DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “ultrathin glass”. It is not clear how think a glass has to be in order to be called “ultrathin glass”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo et al. (US 2018/0327634) in view of Lim et al. (US 2021/0095137).
Regarding claims 1-2, Heo discloses hard coating film (abstract, 0048, 0103) comprising a first hard coating layer, formed on a display (0056, 0103), contains a siloxane compound (0060) and a second hard coating layer formed on the first hard coating layer (fig. 3, 0103). While given that Heo discloses the hard coating layer has a hardness value of 6H or more (0137) and the present specification discloses hardness of 3H or more, it is clear that the Vickers hardness of the hard coating layer of Heo would be the same as claimed in present claim.
Heo does not disclose the display being a glass and the second hard coating layer contains a fluorine based UV curable functional group containing compound and its thickness.
Lim discloses hard coating layer on glass substrate (abstract, 0072) comprising fluorine based UV curable compound such as KY 1203 and FS-7026 (0031) to obtain antifouling performance, wear resistance or chemical resistance (0028). Further, Lim discloses the hard coating layer has a thickness of 2 to 30 microns (0070).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the fluorine compound and thickness of the hard coating layer of Lim in the hard coating film including in the outer hard coating layer of Heo to obtain antifouling performance, wear resistance or chemical resistance.
Heo does not disclose the display being a glass.
Lim discloses hard coating layer on glass substrate, i.e. ultrathin glass, (abstract, 0072). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use hard coating film on any display including a glass display to meet end users requirements.
Regarding claim 3, Heo in view of Lim discloses the hard coating film of claim 1, wherein the display glass, the first hard coating layer and the second hard coating layer are formed by directly contacting each other without including a separate layer (fig 3).
Regarding claim 4, Heo in view of Lim discloses the hard coating film of claim 1, wherein Lim discloses hard coating layer comprising fluorine based UV curable compound such as KY 1203 and FS-7026 (0031). Given that Lim discloses the same UV curable functional group as disclosed in the present specification, it is clear that the fluorine based UV curable compound such as KY 1203 and FS-7026 of Heo in view of Lim would have the same 1 to 6 UV curable functional group as claimed in present claim.
Regarding claim 5, Heo in view of Lim discloses the hard coating film of claim 1, wherein one hard coating layer comprises solvent (0119, 0146).
Regarding claim 6, Heo in view of Lim discloses the hard coating film of claim 1, wherein one hard coating layer comprises photopolymerizable compound containing inorganic nano filler (0066, 0142).
Regarding claims 7-8, Heo in view of Lim discloses the hard coating film of claim 1, wherein one hard coating layer comprises leveling agent (0118).
Regarding claim 9, Heo in view of Lim discloses the hard coating film of claim 1, which is applied to a flexible display (0004, 0051).
Regarding claim 10, Heo in view of Lim discloses a window (title) comprising a display glass and the hard coating film of claim 1 as explained above.
Regarding claim 11, Heo in view of Lim discloses an image display device comprising the window of claim 10 (0003).
Conclusion
/SAMIR SHAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787