of the amendment. Suarez-Rivera is limited to the use of Biochar, which is derived from biomass (i.e., organic waste), not inorganic coal.
The rejection of claims 6-10 are maintained in view of the amendment. In Example 3, US 714 teaches the following compositional mass ratio [0109]:
Cement : sand : PC : water = 1 : 1.5 : 1.5 : 1.65 => PC : cement = 1.5 : 1.
Consequently, US 714 meets the limitations of claims 6-10, as amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0061714 A1.
Claim 6
US 714 teaches a process for pre-coating pyrolysis char (PC) comprising: mixing a PC with a cement material to form a dry mixture and applying water onto the dry mixture of the PC and the cement material to form a wet mixture (“[t]he method includes introducing pyrolysis char . . . and cement to water,” which implied the dry ingredients are added to the water) [0075]. The method further comprises mixing the resultant PC, cement, water mixture and then curing it in a mold [0075]. The mixing reads on the claimed “stirring” and the “curing” reads on the claimed “drying,” since the finished product is a char brick.
US 714 does not specify any means for “introducing” the dry ingredients to the water. It is the Primary Examiner’s position that any known means would be suitable. Since spraying a dry substrate such as concrete mix with water (e.g., from a hose) is known in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the process of US 714 so as to utilize sprayed water to wet the cement. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so by the desire and expectation of successfully forming a PC-cement slurry.
US 714 teaches that the PC is a solid residue from a pyrolysis of coal. See, e.g., [0046]. Moreover, as noted above, In Example 3, US 714 teaches the following compositional mass ratio [0109]:
cement : sand : PC : water = 1 : 1.5 : 1.5 : 1.65 => PC : cement = 1.5 : 1.
Consequently, US 714 meets the limitation requiring a ratio of PC to cement material to be from about 1.5 : 1 to about 4 : 1.
Claims 7 & 8
The teaching of US 714 is detailed above.
This reference does not specifically teach grinding and sieving the CPC after drying.
It is the Primary Examiner’s position that grinding the char bricks of US 714 is a readily obvious means for their recycling and reuse in the making of new bricks or other products. Consequently, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have ground the char brick and sieved the powder to produce a suitable product for the production of new char-based products.
Claims 9 & 10
The teaching of US 714 is detailed above.
This reference teaches drying the CPC (bricks) at room temperature [0109], but does not specify drying in an oven at about 30-50°C for about 24-72 hours (claim 9) or at room temperature for about 1-3 hours after drying in the oven.
In general time and temperature regimes are result-effective variables affecting the cure rate and cure degree of a wet cementitious object to produce a dry cementitious object. Consequently, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the heating time and temperature regime by routine experimentation, absent evidence of criticality. See MPEP § 2144.05. There is no evidence of record indicating that such optimization would have been anything other than the exercise of ordinary skill. In re Applied Materials, Inc., 692 F.3d 1289, 1297 (Fed. Cir. 2012). Moreover, “[t]he mere fact that multiple result-effective variables were combined [time and temperature] does not necessarily render their combination beyond the capability of a person having ordinary skill in the art.” Id. at 1298.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5 and 11-15 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The closest art is of record. The prior art does not teach, show suggest, or otherwise render obvious the processes of claims 1 and 11 wherein the PC is a solid residue from a pyrolysis of coal.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WILLIAM PHILLIP FLETCHER III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/WILLIAM P FLETCHER III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759
15 July 2026