Claims 1-15, and 17 is/are pending.
Drawings are accepted.
IDS are considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vermani et al. (US 2022/0038241) in view of Seok et al. (US 2022/0045725).
As to claims 1, 15:
Vermani discloses:
a method, and an apparatus having at least one transceiver; and at least one processor connected to the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor (Abstract, ¶0010, 0058, method and apparatus having processor/memory and transceiver) is configured to perform said method (See at least ¶0133, process performed by STA 104/504) comprising:
receiving, by a first station (STA), a first null data PPDU (NDP) announcement frame and a second NDP announcement frame from a second STA;
(Per ¶0007, 013309134, Fig. 17, receiving from second station an NDPA. The NDPA including a first STA information filed carrying bandwidth information for a requested sounding feedback. ¶0106, at least a second NPDA is received from another STA with the same message structure)
and transmitting, by the first STA, at least one feedback frame for at least one channel to the second STA,
(See at least ¶0134, Fig. 17, transmitting the sounding feedback based on the received NDP and the bandwidth information)
wherein a bandwidth for the second STA includes a first channel and a second channel,
(See at least ¶0103, 0008, Fig. 9, ¶0080-0083, sounding over a wireless spectrum having multiple channels/subchannels, i.e. at least a first channel and a second channel. STA information/partial BW info identifies the bandwidth associated with the feedback)
wherein the first NDP announcement frame includes a first STA Info field for the first channel, and the second NDP announcement frame includes a second STA Info field for the second channel
(See at least Fig. 12A-B, ¶0103, 0126, 0134, the first STA information carrying bandwidth information and identifying the plurality of channels, BW information in the STA info field. Fig. 13, ¶0106, at least a second NPDA from another STA with the same structure)
and wherein the at least one channel is indicated based on the first STA Info field and the second STA Info field.
(See at least ¶0134-0135, 0102-0103, 0126, the channels are indicated based on identification information in the STA information field. Fig. 13, ¶0106, at least a second NPDA from another STA with the same structure)
Vermani does not explicitly disclose the second NDPA frame being from the same second STA, instead. Vermani discloses the second or more NDPA frames may be received from other STAs, and transmitting the feedback comprising feedbacks corresponding to both NDPAs.
Seok, in a related field of wireless network packet sounding, discloses a system/method wherein a same AP transmits an NDPA on a primary channel and another NDPA on a secondary channel of one operating bandwidth, and receiving a compressed sounding feedback (See at least Abstract, Fig. 6A-B, ¶0044-0045, 0005-0007, see also Claim 1, 3-4, and 16). Specifically, the NDPA is transmitted on each subchannel of the primary channel and of the secondary channel (¶0045, claim 3). The NDPA also includes STA info field containing BW information identifying frequency range for feedback, and thus receiving the feedback accordingly from the sounding STA (¶0047-0049, Fig. 9A-B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention to carry Vermani’s NDPAs from the same second STA (AP). Vermani already discloses receiving NDPAs for different channels. Seok then discloses sending NDPAs from the same AP on primary channel and secondar channel so that each segment can receive announcements. As such the combination is advantageous in case of a single AP operating multiple layers of cells, wherein each NDPA is sent on the channel which it describes from the same STA, so the STA on that channel gets the STA info for that channel and can form feedback from both field . Furthermore, a compressed feedback for multiple NDPAs promotes compact designs by minimizing individual messaging.
As to claim 17:
Vermani disclose:
An apparatus comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor connected to the at least one transceiver (¶0054, Fig. 4), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit, by a second station (STA), a first null data PPDU (NDP) announcement frame and a second NDP announcement frame to a first STA; Per ¶0007, 013309134, Fig. 17, sending from second station an NDPA. The NDPA including a first STA information filed carrying bandwidth information for a requested sounding feedback. ¶0106, at least a second NPDA is received from another STA with the same message structure)
and
receive, by the second STA, at least one feedback frame for at least one channel from the first STA, (See at least ¶0134, Fig. 17, receiving the sounding feedback based on the received NDP and the bandwidth information)
wherein a bandwidth for the second STA includes a first channel and a second channel, (See at least ¶0103, 0008, Fig. 9, ¶0080-0083, sounding over a wireless spectrum having multiple channels/subchannels, i.e. at least a first channel and a second channel. STA information/partial BW info identifies the bandwidth associated with the feedback)
wherein the first NDP announcement frame includes a first STA Info field for the first channel, and the second NDP announcement frame includes a second STA Info field for the second channel, and(See at least Fig. 12A-B, ¶0103, 0126, 0134, the first STA information carrying bandwidth information and identifying the plurality of channels, BW information in the STA info field. Fig. 13, ¶0106, at least a second NPDA from another STA with the same structure)
wherein the at least one channel is indicated based on the first STA Info field and the second STA Info field (See at least ¶0134-0135, 0102-0103, 0126, the channels are indicated based on identification information in the STA information field. Fig. 13, ¶0106, at least a second NPDA from another STA with the same structure)
Vermani does not explicitly disclose the second NDPA frame being from the same second STA, i.e. Vermani discloses the second or more NDPA frames may be received from other STAs, and transmitting the feedback comprising feedbacks corresponding to both NDPAs.
Seok, in a related field of wireless network packet sounding, discloses a system/method wherein a same AP transmits an NDPA on a primary channel and another NDPA on a secondary channel of one operating bandwidth, and receiving a compressed sounding feedback (See at least Abstract, Fig. 6A-B, ¶0044-0045, 0005-0007, see also Claim 1, 3-4, and 16). Specifically, the NDPA is transmitted on each subchannel of the primary channel and of the secondary channel (¶0045, claim 3). The NDPA also includes STA info field containing BW information identifying frequency range for feedback, and thus receiving the feedback accordingly from the sounding STA (¶0047-0049, Fig. 9A-B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention to carry Vermani’s NDPAs from the same second STA (AP). Vermani already discloses receiving NDPAs for different channels. Seok then discloses sending NDPAs from the same AP on primary channel and secondar channel so that each segment can receive announcements. As such the combination is advantageous in case of a single AP operating multiple layers of cells, wherein each NDPA is sent on the channel which it describes from the same STA, so the STA on that channel gets the STA info for that channel and can form feedback from both field . Furthermore, a compressed feedback for multiple NDPAs promotes compact designs by minimizing individual messaging.
Claim(s) 2-3, 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vermani et al. (US 2022/0038241) in view of Seok et al. (US 2022/0045725) and in view of Kwon et al. (US 2021/0336752).
As to claim 2:
Vermani in view of Seok discloses all limitations of claim 1, and regarding:
the at least one channel is indicated by a first partial bandwidth information (partial BW Info) subfield included in the first STA Info field and a second partial BW Info subfield included in the second STA Info field, and wherein each of the first partial BW Info subfield and the second partial BW Info subfield consists of 8-bits indicating a feedback bitmap and 1-bit indicating a resolution of the feedback bitmap.
Vermani discloses in at least ¶0134, Fig. 12A-B, and in view of Seok, ¶0047-0049, Fig. 9B, of two STA fields, each with partial BW info. Vermani’s 8 bits are RU start/end. D2’s field is 14-bit RU start/end.
Neither discloses a feedback bitmap plus a resolution bit.
Kwon, in a related field of channel sounding feedback, discloses a partial bandwidth feedback request may use 9-bits with a feedback resolution bit and an 8-bit bitmap, without the primary/secondary bit per ¶0098, 0013, and 1 bit is a resolution bit used to indicate the feedback resolution of either 242-tone RU or 484-tone RU, and an 8-bit bitmap indicates each of the possible combinations per claim 11, see also 0094, 0102, and Fig. 13.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention to encode each partial BW info subfield of Vermani/Seok combination as Kwon’s structured bitmap of 1-bit resolution +8-bit map. Vermani already discloses the requested band in Partial BW info inside STA info. Seok also puts that STA info in the NDPA on each of primary and primary channel. Kwon advantageously provides the framework so when the STA learns the both the report details and which parts of each channel to measure, it returns only the requested segments and avoid full-band feedback overhead.
As to claim 3:
Vermani in view of Seok and Kwon discloses all limitations of claim 2, and regarding:
based on the bandwidth being 480 MHz, the first channel is a primary 320 MHz channel and the second channel is a 160 MHz channel within the secondary 320 MHz, or the first channel is a secondary 320 MHz channel and the second channel is a 160 MHz channel within the primary 320 MHz
While the references do not explicitly spell out such specificity of bandwidth size/split, however:
Seok already divides one operating bandwidth into a primary channel and a secondary channel for NDPA (¶0044-0045, Fig. 6A-B). Kwon gave an example of a 320 MHz sounding or a 160 sounding.
The claimed split is however merely a specific choice of size as much as those of Known is, i.e. 480 vs. 320 or 160 MHz A 480 MHz band is one 320 MHz segment plus one 160 MHz segment. Kwon shows a field describing a 320 MHz piece as well as a field of 160 MHz The claim 480 MHz is merely a choice of band that is a sum of known bands and itself does not have change the principle of operation of the disclosed process. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change in size of Seok’s primary/secondary channel segments to 320 MHz and 160 MHz, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
As to claim 6:
Vermani in view of Seok and Kwon discloses all limitations of claim 2, and regarding:
based on the bandwidth being 640 MHz, the first channel is a primary 320 MHz channel and the second channel is a secondary 320 MHz channel.
Similar to the discussion of claim 3, while the references do not explicitly spell out such specificity of bandwidth size/split, however:
Seok already divides one operating bandwidth into a primary channel and a secondary channel for NDPA (¶0044-0045, Fig. 6A-B). Kwon gave an example of a 320 MHz sounding or a 160 sounding.
The claimed split is, however, merely a specific choice of size as much as those of Known is, i.e. 480 vs. 320 or 160 MHz A 640 MHz band is one 320 MHz segment plus another similar segment. Kwon shows a field describing a 320 MHz piece as well as a field of 160 MHz The claim 640 MHz and even split is merely a choice of band that is a sum of known bands and itself does not have change the principle of operation of the disclosed process. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change in size of Seok’s primary/secondary channel segments to a bandwidth of 2x320 MHz, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
As to claim 7:
Vermani in view of Seok and Kwon discloses all limitations of claim 6, and regarding:
the 1-bit included in the first partial BW Info subfield and the second partial BW Info subfield indicates 40 MHz, wherein the 8-bits included in the first partial BW Info subfield are mapped to eight 40 MHz channels within the first channel, wherein the 8-bits included in the second partial BW Info subfield are mapped to eight 40 MHz channels within the second channel.
Kwon already disclose that mapping for one 320 MHz field per the discussion of claim 2 above, namely resolution bit = 1 corresponds to 484-tone/40 MHz RU, and the 8-bit map corresponds to those units across 320 MHz (¶0013, 0098). In view of claim 6, the combination of Kwon puts one such partial BW info field in each of two NDPA, for 2x320 MHz primary plus secondary split. Using Kwon’s resolution bit = 1 setting in both fields makes each bitmap eight pieces of 40 MHz of its 320 MHz channel. This implementation advantageously tells the STA, at 40 MHz resolution, which of the eight pieces of the 320 MHz segment to report, thus the feedback follows both bitmaps without enlarging the field.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 8-11, 12-14 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The references of record discloses methods for wireless communications involves operating an Access Point (AP) using feedback subcarrier indices for a bandwidth up to 320 MHz, signaling, by the AP, to a client, a subcarrier location set on which a feedback report is solicited, signaling, by the AP, to a client, a feedback type solicited on the subcarrier location, and indicating, by the client, feedback subcarrier indices for the subcarrier location set via the feedback report solicited by the AP. They, however, do not disclose:
“based on the 1-bit included in the first partial BW Info subfield and the second partial BW Info subfield indicating 40 MHz, the 8-bits included in the first partial BW Info subfield are mapped to eight 40 MHz channels within the first channel, and half of the 8-bits included in the second partial BW Info subfield are mapped to four 40 MHz channels within the second channel, and a remaining half are defined as reserved” (claim 4), and
“based on the 1-bit included in the first partial BW Info subfield indicating 40 MHz, the 8-bits included in the first partial BW Info subfield are mapped to eight 40 MHz channels within the first channel, and wherein, based on the 1-bit included in the second partial BW Info subfield indicating 20 MHz, the 8-bits included in the second partial BW Info subfield are mapped to eight 20 MHz channels within the second channel” (claim 5), and
“based on the bandwidth being 480 MHz, the first channel is a 320 MHz channel, the second channel is a 160 MHz channel, the first NDP announcement frame further includes a third STA Info field for the first channel, and the third STA Info field is related to an indication of the at least one channel.” (claim 8), and
“based on the bandwidth being 640 MHz, the first channel is a first 320 MHz channel within the bandwidth and the second channel is a second 320 MHz channel within the bandwidth, the first NDP announcement frame further includes a third STA Info field for the first channel, and the second NDP announcement frame further includes a fourth STA Info field for the second channel, and the third STA Info field and the fourth STA Info field are related to an indication of the at least one channel” (claim 12)
Dependent claims 9-11, 13-14 are addressed by the same reasoning with their respective base claims.
Conclusion
Reference(s) considered pertinent to the invention as claimed include(s):
Wang et al. (US 2020/0195315) - A receiving station receives a sounding signal transmitted from an access point over multiple sub-channels of a wide channel in a wireless network. The receiving station detects channel quality based on the received sounding signal for each sub-channel. The receiving station then performs channel estimation based on the received sounding signal and thereby determining feedback information. Finally, the receiving station transmits a feedback message to the access point, the feedback message contains NULL feedback information, reduced feedback information, or channel integrity/quality indicators based on the channel quality information for each sub-channel. Based on the feedback message, the access point may repeat the sounding process, narrow the transmission bandwidth, or select only stations who have indicated uncorrupted channel sounding for MU-MMO transmission.
/QUAN M HUA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645