DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 & 10 are objected to because the formulas in the claim have poor line quality. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-9 & 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koerber (US 8,803,352).
Regarding Claim 1, Koerber a method of controlling [by 26] a wind turbine [10] having a rotor [18] and a plurality of pitch-adjustable rotor blades [22] mounted to the rotor [18] (FIG. 1, Abstract; The method further includes determining a tip speed ratio and a pitch angle), the method comprising:
(a) receiving wind speed data [102] indicative of wind speed in the vicinity of the wind turbine (FIG. 4, Claim 1; calculating a desired generator speed value based on the current wind speed and the tip speed ratio);
(b) retrieving a predefined power coefficient data structure [116] comprising values of a power coefficient as a function of a pitch angle [114] of the rotor blades and of a tip speed ratio [112] of the wind turbine (FIG. 4, Column 6, Lines 31-45; the step 110 of determining a tip speed ratio 112 and a pitch angle 114 that maximize a power coefficient 116 for the wind turbine 10. Tip speed ratio 112 may generally be calculated by multiplying the current rotational speed of the wind turbine 10 (such as the rotor 18 thereof) (measured by suitable sensors in the wind turbine 10) by the maximum radius of the rotor 18, and dividing this result by the wind speed 102. Such determination of a tip speed ratio 112 and a pitch angle 114 that maximize the power coefficient 116 for the wind turbine 10 is generally performed through use of an optimizing algorithm or an iterative search);
(c) retrieving a predefined thrust coefficient data structure [pre-established maximum thrust] comprising values of a thrust coefficient [thrust value] as a function of the pitch angle of the rotor blades and of the tip speed ratio of the wind turbine (FIG. 4; Claim 1; determining a tip speed ratio and a pitch angle that maximize a power coefficient under at least one of the following conditions: a thrust value is less than or equal to a pre-established maximum thrust);
(d) determining a value of the pitch angle and a value of the tip speed ratio that maximises the power coefficient value in the predefined power coefficient data structure subject to a defined set of constraints, the set including a constraint that the thrust coefficient value in the predefined thrust coefficient data structure is no greater than a maximum threshold thrust coefficient value (Column 6, Lines 31-50; Tip speed ratio 112 may generally be calculated by multiplying the current rotational speed of the wind turbine 10 (such as the rotor 18 thereof) (measured by suitable sensors in the wind turbine 10) by the maximum radius of the rotor 18, and dividing this result by the wind speed 102. Such determination of a tip speed ratio 112 and a pitch angle 114 that maximize the power coefficient 116 for the wind turbine 10 is generally performed through use of an optimizing algorithm or an iterative search);
(e) determining a rotor speed reference based on the determined tip speed ratio value and on the received wind speed data (Column 6, Lines 31-50; Tip speed ratio 112 may generally be calculated by multiplying the current rotational speed of the wind turbine 10 (such as the rotor 18 thereof) (measured by suitable sensors in the wind turbine 10) by the maximum radius of the rotor 18, and dividing this result by the wind speed 102. Such determination of a tip speed ratio 112 and a pitch angle 114 that maximize the power coefficient 116 for the wind turbine 10 is generally performed through use of an optimizing algorithm or an iterative search);
(f) setting the determined pitch angle value as a pitch angle reference (Column 3, Lines 17-25; For example, the controller 26 may be configured to control the blade pitch or pitch angle of each of the rotor blades 22 (i.e., an angle that determines a perspective of the rotor blades 22 with respect to the direction 28 of the wind) to control the loading on the rotor blades 22 by adjusting an angular position of at least one rotor blade 22 relative to the wind); and,
(g) controlling the wind turbine in accordance with the rotor speed reference and the pitch angle reference (Claim 1),
(h) wherein determining the pitch angle and tip speed ratio values comprises applying an iterative search algorithm to the predefined power coefficient data structure to maximise the power coefficient value subject to the defined set of constraints (Column 6, Lines 31-50; Tip speed ratio 112 may generally be calculated by multiplying the current rotational speed of the wind turbine 10 (such as the rotor 18 thereof) (measured by suitable sensors in the wind turbine 10) by the maximum radius of the rotor 18, and dividing this result by the wind speed 102. Such determination of a tip speed ratio 112 and a pitch angle 114 that maximize the power coefficient 116 for the wind turbine 10 is generally performed through use of an optimizing algorithm or an iterative search).
Regarding Claim 2, Koerber the method according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1], wherein applying the iterative search algorithm comprises:
defining an initial evaluation point comprising an initial pitch angle value and an initial tip speed ratio value; determining a step size for each of the pitch angle and the tip speed ratio; determining an updated evaluation point comprising updated pitch angle and tip speed ratio values by shifting the initial pitch angle and tip speed ratio values by the respective step sizes; and, evaluating the power coefficient value at the updated evaluation point (Column 6; Lines 31- 50; Such determination of a tip speed ratio 112 and a pitch angle 114 that maximize the power coefficient 116 for the wind turbine 10 is generally performed through use of an optimizing algorithm or an iterative search).
Regarding Claim 3, Koerber the method according to claim 2 [see rejected Claim 2],
wherein the iterative search algorithm comprises determining a difference between a maximum value of the power coefficient in the power coefficient data structure and the power coefficient value at the updated evaluation point, and wherein if the determined difference is less than a prescribed threshold difference value then the updated pitch angle and tip speed ratio values are determined to be the pitch angle and tip speed ratio values that maximise the power coefficient value (Column 6; Lines 31- 50; Such determination of a tip speed ratio 112 and a pitch angle 114 that maximize the power coefficient 116 for the wind turbine 10 is generally performed through use of an optimizing algorithm or an iterative search).
Regarding Claim 4, Koerber discloses the method according to claim 3 [see rejected Claim 3],
wherein if the determined difference is greater than the prescribed threshold difference value then the iterative search algorithm comprises: determining a further step size for each of the pitch angle and the tip speed ratio; determining a further updated evaluation point comprising further updated pitch angle and tip speed ratio values by shifting the updated pitch angle and tip speed ratio values by the respective further step sizes; and, evaluating the power coefficient value at the further updated evaluation point (Column 6; Lines 31- 50; Such determination of a tip speed ratio 112 and a pitch angle 114 that maximize the power coefficient 116 for the wind turbine 10 is generally performed through use of an optimizing algorithm or an iterative search).
Regarding Claim 5, Koerber discloses the method according to claim 4 [see rejected Claim 4],
comprising repeating the steps of determining the further step size, determining the further updated, evaluation point, and evaluating the power coefficient value, until a stop condition is satisfied, wherein the stop condition is that one of the following is satisfied: a determined difference between the a maximum value of the power coefficient in the power coefficient data structure and the power coefficient value at the further updated evaluation point is less than the prescribed threshold difference value; and, the steps have been repeated a prescribed number of iterations (Column 6; Lines 31- 50; Such determination of a tip speed ratio 112 and a pitch angle 114 that maximize the power coefficient 116 for the wind turbine 10 is generally performed through use of an optimizing algorithm or an iterative search).
Regarding Claim 6, Koerber discloses the method according to claim 4 [see rejected Claim 4],
wherein the iterative search algorithm includes a gradient-based step method, wherein the step size for pitch angle is determined based on a determined gradient of the thrust coefficient at the updated pitch angle value in the thrust coefficient data structure, and wherein the step size for tip speed ratio is determined based on a determined gradient of the power coefficient at the updated tip speed ratio value in the thrust coefficient data structure (Column 6; Lines 31- 50; Such determination of a tip speed ratio 112 and a pitch angle 114 that maximize the power coefficient 116 for the wind turbine 10 is generally performed through use of an optimizing algorithm or an iterative search).
Regarding Claim 7, Koerber discloses the method according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1],
wherein the iterative search algorithm includes a one-step descent method, wherein the step size for pitch angle is determined as the difference between the pitch angle value that maximises the power coefficient value and the initial pitch angle value, and wherein the step size for tip speed ratio is determined as the difference between the tip speed ratio value that maximises the power coefficient value and the initial tip speed ratio value (Column 6; Lines 31- 50; Such determination of a tip speed ratio 112 and a pitch angle 114 that maximize the power coefficient 116 for the wind turbine 10 is generally performed through use of an optimizing algorithm or an iterative search).
Regarding Claim 9, Koerber discloses the method according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1],
wherein implementing the thrust coefficient value constraint comprises reducing a feasible solution space of the power coefficient data structure for the iterative search algorithm to remove combinations of pitch angle and tip speed ratio values corresponding to values of the thrust coefficient greater than the maximum threshold thrust coefficient value in the thrust coefficient data structure (Column 6; Lines 31- 50; optimizing algorithm).
Regarding Claim 11, Koerber discloses the method according to claim1 [see rejected Claim 1],
wherein the defined set of constraints includes a constraint that a generator speed of a generator of the wind turbine is no greater than a maximum threshold generator speed value, the maximum threshold generator speed value being determined based on the received wind speed data (such determination may in some embodiments be performed within the constraints of the various pre-established maximum values previously established for the wind turbine 10. For example, in exemplary embodiments, the step 110 of determining the tip speed ratio 112 and the pitch angle 114 that maximize the power coefficient is performed under the condition 120 that a thrust value be less than or equal to the pre-established maximum thrust 104, the condition 122 that a generator speed value be less than or equal to the pre-established maximum generator speed 106, and/or the condition 124 that a generator torque be less than or equal to a pre-established maximum generator torque 108).
Regarding Claim 12, Koerber discloses the method according to claim1 [see rejected Claim 1],
wherein the defined set of constraints includes a constraint that the determined pitch angle and tip speed ratio values do not cause one or both of: a stall condition of the wind turbine; and, instability of the rotor blades of the wind turbine (Column 6, Lines 31-65; such determination may in some embodiments be performed within the constraints of the various pre-established maximum values previously established for the wind turbine 10. For example, in exemplary embodiments, the step 110 of determining the tip speed ratio 112 and the pitch angle 114 that maximize the power coefficient is performed under the condition 120 that a thrust value be less than or equal to the pre-established maximum thrust 104, the condition 122 that a generator speed value be less than or equal to the pre-established maximum generator speed 106, and/or the condition 124 that a generator torque be less than or equal to a pre-established maximum generator torque 108).
Regarding Claim 13, Koerber discloses the method according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1], the method comprising:
receiving blade load data indicative of loading experienced by the rotor blades from one or more blade load sensors [sensor operable to determine the current wind speed] of the wind turbine; determining, based on the received blade load data, a statistical dispersion parameter indicative of temporal variation in the blade loading; and defining the maximum threshold thrust level based on the determined statistical dispersion parameter (Claim 18, Column 6, Lines 31-65; such determination may in some embodiments be performed within the constraints of the various pre-established maximum values previously established for the wind turbine 10. For example, in exemplary embodiments, the step 110 of determining the tip speed ratio 112 and the pitch angle 114 that maximize the power coefficient is performed under the condition 120 that a thrust value be less than or equal to the pre-established maximum thrust 104, the condition 122 that a generator speed value be less than or equal to the pre-established maximum generator speed 106, and/or the condition 124 that a generator torque be less than or equal to a pre-established maximum generator torque 108).
Regarding Claim 14, Koerber discloses a controller [26] for a wind turbine [10] having a rotor [18] and a plurality of pitch- adjustable rotor blades [34] mounted to the rotor [18], the controller [26] (FIG. 1, also refer to rejected Claim 1) being configured to:
receive wind speed data indicative of wind speed in the vicinity of the wind turbine (see rejected Claim 1 element “a”);
retrieve a predefined power coefficient data structure comprising values of a power coefficient as a function of a pitch angle of the rotor blades and of a tip speed ratio of the wind turbine (see rejected Claim 1 element “b”);
retrieve a predefined thrust coefficient data structure comprising values of a thrust coefficient as a function of the pitch angle of the rotor blades and of the tip speed ratio of the wind turbine (see rejected Claim 1 element “c”);
determine a value of the pitch angle and a value of the tip speed ratio that maximises the power coefficient value in the predefined power coefficient data structure subject to a defined set of constraints, the set including that the thrust coefficient value in the predefined thrust coefficient data structure is no greater than a maximum threshold thrust value (see rejected Claim 1 element “d”);
determine a rotor speed reference based on the determined tip speed ratio value and on the received wind speed data (see rejected Claim 1 element “e”);
set a pitch angle reference based on the determined pitch angle value (see rejected Claim 1 element “f”); and,
output a control signal to control the wind turbine in accordance with the rotor speed reference and the pitch angle reference (“g”),
wherein determining the pitch angle and tip speed ratio values comprises applying an iterative search algorithm to the predefined power coefficient data structure to maximise the power coefficient value subject to the defined set of constraints (see rejected Claim 1 element “h”).
Regarding Claim 15, Koerber discloses the wind turbine comprising a controller [26] according to claim 14 (see rejected Claim 14).
Regarding Claim 16, Koerber discloses a wind turbine [10] (FIG. 1), comprising:
a tower [12] (FIG. 1);
a nacelle [16] disposed on the tower [12] (FIG. 1);
a rotor [18] extending from the nacelle [16] and having a plurality of pitch-adjustable rotor blades [34] (FIG. 1) disposed on a distal end thereof; and
a controller [26] (FIG. 1) configured to:
receive wind speed data indicative of wind speed in the vicinity of the wind turbine (see rejected Claim 1, element “a”);
retrieve a predefined power coefficient data structure comprising values of a power coefficient as a function of a pitch angle of the rotor blades and of a tip speed ratio of the wind turbine (see rejected Claim 1, element “b”);
retrieve a predefined thrust coefficient data structure comprising values of a thrust coefficient as a function of the pitch angle of the rotor blades and of the tip speed ratio of the wind turbine (see rejected Claim 1, element “c”);
determine a value of the pitch angle and a value of the tip speed ratio that maximises the power coefficient value in the predefined power coefficient data structure subject to a defined set of constraints, the set including that the thrust coefficient value in the predefined thrust coefficient data structure is no greater than a maximum threshold thrust value (see rejected Claim 1, element “d”);
determine a rotor speed reference based on the determined tip speed ratio value and on the received wind speed data (see rejected Claim 1, element “e”);
set a pitch angle reference based on the determined pitch angle value (see rejected Claim 1, element “f”); and,
output a control signal to control the wind turbine in accordance with the rotor speed reference and the pitch angle reference, wherein determining the pitch angle and tip speed ratio values comprises applying an iterative search algorithm to the predefined power coefficient data structure to maximise the power coefficient value subject to the defined set of constraints (see rejected Claim 1, element “g”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 & 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH ORTEGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834