Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KUO (US 20210410215).
Regarding claim 11, 15, KUO (US 20210410215) teaches a layer 2 (L2) UE-to-UE (U2U) relay User Equipment (UE) (par. 276, 285, 295, 452, 456, UE-to-UE Relay), comprising:
a processor (par. 276, 285, 295, 452, 456, UE-to-UE Relay); and
a memory in electronic communication with the processor (par. 276, 285, 295, 452, 456, UE-to-UE Relay), wherein instructions stored in the memory are executable to:
receive, from a base station, a system message including an L2 U2U relay communication parameter configuration (par. 276, 285, 295, 404, 452, UE-to-UE Relay is provisioned from the network with relay policy parameters and with a unique Relay identifier (RID)); and
transmit, to the base station, a SidelinkUElnformationNR message including a target side Sidelink Quality of Service (QoS) profile and an identity of an end-to-end Sidelink Data Radio Bearer (SL-DRB) (par. 276, 285, 295, 452, 456, the UE-to-UE Relay receives a first PC5-RRC message from a first UE to establish a first SL DRB for a PC5 QoS flow, wherein the first SL DRB is used for data transmission from the first UE to the UE-to-UE Relay. In step 1910, the UE-to-UE Relay transmits a first RRC message to a network node to request sidelink resource for the PC5 QoS flow in response to reception of the first PC5-RRC message, wherein the first RRC message includes a destination of a second UE).
Regarding claim 12, KUO (US 20210410215) teaches the L2 U2U relay UE according to claim 11, wherein the instructions stored in the memory are further executable to
receive, from the base station, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message including a Sidelink Relay Adaptation Protocol (SRAP) configuration (par. 453, 454, 456, the UE-to-UE Relay may receive a RRCReconfiguration message from gNB indicating a configuration of another Sidelink (SL) Data Radio Bearer (DRB) for data transmission from the UE-to-UE Relay to the Target UE…the UE-to-UE Relay receives a second RRC message from the network node, wherein the second RRC message includes a configuration of a second SL DRB for the PC5 QoS flow, wherein the second SL DRB is used for data transmission from the UE-to-UE Relay to the second UE), the SRAP configuration including a mapping between an end-to-end SL-DRB indicated by an identity of the end-to-end SL-DRB and an egress PC5 Relay Radio Link Control (RLC) channel used by the L2 U2U Relay UE (par. 456, 457, the UE-to-UE Relay receives a second RRC message from the network node, wherein the second RRC message includes a configuration of a second SL DRB for the PC5 QoS flow, wherein the second SL DRB is used for data transmission from the UE-to-UE Relay to the second UE).
Regarding claim 13, KUO (US 20210410215) teaches a base station communicating with a layer 2 (L2) UE-to-UE (U2U) relay User Equipment (UE) (par. 276, 285, 295, 452, 456, network node), comprising:
a processor (par. 276, 285, 295, 452, 456, network node); and
a memory in electronic communication with the processor (par. 276, 285, 295, 452, 456, network node), wherein instructions stored in the memory are executable to:
transmit, to the L2 U2U relay UE, a system message including an L2 U2U relay communication parameter configuration (par. 276, 285, 295, 404, 452, UE-to-UE Relay is provisioned from the network with relay policy parameters and with a unique Relay identifier (RID)); and
receive, from the L2 U2U relay UE, a SidelinkUElnformationNR message including a target side Sidelink Quality of Service (QoS) profile and an identity of an end-to-end Sidelink Data Radio Bearer (SL-DRB) (par. 276, 285, 295, 452, 456, the UE-to-UE Relay receives a first PC5-RRC message from a first UE to establish a first SL DRB for a PC5 QoS flow, wherein the first SL DRB is used for data transmission from the first UE to the UE-to-UE Relay. In step 1910, the UE-to-UE Relay transmits a first RRC message to a network node to request sidelink resource for the PC5 QoS flow in response to reception of the first PC5-RRC message, wherein the first RRC message includes a destination of a second UE).
Regarding claim 14, KUO (US 20210410215) teaches the base station according to claim 13, wherein the instructions stored in the memory are further executable to
transmit, to the L2 U2U relay UE, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message including a Sidelink Relay Adaptation Protocol (SRAP) configuration (par. 453, 454, 456, the UE-to-UE Relay may receive a RRCReconfiguration message from gNB indicating a configuration of another Sidelink (SL) Data Radio Bearer (DRB) for data transmission from the UE-to-UE Relay to the Target UE…the UE-to-UE Relay receives a second RRC message from the network node, wherein the second RRC message includes a configuration of a second SL DRB for the PC5 QoS flow, wherein the second SL DRB is used for data transmission from the UE-to-UE Relay to the second UE), the SRAP configuration including a mapping between an end-to-end SL-DRB indicated by an identity of the end-to-end SL-DRB and an egress PC5 Relay Radio Link Control (RLC) channel used by the L2 U2U Relay UE (par. 456, 457, the UE-to-UE Relay receives a second RRC message from the network node, wherein the second RRC message includes a configuration of a second SL DRB for the PC5 QoS flow, wherein the second SL DRB is used for data transmission from the UE-to-UE Relay to the second UE).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
XU et al. (US 20250374348) teaches the source UE receives first configuration information sent by the base station, and establishes, according to the first configuration information, the end-to-end sidelink with the target UE through the relay UE selected (fig. 2, par. 30, 31).
/THINH D TRAN/for /Thinh Tran/, Patent Examiner of Art Unit 2466 09/28/2026