DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 4-21 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Most of the most recent claim objections have been withdrawn in light of the current claim amendments, however, two new issues still remains, which needs attention.
The most recent 35 U.S.C. § 112 rejections have been withdrawn in light of the current claim amendments.
Applicant's arguments filed 06/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner notes that the claim amendments are broad in nature, in which the reference(s) anticipate the claims, as detailed herein. Examiner suggests incorporating more claim language in light of the specification (i.e., structural and/or functional) to overcome the prior art rejection and advance prosecution, preferably towards an allowance.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 06/30/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities and should likely read as follows:
“[...] using a pilot drill string;[[ and]]
advancing a reamer over and along the pilot drill string from the first location toward the second location while the pilot drill string is at least partially positioned in the pilot hole, and
wherein at least a portion of the drilling step...” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities and should likely read as follows:
“[...] coupling the pipe to at least one of the pilot drill string or the reamer[[ drill string]]; and pulling...” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities and should likely read as follows:
“[...] to form a pilot hole, the pilot drill including a pilot drill string;[[ and]]
a reamer selectively driven by the second drilling mechanism and being adapted to form a reamed hole larger than the pilot hole, the reamer being adapted to slide over a portion of the pilot drill string; and...” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cherrington (US Patent Number 3,996,758; herein “Cherrington”).
In regard to claim 1, Cherrington discloses: A method for forming an underground bore from a first location (14) to a second location (16 — see at least column 4, lines 10-56 and figures 1-3), comprising:
drilling a pilot hole (30) from the first location toward the second location using a pilot drill string (34 — column 4, lines 10-56 and figure 1);[[ and]]
advancing a reamer (42) over and along the pilot drill string from the first location toward the second location while the pilot drill string is at least partially positioned in the pilot hole (column 4, lines 10-56 and figures 1-3); and
wherein at least a portion of the drilling step is performed simultaneously with at least a portion of the advancing step with the pilot drill string and the reamer each simultaneously being advanced toward the second location (Examiner notes that the limitation is broad in nature in light of the instant specification, in which each of “at least a portion of the drilling step” and “at least a portion of the advancing step” can comprise of one another in its respective step(s), therefore the limitation would be met by virtue of the broad claim language).
In regard to claim 4, Cherrington further discloses: wherein the drilling step defines a path (i.e., path of pilot hole), wherein the reamer includes a hollow reamer drill string sized to receive the pilot drill string, and wherein the advancing step includes positioning the reamer drill string circumferentially around the pilot drill string and moving the reamer drill string relative to the pilot drill string along the path (column 4, lines 10-56 | see transitioning from figure 1 to figures 2-3).
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brown (US Patent Number 3,552,508; herein “Brown”).
In regard to claim 11, Brown discloses: A drilling system for forming an underground bore from a first location (i.e., near surface location) to a second location (i.e., location downhole — see at least column 2, lines 15-41 and figures 1-2 & 4), the drilling system comprising:
a drilling rig (column 2, lines 15-32) with a first drilling mechanism and a second drilling mechanism (i.e., mechanism(s) corresponding to the system and combination of method steps disclosed in the invention);
a pilot drill (i.e., comprising 38) selectively driven by the first drilling mechanism and being adapted to form a pilot hole (i.e., hole corresponding to 38, as shown in figure 4), the pilot drill including a pilot drill string (i.e., comprising 34, 36, 50 — figures 1-2);[[ and]]
a reamer (i.e., comprising 16, 42) selectively driven by the second drilling mechanism and being adapted to form a reamed hole larger than the pilot hole, the reamer being adapted to slide over a portion (i.e., via the treaded connection) of the pilot drill string; and
wherein the first drilling mechanism and the second drilling mechanism are independently operable (i.e., by virtue of being operated at different sections of the tool and having independent functionalities) from one another to be driven in at least one of translation along and rotation about a longitudinal axis (i.e., corresponding to wellbore longitudinal axis) with at least one operation mode of the drilling rig comprising simultaneous operation of the first drilling mechanism and pilot drill drilling at least a portion of the pilot hole and the second drilling mechanism and reamer advancing along the portion of the pilot drill string and reaming at least a portion of the reamed hole (see column 3, lines 3-13, 71- column 4, line 21 and figures 1-2 & 4).
In regard to claim 12, Brown further discloses: a seal (48) positioned between the pilot drill and the reamer to inhibit the passage of fluid past the seal (column 3, lines 3-13 and figures 1-2).
In regard to claim 13, Brown further discloses: wherein the reamer includes a hollow portion dimensioned to receive the pilot drill string, and wherein the seal is positioned in the hollow portion of the reamer (column 3, lines 3-13 and figures 1-2).
In regard to claim 14, Brown further discloses: wherein the seal is secured to the reamer and is dimensioned to slidably engage the pilot drill string (column 3, lines 3-13 and figures 1-2).
In regard to claim 15, Brown further discloses: wherein the pilot drill further includes a pilot bit (38) attached to the pilot drill string, the pilot bit having a diameter larger than a diameter of the pilot drill string (column 2, lines 65-70 and figures 1-2).
In regard to claim 16, Brown further discloses: wherein the reamer includes a reamer head (42) attached to a reamer drill string (i.e., tubular elements coupled adjacent and uphole thereof — figures 1-2), wherein the reamer head has a diameter larger than the diameter of the pilot bit (as shown in figures 1-2).
In regard to claim 17, Brown further discloses: wherein the portion of the pilot drill string includes a largest outer diameter and wherein the reamer includes a smallest inner diameter that is 1.1 to 1.8 times the largest outer diameter of the portion of the pilot drill string (Examiner notes that the “portion” is not structurally limited in light of the instant specification, in which it would be anticipated to select arbitrary diameter points of the claimed elements to meet the limitation, absent specific detail).
In regard to claim 18, Brown further discloses: wherein the smallest inner diameter is 1.2 to 1.5 times the largest outer diameter (Examiner notes that the “portion” is not structurally limited in light of the instant specification, in which it would be anticipated to select arbitrary diameter points of the claimed elements to meet the limitation, absent specific detail).
In regard to claim 19, Brown further discloses: wherein the portion of the pilot drill string includes a largest outer diameter and wherein the reamer includes a largest inner diameter that is 1.2 to 2.0 times the largest outer diameter of the portion of the pilot drill string (Examiner notes that the “portion” is not structurally limited in light of the instant specification, in which it would be anticipated to select arbitrary diameter points of the claimed elements to meet the limitation, absent specific detail).
In regard to claim 20, Brown further discloses: wherein the largest inner diameter is 1.4 to 1.8 times the largest outer diameter (Examiner notes that the “portion” is not structurally limited in light of the instant specification, in which it would be anticipated to select arbitrary diameter points of the claimed elements to meet the limitation, absent specific detail).
In regard to claim 21, Brown further discloses: wherein the first drilling mechanism and the second drilling mechanism are each positioned adjacent the first location.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cherrington (US Patent Number 3,996,758; herein “Cherrington”) in view of Knolle (US Publication Number 2022/0127908 A1; herein “Knolle”).
In regard to claim 5, Cherrington discloses: after the advancing step, advancing a pipe (22) from the second location toward the first location (column 5, line 30- column 6, line 5 | see transitioning from figure 4 to figures 5-6).
However, Cherrington is silent in regard to: after the advancing step, pulling a pipe from the second location toward the first location.
Nonetheless, Knolle teaches a similar type of drilling/reaming system to that of Cherrington, where a pilot bore (50) is drilled using a drill string(s) (48) and bit (46). Thereafter, a reamer (62) is coupled to the distal end of the drill string at the exit hole and pulled back into the pilot bore to ream the pilot bore — see paragraphs [0042-0047] and figures 4.
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to modify the advancing of the reaming step, as taught by Cherrington, to include a pulling mechanism, as taught by Knolle, as this mechanism of advancing reamers (i.e., back reaming) in pilot bores are known as it is well understood that the accuracy of the resulting bore relative to the predetermined path directly relates to the accuracy of the initially drilled pilot bore (paragraph [0005] — Knolle).
In regard to claim 6, in view of the modification of the preceding claim(s), Cherrington further discloses: wherein pulling (i.e., pulling, as taught by Knolle) includes: coupling the pipe to at least one of the pilot[[ drill string]] (as taught by both Cherrington and Knolle) or the reamer; and pulling the at least one of the pilot drill string or the reamer out of the bore at the first location (see paragraphs [0042-0047] and figures 4 — Knolle).
In regard to claim 7, Cherrington discloses: comprising, after the advancing step, advancing a swab (62 | Examiner notes that in light of broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, a swab and reamer are being interpreted as interchangeable terms, as further supported by paragraph [0046] of Knolle taught below) through the bore from the second location to the first location (column 5, line 30- column 6, line 5 | see transitioning from figure 4 to figures 5-6).
However, Cherrington is silent in regard to: comprising, after the advancing step, pulling a swab through the bore from the second location to the first location.
Nonetheless, Knolle teaches a similar type of drilling/reaming system to that of Cherrington, where a pilot bore (50) is drilled using a drill string(s) (48) and bit (46). Thereafter, a reamer (62) is coupled to the distal end of the drill string at the exit hole and pulled back into the pilot bore to ream the pilot bore — see paragraphs [0042-0047] and figures 4.
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to modify the advancing of the reaming step, as taught by Cherrington, to include a pulling mechanism, as taught by Knolle, as this mechanism of advancing reamers (i.e., back reaming) in pilot bores are known as it is well understood that the accuracy of the resulting bore relative to the predetermined path directly relates to the accuracy of the initially drilled pilot bore (paragraph [0005] — Knolle).
In regard to claim 8, in view of the modification of the preceding claim(s), Cherrington further discloses: wherein pulling (i.e., pulling, as taught by Knolle) the swab includes: coupling the swab to the reamer drill string (as taught by both Cherrington and Knolle); and pulling the reamer out of the bore at the first location (see paragraphs [0042-0047] and figures 4 — Knolle).
In regard to claim 9, in view of the modification of the preceding claim(s), Cherrington further discloses: further comprising, after pulling (i.e., pulling, as taught by Knolle) the swab through the bore: coupling a pipe (22 — column 5, line 30- column 6, line 5 | see transitioning from figure 4 to figures 5-6 of Cherrington | 64 — paragraph [0046] of Knolle) to the pilot drill string; and pulling the pilot drill string out of the bore at the first location (see paragraphs [0042-0047] and figures 4 — Knolle).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cherrington (US Patent Number 3,996,758; herein “Cherrington”) in view of Tibban et al. (US Publication Number 2022/0259925 A1; herein “Tibban”).
In regard to claim 10, Cherrington discloses the preceding claim.
However, Cherrington is silent in regard to: advancing the reamer over and along the pilot drill string includes supplying fluid to an annular space between the pilot drill string and the reamer.
Nonetheless, Tibban teaches a similar type of drilling/reaming system to that of Cherrington, where a pilot bore (50) is drilled using a drill string (4). Thereafter, a reamer (3) is coupled to the distal end of the drill string at the exit hole and pulled back into the pilot bore to ream the pilot bore. Furthermore, Tibban teaches for the reamer to use circulating fluid (mud) during the reaming process — see paragraphs [0041-0044] and figures 1-2.
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to modify the reamer, as taught by Cherrington, to include a circulating mechanism, as taught by Tibban, to allow for facilitating single pass ream directional drilling of bore holes after a pilot hole is drilled (paragraph [0001] — Tibban).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NEEL GIRISH PATEL/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676