DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claim
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 14, 16, 18-20, 44, 46-47, 53,55-57 are pending.
Priority
Instant application 18/878,591 filed on 12/23/2024 claims priority as follows:
Information Disclosure Statement
All references from IDS received 12/23/2024 have been considered unless marked with a strikethrough.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 14, 16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caló et al. (“The Nociceptin/Orphanin FQ Peptide Receptor.” (2019):1-417) in view of Harris et al. (US Pub No. 2020/0345726, published 05 November 2020, EFD 01/24/2018, made of record in the IDS).
Caló et al. teaches that overactive bladder (OAB) is a complex clinical syndrome which the International Continence Society defines as characterized by urgency (sudden, compelling desire to pass urine which is difficult to defer), urinary incontinence (involuntary urine leakage with or without urgency), frequency, and nocturia (waking to void more than once at night), in the absence of genitourinary pathologies or metabolic factors that could explain these symptoms (p. 349, Overactive Bladder section).
Caló et al. also teaches that Nociceptin/orphanin FQ (N/OFQ) is a 17-amino acid peptide classified as an endogenous opioid peptide, isolated in 1995 (Meunier et al. 1995; Reinscheid
et al. 1995) as natural ligand for the opiate-like receptor 1 termed ORL-1 and now
called N/OFQ peptide (NOP) receptor (Cox et al. 2015). NOP is the fourth member
of opioid G protein-coupled receptor family (Bunzow et al. 1994; Mollereau et al.
1994) (p. 142, Nociceptin/Orphanin FQ (N/OFQ): Gene section).
Caló et al. discloses how a number of studies demonstrated that the N/OFQ–NOP receptor system controls several different biological functions in the central nervous system (pain transmission, food intake, learning and memory, locomotor activity, drug abuse, emotional states) as well as in the periphery (respiratory and cardiovascular systems, gastrointestinal and immune functions) (p. 350, N/OFQ Preclinical Studies section). Following identification as the endogenous ligand for the NOP receptor, nociceptin/orphanin FQ (N/OFQ) has been shown to control several biological functions including the micturition reflex. N/OFQ elicits a robust inhibitory effect on rat micturition by reducing the excitability of the afferent fibers. After intravesical administration N/OFQ increases urodynamic bladder capacity and volume threshold in overactive bladder patients but not in normal subjects. Moreover daily treatment with intravesical N/OFQ for 10 days significantly reduced urine leakage episodes. Different chemical modifications were combined into the N/OFQ sequence to generate Rec 0438 (aka UFP-112), a peptide NOP full agonist with high potency and selectivity and long-lasting duration of action.
Rec 0438 mimicked the robust inhibitory effects of N/OFQ on rat micturition reflex. Evidence summarized and discussed strongly suggests that NOP agonists are promising innovative drugs to treat overactive bladder (p. 347-8, Abstract). A phase I clinical study with Rec 0438 was recently completed in normal subjects as well as in OAB patients. A phase II study is now ongoing; if clinical results previously obtained with N/OFQ will be confirmed with Rec 0438, a novel, possibly well-tolerated, and highly effective therapeutic option will be available for patients who perform clean intermittent self-catheterization for managing OAB incontinence (p. 361, Conclusions).
Harris et al. discloses methods for treating or preventing an Insomnia Disorder by administering to a human in need thereof a compound of formula (I), or a compound of formula (IA), (IB), or (IC), or solvate thereof, in a daily dose of from about 0.5 mg to about 6.0 mg (Abstract). Compounds of formula (I) or (IC) exhibit affinity for the human ORL-1 receptor (par. [0020]).
Harris et al. discloses a method of treating or preventing an Insomnia Disorder, comprising administering to a human in need thereof a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of Formula (I) or a solvate thereof in a daily dose of from about 0.5 mg to about 6.0 mg (par. [0053]). A method, wherein the compound (I), (IC) or a solvate thereof is orally administered (par. [0080]).
The pharmaceutical composition for treating or preventing an Insomnia Disorder, comprising a dose of from about 0.16 mg to about 8.0 mg of the compound (I) or (IC) or a solvate thereof (par [0101]).
Some compounds of formula (I), (IA), (IB), or (IC), or a solvate thereof, are partial agonists at the human ORL-1 receptor (par. [0162]).
With respect to claims 1-2, 4-9, 14, 16, 18-20,
Caló et al. teaches that overactive bladder (OAB) is a complex clinical syndrome characterized by urgency, urinary incontinence, frequency, and nocturia. It discloses that the N/OFQ–NOP receptor system controls several different biological functions including the micturition reflex. Additionally, it discloses UFP-112 (Rec 0438) as a peptide NOP agonist characterized by high potency and selectivity of action and ability to elicit long-lasting effects in vivo. A phase I clinical study with Rec 0438 was recently completed in normal subjects as well as in OAB patients.
Caló et al. fails to teach compound of formula (I), (I’) or (IA) as presented in the instant application.
Harris et al. teaches compound of Formula (IC), a partial agonist of human ORL-1 receptor. Compound (IC) is used in the treatment of prevention of Insomnia Disorder by administration to a human in need a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of Formula (I) in a daily dose of from about 0.5 mg to about 6.0 mg or a pharmaceutical composition comprising a dose of from about 0.16 mg to about 8.0 mg of the compound (I) or (IC).
Applying KSR prong B, it would have been prima facie obvious to substitute one partial agonist as presented in Harris et al., for another partial agonist as presented in Caló et al., since both work via the same NOP receptor to treat overactive bladder syndrome.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to have used the partial NOP agonist compound of Formula (IC) disclosed in Harris et al., and administer it orally in a daily dose of from about 0.16 mg to about 8.0 mg to treat overactive bladder syndrome and in turn nocturia which is part of the overactive bladder complex as taught by Caló et al.
Claims 44, 46-47, 53,55-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caló et al. (“The Nociceptin/Orphanin FQ Peptide Receptor.” (2019):1-417) in view of Harris et al. (US Pub No. 2020/0345726, published 05 November 2020, EFD 01/24/2018, made of record in the IDS) and further in view of Lombardo et al. (European urology focus, 6, 2020, 534-536), and Rizzi et al. (Peptides, 28, 2007, 1240-1251), and Kapusta et al. (The Journal of pharmacology and experimental therapeutics, 314, 2005, 643-651), and Laboratory Corporation of America (LabCorp, “A Technical Review of Estimated Glomerular Filtration Rate (eGFR) in the Detection and Assessment of Chronic Kidney Disease in Adults”, 2014, 1-4).
The teachings of Caló et al. and Harris et al. are disclosed above.
Lombardo et al. teaches that nocturia is the complaint whereby an individual wakes one or more times at night to void. Nocturnal voids can be due to either real nocturia (RN), characterized by small voided volumes, or nocturnal polyuria (NP) (p. 534, Introduction). NP resulting from impaired ability to concentrate urine or natriuresis makes nocturia one of the initial presenting symptoms of chronic kidney disease (CKD). In patients with CKD the prevalence of nocturia is as high as 64.0% (p. 535, The kidneys section). The role of the bladder in RN is mainly related to a lower functional bladder capacity (FBC) and overactive bladder (OAB) syndrome. RN caused by diminished nocturia bladder capacity (NBC) is of two general types: decreased FBC and decreased NBC. In both conditions, the nocturnal volume urinated exceeds the bladder capacity and the patient is awakened by the need to void because the bladder capacity is not sufficient. The relation between RN and OAB has been investigated in several studies. Ge et al evaluated sleep disturbances and found that OAB patients had a greater number of nighttime urinations than controls did (2.6 1.1 vs 0.9 0.7; p < 0.001) (p. 535-6, The bladder section).
Rizzi et al. discloses that in conscious rats, UFP-112 (0.1 and 10 nmol/kg, i.v.) produced a marked and sustained decrease in heart rate, blood pressure, and urinary sodium excretion and a profound increase in urine flow. Collectively, these findings demonstrate that UFP-112 behaves in vitro and in vivo as a highly potent and selective ligand able to produce full and long lasting activation of NOP receptors (Abstract).
In addition to changes in cardiovascular function, in these same animals i.v. bolus injection of UFP-112 (0.1 and 10 nmol/kg) also produced a concurrent diuretic response (Fig. 8). At the higher dose tested (10 nmol/kg, i.v.) the UFP-112-induced increase in urine flow rate was delayed in onset (approximately 30 min), of relatively long duration (50-60 min), and associated with a reduction in urinary sodium excretion (not statistically significant). Of note, when administered at 10nmol/kg N/OFQ did not alter urine flow rate (Fig. 8), and instead at higher doses (30, 100, 300 1000 nmol/kg, i.v) produced antidiuresis (p. 1248, 3.6 section).
Kapusta et al. teaches that the opiod-like peptide nociception/orphanin FQ (N/OFQ) produces marked cardiovascular and renal responses after central or peripheral administration in rats (Abstract). In conscious rats, NOP receptor partial agonists produce functionally selective effects on cardiovascular and renal function ranging from full agonist (i.c.v., cardiovascular depressor; i.c.v. and i.v., water diuresis), partial agonist (i.v., submaximal hypotension) to antagonist (i.v., blockade of N/OFQ-evoked bradycardia and hypotension) behavior (Abstract).
N/OFQ produces marked changes in cardiovascular and renal function in conscious or anesthetized rats. In this regard, intracerebroventricular (i.c.v) injection of N/OFQ produces a dose-dependent bradycardia, hypotension, diuresis, and antinatriuresis (p.643-4). The particular profile/pattern of cardiovascular and renal response evoked by N/OFQ depends on the route in which this is administered (i.c.v versus i.v. bolus), presumably reflecting the different tissue/cell types that N/OFQ comes in contact with after distribution (p. 644).
Additional studies were performed to thoroughly investigate whether a high i.v bolus dose of a purported NOP receptor partial agonist would elicit changes in cardiovascular or renal function similar to i.v. bolus N/OFQ. The results of these dose-response studies are shown in Fig. 3, which illustrates the time-course cardiovascular and renal responses produced by increasing i.v bolus doses of HEX 1 in conscious Sprague-Dawley rats (p. 648).
The findings of these studies demonstrate that in conscious rats, NOP receptor partial agonists are functionally selective ligands that affect cardiovascular and renal function differently depending on the route of administration of the compound. When administered into the brain (i.c.v.) all NOP receptor ligands tested ([F/G], HEX 1, and HEX 2) behaved as full agonists, highly mimicking the effects of N/OFQ and producing marked cardiovascular (bradycardia and hypotension) and renal (diuresis, antinatriuresis, and renal sympathoinhibition) responses. In contrast, after peripheral (i.v. bolus) injection, these same NOP receptor ligands elicited a complex pharmacological and physiological profile that was different from that of N/OFQ and that ranged from full agonist (water diuresis), partial agonist (submaximal hypotension without altering heart rate) to antagonist (blockade of N/OFQ-evoked bradycardia and hypotension) behavior. The results of the present studies extend these observations and clearly demonstrate that these same NOP receptor ligands can display mixed pharmacological behavior from full/partial agonist to antagonist activity within a given biological system, in this case involving processes regulating cardiovascular and renal function in vivo (p. 648, Discussion section).
LabCorp discloses in Table 1 and Table 3 the association of glomerular filtration rate (GFR) and staging kidney disease, along with a description and ranges of GFR for each stage.
With respect to claims 44, 46-47, 53,55-57,
The teachings of Caló et al. and Harris et al. are disclosed above and at least those teachings are incorporated herein by reference.
Calo et al. fails to teach wherein the human subject has a mild or mild to moderate renal impairment as stated in claim 44.
Lombardo et al. teaches nocturia is the complaint whereby an individual wakes one or more times at night to void. It discloses how the nocturnal voids can be due to either real nocturia (RN) or nocturnal polyuria (NP). NP resulting from the impaired ability to concentrate urine makes nocturia one of the initial presenting symptoms of chronic kidney disease (CKD). Moreover, it discloses that the role of the bladder in RN is mainly related to a lower functional bladder capacity (FBC) and overactive bladder (OAB) syndrome.
Rizzi et al. discloses that in conscious rats, UFP-112 (0.1 and 10 nmol/kg, i.v.) produced a marked and sustained decrease in heart rate, blood pressure, and urinary sodium excretion and a profound increase in urine flow. Additionally, it discloses the effect in renal response that UFP-112 can have at different doses.
Kapusta et al. teaches that the opiod-like peptide nociception/orphanin FQ (N/OFQ) produces marked cardiovascular and renal responses after central or peripheral administration in rats. Studies demonstrated that in conscious rats, NOP receptor partial agonists are functionally selective ligands that affect cardiovascular and renal function differently depending on the route of administration of the compound.
Applying KSR prong B, it would have been prima facie obvious to substitute one partial agonist as presented in Harris et al., for another partial agonist as presented in Caló et al., since both work via the same NOP receptor to treat overactive bladder syndrome.
The NOP receptor is involved in many biological functions including the micturition reflex, but it can also exert renal responses depending on the dosage and route of administration of the specific compounds as taught in Caló et al., Rizzi et al., and Kapusta et al.
Based on this, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to have used the partial NOP agonist compound of Formula (IC) disclosed in Harris et al., and administer it orally in a daily dose of from about 0.16 mg to about 8.0 mg to treat overactive bladder syndrome and in turn nocturia, which is one of the initial presenting symptoms of chronic kidney disease (CKD), as disclosed in Lombardo et al.
Additionally, when designing the method of treating or preventing overactive bladder syndrome as stated in the claims, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be able to use the information provided in Tables 1 and 3 of LabCorp to adjust dosage and route of administration of the partial agonist presented in Harris et al. Once the correct adjustments are obtained for the partial agonist, the pharmacokinetics parameters stated in claim 47 would be expected to be met.
Conclusion
/C.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/CLINTON A BROOKS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621