DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the pipe of claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7-10 are method claims that depend on apparatus claim 1. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woolmer (US 2011/0309694), in view of Auzas et al. (“Auzas”; FR 2 998 112, English translation attached).
Regarding claim 1: Woolmer discloses a stator (12b) of an axial-flow rotary electrical machine (Fig. 4) comprising:
a support ring (16’) produced from, said support ring having N teeth (81) each extending as an axial component as far as a top (75a), N being an integer greater than 2 (in this case N=12), said N teeth being separated respectively from one another by N housings (84) so that each of said teeth extends between two adjacent housings (shown in Fig. 4);
N conductive-wire windings (22) respectively wound around said N teeth, each of said N windings extending in said two adjacent housings (when the exploded stator in Fig. 4 is assembled);
N wings (each 18, shown in Fig, 5b) respectively secured to the tops of said N teeth, the two wings of each of said N pairs extending laterally opposite each other with respect to each of said N teeth and respectively in line with each of said N windings (paragraph 0062);
wherein said N pairs of wings are at least partially embedded together in a single piece forming a cover and fitting on top of said N teeth (Fig. 5a), so as to confine said N housings so as to be able to refrigerate said N housings (paragraph 0033: refrigerant flows between the coils, inherently teaching that the housing is sealed).
Woolmer does not explicitly disclose the support ring produced from a magnetic material and the N pairs of rings made from a magnetic material.
However, Auzas discloses a support ring (101, Fig, 2) produced from a magnetic material (page 3 of translation, 3rd full paragraph) and N pairs of wings (170) made from a magnetic material (page 5 of translation, 2nd full paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the support ring and wings of Woolmer to be magnetic and be a pair of wings in order to reduce magnetic losses (end of second paragraph on page 7 of the translation).
Regarding claim 2: Woolmer discloses said N housings are refrigerated by injecting a refrigerating fluid (paragraph 0033, via 156, Fig. 11b).
Regarding claim 3: Woolmer discloses said refrigerating fluid is guided inside said N housings inside a pipe (152a, 152b).
Regarding claim 4: Woolmer modified by Auzas discloses the two wings of each of said N pairs of wings, Auzas further discloses the two wings of each of said N pairs of wings form together a single element coming to be applied against the top of each of said N teeth (shown in Fig. 6 with both 170 installed flush with the top of the tooth 103).
Regarding claim 5: Woolmer modified by Auzas discloses the two wings of each of said N pairs of wings, Auzas further discloses wherein the wings of said N pairs of wings are produced by sintering metal powder (end of the 3rd full paragraph on page 5 of the translation).
Regarding claim 6: Woolmer modified by Auzas discloses the two wings of each of said N pairs of wings, Woolmer further discloses the wings of said N pairs of wings (18) are produced from a composite material with metal reinforcement fibres (paragraph 0055).
Regarding claim 7: Woolmer discloses a method for producing a stator of an axial-flow rotary electrical machine according to claim 1 (see clam 1), comprising the following steps:
a support ring (16’) is provided, produced from, said support ring having N teeth (81) each extending as an axial component as far as a top (75a), N being an integer greater than 2 (in this case N=12), said N teeth being separated respectively from one another by N housings (84) so that each of said teeth extends between two adjacent housings (shown in Fig. 4);
N conductive-wire windings (22) are respectively wound around said N teeth, each of said N windings extending in said two adjacent housings (when the exploded stator in Fig. 4 is assembled);
N wings (each 18, shown in Fig, 5b) are provided, respectively secured to the tops of said N teeth, the two wings of each of said N pairs extending laterally opposite each other with respect to each of said N teeth and respectively in line with each of said N windings (paragraph 0062);
wherein said N pairs of wings are at least partially embedded together in a single piece forming a cover and fitting on top of said N teeth (Fig. 5a), so as to confine said N housings so as to be able to refrigerate said N housings (paragraph 0033: refrigerant flows between the coils, inherently teaching that the housing is sealed).
Woolmer does not explicitly disclose the support ring produced from a magnetic material and the N pairs of rings made from a magnetic material.
However, Auzas discloses a support ring (101, Fig, 2) produced from a magnetic material (page 3 of translation, 3rd full paragraph) and N pairs of wings (170) made from a magnetic material (page 5 of translation, 2nd full paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the support ring and wings of Woolmer to be magnetic and be a pair of wings in order to reduce magnetic losses (end of second paragraph on page 7 of the translation).
Regarding claim 8: Woolmer modified by Auzas discloses the two wings of each of said N pairs of wings, Auzas further discloses the two wings of each of said N pairs of wings form together a single element coming to be applied against the top of each of said N teeth (shown in Fig. 6 with both 170 installed flush with the top of the tooth 103).
Regarding claim 9: Woolmer modified by Auzas discloses the two wings of each of said N pairs of wings, Auzas further discloses wherein the wings of said N pairs of wings are produced by sintering metal powder (end of the 3rd full paragraph on page 5 of the translation).
Regarding claim 10: Woolmer modified by Auzas discloses the two wings of each of said N pairs of wings, Woolmer further discloses the wings of said N pairs of wings (18) are produced from a composite material with metal reinforcement fibres (paragraph 0055).
Conclusion
/SEAN GUGGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834