Election/Restrictions
Claim 15 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5 May 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 1 and 4, the phrase "such as a drying step or treatment with any additional chemical substances or catalyst" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Examiner considers the claims NOT to require this limitation, which is merely considered an example.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the wood does not receive any physical and or chemical treatment . . . between step c) and step d).” The limitation is indefinite as vague, since it is not clear what phenomena should be considered within the definitions of “physical and or chemical treatment” or what phenomena are excluded from the definition. Moreover, it is not clear where the boundaries between steps c) and d) are in order to determine what other step may be either included in step c) or d) or between step c) or d). For example, since step c) requires impregnating the wood with the aqueous impregnant solution and step d) requires increasing the pressure in the treatment chamber, it is not clear whether the limitation “the wood does not receive any physical and or chemical treatment between step c) and step d) to require that all impregnation or movement of impregnant into or out of cells ceases between step c) and step d) or whether all physical forces (e.g. due to gravity, pressure, and/ or temperature) must be equal to zero between steps c) and d) or whether no chemical reactions which occur both in c) and in d) can occur somewhere between c) and d). Moreover, the further detail of substeps within step c) in other claims (e.g. Claim 2) make it unclear when “a physical and/ or chemical treatment” should be considered specifically between step c) and d) or to be considered a step within step c) or d). For example, Claim 4, recites “cc) relocating the impregnated wood from the impregnating chamber to a treatment chamber, wherein step cc is to be performed after the impregnation of step c) and before application of increased pressure of step d).” What is considered a substep cc) of step c) in Claim 4 can also be considered a “physical treatment” step BETWEEN steps c) and d), which is supposedly not permitted by Claim 1. The examples of drying or treatment with additional chemical substances or catalyst do not limit the full scope of the broader statement “any physical and or chemical treatment.” Examiner interprets the limitation to mean that no additional chemicals are added, that temperature and pressure remain generally constant between steps c and d, and that no unbalanced accelerating forces are applied to components of the system (e.g. stirring, agitating, spinning).
Claim 4 recites the limitation “wherein the method comprises an additional step of: cc) relocating the impregnated wood from the impregnating chamber to a treatment chamber, wherein step cc is to be performed after the impregnation of step c) and before application of increased pressure of step d) and wherein the wood does not receive any additional physical and/or chemical treatment . . . during step cc).” The limitation is indefinite, because it is not clear whether it is an impermissible physical treatment between step c) and d), according to Claim 1, a permissible physical treatment substep within step c) for impregnating the wood, or not a physical treatment. The examples of drying or treatment with additional chemical substances or catalyst do not limit the full scope of the broader statement “any additional physical and or chemical treatment.” For purposes of examination, Examiner considers step cc) not to be within the definition of “physical treatment.”
Claim 5 requires “the aqueous impregnant solution does not comprise any catalytic compounds, such as acidic catalysts.” The limitation is indefinite, because it is not clear what the scope of the term “catalytic compound” or “acidic catalyst” is where the aqueous impregnant solution prepared in step b) has a pH range within an acidic region (e.g. pH 5-6), making it unclear what in a permissibly acidic impregnant solution would NOT be considered an acidic catalyst. Examiner considers the limitation to permit at least some acidic compounds, but it is not clear what compounds must be excluded as “catalytic” or what “acids” may be included as non catalytic.
Regarding Claim 5, the phrase "such as acidic catalysts" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Examiner considers the claims NOT to require this limitation, which is merely considered an example.
Claims 2-13 are rejected as depending from other rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willems (US 2010/0143739).
Regarding Claim 1, Willems (US’739) teaches a method of modifying wood, wherein the method comprises the steps of: a) selecting and placing the wood in a treatment chamber ;b) preparing an aqueous impregnant solution (pH 3-6) comprising at least one reagent (steam, comprising acids and/ or bases) suitable for polymerization and/or chemical reaction with the wood; c) impregnating the wood with the aqueous impregnant solution (steam); increasing the pressure in the treatment chamber to a pressure above the saturation pressure of water at an operating temperature, which would or would be expected to maintain at least some water within the wood in a liquid phase (saturation is less than 95% in step C, Claim 3; Fig. 2; [0019,0023,0032,0053]) (e) increasing the temperature in said the treatment chamber, so that a combined processes of polymerization/chemical reaction of the impregnant and hydrolysis of wood hemicelluloses is facilitated (e.g. steps C and D (Fig. 2); wherein the wood does not receive any physical and or chemical treatment between step c) and step d) (step F is an optional step [0018,0050]). US’739 also teaches introducing an inert gas, which contributes to total pressure [0013,0023, 0058]. Additionally, hydrolysis of the components of wood produce organic acids [0043] act as a catalyst for the polymerization/ chemical reaction of the at least one reagent, since lowering pH (i.e. adding acid) acts as a catalyst (i.e. accelerates reactions) [0022].
US’739 fails to teach pH within a narrower range of, for example, 5 and 6, which is within the recited range of 5-9; however, the pH range in US’739 substantially overlaps the recited range, and is thus obvious. Additionally, US’739 provides evidence that pH is result-effective, known in the prior art to affect speed and control of reactions, degree of corrosion of components of a treatment apparatus and also quality of product exposed to corrosion products. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the process of US’739 by preparing an impregnant solution within the recited pH range through routine optimization.
Regarding Claim 2, US’739 teaches wherein the impregnation of step c) comprises the steps of: heating the treatment chamber, the wood: and the aqueous impregnant solution prepared in step b) to 70 degrees [0007,0011,0054]; pulling a vacuum in the treatment chamber to vaporize the aqueous impregnant solutioning prepared in step b) into vapor phase; circulating inside the treatment chamber the vaporized aqueous impregnant solutioning prepared in step b) [0014,0042,0054], thereby impregnating the wood with the aqueous impregnant solution prepared in step b), at least since steps in Claim 2 can be considered to be included in step c) or step c) and d) and can occur simultaneously [0054].
Regarding Claim 3, US’739 further teaches the following steps: f) when the treatment chamber has reached a desired temperature of step e), maintaining both the applied temperature and pressure for a holding phase; and h) when the holding phase is completed, decreasing both temperature and pressure within the treatment chamber down to ambient temperature and pressure (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 4, US’739 fails to teach separate chambers for impregnating the wood and for pressurizing the impregnated wood. However, assembly lines and division of labor is conventional in the prior art, and it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to perform the separate stages taught in US’739 in different chambers in order to move products through an “assembly line” of units performing each step or a combination of steps, taught in US’739).
Regarding Claim 5, the aqueous impregnant solution prepared in step b) comprises a reagent (water) suitable for a chemical reaction with the wood, without any additional catalyst [0003].
Regarding Claim 7, US’739 teaches a preferable range of 3 to 6 [0022]. US’739 fails to teach a range of 6.5-7.5. However, 6.5 is obviously close to 6.0. Moreover, US’739 provides evidence that pH is result-effective, known in the prior art to affect speed and control of reactions, degree of corrosion of components of a treatment apparatus and also quality of product exposed to corrosion products. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the process of US’739 by preparing an impregnant solution within a pH that is obviously close to 6.0 (e.g. 6.5) or within the recited pH range through routine optimization.
Regarding Claim 8, the steps of applying increased pressure in step d) and applying increased temperature in step e) are necessarily performed either iteratively or simultaneously to maintain the pressure in the treatment chamber above the saturation pressure of water at an operating temperature, which would or would be expected to maintain at least some water within the wood in a liquid phase (saturation is less than 95% in step C, Claim 3; Fig. 2; [0019,0023,0032,0053]).
Regarding Claim 9, the pressure in the treatment chamber is maintained above 7 bar for at least a portion of step e) (Fig. 2), which can include some step f) (see also Claim 3 with a step f), for example at around 11 bara, Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 10, the temperature is increased to above 130 in step e) (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 11, the temperature is maintained in the range of 120 degrees C during some step f) (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 13, US’739 teaches that the pressure in the treatment chamber is maintained above 7 bar for at least a portion of step e) (Fig. 2), which can include some step f) (see also Claim 3 with a step f), for example at around 11 bara, Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willems (US 2010/0143739) in view of Westin et al. (WO 2004/011216).
Regarding Claim 6, US’739 suggests that impregnating the wood results in furfurals and sugars, including, for example, xylose [0043]. US’739 fails to teach that the impregnant include furfuryl alcohol. Westin et al. (WO’216) is analogous art in the field of wood preservation, including by impregnating and polymerizing wood (Abstract) and teaches a method of modifying wood, wherein the method comprises the steps of: a) selecting and placing wood in a treatment chamber (p. 4, line 14; b) preparing an aqueous impregnant solution comprising at least one reagent (e.g. furfuryl alcohol) suitable for polymerization and/or chemical reaction with the wood (p. 8, lines 7-15); c) impregnating the wood with the aqueous impregnant solution, which includes a weak acid (p. 4, lines 13-23; p. 8, lines 7-15); d) increasing the pressure in the treatment chamber to between 5 and 14 bar (p. 4, lines 17-18) where the temperature range lies below the boiling point of water (152 C) at the lowest pressure of 5 bar (p. 8, lines 7-34); and e) increasing the temperature in the treatment chamber, so that a combined processes of polymerization/chemical reaction of the impregnant occurs (id.). Moreover, polymerization/ curing can include steam (p. 8, lines 27-29). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the process of US’739 by including furfuryl alcohol as a reagent, because WO’216 suggests that an impregnating solution, including furfuryl alcohol in water, aids in polymerization for wood preservation.
Claim(s) 6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willems (US 2010/0143739) in view of Bendiksten et al. (WO 2011/144608).
Regarding Claim 6, US’739 suggests that impregnating the wood results in furfurals and sugars, including, for example, xylose [0043]. US’739 fails to teach that the impregnant include furfuryl alcohol. Bendiksten et al. (WO’608) is analogous art in the field of wood preservation through polymerization with an impregnating solution (Abstract), and suggests including furfuryl alcohol and water in an impregnant (p. 2, lines 18-27) and curing (i.e. polymerizing) with steam (Claim 17; p. 8, lines 15-27; p. 4, line 33 to p. 5 line 4). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of US’739 by including furfuryl alcohol in the impregnant, because WO’608 suggests that an impregnant including furfuryl alcohol in water will aid in polymerizing wood for preservation.
Regarding Claim 12, US’739 fails to teach engineered wood. WO’608 suggests that the process can be performed to preserve engineered wood (p. 5, lines 31-34). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the process of US’739 by preserving engineered wood, because clearly one would of ordinary skill would have thought to use an obvious process in applications, which include known wood products (e.g. engineered wood), and WO’608 suggests that engineered wood is of the type that one would preserve.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,600,056 in view of Willems (US 2010/0143739).
US’056 fails to expressly recite the recited range of pH, the presence of carboxylic acids (weak acids) suggests a slightly acidic pH. In addition, Willems (US’739) is analogous art in the field of wood preservation through impregnation and polymerization, and suggests an obviously overlapping range (see rejection of Claims 1 and 7 in section “Claim Rejections - 35 USC 103” above). Moreover, US’739 provides evidence that pH is result-effective, known in the prior art to affect speed and control of reactions, degree of corrosion of components of a treatment apparatus and also quality of product exposed to corrosion products. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the process of US’739 by preparing an impregnant solution with a pH within the recited pH range through routine optimization.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment to the claims, filed 21 August 2026, with respect to the objection to Claims 1 and 14 has been fully considered and overcomes the objection to Claims 1 and 14. The objection to Claims 1 and 14 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment to the claims, filed 21 August 2026, with respect to the rejections of Claims 1-3, 5, 8-11, and 13-14 under 35 USC 102 has been fully considered and overcomes the rejections of Claims 1-3, 5, 8-11, and 13-14 under 35 USC 102. The rejections of Claims 1-3, 5, 8-11, and 13-14 under 35 USC 102 have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the amendment, which raises issues under 35 USC 103.
Applicant's arguments filed 21 August 2026 with respect to the rejections of Claims 1-13 under 35 USC 112(b) and 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that the amendment to the claim overcomes the previous rejections under 35 USC 112(b), the argument is not persuasive, since the amendment raises additional issues under 35 USC 112(b).
In response to Applicant’s argument that Willems completely fails to disclose steps b) and c) (Remarks, p. 8), Applicant’s step b) and step c) each recite various things (e.g. step b includes 1) preparing an aqueous impregnant solution, 2) having a pH between 5 and 9, 3) comprising at least one reagent suitable for (a) polymerization and/ or (b) chemical reaction with the wood). Applicant’s broad statement that Willems completely fails to disclose steps b) and c) sweeps too broadly.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Willems uses “gaseous steam” (Remarks, p. 8), Willems does not teach “gaseous steam,” but rather unsaturated steam [0003,0019].
In response to Applicant’s argument that volatile gases do not contain any polymerizable reagent or monomer (Remarks, p. 9), the scope of the argument pertains mainly to Claim 6, since none of the claims require polymerization, but “polymerization and/or chemical reaction.”
In response to Applicant’s argument that “Willems explicitly states that the steam in treatment space 1 remains below 95% saturation relative to the saturation at that temperature” (Remarks, p. 9), Applicant appears to be citing Willems as suggesting the opposite of what it explicitly states. Saturated steam is considered dry steam; unsaturated steam is considered wet steam. Steam at 95% or less saturation relative to saturation at that temperature would be unsaturated; in other words, wet steam (i.e. steam with water droplets). In full, paragraph [0019] reads:
[0019] It is advantageous if the steam has a maximum degree of saturation of 95% during step C. The degree of saturation is the percentage relative to 100% saturated steam at the same pressure and temperature. This produces a better wood product and, in particular, less splitting than a comparable process in which saturated steam is used. A significant factor here is probably that condensation of water is largely prevented.
The above paragraph is clearly distinguishing saturated steam from unsaturated steam and says that less than 100% saturation, i.e. maximum degree of saturation of 95% - - produces a better wood product.” Thus, the wood is being exposed to liquid water in the unsaturated, or “wet,” steam. Examiner notes that Applicant acknowledges that the steam is unsaturated (Remarks, p. 9) without acknowledging reactions which are occurring in the wood with water in the steam [0007,0011]. Also, there is moisture in the wood of at least 3-5% [0011].
In response to Applicant’s argument that Willems does not teach the negative limitation “wherein the wood does not receive any physical and/ or chemical treatment, such as a drying step or treatment with any additional chemical substances or catalyst” (Remarks, p. 9), the limitation is vague, not clearly defined and includes insufficiently defined examples, which also, as mere examples, do not further narrow the vague broader statement of the invention.
In response to Applicant’s arguments concerning Westin and Bendikson (Remarks, p. 12), they are analogous prior art both in the field of invention and pertinent to inventor’s problem of preserving wood. They are cited for their suggestion to include chemicals like furfuryl, where US’739 also teaches the presence of analogous molecules (furfurals and xylose), resulting from reactions in the wood [0043]. Moreover, although Applicant characterizes Westin as requiring an added “external acid initiator/catalyst” (Remarks, p. 12), what Westin actual teaches is that “Furfuryl alcohol polymerizes (resinifies) in acid media” (p. 1, line 8), and in particular in a “weak acid” (p. 1, line 11-14), which is precisely what Willems suggests -- pH 3-6, besides Willem’s evidence of result-effectiveness of pH on reaction speed and other results.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXANDER M WEDDLE
Examiner
Art Unit 1712
/ALEXANDER M WEDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712