DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDSs) submitted on 12/26/24; 2/25/26; 8/31/26 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, but where the documents in the IDS(s) will be considered in the same manner as other documents in Office search files while conducting a search of the prior art in a proper field of search.
Status of the Application
This application has priority to KR10-2022-0081857, filed 7/4/22, and is a 371 of PCT/KR2022/016171, filed 10/21/22.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-14 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ouchi ‘221 (US 6162221 A).
As to claim 1, Ouchi ‘221 teaches a drainage tube guide device (Col.4 to Col.6; Fig.2,3,7) comprising:
a head part 24 which extends in one direction (guide wire slider 24 in bore of body 21, 24 comprising guide wire connector 24a with finger engagement portion 24b; Fig.2; Col.4,ll.23-34);
a guide tube 11/29 (sheath 11/ reinforcing pipe 29 Fig.2) which has a hollow formed therein and extends downward from the head part 24 (Fig.2; Col.4,ll.1-6,66-67; Col.5,ll.1-2); and a peeling part 12a/22 which is in communication with the hollow of the guide tube 11 and peels tissue from a front while being inserted thereinto (sharpened distal end 12a of guide wire 12 Fig.7 Col.6,ll.35-40 in combination with fixing portion as retaining nut 22 secured to proximal end of guide tube/sheath 11; Fig.2;Col.4,ll.20-21, as claimed below in claims 7,8).
As to claim 2, Oouchi ’221 teaches wherein the head part 24 includes an inlet which communicates with the hollow of the guide tube 29/11 so that a drainage tube is able to be inserted into the guide tube 24 from an upper surface (where inlet is provided as opening in head part 24 above “24b” in Fig.2 communicating with hollow of guide tube 29 and 11, where inlet opening is capable of allowing drain tube to be inserted into inlet Fig.2; and where adjacent guide wire 12 is adapted to guide a drainage tube within guide tube 29/11 Col.4,ll.3-4).
As to claim 3, Ouchi ‘221 teaches wherein the head part 24 includes an identification portion 24b protruding forward (Fig.2; Col.4,ll.31-34).
As to claim 4, Ouchi ‘221 teaches wherein the head part 24 is of a bar shape extending laterally (Fig.2).
As to claim 5, Ouchi ‘221 teaches wherein a length of the guide tube 11/29 is 20 cm or more to 40 cm or less (where distal end 12a of guide wire 12 within guide tube portion 11 is 12 cm, as less than half of the length of the guide tube 11/29 Col.5,ll.10; and where overall length of guide wire is at least double the length of the sheath 11 Fig.2 Col.4,ll.15-16, such that overall length of guide tube 11/29 is within the claimed range of 20-40 cm).
As to claim 6, Ouchi ‘221 teaches wherein the guide tube 11/29 has a straight shape (Fig.2).
As to claim 7, Ouchi ‘221 teaches wherein the peeling part 12a includes: a fixing portion 22 which is connected to an end of the guide tube 11 (fixing portion as retaining nut 22 secured to proximal end of guide tube/sheath 11; Fig.2;Col.4,ll.20-21), and a protrusion portion (as tip of distal end of 12a) which is formed to protrude in an insertion direction (Fig.2; Col.6,ll.35-37).
As to claim 8, Ouchi ‘221 teaches wherein the fixing portion 22 (as presented above for claim 7) includes a hollow formed therein (as within fixing portion 22; Fig.2; Col.4,ll.20-21), and an end (proximal end) of the guide tube 11 is inserted into the hollow of the fixing portion 22 (Fig.2; Col.4,ll.20-21).
As to claim 9, Ouchi ‘221 teaches wherein the protrusion portion (tip of 12a) has a round shape with a non-sharp end (Fig.7; alternatively, where protrusion portion of tip of distal end of guide wire 12 has a rounded shape Col.6,ll.37-39; Fig.12).
As to claim 10, D4 teaches wherein the peeling part 12a further includes an extraction port (opening adjacent 12a tip) which is connected to the hollow of the guide tube 11 and through which a drainage tube inserted into the guide tube 11 is extracted (where adjacent guide wire 12 is adapted to guide a drainage tube within guide tube 29/11 Col.4,ll.3-4).
As to claim 11, D4 teaches wherein the extraction port (opening adjacent 12a tip) has a shape of either a circle or an oval (Fig.2).
As to claim 12, Ouchi ‘221 teaches wherein the peeling part (tip of distal guide wire 12a) further includes an inclined portion (of tip) extending upwardly from the fixing portion (Fig.3).
As to claim 13, Ouchi ‘221 teaches wherein the inclined portion is curved at an angle of 25 degrees or more to 55 degrees or less from the fixing portion (approximately 45 degrees, within the claimed range Fig.3).
As to claim 14, Ouchi ‘221 teaches wherein a length of the inclined portion is 1 cm or more to 5 cm or less (where distal end 12a of guide wire 12 within guide tube portion 11 is 12 cm, such that tip would be within the claimed range of 1-5 cm; Col.5,ll.10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references provided on the attached PTO Form 892 are considered relevant to Applicants’ disclosure and are cited to show further the general state of the art, e.g., US 2002/0091352 A1 (e.g., [0080], Fig.4); US 5540711 (e.g., Col.16,ll.1-5; Fig.29-30).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, REBECCA EISENBERG, can be reached on 571-270-5879. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GUY K TOWNSEND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781