DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
The Preliminary Amendment, filed on December 26, 2024, has been received and made of record. The amendment amends the specification and claims 1, 2 and 6-19 have been amended. No claims were cancelled, and no claims were newly added.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (lDS) submitted on December 26, 2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and is being considered by the Examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 7 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites the limitation "the estimation result" in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites the limitation "the estimation unit" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites the limitation "the estimation result" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“the estimation unit” in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 6-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 6-14, claim 16, from which claims 7-14 depend and inherit all limitations therefrom, recites the limitation “the estimation result” in lines 7-8. It is unclear from the claim, as currently written, what specifically constitutes “the estimation result”. Absent clarity, one skilled in the art would not be put on full and fair notice regarding the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter. In view of the above, claims 6-14 are indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites the limitation “the estimation result” in line 3. It is unclear from the claim, as currently written, what specifically constitutes “the estimation result”. Absent clarity, one skilled in the art would not be put on full and fair notice regarding the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter. In view of the above, claims 6-14 are indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0260014 to Miyatani.
Regarding claim 1, Miyatani teaches an information processing apparatus (e.g., fig. 20) comprising a memory configured to store instructions (e.g., fig. 20, element(s) 308; [0168], [0185-186]), and a processor configured to execute the instructions (e.g., fig. 20, element 301; fig. 26, element 5175; [0084-102]; figs. 7-9 and 18-21) to: acquire a target image acquired by photographing a target by a photographing apparatus (e.g., figs. 4 and 21; [0173]), and estimate deviation of a focus during photographing of the target image by using a training model that has been trained for deriving deviation of a focus during photographing of the target image by using, as an input, a first input image to be acquired from the target image (e.g., figs. 7 and 8; [0062-79], [0084-102], [0173-187], using neural network).
Regarding claim 2, Miyatani teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein the training model is a machine learning model that has been trained for estimating deviation of a focus during the photographing by using training information, as an input (e.g., [0173-147]; figs. 18-22).
Regarding claim 3, Miyatani teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 2, supra) including teaching wherein the training information includes a plurality of training images, and a correct answer value related to each of the plurality of training images (e.g., figs. 4-22; [0173-185]).
Regarding claim 4, Miyatani teaches all of the limitations of claim 4 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 3, supra) including teaching wherein the plurality of training images include an image photographed in a different photographing environment (e.g., figs 4 and 21, any change constitutes a different photographing environment).
Regarding claim 5, Miyatani teaches all of the limitations of claim 5 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 4, supra) including teaching wherein the photographing environment includes at least one of a target (e.g., figs 4 and 21), and brightness.
Regarding claim 15, Miyatani teaches all of the limitations of claim 15 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching the information processing apparatus, further comprising the photographing apparatus, wherein the photographing apparatus generates the target image by photographing the target (e.g., figs 4 and 21, camera).
Regarding claim 16, Miyatani teaches an information processing system comprising the information processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, supra), and the photographing apparatus that generates the target image by photographing the target (e.g., figs 4 and 21, camera).
Regarding claim 17, Miyatani teaches all of the limitations of claim 17 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 15, supra) including teaching wherein the photographing apparatus adjusts the focus by using a control value based on the estimation result (e.g., [0123-125], [0129-133]).
Regarding claim 18, Miyatani teaches an information processing method comprising, by one or more computers: acquiring a target image acquired by photographing a target by a photographing apparatus (e.g., figs. 4 and 21; [0173]), and
estimating deviation of a focus during photographing of the target image by using a training model that has been trained for deriving deviation of a focus during photographing of the target image by using, as an input, a first input image to be acquired from the target image (e.g., figs. 7 and 8; [0062-79], [0084-102], [0173-187], using neural network).
Regarding claim 19, Miyatani teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program (e.g., ) for causing one or more computers to execute: acquiring a target image acquired by photographing a target by a photographing apparatus (e.g., figs. 4 and 21; [0173]), and estimating deviation of a focus during photographing of the target image by using a training model that has been trained for deriving deviation of a focus during photographing of the target image by using, as an input, a first input image to be acquired from the target image (e.g., figs. 7 and 8; [0062-79], [0084-102], [0173-187], using neural network).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 11,843,858 to Feng et al. teaches machine learning for phase detection autofocus.
Contact
/GARY C VIEAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638