DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the correspondence filled on 05/06/2026.
Claims 33-52 are presented for examination.
IDS Considerations
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/21/2025 is/are being considered by the examiner as the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/06/2026 with respect to claims 33-52 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33-34, 36-37, 39-43, 45-46, 48-50 and 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (U.S. Pub. No. 20200359016 A1), in view of Panusopone (U.S. Pub. No. 20170339404 A1).
Examiner’s note: Encoding and decoding are done using same opposite algorithm.
Regarding to claim 33, 42 and 49:
33. Li teach an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: (Li [0053] With reference to FIG. 1, the computer system (100) includes one or more processing units (110, 115) and memory (120, 125). The processing units (110, 115) execute computer-executable instructions. A processing unit can be a general-purpose central processing unit (“CPU”), processor in an application-specific integrated circuit (“ASIC”) or any other type of processor. In a multi-processing system, multiple processing units execute computer-executable instructions to increase processing power. For example, FIG. 1 shows a CPU (110) as well as a graphics processing unit or co-processing unit (115). The tangible memory (120, 125) may be volatile memory (e.g., registers, cache, RAM), non-volatile memory (e.g., ROM, EEPROM, flash memory, etc.), or some combination of the two, accessible by the processing unit(s). The memory (120, 125) stores software (180) implementing one or more innovations for intra-picture prediction with non-adjacent reference lines of sample values available, in the form of computer-executable instructions suitable for execution by the processing unit(s).)
select a coding unit of an image; (Li [0075] For syntax according to the H.265/HEVC standard, the video encoder (340) splits the content of a picture (or slice or tile) into coding tree units. A coding tree unit (“CTU”) includes luma sample values organized as a luma coding tree block (“CTB”) and corresponding chroma sample values organized as two chroma CTBs. The size of a CTU (and its CTBs) is selected by the video encoder. A luma CTB can contain, for example, 64×64, 32×32, or 16×16 luma sample values. A CTU includes one or more coding units. A coding unit (“CU”) has a luma coding block (“CB”) and two corresponding chroma CBs. [0084] With reference to FIG. 4b, if a unit of the current picture (331) is predicted using intra-picture prediction, an intra-picture prediction estimator (440) determines how to perform intra-picture prediction for blocks of sample values of the unit. The current picture (331) can be entirely or partially coded using intra-picture prediction. Using values of a reconstruction (438) of the current picture (331), for intra spatial prediction, the intra-picture prediction estimator (440) determines how to spatially predict sample values of a block of the current picture (331) from previously reconstructed sample values of the current picture (331))
select a first area within a coded area of the image, wherein the first area comprises, at least, a first part and a second part, (Li Fig. 32 shows first part as 3230 and second part as 3220. [0306] Fig. 32 For the possibly in-loop-filtered reference sample values (3230), in-loop filtering can be completed without waiting for reconstructed sample values of the current block (3210). In some example implementations, to improve the effectiveness of intra-picture prediction of the current block (3210), reference sample values are accessed for the intra-picture prediction of the current block (3210) after in-loop filtering is performed on those reference sample values if the in-loop filtering can be performed without using reconstructed sample values of the current block (3210). This condition is satisfied for non-adjacent reference lines farther away from the current block (3210), outside the range of in-loop filtering of the edge between the adjacent reference line and current block (3210). [0307] In FIG. 32, the reference sample values also include reference sample values (3220) that cannot be in-loop filtered prior to the intra-picture prediction for the current block (3210). For the right-most reference columns, closest to the current block (3210), in-loop filtering depends on reconstructed sample values of the current block (3210). Similarly, for the bottom-most reference rows, which are not shown in FIG. 32, in-loop filtering depends on reconstructed sample values of the current block (3210).
wherein the first part is at least partially different from the second part; (Li Fig. 32 shows first part as 3230 and second part as 3220. [0306] Fig. 32 For the possibly in-loop-filtered reference sample values (3230), in-loop filtering can be completed without waiting for reconstructed sample values of the current block (3210). In some example implementations, to improve the effectiveness of intra-picture prediction of the current block (3210), reference sample values are accessed for the intra-picture prediction of the current block (3210) after in-loop filtering is performed on those reference sample values if the in-loop filtering can be performed without using reconstructed sample values of the current block (3210). This condition is satisfied for non-adjacent reference lines farther away from the current block (3210), outside the range of in-loop filtering of the edge between the adjacent reference line and current block (3210). [0307] In FIG. 32, the reference sample values also include reference sample values (3220) that cannot be in-loop filtered prior to the intra-picture prediction for the current block (3210). For the right-most reference columns, closest to the current block (3210), in-loop filtering depends on reconstructed sample values of the current block (3210). Similarly, for the bottom-most reference rows, which are not shown in FIG. 32, in-loop filtering depends on reconstructed sample values of the current block (3210).
perform in-loop filtering of, at least, the first part of the first area; (Li Fig. 32 shows first part as 3230 and second part as 3220. [0306] Fig. 32 For the possibly in-loop-filtered reference sample values (3230), in-loop filtering can be completed without waiting for reconstructed sample values of the current block (3210). In some example implementations, to improve the effectiveness of intra-picture prediction of the current block (3210), reference sample values are accessed for the intra-picture prediction of the current block (3210) after in-loop filtering is performed on those reference sample values if the in-loop filtering can be performed without using reconstructed sample values of the current block (3210). This condition is satisfied for non-adjacent reference lines farther away from the current block (3210), outside the range of in-loop filtering of the edge between the adjacent reference line and current block (3210). [0307] In FIG. 32, the reference sample values also include reference sample values (3220) that cannot be in-loop filtered prior to the intra-picture prediction for the current block (3210). For the right-most reference columns, closest to the current block (3210), in-loop filtering depends on reconstructed sample values of the current block (3210). Similarly, for the bottom-most reference rows, which are not shown in FIG. 32, in-loop filtering depends on reconstructed sample values of the current block (3210). [0302] Conventionally, in-loop filtering is not performed on reference sample values before those reference sample values are used in intra-picture prediction. A typical deblocking filter or SAO filter relies on sample values on both sides of an edge that is to be filtered. For example, for the edge offset mode of an SAO filter, sample classification may be based on comparisons between current sample values and neighboring sample values. For intra-picture prediction of a current block, the current block has not yet been encoded and reconstructed, so the sample values of the current block are not available for use by the deblocking filter or SAO filter. As such, the reference sample values of an adjacent reference line (column or row) are not in-loop filtered prior to intra-picture prediction. [0311] The encoder receives (3310) a picture, encodes (3320) the picture to produce encoded data, and outputs (3330) the encoded data as part of a bitstream. As part of the encoding (3320), the encoder performs intra-picture prediction for a current block of sample values in the picture. A non-adjacent reference line of sample values is available for the intra-picture prediction. When it performs intra-picture prediction for the current block, the encoder selects the non-adjacent reference line of sample values for use in the intra-picture prediction for the current block. At least some of the sample values of the selected non-adjacent reference line have been modified by in-loop filtering prior to use in the intra-picture prediction for the current block. For the in-loop filtering, none of the modified sample values of the selected reference line is dependent on any of the sample values of the current block)
and output an intra-prediction block for the selected coding unit based on the performed intra prediction. (Li [0310] FIG. 33 shows a generalized technique (3300) for encoding that includes intra-picture prediction that uses in-loop-filtered sample values of a non-adjacent reference line. An encoder such as the video encoder (340) of FIG. 3, another video encoder, or an image encoder can perform the technique (3300). [0311] The encoder receives (3310) a picture, encodes (3320) the picture to produce encoded data, and outputs (3330) the encoded data as part of a bitstream. As part of the encoding (3320), the encoder performs intra-picture prediction for a current block of sample values in the picture. A non-adjacent reference line of sample values is available for the intra-picture prediction. When it performs intra-picture prediction for the current block, the encoder selects the non-adjacent reference line of sample values for use in the intra-picture prediction for the current block. At least some of the sample values of the selected non-adjacent reference line have been modified by in-loop filtering prior to use in the intra-picture prediction for the current block. For the in-loop filtering, none of the modified sample values of the selected reference line is dependent on any of the sample values of the current block. [0085] According to the intra prediction data (442), the intra-picture predictor (445) spatially predicts sample values of a block of the current picture (331) from previously reconstructed sample values of the current picture (331), producing intra-picture predicted sample values for the block. In doing so, the intra-picture predictor (445) can use one or more of the features of intra-picture prediction described below, e.g., intra-picture prediction with multiple candidate reference lines available, weighted prediction, residue compensation, mode-dependent padding to replace unavailable sample values, filtering of reference sample values and/or predicted sample values. Or, the intra-picture predictor (445) predicts sample values of the block using intra block copy prediction, using an offset (block vector) for the block.)
Li do not explicitly teach perform intra prediction for the selected coding unit at least by finding a prediction block to the selected coding unit in the in-loop filtered first part;
However Panusopone teach perform intra prediction for the selected coding unit at least by finding a prediction block to the selected coding unit in the in-loop filtered first part; (Panusopone [0004] The present disclosure provides a method of decoding JVET video, the method comprising defining a coding unit (CU) template within a decoded area of a video frame, the CU template being positioned above and/or to the left of a current decoding position for which data was intra predicted, defining a search window within the decoded area, the search window being adjacent to the CU template, generating a plurality of candidate prediction templates based on pixel values in the search window, each of the plurality of candidate prediction templates being generated using different intra prediction modes, calculating a matching cost between the CU template and each of the plurality of candidate prediction templates, selecting an intra prediction mode that generated the candidate prediction template that had the lowest matching cost relative to the CU template, and generating a prediction CU for the current decoding position based on the intra prediction mode. [0077] At 620, one or more filters can be applied to the reconstructed data, at either a picture level or CU level. For example, the decoder can apply a deblocking filter, a sample adaptive offset (SAO) filter, and/or an adaptive loop filter (ALF). As described above, the in-loop filters located in the decoding loop of the encoder may be used to estimate optimal filter parameters to increase the objective and subjective quality of a frame. These parameters are transmitted to the decoder to filter the reconstructed frame at 620 to match the filtered reconstructed frame in the encoder. [0078] After reconstructed pictures have been generated by finding reconstructed CUs 618 and applying signaled filters, the decoder can output the reconstructed pictures as output video 628. If reconstructed pictures are to be used as reference pictures, they can be stored in a reference buffer 630 for inter prediction of future CUs 102 at 624. [0079] While in some embodiments the bitstream received by a JVET decoder can include syntax identifying which intra prediction mode was used to encode a CU 102 with intra prediction, such that the decoder can directly use the signaled intra prediction mode at 622 to generate a prediction CU 626, in other embodiments such syntax can be omitted to save overhead by reducing the number of bits in the bitstream. In these embodiments, when the decoder is not provided with an indication of which intra prediction mode was used to encode a CU 102, the decoder can use template matching for intra prediction at 622 to derive the intra prediction mode it should use to generate a prediction CU 626. [0088] At step 714, the decoder can use the intra prediction mode selected during step 712 to generate a prediction CU 626 with intra prediction, as shown in FIG. 11. The selected intra prediction mode can be applied based on pixel values of the CU template 800 and/or other pixels in the row and/or column that directly neighbor the current decoding position, such that pixel values for the prediction CU 626 can be derived from the neighboring pixels according to the selected intra prediction mode. [0089] The prediction CU 626 generated with the process of FIG. 7 can be added to a reconstructed residual CU 614 to obtain a reconstructed CU 618. As described above, that reconstructed CU 618 that can be filtered at 620 and used to generate output video 628. The pixels of the reconstructed CU 618 can also be added to the decoded area 802 for use when decoding additional decoding positions in the frame or slice)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Li, further incorporating Panusopone in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate perform intra prediction for the selected coding unit at least by finding a prediction block to the selected coding unit in the in-loop filtered first part. This functionality will improve efficiency with predictable results.
Regarding to claim 34, 43 and 50:
34. Li teach the apparatus of claim 33, wherein the second part is not in-loop filtered, and wherein the intra prediction for the selected coding unit is performed further based on the second part that is not in-loop filtered. (Li [0307] In FIG. 32, the reference sample values also include reference sample values (3220) that cannot be in-loop filtered prior to the intra-picture prediction for the current block (3210). For the right-most reference columns, closest to the current block (3210), in-loop filtering depends on reconstructed sample values of the current block (3210). Similarly, for the bottom-most reference rows, which are not shown in FIG. 32, in-loop filtering depends on reconstructed sample values of the current block (3210))
Regarding to claim 36, 45 and 52:
36. Li teach the apparatus of claim 33, wherein to perform the in-loop filtering,
the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform at least one of: (Li [0053] With reference to FIG. 1, the computer system (100) includes one or more processing units (110, 115) and memory (120, 125). The processing units (110, 115) execute computer-executable instructions. A processing unit can be a general-purpose central processing unit (“CPU”), processor in an application-specific integrated circuit (“ASIC”) or any other type of processor. In a multi-processing system, multiple processing units execute computer-executable instructions to increase processing power.)
a deblocking procedure; a sample adaptive offset procedure; an adaptive loop filter procedure; a cross-component sample adaptive offset procedure; a bilateral filter procedure; an alternative band classifier for the adaptive loop filter procedure; a cross-component adaptive loop filter procedure; or a neural network-based filter procedure. (Li [0099] The video encoder (340) can also perform in-loop filtering (e.g., deblock filtering and/or SAO filtering) during intra-picture coding, to filter reference sample values of non-adjacent reference lines prior to subsequent intra-picture prediction for a current block, as described below. Other filtering (such as de-ringing filtering or adaptive loop filtering (“ALF”); not shown) can alternatively or additionally be applied. Tile boundaries can be selectively filtered or not filtered at all, depending on settings of the video encoder (340), and the video encoder (340) may provide syntax elements within the coded bitstream to indicate whether or not such filtering was applied.)
Regarding to claim 37 and 46:
37. Li teach the apparatus of claim 33, wherein the image comprises a current image, and wherein the current image comprises the coded area (Li teach part of the block is coded and part of the block is uncoded. [0274] When performing intra-picture prediction, reference sample values may be unavailable because they lie outside a picture boundary or slice boundary. Or, reference sample values may be unavailable because they are part of a block that has not yet been encoded/decoded/ reconstructed.) and at least one uncoded area. (Li [0302] For intra-picture prediction of a current block, the current block has not yet been encoded and reconstructed, so the sample values of the current block are not available for use by the deblocking filter or SAO filter. [0280] FIG. 27 shows a first example (2700) of mode-dependent padding to replace unavailable sample values for intra-picture prediction of sample values of a current block (2710). In FIG. 27, the sample value at position A is unavailable. The reference sample values are at integer-sample offsets in the picture. The unavailable sample [uncoded area] value at position A is replaced with a reconstructed reference sample value at integer-sample offsets. [0304] In-loop filtering of reference sample values for intra-picture prediction can be used in combination with one or more other innovations described herein. For example, in-loop-filtered reference sample values in a non-adjacent reference frame can be used in intra-picture prediction with residue compensation or weighted prediction, or can be further filtered or used in mode-dependent padding. [0306] FIG. 32 The possibly in-loop-filtered reference sample values (3230) have no dependencies on the current block (3210) or any other block that has not yet been decoded [uncoded area])
Regarding to claim 39 and 48:
39. Li teach the apparatus of claim 33, wherein the first area of the coded area of the image comprises at least one of: a reference area of the image for intra block copy, wherein the at least one memory stores instructions that, when
executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to determine a first prediction block in the reference area for the selected coding unit; (Li [0084] for intra block copy mode, the intra-picture prediction estimator (440) determines how to predict sample values of a block of the current picture (331) using an offset (sometimes called a block vector) that indicates a previously encoded/decoded portion of the current picture (331). Intra block copy mode can be implemented as a special case of inter-picture prediction in which the reference picture is the current picture (331), and only previously encoded/decoded sample values of the current picture (331) can be used for prediction. [0085] According to the intra prediction data (442), the intra-picture predictor (445) spatially predicts sample values of a block of the current picture (331) from previously reconstructed sample values of the current picture (331), producing intra-picture predicted sample values for the block. In doing so, the intra-picture predictor (445) can use one or more of the features of intra-picture prediction described below, e.g., intra-picture prediction with multiple candidate reference lines available, weighted prediction, residue compensation, mode-dependent padding to replace unavailable sample values, filtering of reference sample values and/or predicted sample values. Or, the intra-picture predictor (445) predicts sample values of the block using intra block copy prediction, using an offset (block vector) for the block. [0116] the intra-picture predictor (645) can use one or more of the features of intra-picture prediction described below, e.g., intra-picture prediction with multiple candidate reference lines available, weighted prediction, residue compensation, mode-dependent padding to replace unavailable sample values, filtering of reference sample values and/or predicted sample values. Or, for intra block copy mode, the intra-picture predictor (645) predicts the sample values of a current block using previously reconstructed sample values of a reference block, which is indicated by an offset (block vector) for the current block.)
or a search area of the image for intra template matching prediction, wherein the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to determine a template within the search area of the selected coding unit, and determine a second prediction block, in the search area, for the selected coding unit based, at least partially, on a defined template. (Part of or condition. No rejection is required)
Regarding to claim 40:
40. Li teach the apparatus of claim 33, wherein the apparatus comprises a decoder of the image. (Li [0021] FIG. 5 is a diagram of an example decoder system in conjunction with which some described embodiments can be implemented.)
Regarding to claim 41:
41. Li teach the apparatus of claim 33, wherein the apparatus comprises an encoder of the image. (Li [0020] FIGS. 4a and 4b are diagrams illustrating an example video encoder in conjunction with which some described embodiments can be implemented.)
Claims 35, 38, 44, 47 and 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (U.S. Pub. No. 20200359016 A1), in view of Panusopone (U.S. Pub. No. 20170339404 A1), further in view of Budagavi (U.S. Pub. No. 20170195670 A1).
Regarding to claim 35, 44 and 51:
35. Li teach the apparatus of claim 33, wherein the at least one memory stores
instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: at least partially, on at least one of: (Li [0053] With reference to FIG. 1, the computer system (100) includes one or more processing units (110, 115) and memory (120, 125). The processing units (110, 115) execute computer-executable instructions. A processing unit can be a general-purpose central processing unit (“CPU”), processor in an application-specific integrated circuit (“ASIC”) or any other type of processor. In a multi-processing system, multiple processing units execute computer-executable instructions to increase processing power.)
padding for pixels in an uncoded area of the image; or pre-determined coding values for the uncoded area of the image; wherein the intra prediction for the selected coding unit is performed based on the first area, (Li [0302]For intra-picture prediction of a current block, the current block has not yet been encoded and reconstructed, so the sample values of the current block are not available for use by the deblocking filter or SAO filter. [0274] When performing intra-picture prediction, reference sample values may be unavailable because they lie outside a picture boundary or slice boundary. Or, reference sample values may be unavailable because they are part of a block that has not yet been encoded/decoded/reconstructed. [0280] FIG. 27 shows a first example (2700) of mode-dependent padding to replace unavailable sample values for intra-picture prediction of sample values of a current block (2710). In FIG. 27, the sample value at position A is unavailable. The reference sample values are at integer-sample offsets in the picture. The unavailable sample [uncoded area] value at position A is replaced with a reconstructed reference sample value at integer-sample offsets. [0304] In-loop filtering of reference sample values for intra-picture prediction can be used in combination with one or more other innovations described herein. For example, in-loop-filtered reference sample values in a non-adjacent reference frame can be used in intra-picture prediction with residue compensation or weighted prediction, or can be further filtered or used in mode-dependent padding. [0306] FIG. 32 The possibly in-loop-filtered reference sample values (3230) have no dependencies on the current block (3210) or any other block that has not yet been decoded [uncoded area])
Li do not explicitly teach perform in-loop filtering of the second part based, comprising the in-loop filtered first part and the in-loop filtered second part.
However Budagavi teach perform in-loop filtering of the second part based, (Budagavi FIG. 3A shows different part of LCU using different shading. [0031] the pixels in region 306 are filtered when the immediate bottom neighboring LCU (x, y+1) is processed, and the application of ALF filtering in the other “shaded” regions 300, 302, 304 differs. [0011] In one aspect, an apparatus configured for applying an adaptive loop filter to reconstructed pixel values of a reconstructed largest coding unit (LCU) of a reconstructed picture is provided wherein the adaptive loop filter is a symmetric two-dimensional (2D) finite impulse response (FIR) filter.) comprising the in-loop filtered first part and the in-loop filtered second part. (Budagavi [0090] Various in-loop filters may be applied to the reconstructed picture data to improve the quality of the reference picture data used for encoding/decoding of subsequent pictures. The in-loop filters may include a deblocking filter component 930, a sample adaptive offset filter (SAO) component 932, and an adaptive loop filter (ALF) component 934. The in-loop filters 930, 932, 934 are applied to each reconstructed LCU in the picture and the final filtered reference picture data is provided to the storage component 918.)
The motivation for combining Li and Panusopone as set forth in claim 33 is equally applicable to claim 35. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Li, further incorporating Panusopone and Budagavi in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate wherein the apparatus is further caused to: perform in-loop filtering of the second part based, comprising the in-loop filtered first part and the in-loop filtered second part. This functionality will improve quality with predictable results.
Regarding to claim 38 and 47:
38. Li teach the apparatus of claim 33, Li do not explicitly teach wherein the coded area comprises a plurality of pixels, and wherein the image comprises part of a video.
However Budagavi teach wherein the coded area comprises a plurality of pixels, and wherein the image comprises part of a video. (Budagavi [0027] In HEVC, a largest coding unit (LCU) is the base unit used for block-based coding. A picture is divided into non-overlapping LCUs. That is, an LCU plays a similar role in coding as the macroblock of H.264/AVC, but it may be larger, e.g., 32×32, 64×64, etc. An LCU may be partitioned into coding units (CU). A CU is a block of pixels within an LCU and the CUs within an LCU may be of different sizes. The partitioning is a recursive quadtree partitioning. The quadtree is split according to various criteria until a leaf is reached, which is referred to as the coding node or coding unit. The maximum hierarchical depth of the quadtree is determined by the size of the smallest CU (SCU) permitted. The coding node is the root node of two trees, a prediction tree and a transform tree. A prediction tree specifies the position and size of prediction units (PU) for a coding unit. A transform tree specifies the position and size of transform units (TU) for a coding unit. A transform unit may not be larger than a coding unit and the size of a transform unit may be, for example, 4×4, 8×8, 16×16, and 32×32. The sizes of the transforms units and prediction units for a CU are determined by the video encoder during prediction based on minimization of rate/distortion costs.)
Closely related prior art
Examiner notes teaching of U.S. Pub. No. 20160241868 A1 is/are pertinent to the independent claim(s), because it teaches in-loop filtering. However, is not used because dependent claims are better covered by cited reference.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIM N NIRJHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896