Claims 1-9 filed on 12/24/2024 have been reviewed and considered by this office action.
The preliminary amendments filed on 12/24/2024 to the specification have been entered.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on Japanese Patent Application No. 2022-103922 filed on 06/28/2022. Copies of certified papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 have been received. Priority is acknowledged under 35 USC 119(e) and 37 CFR 1.78.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 12/24/2024 has been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 12/24/2024 have been reviewed and are considered acceptable.
Specification
The specification filed on 12/24/2024 has been reviewed and objected to because of the following informalities:
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Optimization of a power manager system for adjusting a short-term and a long-term electricity cost price regarding the Market or Retailer.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because Claim 9 defines “a program that causes a computer to perform” directing to a signal per se.
Examiner remarks: The rejection for the 101 can be overcome by amending the claim’s preamble to:
A program stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium, that when executed by a computer causes the computer to perform:.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fudukta et al. (JP 2020170363 A, herein Fukuda) [A machine translation is used for Fukuda], in view of Sakamoto et al. (JP 2017224208A, herein Sakamoto) [A machine translation is used for Sakamoto].
Regarding claim 1, Fudukta teaches A power management apparatus comprising:
a manager (see FIG.1; operation schedule adjustment system 30) configured to manage one or more facilities connected to a power system ([0013] The operation schedule adjustment system 30 here aims to improve the profitability of the retail electric power company by adjusting the operation schedule of the equipment 23 used by the customer.);
a controller (operation schedule adjustment 315 and device control terminal 25; As illustrated in FIG.2, 315 is coupled with 25.) configured to perform specific control to control [0023] operation schedule adjustment unit 315 that individually adjusts the operation schedule of equipment 23 based on the relationship between the forecast demand, procurement price, and electricity selling price for each device, and the customer who cooperated in the adjustment of the operation schedule; [0016] The device control terminal 25 is a computer terminal that controls the operation of the corresponding device 23 based on the adjusted operation schedule notified from the operation schedule adjustment system 30. );
and a receiving unit (see FIG.2 313 (procurement price acquisition unit) and 314 (power selling price acquisition unit); [0028] The procurement price acquisition unit 313 sequentially acquires the procurement price for each time zone from the procurement price database 33.; [0028] The power selling price acquisition unit 314 acquires the power selling price for each customer from the power selling price database 34.; The citations illustrate the receiving unit being the procurement price acquisition unit 313 and power selling price acquisition unit 314.) configured to receive first rate-related information regarding a first electricity rate ([0028] The procurement price includes a price determined by a contract as in a long-term plan, a price determined by a bid as in the previous day's plan, and a price determined in real time as in the same-day operation.) determined between an electricity market and an electricity retailer that sells power to each of the one or more facilities ([0028] The procurement price here is the procurement price in the market used by the retail electric power company for procurement.),
wherein the controller performs the specific control based on the first rate-related information ([0029] The operation schedule adjustment unit 315 adjusts the operation schedule of some of the devices 23 so that the loss of the retail electric power company is small or the profit is large.; [0029] Therefore, the operation schedule adjustment unit 315 has a function of specifying a time zone for reducing the loss or increasing the profit of the retail electric power company.; [0016] The device control terminal 25 is a computer terminal that controls the operation of the corresponding device 23 based on the adjusted operation schedule notified from the operation schedule adjustment system 30.).
Fudukta does not explicitly teach distributed power supply.
Sakamoto teaches a consumer system 114 and a distributed power supply (storage battery system 117; see FIG.1 [0009] Here, the storage battery system 117 is installed by the retailer on the customer system 114 side, and charging and
discharging of the storage battery system 117 is controlled by the retail operator system 115.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the manager of Fudukta to incorporate the teachings of Sakamoto so as to include a storage supply and optimizing the constraints based on two determination factors. Doing so would allow the efficiency and optimization for a system. (Sakamoto [0005] further improving the utilization efficiency of a system.).
Regarding claim 2, Fudukta in view of Sakamoto teaches the power management apparatus according to claim 1,
Fudukta further teaches wherein the receiving unit (see FIG.2 313 (procurement price acquisition unit), 314 (power selling price acquisition unit)) receives second rate-related information regarding a second electricity rate ([0028] The power selling price acquisition unit 314 acquires the power selling price for each customer from the power selling price database 34.) determined between each of the one or more facilities and the electricity retailer ([0028] The selling price is determined by the service of the retail electricity company contracted by the consumer, and fluctuates depending on the season and time of day.), and the controller performs the specific control based on the second rate-related information in addition to the first rate-related information ([0023] operation schedule adjustment unit 315 that individually adjusts the operation schedule of equipment 23 based on the relationship between the forecast demand, procurement price, and electricity selling price for each device).
Regarding claim 3, Fudukta in view of Sakamoto teaches the power management apparatus according to claim 2 but does not explicitly teach the claim limitations of claim 3.
Sakamoto teaches wherein the controller performs the specific control (see FIG. 5 [0033] FIG. 5 is a diagram showing an example of power imbalance prediction and power trading market price estimated value in the power trading market and an example of imbalance avoidance method.; [0036] for example, the imbalance adjustment amount that occurs) based on the first rate-related information under a constraint that prioritizes a profit of each of the one or more facilities based on the second rate-related information ([0037] As shown in FIG. 5, in the transaction time zone B 3, the surplus power amount is large, but the power trading market 125 is also cheap, so it is not preferable for the operation cost to sell the power trading market 125 to the power trading market 125. Therefore, in the transaction time zone B 3, it is preferable to charge the storage battery device and store electric power rather than to sell it in the power trading market 125, so charging is performed in the storage battery system 117 to avoid imbalance as much as possible. More preferably, imbalance is eliminated and adjustment is not required.; The citation illustrates two transaction time zones B3 and compares it with the current power trading market 125 (first rate-related information) and compares it to the cost of selling to the power trading market 125 (second rate-related information) and makes an adjustment (specific control) based on the constraints provided. ).
Regarding claim 4, Fudukta in view of Sakamoto teaches the power management apparatus according to claim 2,
Fudukta further teaches wherein the first electricity rate is an electricity rate ([0042] FIG. 5 is a diagram illustrating the relationship between demand and the transaction price of electricity. (A) shows the relationship between the total demand of consumers and the demand for each device, and (B) shows the relationship between the procurement price from the market and the selling price of electricity to consumers.) that changes more dynamically than the second electricity rate ([0043] In the case of FIG. 5B, the selling price is almost constant, and the procurement price has two peaks.).
Regarding claim 5, Fudukta in view of Sakamoto teaches the power management apparatus according to claim 2,
Fudukta further teaches wherein the second rate-related information comprises ([0044] it is desirable to switch all the devices 23 operating in the time zone higher than the selling price to the operation in the time zone in which the procurement price is lower than the selling price.
Fudukta further teaches the instance (illustrated in FIG. 6) when the procurement price is higher than the selling price [0046] In the case of FIG. 6, as shown by the arrow, the aggregate demand (outer edge part indicated by the thick line) in the afternoon when the procurement price is high decreases, and the aggregate demand in the morning when the procurement price is relatively low increases. By this adjustment, the amount of electric power (total demand) supplied from the electric power system 10 does not change, but the procurement cost can be reduced. Returning to the description of FIG. 3 In the case of the present embodiment, the operation schedule adjustment server 31 notifies the customer of the adjusted operation schedule (step 9).)
information regarding a benefit provided ([0049] In the case of Fig. 7, points are shown as the value as consideration, but the value as consideration is the
money itself, the right to receive money or discounts, the right to receive other services or upgrades, the priority, etc.) from the electricity retailer to each of the one or more facilities by the specific control ([0048] The explanation 262 describes the content of the request for cooperation, the content of the consideration given when the cooperation is obtained, and the content of the work required of the customer. Specifically, the sentence "Please cooperate with the adjustment of the operation schedule. If you cooperate with the adjustment, we will give you XX points. Can you cooperate?" ing.
[0047] In this embodiment, the consent of the customer is sought before the adjustment of the operation schedule is put into practice. FIG. 7 is a diagram showing an example of a notification screen 260 displayed on the device control terminal 25 on the consumer side. The notification screen 260 shown in FIG. 7 is composed of a title 261, a description 262, a permission button).
Regarding claim 6, Fudukta in view of Sakamoto teaches the power management apparatus according to claim 5,
wherein the controller determines, based on the second rate-related information, whether or not to perform the specific control ([0050] When an affirmative result is obtained in step 10 (when button 263 is operated in FIG. 7), the operation schedule adjustment server 31 gives points (step 11). Of course, the consumer device control terminal 25 controls the operation of the corresponding device 23 according to the notified adjusted operation schedule. On the other hand, when a negative result is obtained in step 10 (when button 264 is operated in FIG. 7), the operation schedule adjustment server 31 cancels the operation schedule adjustment without awarding points (step 12)).
Regarding claim 7, Fudukta in view of Sakamoto teaches the power management apparatus according to claim 1, comprising:
Fudukta further teaches a notifying unit configured to notify the electricity retailer of a result of the specific control [0051] The entity that gives points may be a business operator that provides the service according to the present embodiment, or a retail electric power company.).
Regarding claim 8, Fudukta teaches A power management method, comprising:
managing one or more facilities connected to a power system (see FIG.1; [0013] The operation schedule adjustment system 30 here aims to improve the profitability of the retail electric power company by adjusting the operation schedule of the equipment 23 used by the customer.);
performing specific control to control (operation schedule adjustment 315 and device control terminal 25; As illustrated in FIG.2, 315 is coupled with 25.) [0023] operation schedule adjustment unit 315 that individually adjusts the operation schedule of equipment 23 based on the relationship between the forecast demand, procurement price, and electricity selling price for each device, and the customer who cooperated in the adjustment of the operation schedule);
and receiving (see FIG.2 313 (procurement price acquisition unit) and 314 (power selling price acquisition unit) [0028] The procurement price acquisition unit 313 sequentially acquires the procurement price for each time zone from the procurement price database 33.; [0028] The power selling price acquisition unit 314 acquires the power selling price for each customer from the power selling price database 34.; The citations illustrate the receiving unit being the procurement price acquisition unit 313 and power selling price acquisition unit 314.) first rate-related information regarding a first electricity rate ([0028] The procurement price includes a price determined by a contract as in a long-term plan, a price determined by a bid as in the previous day's plan, and a price determined in real time as in the same-day operation.) determined between an electricity market and an electricity retailer that sells power to each of the one or more facilities ([0028] The procurement price here is the procurement price in the market used by the retail electric power company for procurement.),
wherein the performing of the specific control comprises performing the specific control based on the first rate-related information ([0029] The operation schedule adjustment unit 315 adjusts the operation schedule of some of the devices 23 so that the loss of the retail electric power company is small or the profit is large.; [0029] Therefore, the operation schedule adjustment unit 315 has a function of specifying a time zone for reducing the loss or increasing the profit of the retail electric power company [0016] The device control terminal 25 is a computer terminal that controls the operation of the corresponding device 23 based on the adjusted operation schedule notified from the operation schedule adjustment system 30..).
Fudukta does not explicitly teach distributed power supply.
Sakamoto teaches a consumer system 114 and distributed power supply( storage battery system 117; see FIG.1 [0009] Here, the storage battery system 117 is installed by the retailer on the customer system 114 side, and charging and
discharging of the storage battery system 117 is controlled by the retail operator system 115.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the manager of Fudukta to incorporate the teachings of Sakamoto so as to include a storage supply and optimizing the constraints based on two determination factors. Doing so would allow the efficiency and optimization for a system. (Sakamoto [0005] further improving the utilization efficiency of a system.).
Regarding claim 9, Fudukta teaches A program that causes a computer to perform:
managing one or more facilities connected to a power system (see FIG.1; [0013] The operation schedule adjustment system 30 here aims to improve the profitability of the retail electric power company by adjusting the operation schedule of the equipment 23 used by the customer.);
performing specific control to control (operation schedule adjustment 315 and device control terminal 25; As illustrated in FIG.2, 315 is coupled with 25.) [0023] operation schedule adjustment unit 315 that individually adjusts the operation schedule of equipment 23 based on the relationship between the forecast demand, procurement price, and electricity selling price for each device, and the customer who cooperated in the adjustment of the operation schedule);
and receiving (see FIG.2 313 (procurement price acquisition unit) and 314 (power selling price acquisition unit); [0028] The procurement price acquisition unit 313 sequentially acquires the procurement price for each time zone from the procurement price database 33.; [0028] The power selling price acquisition unit 314 acquires the power selling price for each customer from the power selling price database 34.; The citations illustrate the receiving unit being the procurement price acquisition unit 313 and power selling price acquisition unit 314.) first rate-related information regarding a first electricity rate ([0028] The procurement price includes a price determined by a contract as in a long-term plan, a price determined by a bid as in the previous day's plan, and a price determined in real time as in the same-day operation.) determined between an electricity market and an electricity retailer that sells power to each of the one or more facilities ([0028] The procurement price here is the procurement price in the market used by the retail electric power company for procurement.),
wherein the performing of the specific control comprises performing the specific control based on the first rate-related information ([0029] The operation schedule adjustment unit 315 adjusts the operation schedule of some of the devices 23 so that the loss of the retail electric power company is small or the profit is large.; [0029] Therefore, the operation schedule adjustment unit 315 has a function of specifying a time zone for reducing the loss or increasing the profit of the retail electric power company.; [0016] The device control terminal 25 is a computer terminal that controls the operation of the corresponding device 23 based on the adjusted operation schedule notified from the operation schedule adjustment system 30. ).
Fudukta does not explicitly teach distributed power supply.
Sakamoto teaches a consumer system 114 and a distributed power supply (storage battery system 117; see FIG.1 [0009] Here, the storage battery system 117 is installed by the retailer on the customer system 114 side, and charging and
discharging of the storage battery system 117 is controlled by the retail operator system 115.).
Sakamoto further teaches distributed power supply ([0017] The storage battery system 117 is roughly divided into a storage battery device 11 for storing electric power, a converter for converting DC power supplied from the storage battery device 11 into AC power having desired
power quality and supplying it to the customer facility 113 or the retailer 123 And a power conversion device (PCS: Power Conditioning System) 12 for converting the AC power supplied via the retailer 123 into DC power and supplying it to the storage battery device 11.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the manager of Fudukta to incorporate the teachings of Sakamoto so as to include a storage supply and optimizing the constraints based on two determination factors. Doing so would allow the efficiency and optimization for a system. (Sakamoto [0005] further improving the utilization efficiency of a system.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP 7699530 B2 – Demand response system (changes in demand pattern in request from the consumer)
US 20220200278 A1 – Facilities Grid Micro Demand Response System (Dynamically and automatically adjusting the load on a power grid for reducing power buffer)
US 20200410519 A1 – Condition Determination Apparatus, Computer Readable Storage Medium and Condition Determination Method (providing a plurality of users a time period for adjusting the power demand)
US 20160226261 A1 – Power Supply-Demand Adjusting Apparatus, Power System and Power Supply-Demand Adjusting Method (adjusting storage batteries during an adjustment period with dynamic electricity rates vs set price electricity rates)
US 20150094968 A1 – Comfort Driven Optimization of Electric Grid Utilization (using iNodes to optimize losses the equivalent of a neural network system)
US 20140330611 A1 – Facilitating Revenue Generation from Wholesale Electricity Markets Using an Engineering-Based Model (implementing suggested operating schedules for energy assets with an objective function)
US 20140039709 A1 – Facilitating Revenue Generation From Wholesale Electricity Markets (facilitate generation of energy related revenue to generate an operating schedule and control the assets accordingly)
US 20100332373 A1 – System and Method for Participation in Energy-related Markets (using a server and interface to optimize operational parameters for a specific time period)
/J.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117