DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 and 13 in the reply filed on 7/15/26 is acknowledged. Claims 10-12, 13 and 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 2, it’s not clear if the “a reinforcing-fiber base material” and “reinforcing fibers” refer to the previously recited reinforcing-fiber base material and reinforcing fibers, respectively.
As to claim 3, the limitation “the reinforcing-fiber sheets” lacks proper antecedent basis.
As to claim 3, it’s not clear how the reinforcing fiber base material is both a uni-direction material (as required by claim 2) and a multiaxial base material.
As to claim 4, it’s not clear if the “a reinforcing-fiber base material” refers to the previously recited reinforcing-fiber base material.
As to claim 7, the limitation “the filaments” lacks proper antecedent basis.
As to claim 8, it’s not clear if the “a polyethersulfone fiber ” refers to the previously recited polyethersulfone fiber.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 3 is dependent upon claims 1 and 2. Claim 2 requires the reinforcing-fiber base material to be composed of a sheet of uni-directional fibers. Claim 3 expressly requires the material to be composed of fibers that are multi-axial, which expressly excludes a unidirectional material. Thus, claim 3 excludes the uni-directional reinforcing-fiber base material recited in claim 2 and therefore does not contain all the limitations of the previous claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, 9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Moser et al. (US 2015/0258712).
As to claims 1-2 and 13, Moser discloses a fiber-reinforced composite material comprising a stitched reinforcing-fiber base material comprising: a reinforcing-fiber base material sheet composed of unidirectional reinforcing fibers (para 75-77, unidirectional tows comprises the layer); and a stitching thread including a polyethersulfone fiber (para 37,-39, 77), wherein the reinforcing-fiber base material is stitched with the stitching thread (para 68-77, claim 1, figs 5,6), and a matrix resin impregnated into the stitched reinforcing-fiber base material (para 23, 60-67).
As to claim 3, Moser discloses the reinforcing-fiber base material can comprise multiple layers of the fiber material, wherein the fibers in each layer are oriented in different directions (i.e. multiaxial, para 74, 76).
As to claim 4, Moser discloses the reinforcing-fiber base material is a reinforcing-fiber base material formed by placed a resin material on a surface of the reinforcing-fiber base material and/or between layers composed of reinforcing fibers (para 23, 60-67).
As to claim 6, Moser discloses the fineness of the stitching thread is between 1 to 250 dtex (para 37).
As to claim 8, Moser discloses the polyethersulfone fiber having a glass transition point of 160 to 250° C - the stitching fiber is made from the same material as disclosed by applicant, and thus must have the same physical properties. MPEP 2112.
As to claim 9, Moser discloses a content ratio of the stitching thread is 0.1 to 30 mass % with respect to a mass of the stitched reinforcing-fiber base material (para 77).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moser et al.
As to claim 7, para 31-34 and 39-40 of Moser disclose the number of filaments of the stitching thread (density) can be varied to achieve optimal impregnation and support. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have 1 to 60 filaments per stitching thread as one of have achieved such by performing routine experimentation to achieve the optimal results
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moser et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Goto et al. (Us 2006/0035548).
Moser discloses the dtex can be varied but does not disclose the claim dtex range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Moser such that a single yarn fineness of the stitching thread is 1 to 10 dtex/filament as taught by Goto (para 39) as such increases mechanical strength by preventing deterioration (para 39).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER T SCHATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746