DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein a plurality of grooves extending in a straight-line manner from the wide width surface portion to a tip of the tip portion are formed in each of the one pair of tapered surface portions, and the plurality of pairs of jet flow jetting flow paths are formed by the plurality of grooves and the inclined surface portions in claim 6” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recite “wherein a groove extending in an axial direction of the screw rotor is formed at the tip of the tip portion of the cartridge”. However, it is unclear what the metes and bounds of the claim are. It is unclear to the Examiner explicitly which groove is extending in an axial direction of the screw rotor formed at the tip of the cartridge, as claim 6 recites a plurality of grooves extending along the tip portion. Therefore, as best understood, if the prior art comprises the claimed structure, it will be presumed that the system can operate as intended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Borkowski (US 20170082107 A1, hereinafter Borkowski).
Regarding claim 1, Borkowski teaches a liquid-cooled screw compressor (compressor 20) that takes in a gas and generates a compressed gas (as described in paragraph 0023), the liquid-cooled screw compressor (compressor 20) comprising: a screw rotor (rotors 32/34); a casing (formed by walls 22, figure 2) that stores the screw rotor (figure 2) and forms a working space (compression chamber 26) together with the screw rotor (figure 2); and a cartridge (injection port insert 80) that is a separate member from the casing (figure 2), wherein a liquid feed path (annular gap 66) that supplies a liquid to the working space (paragraph 0033) is formed by the casing (via walls 22, figure 2) and an outer surface of the cartridge (outer portion of insert 80, figure 2).
Regarding claim 2, Borkowski teaches wherein the casing (formed by walls 22, figure 2) has a storage chamber (compression chamber 26) that stores the screw rotor (as shown on figure 2), an introduction path (line 52) to which the liquid is introduced from an external of the casing (via manifold 50, paragraph 0025), and a communication path (annular gap 66) that causes the storage chamber (compression chamber 26) and the introduction path (line 52) to communicate with each other (as shown on figure 3), at least one pair of jetting flow paths (via surface features 90, as further illustrated below on figure 3) are formed by a tip portion of the cartridge (tip portion of body portion 84, as further illustrated below on figure 3) and an inner surface of the communication path (inner portion of annular gap 66, figure 3) through disposing of the cartridge in the communication path (as shown on figure 3), and a plurality of the liquids jetted from the at least one pair of jetting flow paths collide with each other in the working space (velocity of the second fluid 18 flowing through the injection port 60 may further be increased by way of a surface feature 90 on the body portion 84 proximate the distal end 86 of the body portion 84, paragraph 0036 and as further described in paragraph 0036).
Regarding claim 7, Borkowski teaches wherein the communication path (annular gap 66) is coupled with the storage chamber (compression chamber 26) by an elongated hole extending along an axial direction of the screw rotor (D extension, figure 3), and for each of one or more pairs of the jetting flow paths (via surface features 90, as further illustrated above on figure 3), a jetting opening (as shown on figure 2) that faces the working space is formed by the tip portion of the cartridge and the elongated hole (as shown on figure 3).
Regarding claim 8, Borkowski teaches wherein the jetting flow paths (via surface features 90, as further illustrated above on figure 3) are formed such that an angle formed by jet directions of the liquids each jetted from the respective jetting flow paths making the pair is equal to or larger than 30 degrees (angle of 30° of sloped region 92, paragraph 0037 and as shown on figure 4a).
Regarding claim 12, Borkowski teaches wherein the one pair of liquid feed paths (annular gaps 66) are formed into a symmetrical shape (as shown on figure 3) with interposition of the cartridge (injection port insert 80) therebetween (as shown on figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borkowski (US 20170082107 A1, hereinafter Borkowski) in view of Isao et al (JP H03237288 A, hereinafter Isao).
Regarding claim 3, Borkowski teaches the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the cartridge has one pair of wide width surface portions opposite to each other, the tip portion of the cartridge is formed into a tapered shape having one pair of tapered surface portions, the communication path of the casing has one pair of inclined surface portions opposite to the one pair of tapered surface portions of the cartridge, one pair of the liquid feed paths are formed by the casing and the outer surface of the cartridge, the one pair of liquid feed paths have one pair of supplied liquid retaining spaces that are formed by the one pair of wide width surface portions of the cartridge and the inner surface of the communication path, and retain the liquid supplied from the introduction path, and one or more pairs of the jetting flow paths that are formed by the one pair of tapered surface portions of the cartridge and the one pair of inclined surface portions of the communication path, and jet the liquid in the supplied liquid retaining spaces into the working space, and flow path sectional area of the one pair of supplied liquid retaining spaces is larger than flow path sectional area of the one or more pairs of the jetting flow paths.
However, Isao teaches wherein the cartridge (valve 9) has one pair of wide width surface (wide surfaces of valve 9, figure 2) portions opposite to each other (as shown on figure 2), the tip portion of the cartridge (tip portion of valve 9) is formed into a tapered shape (valve 9 including an tapered shape, as shown on figure 2) having one pair of tapered surface portions (tapered portions of valve 9, figure 2), the communication path of the casing has one pair of inclined surface portions (upward facing inclined surfaces above valve 9, figure 2) opposite to the one pair of tapered surface portions of the cartridge (as shown on figure 2), one pair of the liquid feed paths (along valve 9, figure 2) are formed by the casing (housing of compressor 2, figure 2) and the outer surface of the cartridge (outer peripheral of valve 9, figure 2), the one pair of liquid feed paths (outer portions of valve 9, figure 2) have one pair of supplied liquid retaining spaces that are formed by the one pair of wide width surface portions of the cartridge (oil passage between the valve body and the valve seat of the oil amount regulating valve, paragraph 0006) and the inner surface of the communication path (inner sides of valve 9, figure 2), and retain the liquid supplied from the introduction path, and one or more pairs of the jetting flow paths (flow paths along the top portion of valve 9, figure 2) that are formed by the one pair of tapered surface portions of the cartridge (as shown on figure 2) and the one pair of inclined surface portions of the communication path (inclined portions along the lower side from the housing of compressor 2, figure 2), and jet the liquid in the supplied liquid retaining spaces into the working space (oil amount regulating valve 9 attached to the oil filling port of the compressor is supplying the oil to the compressor rotor portion in the fully open state during load operation, paragraph 0007), and flow path sectional area of the one pair of supplied liquid retaining spaces is larger than flow path sectional area of the one or more pairs of the jetting flow paths (the flow path on the outer portions of valve 9 is larger than the flow path along the conical/tapered portions of valve 9, as shown on figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the compressor in the teachings of Borkowski to include the limitations of wherein a part or all wherein the cartridge has one pair of wide width surface portions opposite to each other, the tip portion of the cartridge is formed into a tapered shape having one pair of tapered surface portions, the communication path of the casing has one pair of inclined surface portions opposite to the one pair of tapered surface portions of the cartridge, one pair of the liquid feed paths are formed by the casing and the outer surface of the cartridge, the one pair of liquid feed paths have one pair of supplied liquid retaining spaces that are formed by the one pair of wide width surface portions of the cartridge and the inner surface of the communication path, and retain the liquid supplied from the introduction path, and one or more pairs of the jetting flow paths that are formed by the one pair of tapered surface portions of the cartridge and the one pair of inclined surface portions of the communication path, and jet the liquid in the supplied liquid retaining spaces into the working space, and flow path sectional area of the one pair of supplied liquid retaining spaces is larger than flow path sectional area of the one or more pairs of the jetting flow paths in view of the teachings of Isao in order to yield the predictable result of improved distribution of the second fluid into the compression chamber may provide additional cooling and sealing benefits to further reduce the power consumption of the system..
Regarding claim 4, Isao as previously modified, teaches wherein only one pair of the jetting flow paths (the flow path on the outer portions of valve 9 is larger than the flow path along the conical/tapered portions of valve 9, as shown on figure 2 of Isao) are formed by the one pair of tapered surface portions (upper tapered surface portions, figure 2 of Isao) and the one pair of inclined surface portions (inclined portion of compressor 2 housing, figure 2 of Isao) through disposing of the cartridge (valve 9 of Isao) in the communication path (inner sides of valve 9, figure 2 of Isao), the jetting flow paths are liquid film jetting flow paths jetting liquid films (an oil quantity regulating valve for utilizing compressed air in an oil separator as valve body operating air, abstract), and the liquid films jetted from the one pair of liquid film jetting flow paths collide with each other in the working space (an oil quantity regulating valve for utilizing compressed air in an oil separator as valve body operating air, and forming an oil passage between a vale body and a valve seat into conical shape so as to obtain a mist oil feeding system, abstract of Isao).
Regarding claim 5, Isao as previously modified, teaches wherein a plurality of pairs of the jetting flow paths (the flow path on the outer portions of valve 9 is larger than the flow path along the conical/tapered portions of valve 9, as shown on figure 2 of Isao) are formed by the one pair of tapered surface portions (upper tapered surface portions, figure 2 of Isao) and the one pair of inclined surface portions (inclined portion of compressor 2 housing, figure 2 of Isao) through disposing of the cartridge in the communication path (as shown on figure 2 of Isao), the jetting flow paths are jet flow jetting flow paths jetting jet flows, and the jet flows jetted from the plurality of pairs of jet flow jetting flow paths collide with each other in the working space (an oil quantity regulating valve for utilizing compressed air in an oil separator as valve body operating air, and forming an oil passage between a vale body and a valve seat into conical shape so as to obtain a mist oil feeding system, abstract of Isao).
Regarding claim 6, Isao as previously modified, teaches wherein a plurality of grooves (along the inclined portion of valve 9, figure 2 of Isao) extending in a straight-line manner from the wide width surface portion (straight line from the wide portion of valve 9, figure 2 of Isao) to a tip of the tip portion are formed in each of the one pair of tapered surface portions (as shown on figure 2 of Isao), and the plurality of pairs of jet flow jetting flow paths are formed by the plurality of grooves and the inclined surface portions (as further shown on figure 2 of Isao).
Claims 9-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borkowski as modified by Isao, as applied to claim 6 above, and in further view of Tanaka et al (CN 112585358 A, hereinafter Tanaka).
Regarding claim 9, Borkowski as previously modified, teaches the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the plurality of grooves are formed along a direction orthogonal to an axial direction of the screw rotor.
However, Tanaka teaches wherein the plurality of grooves (along inclined end part 23a, figure 9) are formed along a direction orthogonal (as shown on figures 1-2) to an axial direction of the screw rotor (axial direction of rotor 4, figure 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the compressor in the teachings of Borkowski as previously modified above to include the limitations of wherein a part or all wherein the plurality of grooves are formed along a direction orthogonal to an axial direction of the screw rotor in view of the teachings of Tanaka in order to yield the predictable result of allowing the heat transfer area of the liquid drop to be increased and the cooling efficiency of the compressed air is improved.
Regarding claim 10, Tanaka as previously modified, teaches wherein the plurality of grooves (along inclined end part 23a of supply ports 11a-11c, figure 9 of Tanaka) are formed along a direction inclined (figure 9 of Tanaka) with respect to each of an axial direction of the screw rotor (rotor 3 of Tanaka) and a direction orthogonal to the axial direction (provided for the positive rotor chamber 2a of the oil supply port, paragraph 0009 of Tanaka).
Regarding claim 11, Tanaka as previously modified, teaches wherein a groove (along inclined end part 23a, figure 9 of Tanaka) extending in an axial direction of the screw rotor (axial direction of rotor 4, figure 3 of Tanaka) is formed at the tip of the tip portion of the cartridge (tip portion of ports 11a-11c, figure 9 of Tanaka).
Regarding claim 13, Tanaka as previously modified, teaches wherein a flow path sectional shape (figure 5 of Tanaka) of the introduction path (line 15 of Tanaka) is a circular shape (as shown on figure 5 of Tanaka), a through-hole (portion 21 of Tanaka) that is disposed in the introduction path (figure 5 of Tanaka) and has a circular shape is formed in the cartridge (figures 5 and 7 of Tanaka), and opening area of the through-hole is equal to or larger than flow path sectional area of the introduction path (opening area of portion 21 is equal to the middle part of the supply port, as shown on figure 5 of Tanaka).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Crum et al (US 20190093659 A1) discloses a similar screw compressor system having a compressor housing with a pair of screw rotors rotatably supported within a compression chamber. A lubricant port is in fluid communication with the compression chamber.
Chiba et al (WO 2019044390 A1) discloses a similar screw rotor, a casing, and a liquid supply unit that supplies a liquid in film form into a compression chamber formed in the casing.
/DARIO ANTONIO DELEO/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763