DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed 26 December 2024. In view of this communication, claims 1-20 are now pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 26 December 2024 was/were filed before mailing of the first action on the merits. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Disclosure
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
Stator with Hairpin Conductors Having Different Radial Extents.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-11, 14-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sheu et al. (US 2020/0212750 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Sheu”.
Regarding claim 1, Sheu discloses a stator [100] for an electric machine [motor] (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0026), comprising:
a stator core [110] comprising a longitudinal axis, an axial first face side [110b] and an axial second face side [110a] opposite to the first face side [110b], the stator core [110] providing an accommodation space for a rotor of the electric machine [motor] (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0026-0029; the stator is disclosed for use in an electric motor, in which a rotor is inherently present within the central cavity opposed to the slots [112] of the stator);
multiple hairpin conductors [120,130,140] having first type leg portions [120d] and second type leg portions [140a,140b], the hairpin conductors [120,130,140] being connected to each other so as to form a stator winding (fig. 8a-8b; ¶ 0026-0027, 0035-0040); and
a slot [112] formed within the stator core [110] and radially divided into an inner layer [112e-112f] located closest to the accommodation space and into further layers [112a,112b] being more distant to the accommodation space than the inner layer [112e-112f] (fig. 8b; ¶ 0026-0027);
wherein two first type leg portions [120d] extend within the inner layer [112e-112f] (fig. 8b; ¶ 0026-0027),
one second type leg portion [140a,140b] extends within each of the further layers [112a,112b] and in a cross-section perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, the radial extent of each of the first type leg portions [120d] is smaller than the radial extent of each of the second type leg portions [140a,140b] (fig. 8-10; ¶ 0043);
wherein the first type leg portions [120d] are electrically short-circuited at the first face side [110b] (fig. 8a-8b; ¶ 0040; the legs are welded on the first face side).
Regarding claim 2, Sheu discloses the stator [100] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein the first type leg portions [120d] are short-circuited by means of a welding connection of connections portion [120e,130e] of the hairpin conductors [120,130,140], each connection portion [120e,130e] extending out of the stator core [110] at the first face side [110b] (fig. 6, 8b; ¶ 0031).
Regarding claim 3, Sheu discloses the stator [100] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein the first type leg portions [120d] are formed by first type hairpin conductors [120,130] each having the first type leg portion [120d] and a connection portion [U] at the second face side [110a], the connection portion [U] being connected in an electrically conductive and mechanical manner with the connection portion [U] of another one of the first type hairpin conductors [120,130] outside the stator core [110] (fig. 4-6; ¶ 0029).
Regarding claim 4, Sheu discloses the stator [100] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein pairs of second type leg portions [140a,140b] are formed by second type hairpin conductors [140] each having the pair of second type leg portions [140a,140b] and a bending portion [S,U] at the second face side [110a], each second type hairpin conductor [140] being formed by a single bent metal rod (fig. 4-10; ¶ 0027).
Regarding claim 5, Sheu discloses the stator [100] according to claim 4, as stated above, wherein each second type leg portion [140a,140b] of each second type hairpin conductor [140] is connected in an electrically conductive and mechanical manner with another second type leg portion [140a,140b] on the first face side [110b] outside the stator core [110] (fig. 8b; ¶ 0041).
Regarding claim 6, Sheu discloses the stator [100] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein at least one further first type leg portion [130d] extends within the inner layer [112e-112f] (fig. 8b; ¶ 0036).
Regarding claim 7, Sheu discloses the stator [100] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein the slot [112] is further divided into a second inner layer [112c-112d] located between the first inner layer [112e-112f] and the further layers [112a,112b], wherein at least two first type leg portions [120c,130c] extend within the second inner layer [112c-112d] (fig. 8b; ¶ 0035-0040).
Regarding claim 9, Sheu discloses the stator [100] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein the leg portions [120c,120d,130c,130d] are electrically isolated against each other within the slot [112] (fig. 4-6; ¶ 0031).
Regarding claim 10, Sheu discloses the stator [100] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein the accommodation space is provided radially inside of the stator core [110] (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0026-0029; the central cavity is radially opposed to the slots [112]).
Regarding claim 11, Sheu discloses an electric machine [motor], comprising a rotor (not shown) and a stator [100] according to claim 1, as stated above, the rotor being mounted rotatably with respect to the stator [100] (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0026-0029; the stator is disclosed for use in an electric motor, in which a rotor is inherently present within the central cavity opposed to the slots [112] of the stator).
Regarding claim 14, Sheu discloses the stator [100] according to claim 2, as stated above, wherein the first type leg portions [120d] are formed by first type hairpin conductors [120,130] each having the first type leg portion [120d] and a connection portion [U] at the second face side [110a], the connection portion [U] being connected in an electrically conductive and mechanical manner with the connection portion [U] of another one of the first type hairpin conductors [120,130] outside the stator core [110] (fig. 4-6; ¶ 0029).
Regarding claim 15, Sheu discloses the stator [100] according to claim 2, as stated above, wherein pairs of second type leg portions [140a,140b] are formed by second type hairpin conductors [140] each having the pair of second type leg portions [140a,140b] and a bending portion [S,U] at the second face side [110a], each second type hairpin conductor [140] being formed by a single bent metal rod (fig. 4-10; ¶ 0027).
Regarding claim 16, Sheu discloses the stator [100] according to claim 2, as stated above, wherein at least one further first type leg portion [130d] extends within the inner layer [112e-112f] (fig. 8b; ¶ 0036).
Regarding claim 17, Sheu discloses the stator [100] according to claim 2, as stated above, wherein the slot [112] is further divided into a second inner layer [112c-112d] located between the first inner layer [112e-112f] and the further layers [112a,112b], wherein at least two first type leg portions [120c,130c] extend within the second inner layer [112c-112d] (fig. 8b; ¶ 0035-0040).
Regarding claim 19, Sheu discloses the stator [100] according to claim 2, as stated above, wherein the leg portions [120c,120d,130c,130d] are electrically isolated against each other within the slot [112] (fig. 4-6; ¶ 0031).
Regarding claim 20, Sheu discloses the stator [100] according to claim 2, as stated above, wherein the accommodation space is provided radially inside of the stator core [110] (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0026-0029; the central cavity is radially opposed to the slots [112]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheu in view of Götz et al. (US 2018/0152068 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Götz”.
Regarding claim 8, Sheu discloses the stator [100] according to claim 6, as stated above. Sheu does not explicitly disclose that the number of first type leg portions [120c,130c,120d,130d] extending within a respective one of the inner layers [112c-112d,112e-112f] decreases in radial direction away from the accommodation space (fig. 8b; Sheu discloses two first type leg portions in each of the two inner layers).
Götz discloses a stator comprising first type leg portions [4a-4d] and second type leg portions [4e-4f] disposed in inner layers [L1-L3] of the stator slots [2] (fig. 7; ¶ 0036-0041), wherein the number of first type leg portions [4a-4d] extending within a respective one of the inner layers [L1,L2,L3] decreases in radial direction away from the accommodation space (fig. 7; the innermost layer contains two first type leg portions, while each subsequent layer contains only one first type leg portion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the winding of Sheu having a decreasing number of first type leg portions in the inner slot layers as taught by Götz, in order to equalize the cross-sectional areas of the conductors thereby avoiding a bottleneck in the current carried and thus alleviating eddy current losses (¶ 0021, 0048-0049 of Götz).
Regarding claim 18, Sheu discloses the stator [100] according to claim 7, as stated above. Sheu does not explicitly disclose that the number of first type leg portions [120c,130c,120d,130d] extending within a respective one of the inner layers [112c-112d,112e-112f] decreases in radial direction away from the accommodation space (fig. 8b; Sheu discloses two first type leg portions in each of the two inner layers).
Götz discloses a stator comprising first type leg portions [4a-4d] and second type leg portions [4e-4f] disposed in inner layers [L1-L3] of the stator slots [2] (fig. 7; ¶ 0036-0041), wherein the number of first type leg portions [4a-4d] extending within a respective one of the inner layers [L1,L2,L3] decreases in radial direction away from the accommodation space (fig. 7; the innermost layer contains two first type leg portions, while each subsequent layer contains only one first type leg portion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the winding of Sheu having a decreasing number of first type leg portions in the inner slot layers as taught by Götz, in order to equalize the cross-sectional areas of the conductors thereby avoiding a bottleneck in the current carried and thus alleviating eddy current losses (¶ 0021, 0048-0049 of Götz).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoyler (US 2021/0144887 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Hoyler”, in view of Sheu.
Regarding claim 12, Hoyler discloses an electric drive for a vehicle [28], comprising an electric machine [29] (fig. 3; ¶ 0033), a power converter [1] configured to supply a multi-phase voltage to the stator winding [8-11] and a housing [14], which accommodates the electric machine [29] and the power converter [1] (fig. 2-3; ¶ 0024-0029).
Hoyler does not disclose the electric machine according to claim 11.
Sheu discloses the electric machine according to claim 11, as stated above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the vehicle electric drive of Hoyler using the electric machine as taught by Sheu, in order to provide larger spacing between wires thereby improving overall insulation reliability (¶ 0045 of Sheu) and to better offset magnetic field eddy currents thereby reducing the equivalent impedance values and reducing an operation loss for the motor (¶ 0046 of Sheu).
Regarding claim 13, Hoyler, in view of Sheu, discloses a vehicle [28], comprising an electric drive according to claim 12, as stated above, wherein the electric machine [29] is configured to drive the vehicle [28] (¶ 0033).
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Prior art:
Lee (US 2019/0149001 A1) discloses an electric machine comprising a rotor radially opposed to the slots of a stator, the stator slots holding a winding comprising hairpins of increasing cross-sectional area.
Hao (US 2013/0026875 A1) discloses an electric machine comprising a rotor radially opposed to the slots of a stator, the stator slots holding a winding comprising hairpins of increasing cross-sectional area.
El-Gabry et al. (US 2005/0162032 A1) discloses an electric machine comprising a rotor having slots holding a winding comprising hairpins of increasing cross-sectional area.
Conclusion
/Michael Andrews/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834