DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/03/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The substitute specification filed 12/23/2024 is acknowledged and has been approved for entry by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shi et al. (US 2020/0283600 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Shi teaches an algae based thermoplastic composition comprised of macroalgae – (corresponds to sargassum), the particle size being up to 200 microns, see [0081] – [0082] – (corresponds to a sargassum nanopowder, it being considered as no particular size of nanopowder is explicitly claimed; a particle size of 0.01 micron = 10 nanometer which is clearly contemplated by Shi’s range overlaps the claimed nanopowder; and corresponds to a sargassum-based polymer composite comprising a thermoplastic; and a sargassum nanopowder).
Regarding claim 17, Shi teaches a thermoplastic suitable for its composition is polylactic acid (PLA), see [0039].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-16, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (US 2020/0283600 A1) as applied to claim 14 above.
Regarding claim 15, Shi teaches the composition is suitable for plastic manufacturing, see at least [0033]. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Shi’s algae based thermoplastic composition as a filament for 3D printing since: Shi suggests the composition is suitable plastic manufacturing and when combined with thermoplastic resins allows for compounding at reduced costs without the need for plasticizers, see at least [0034].
Regarding claim 16, Shi teaches the algae is supplied in an amount of 10 wt% to 55 wt%, see [0020] - (construed as the sargassum-based polymer composite is in the range of greater than 0 wt% and less than or equal to 30 wt% sargassum). Concerning the claimed ranges: Overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the algae wt% that corresponds to the claimed range since Shi clearly contemplates such a range is suitable for using algae as a sustainable and renewable material for plastic manufacturing, see [0018], [0020]. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 18, Shi teaches the algae particle size being up to 200 microns, see [0081]. It being considered a particle size of 0.05 micron = 50 nanometer which is clearly contemplated by Shi’s range and thus overlaps the claimed particle size – (corresponds to and overlaps the sargassum nanopowder has a smaller particle size of 50 nm). Concerning the claimed ranges: Overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the algae particle size to have a size of 0.05 microns which corresponds to the claimed range of 50 nm since Shi clearly contemplates such a range is suitable for using algae as a sustainable and renewable material for plastic manufacturing, see [0018], [0081]. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 19, Shi teaches the algae biomass is at least 5% by weight of the composition and has a protein amount of 15% or greater, see abstract, [0083] - (construed and overlaps the sargassum nanopowder has a biomass content in the range of >0 wt - 30 wt%). Concerning the claimed ranges: Overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the algae to have a biomass content of > 0 wt% to 30 wt% as claimed since Shi clearly contemplates such a range is suitable and desiarable for using algae as a sustainable and renewable material in a thermoplastic compoisition for plastic manufacturing, see [0018], [0081] – [0082]. See MPEP 2144.05.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-13 are allowed. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art of record:
Shi teaches a composition of algae and thermoplastic resin. However, the forming of the composition does not explicitly teach or reasonably suggest: “wetting an amount of PLA pellets in the range of >0 g to 150 g with an amount of isopropyl alcohol in the range of 10 - 15mL to obtain a mixture of wet PLA pellets; mixing an amount of the sargassum nanopowder particles to the mixture of wet PLA pellets to obtain one or more coated PLA pellets with at least >0 wt% of sargassum; and drying the coated PLA pellets” as claimed in independent claims 1 and 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CEDRICK S WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749