DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/24/24 has been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 18/878763. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claimed limitations recited in the present application are transparently found in the copending application (18/878763) with obvious wording variations. Take an example of comparing claim 1 of pending application and claim 1 of copending application 18/878763:
Instant application claim 1
Copending Application No. 18/878763 claim 1
A radio communication system comprising:
A wireless communication system comprising:
one or more mobile wireless station devices configured to communicate with one or more terminal devices; and
a control apparatus including circuitry configured to:
one or more mobile wireless station devices that communicate with one or more terminal devices; and
a control device,
calculate, based on a position of each of the terminal devices, a plurality of candidate destination positions of each of the mobile wireless station devices where communication with the terminal devices satisfies a required quality, and
from among the plurality of the candidate destination positions, select, as a destination position for movement control, either:
…calculates , on a basis of a prediction value of a position of each of the terminal devices, a movement destination position candidate of each of the mobile wireless station devices of which communication with the terminal device satisfies a required quality for each of a plurality of movements,
and selects, as a combination of movement destination positions for movement control,
(i) a first candidate destination position where a total sum of movement costs for the mobile wireless station devices to move from respective home positions to destinations is minimized, or
a combination that minimizes a sum of movement costs for the plurality of movements from an original position of each of the mobile wireless station devices from among a plurality of the combinations of the movement destination position candidates in the plurality of movements.
(ii) a second candidate destination position where a maximum value among movement costs for at least one of the one or more mobile wireless station devices to move from a home position to a destination is minimized.
*this limitation is not disclose in the co pending application claim 1, but is recited in the alternative and the other alternative has been shown.
Claim 2 is similarly rejected with claim 2 of copending application # 18/878763.
Claim 3 is similarly rejected with claim 3 of copending application # 18/878763.
Claim 4 is similarly rejected with claim 4 of copending application # 18/878763.
Claim 5 is similarly rejected with claim 5 of copending application # 18/878763.
Claim 6 is similarly rejected with claim 6 of copending application # 18/878763.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 3, 6, 7, and 8 of copending Application No. 18/571902 in view of Bhattarai et al. (Optimizing the Location Deployment of Dynamic Mobile Base Stations, Feb. 16, 2015, cited by applicant on IDS submitted 12/24/24, hereinafter Bhattarai). Take an example of claim 1 of pending application and claim 1 of copending application 18/571902:
Instant application claim 1
Copending Application No. 18/571902 claim 3 (i.e. Claims 1+3 as 3 is dependent on 1)
A radio communication system comprising:
(Claim 1) A communication system comprising:
one or more mobile wireless station devices configured to communicate with one or more terminal devices; and
a control apparatus including circuitry configured to:
(Claim 1) a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to work as a control server apparatus and a movable base station device, wherein the processor is configured, as the control server apparatus, to:
calculate, based on a position of each of the terminal devices, a plurality of candidate destination positions of each of the mobile wireless station devices where communication with the terminal devices satisfies a required quality.
from among the plurality of the candidate destination positions, select, as a destination position for movement control, either:
(Claim 3) calculate a movement destination position of the movable base station device
(Claim 1) select, as a movement destination position of the movable base station device,
(i) a first candidate destination position where a total sum of movement costs for the mobile wireless station devices to move from respective home positions to destinations is minimized, or
(Claim 1) a position at which a movement distance from a current position of the movable base station device is minimum, among positions at which a base station position evaluation index is equal to or larger than a threshold
(ii) a second candidate destination position where a maximum value among movement costs for at least one of the one or more mobile wireless station devices to move from a home position to a destination is minimized.
*this limitation is not disclosed in the co pending application claim 1, but is recited in the alternative and the other alternative has been shown.
However, although copending application # 18/571902 claim 1 and 3 do not specifically recite calculating a plurality of candidate destination positions of each of the mobile wireless station devices where communication with the terminal devices satisfies a required quality.
Bhattarai specifically teaches calculating a plurality of candidate destination positions of each of the mobile wireless station devices where communication with the terminal devices satisfies a required quality (abstract and page 2, section 3.2, step 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of (effective) filing to incorporate the calculating a plurality of positions of Bhattarai into the system of copending application # 18/571902 claim 1 and 3. The motivation for doing so would have been to find low cost optimal relocation of mobile stations that reduces delay, jitter, etc. and improves quality. (Bhattarai abstract)
Claim 2 is similarly rejected with claim 3 of copending application # 18/571902.
Claim 3 is similarly rejected with claim 1+3 of copending application # 18/571902.
Claim 4 is similarly rejected with claim 3 of copending application # 18/571902.
Claim 5 is similarly rejected with claims 6+7 of copending application # 18/571902.
Claim 6 is similarly rejected with claim 8 of copending application # 18/571902.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bhattarai et al. (Optimizing the Location Deployment of Dynamic Mobile Base Stations, Feb. 16, 2015, cited by applicant on IDS submitted 12/24/24, hereinafter Bhattarai).
Regarding claim 1, 3, 5, and 6. Bhatttarai teaches a radio communication system, apparatus, method, and non-transitory computer readable storage medium (section 1, par. 1-2, dynamic deployable mobile base station. This inherently includes a system (i.e. controller and devices), an apparatus (i.e. controller or base station), method (i.e. dynamic deployment method), and CRM (i.e. required to store the disclosed algorithm and steps) comprising:
one or more mobile wireless station devices (section 1, 2nd paragraph; mobile base stations) configured to communicate with one or more terminal devices (section 3.2, section 4, Table 1, “users”); and
a control apparatus including circuitry (abstract) configured to:
calculate, based on a position of each of the terminal devices (abstract: optimizing location deployment of dynamic mobile base stations; section 1: optimize mobile base station locations…minimize distance traveled (i.e. moved from current position); section 4, 2nd paragraph: generate locations for placing the base stations relative to the users (i.e. terminal devices)), a plurality of candidate destination positions of each of the mobile wireless station devices where communication with the terminal devices satisfies a required quality (abstract: optimizing location deployment of dynamic mobile base stations to meet quality of service requirements (QoS); section 3.2, par. 2 through 6 on 2nd page: steps 2 and 3 recite the calculation steps. Specifically, in step 2, generating candidate schedules for base station deployment that satisfies user demand…In all likelihood, we will generate multiple candidate schedules…Hence, we need a scheme to select the best available; section 4: see the QoS metrics used to determine deployment), and
from among the plurality of the candidate destination positions, select, as a destination position for movement control (section 3.2, step 4: selecting a schedule and moving the base stations), either:
(i) a first candidate destination position where a total sum of movement costs for the mobile wireless station devices to move from respective home positions to destinations is minimized (section 3.2, 2nd to last paragraph: method uses cost matrix and computes…optimal mapping…In this way, cost can be minimized; step 4: selecting a schedule and moving the base stations…we select the schedule where the total distance to move the base stations is minimized), or
(ii) a second candidate destination position where a maximum value among movement costs for at least one of the one or more mobile wireless station devices to move from a home position to a destination is minimized. (Examiners note: This claim limitation uses alternative language, “or”, and thus only one of the alternatives (i.e. first candidate OR second candidate limitation) need to be shown for the purposes of this rejection. Please see limitation above. It is suggested that applicant remove the alternative language to ensure all limitations are positively recited)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhattarai in view of Tomoki et al. (JP2019033435, cited by applicant on IDS and citations below are from applicant provided translation, hereinafter Tomoki).
Regarding claims 2 and 4. Bhattarai teaches the limitations of the previous claims 1 and 3 above.
However, although Bhattarai teaches relocating mobile base stations to optimize QoS and reduce delay, jitter, etc. for users (abstract). He does not specifically disclose wherein the circuitry of the control apparatus is configured to calculate the candidate destination positions of each of the mobile wireless station devices by performing clustering of the terminal devices. Tomoki, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches an apparatus, method, and system that improves throughput by optimizing the arrangement of moveable base stations (page 3: abstract/problem). Tomoki specifically teaches wherein the circuitry of the control apparatus is configured to calculate the candidate destination positions of each of the mobile wireless station devices by performing clustering of the terminal devices (page 3: means of solving; controls arrangement positions of the plurality of moveable base stations clustering means for collecting terminal information including position information of each terminal station, clustering each terminal station based on the position information of each terminal station, and setting a scenter of gravity of each cluster as an arrangement position of each movable base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of (effective) filing to incorporate the use of clustering the wireless devices as in Tomoki, with the method/system of Bhattarai. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve throughput of the system by optimizing arrangement of base stations. (Tomoki, page 3 of translation, problem section).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on the attached notice of references cited and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The reference discusses a similar field of endeavor revolving around moveable base stations to optimize coverage/quality.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474
Michael Thier
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2474