DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on 12/24/2024, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
The following is a Non-Final Office Action on the merits in response to applicant’s filing from 12/24/2024.
Claims 1-14 are pending and have been considered below.
Priority
The application claims foreign priority to JP 2022-141741, filed on 09/06/2022; and is a 371 of PCT/JP2023/030670, filed on 08/25/2023. The priority is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/24/2024 and 06/06/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshioka (JP 2011/111007), as cited by Applicant.
Regarding claim 1, Yoshioka discloses a retractor {1} comprising:
a spool {2} configured to wind up a webbing {W (Fig. 5)} that restrains an occupant;
a base frame {6} configured to rotatably accommodate the spool {2: “base unit 6 accommodating the reel shaft 2” [0040]}; and
a lock mechanism {3 (31+32+33; Fig. 1)} configured to restrict the rotation of the spool {2}, wherein
the lock mechanism {3} includes a lock gear {31: “lock gear 31” [0020]} disposed coaxially with the spool {2 (Fig. 1)} so as to be rotatable relative to the spool {2 (via 21+31d): “The bottom portion 31c of the lock gear 31 has a support portion 31d inserted into the shaft portion 21 of the reel shaft 2” [0021]}, a pawl {22, 23} disposed so as to be engageable with the base frame {6: “pawls 22 and 23 are configured to be able to engage with internal teeth 61 formed on the base unit 6” [0041]}, a flywheel {32} disposed on the lock gear {31} and configured to move the pawl {22, 23} by a relative rotation between the spool {2} and the lock gear {31: “pawls 22 and 23 are disposed on both sides of the reel shaft 2, are inserted into pins 24 passing through the reel shaft 2 and the lock gear 31, and are rotatably fixed to the reel shaft 2 by screw pins 25. A part of the pawl 23 is engaged with the through hole 31 h of the lock gear 31 and is urged by the second spring 26 so as to be driven by rotation of the lock gear 31” [0041]}, and a hook spring {33} that biases the flywheel {32} in a direction {counter-clockwise direction: “drawing direction” [0023]} opposite to a relative rotation direction {counter-clockwise direction: “When an acceleration equal to or more than a predetermined value occurs in the pull-out direction, the inertial body 32 relatively moves in the direction of the arrow in FIG. 2 against the urging force of the first spring 33” [0024]} during operation {Fig. 2B},
the flywheel {32} has a protrusion {32c} disposed at a distal end {Fig. 2} in the relative rotation direction {counter-clockwise direction}, and
the lock gear {31} has a stopper {31f: “first stopper 31f” [0020]} that is in contact with the protrusion {32c} to tilt a posture of the flywheel {32} during non-operation {Fig. 2A}, and releases the contact with the protrusion {32c} during operation {Fig. 2B}.
Regarding claim 2, Yoshioka discloses the stopper {31f} has a tapered surface {31jt (Figs. 3B, 3D); 31k (Fig. 3C)} at a portion {32e} that comes into contact with the protrusion {32c: “a tapered surface 31jt at a contact portion with the locking claw 32c” [0027]; “a tapered surface 31k that comes into contact with the tapered surface 32e on the opposite side of the locking claw 32c” [0029]}.
Regarding claim 3, Yoshioka discloses the stopper {31f} includes a support portion {31f (bottom horizontal portion in Figs. 3B, 3D)} erected from the lock gear {31} and a protruding portion {31j (vertical portion in Figs. 3B, 3D)} formed to be able to come into contact with an upper portion of the protrusion {32c}.
Regarding claim 4, Yoshioka discloses {Figs. 4C-F} the protrusion {32c} has a curved surface {32f} at a portion that comes into contact with the stopper {31f}.
Regarding claim 5, Yoshioka discloses the flywheel {32} is supported by the lock gear {31} at three points {31a, 31f, 31g, 31i (Figs. 2-3)} during non-operation {Fig. 2A}.
Regarding claim 7, Yoshioka discloses the hook spring {33} is disposed so as to bias the protrusion {32c} in a direction in which the protrusion {32c} is in contact with the stopper {31f} during non-operation {Fig. 2A}.
Regarding claim 8, Yoshioka discloses a seat belt device {Fig. 6} comprising a retractor {1 (Fig. 1)} including:
a spool {2} configured to wind up a webbing {W (Fig. 5)} that restrains an occupant;
a base frame {6} configured to rotatably accommodate the spool {2: “base unit 6 accommodating the reel shaft 2” [0040]}; and
a lock mechanism {3 (31+32+33; Fig. 1)} configured to restrict the rotation of the spool {2}, wherein
the lock mechanism {3} includes a lock gear {31: “lock gear 31” [0020]} disposed coaxially with the spool {2 (Fig. 1)} so as to be rotatable relative to the spool {2 (via 21+31d): “The bottom portion 31c of the lock gear 31 has a support portion 31d inserted into the shaft portion 21 of the reel shaft 2” [0021]}, a pawl {22, 23} disposed so as to be engageable with the base frame {6: “pawls 22 and 23 are configured to be able to engage with internal teeth 61 formed on the base unit 6” [0041]}, a flywheel {32} disposed on the lock gear {31} and configured to move the pawl {22, 23} by a relative rotation between the spool {2} and the lock gear {31: “pawls 22 and 23 are disposed on both sides of the reel shaft 2, are inserted into pins 24 passing through the reel shaft 2 and the lock gear 31, and are rotatably fixed to the reel shaft 2 by screw pins 25. A part of the pawl 23 is engaged with the through hole 31 h of the lock gear 31 and is urged by the second spring 26 so as to be driven by rotation of the lock gear 31” [0041]}, and a hook spring {33} that biases the flywheel {32} in a direction {counter-clockwise direction: “drawing direction” [0023]} opposite to a relative rotation direction {counter-clockwise direction: “When an acceleration equal to or more than a predetermined value occurs in the pull-out direction, the inertial body 32 relatively moves in the direction of the arrow in FIG. 2 against the urging force of the first spring 33” [0024]} during operation {Fig. 2B},
the flywheel {32} has a protrusion {32c} disposed at a distal end {Fig. 2} in the relative rotation direction {counter-clockwise direction}, and
the lock gear {31} has a stopper {31f: “first stopper 31f” [0020]} that is in contact with the protrusion {32c} to tilt a posture of the flywheel {32} during non-operation {Fig. 2A}, and releases the contact with the protrusion {32c} during operation {Fig. 2B}.
Regarding claim 9, Yoshioka discloses the stopper {31f} has a tapered surface {31jt (Figs. 3B, 3D); 31k (Fig. 3C)} at a portion {32e} that comes into contact with the protrusion {32c: “a tapered surface 31jt at a contact portion with the locking claw 32c” [0027]; “a tapered surface 31k that comes into contact with the tapered surface 32e on the opposite side of the locking claw 32c” [0029]}.
Regarding claim 10, Yoshioka discloses the stopper {31f} includes a support portion {31f (bottom horizontal portion in Figs. 3B, 3D)} erected from the lock gear {31} and a protruding portion {31j (vertical portion in Figs. 3B, 3D)} formed to be able to come into contact with an upper portion of the protrusion {32c}.
Regarding claim 11, Yoshioka discloses {Figs. 4C-F} the protrusion {32c} has a curved surface {32f} at a portion that comes into contact with the stopper {31f}.
Regarding claim 12, Yoshioka discloses the flywheel {32} is supported by the lock gear {31} at three points {31a, 31f, 31g, 31i (Figs. 2-3)} during non-operation {Fig. 2A}.
Regarding claim 14, Yoshioka discloses the hook spring {33} is disposed so as to bias the protrusion {32c} in a direction in which the protrusion {32c} is in contact with the stopper {31f} during non-operation {Fig. 2A}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka in view of Tatsuma (US 2011/0127363).
Regarding claim 6, Yoshioka discloses the lock gear {31} includes a pivot shaft {31a} that pivotably supports the flywheel {32}, and a guide portion {31i, and the portion of 31 between 32a and 32b (Fig. 3A)} formed along an outer periphery of a root portion of the pivot shaft {31a},
the flywheel {32} includes an insertion hole {32a} into which the pivot shaft {31a} is to be inserted, and
the flywheel {32} is configured to be supported by the stopper {31f} and the guide portion {31i, and the portion of 31 between 32a and 32b (Fig. 3A)} during non-operation {Fig. 2A}.
However, Yoshioka does not explicitly disclose the lock gear includes a plurality of engagement claws arranged on an outer periphery of the pivot shaft, the flywheel includes engagement holes with which the engagement claws are engaged, and the flywheel is configured to be supported by the engagement claws.
Tatsuma teaches {Figs. 2-3} the lock gear {70 (72)} includes a plurality of engagement claws {102} arranged on an outer periphery of the pivot shaft {90},
the flywheel {86} includes engagement holes {100} with which the engagement claws {102} are engaged {Fig. 3}, and
the flywheel {86} is configured to be supported by the engagement claws {102}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the retractor, as disclosed by Yoshioka, such that the lock gear includes a plurality of engagement claws arranged on an outer periphery of the pivot shaft, the flywheel includes engagement holes with which the engagement claws are engaged, and the flywheel is configured to be supported by the engagement claws, as taught by Tatsuma, in order to “regulate oscillation of the” flywheel “within a certain range, and regulate the removal” of the flywheel from the lock gear [0038].
Regarding claim 13, Yoshioka discloses the lock gear {31} includes a pivot shaft {31a} that pivotably supports the flywheel {32}, and a guide portion {31i, and the portion of 31 between 32a and 32b (Fig. 3A)} formed along an outer periphery of a root portion of the pivot shaft {31a},
the flywheel {32} includes an insertion hole {32a} into which the pivot shaft {31a} is to be inserted, and
the flywheel {32} is configured to be supported by the stopper {31f} and the guide portion {31i, and the portion of 31 between 32a and 32b (Fig. 3A)} during non-operation {Fig. 2A}.
However, Yoshioka does not explicitly disclose the lock gear includes a plurality of engagement claws arranged on an outer periphery of the pivot shaft, the flywheel includes engagement holes with which the engagement claws are engaged, and the flywheel is configured to be supported by the engagement claws.
Tatsuma teaches {Figs. 2-3} the lock gear {70 (72)} includes a plurality of engagement claws {102} arranged on an outer periphery of the pivot shaft {90},
the flywheel {86} includes engagement holes {100} with which the engagement claws {102} are engaged {Fig. 3}, and
the flywheel {86} is configured to be supported by the engagement claws {102}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the retractor of the seat belt device, as disclosed by Yoshioka, such that the lock gear includes a plurality of engagement claws arranged on an outer periphery of the pivot shaft, the flywheel includes engagement holes with which the engagement claws are engaged, and the flywheel is configured to be supported by the engagement claws, as taught by Tatsuma, in order to “regulate oscillation of the” flywheel “within a certain range, and regulate the removal” of the flywheel from the lock gear [0038].
Conclusion
/Daniel M. Keck/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614