DETAILED ACTION
Office Action Summary
This is the initial Office action for application 18/878711 filed 12/24/2024.
Claims 1-9 and 13-16 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Claims 10-12 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MALFER et al. (U.S. 6048373) in view of SISKIN (U.S. 5752990).
MALFER et al. teach fuel compositions containing polybutenes.
Regarding claim 1, the fuel composition is taught in lines 18-35 of column 5 to comprise a spark ignition fuel that includes gasoline.
The polybutenes are taught in lines 55-67 of column 1 to comprise molecular weights between about 500 to about 2000.
The polybutenes are further taught in lines 55-67 of column 1, and lines 1-12 of column 2, to be obtained from methods to produce high reactivity polybutenes. High reactivity polybutenes are taught to comprise greater than 30% having a terminal vinylidene group.
SISKIN is relied on to teach the amount of polybutenes usable in a composition with gasoline.
SISKIN teaches that polymer detergents may be added to spark ignition internal combustion engine employing a liquid hydrocarbon fuel.
SISKIN teaches in lines 20-30 of column 5 that in addition to the polymer detergents, unfunctionalized polymers such as polybutene and polyisobutylene with a MW 800-2000 may be employed. The unfunctionalized polymers are added in concentrations of at least 1000 ppm or at least 5000 ppm.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the polybutenes in MALFER et al. in amounts taught to be usable in SISKIN for a liquid hydrocarbon fuel for a spark ignition combustion engine.
The amounts that are taught in SISKIN is taught in lines 35-65 of column 4, and lines 1-27 of column 1, to be directed toward reducing combustion chamber deposits, intake valve deposits, and control of octane requirement increase.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claims 2-3, the polybutenes are further taught in lines 55-67 of column 1, and lines 1-12 of column 2, to be obtained from methods to produce high reactivity polybutenes. High reactivity polybutenes are taught to comprise greater than 30% having a terminal vinylidene group.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claims 4-6, the polybutenes are taught in lines 55-67 of column 1 to comprise molecular weights between about 500 to about 2000.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claims 7-8, SISKIN teaches in lines 20-30 of column 5 that in addition to the polymer detergents, unfunctionalized polymers such as polybutene and polyisobutylene with a MW 800-2000 may be employed. The unfunctionalized polymers are added in concentrations of at least 1000 ppm or at least 5000 ppm.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 9, the polybutene is taught in lines 1-12 of column 2, to be preferably polyisobutene (polyisobutylene).
Regarding claims 13-14, MALFER et al. teach in lines 45-51 of column 1 that the fuel composition is directed toward controlling intake valves and minimizing valve sticking in ignition internal combustion engines. MALFER et al. further teach in lines 3-11 of column 5 that the fuel composition may include other additives and be directed toward a variety of improvements in the fuel composition.
The amounts that are taught in SISKIN is taught in lines 35-65 of column 4, and lines 1-27 of column 1, to be directed toward reducing combustion chamber deposits, intake valve deposits, and control of octane requirement increase.
Furthermore, MALFER et al. in view of SISKIN teaches a process that is substantially similar to what is claimed and that the process would also impart increased power output and reduced burn duration.
Regarding claims 15-16, MALFER et al. teach in lines 55-67 of column 1, and lines 1-12 of column 2, high reactivity polybutenes. High reactivity polybutenes are taught to comprise greater than 30% having a terminal vinylidene group.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WETTLING (USPGPUB 20160145362) teaches high-reactivity polyisobutylene with a high content of vinylidene double bonds in the side chains.
BREWER (USPGPUB 20140173972) teaches fuel compositions comprising a gasoline and one or more organic sunscreen compounds.
/MING CHEUNG PO/Examiner, Art Unit 1771
/ELLEN M MCAVOY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771